About Citizens Disability

Did you just watch a TV ad for Citizens Disability hosted by Alan Thicke? If so, you probably already know how frustrating the Social Security Disability process can be, and you’re looking for assistance. With this in mind, Citizens Disability claims that they can help you navigate the complex and often confusing process of obtaining disability benefits, including filing paperwork and attending hearings, while putting their decades of experience litigating Social Security claims to work for you.

But when it comes down to it, will Citizens Disability really be actively involved in your Social Security Disability claim? And if so, do the services they provide offer a good value for your money? We decided to put these claims to the test, and here’s what we found.

How Citizens Disability Works

According to the Citizens Disability website, the Social Security Administration receives hundreds of thousands of applications each month, which often means that you and your problems can become nothing but a case number.

However, instead of attempting to navigate all the hearings, paperwork, and beaurocracy associated with filing for disability benefits by yourself, Citizens Disability claims that they’ll match you with a disability advocate who can help evaluate your situation, handle your application, and deal with the Social Security agency on your behalf. And by putting their knowledge and decades of experience to work for you, they can help keep you in compliance and fully informed throughout the process (more about this in the Consumers section).

As such, with their goal of being “the nation's leading social justice advocacy group,” Citizens Disability claims that thy can help with both Social Security Disability Insurance (SSDI) and Supplemental Security Income (SSI) claims related to "Medically Determinable Impairment" across all four stages, including:

  • Initial Application – After all your information is gathered and your SSDI application is complete, it will then be filed with your local SSA office. At this point, your application will be reviewed by the SSA to verify your work history, while the State Disability Determination Service will decide your disability level. Citizens Disability claims that your application can be denied for a variety of reasons, including earning too much money during the previous year, a lack of medical evidence, and paperwork that was incorrectly filed.
  • Reconsideration – If your SSDI application is denied based on the above, Citizens Disability will file an appeal. Between these first two steps, a period of 5-7 months could pass.
  • ALJ Hearing – At this point, you and your Citizens Disability advocate will go before a judge to discuss why you’re unable to work. Within 6 months of this court date, you’ll receive a decision. If your claim is denied during this phase, you can either file a complaint in Federal Court or file a new application and begin from square one again.
  • Appeals Council – If you filed a complaint based on the judge’s decision in the previous step, an Administrative Law Judge will review this decision and either reverse or uphold it. Between these last two steps, a period of 12-18 months could pass.

Citizens Disability Pricing

Citizens Disability claims that your initial client evaluation is completely free and comes without risk or obligation. In fact, Citizens Disability only gets paid once your case is won, at which point they’ll collect 25% of the accrued benefit amount, up to $6,000.

What Do Other Consumers Have to Say About Citizens Disability?

Online customer reviews for Citizens United appear to be primarily negative, with the most common complaints referencing:

  • Poor customer service (rude staff, numerous unreturned phone calls, infrequent case updates, failure to send withdrawal letters to the SS administration, etc.).
  • Persistent, repeated phone calls after an individual has requested additional information about the services provided by Citizens Disability.

What’s the Bottom Line About Citizens Disability?

With such a wide variety of Social Security Disability claim types and circumstances surrounding them, it’s difficult to say whether or not Citizens Disability can assist you with your claim—and even if they can, whether or not their services will ultimately be beneficial. With this said, consider the following:

According to this article, the average monthly SSDI check in 2014 is $1,148, which amounts to roughly $14K per year. As such, let’s assume that Citizens Disability helps you win your case, and that your monthly check meets the average payout. This means that they’ll take their 25% fee, which in this example would amount to about $3,500 for the year, or $287 from each of your monthly checks. While the company may have ultimately helped you obtain SSDI benefits in the first place, which is certainly better than the alternative, it’s difficult (if not impossible) to gauge the level of value they provide.

On top of this, Citizens Disability appears to have an online reputation for difficult customer service, which may further decrease the value provided by their services.

Bottom line: If you’re in need of help navigating the SSDI application process, be sure to fully weigh all your options before signing over 25% of your much-needed benefits, as there may be more effective/less expensive options than Citizens Disability.


Read 94 Citizens Disability Customer Reviews and Complaints

Write a Review
Average Customer Rating: 2.9
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 40 4 star: 6 3 star: 1 2 star: 3 1 star:  44
Bottom Line: 49% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 94
Sort reviews by:

  • Thanks for helping me

    • Carrollton, KY,
    • Nov 7, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    First off, I want to thank my lawyer Andrew S. Youngman for sending Gwen Meehan to help me with my case. My life has changed after I got breast cancer. I can't do anything after my surgeries, I can't lift anything or do anything after I had mastectomy and reconstruction, my life changed after they cut me, I went down, I can't do anything like I used to, can't raise my arm above my head, I can't change my room around, can't walk unless I stop because of my bladder, since they cut on my stomach and both of my breast and my limp notes. This messed me up, I'm so in depression and anxiety so I got to get help like this. I don't like looking at myself but I want to thank everyone that helped me again.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Didn’t know they were such a rip-off

    • Brookshire, TX,
    • Oct 30, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    These people are a rip-off, they lie, you do your own work, it’s best you don’t use them at all. Please don’t use them. I will make this very public, I will get a lawyer to fight it, I will write a letter to US Congress and to the President and do everything I can to fight this.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 3 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Citizens Disability

    • New York,
    • Sep 19, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Can't say enough good things about Citizens Disability. Very thorough and professional, had a terrific attorney and they stuck with me through the two years it took to get my claim approved.

    Two years may seem like a long time at the outset (it can take over two years just to get a hearing date) but keep in mind that you are dealing with the Social Security Administration and if you don't have a specialist attorney or Citizens Disability on your side you don't stand a chance.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 2 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Some rude representatives and no up-to-date information about my case

    • Pennsylvania,
    • Sep 14, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I applied with Citizens Disability in October 2018. They started off with the fast service to get all of my information.

    After March 2019 I had to call them back almost every week and now I get no information and a bunch of excuses or none at all. I have called Social Security and they state that they are waiting for information. I called yesterday and someone answered the phone and hung up quickly.

    I had to call back and a man answered the phone with a strong accent and said that he would call me back and never did as usual with them. Should I seek other legal counsel?

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 3 out 5 people found this review helpful

    They did what they promised!

    • Bakersfield, CA,
    • Sep 9, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I found them on Facebook and I had already applied for SSDI. I am not a trusting person, and I have not filed anything with the government and I have to say I was a little intimidated. But I contacted Citizens Disability and they were very helpful as well as completely on time. They filed my appeals and collected my records and they were always very nice. I was a little frustrated with the fact that I worked for 3 companies and they all paid into the disability insurance. I could not imagine why the government would take almost 5 years to get me to a hearing and I called Citizens Disability and told them I would have to do it on my own. That afternoon I got a date with the judge. I, of course, called Citizens Disability and apologized and asked them not to let me go as a client. I was a week away from my hearing and I figured I would have to go to it on my own, but I got to the address where the hearing was and went into the wrong court and after I had it figured out and I got to the right place...There stood my lawyer and I had never seen him or talked to him in person, but I knew that he was from Citizens Disability and he was there for me. He was the company personified. He knew everything he was supposed to. He was exactly what I needed and I was happy to have him in my corner. Thank you, everyone, and especially Andrew Youngman.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 6 out 8 people found this review helpful

    Successful victory

    • South Carolina,
    • Aug 13, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Citizens Disability is a great company that works very hard for their clients. I am very pleased with how they handled my claim. They kept in constant contact. And if you have to appeal, they will send a lawyer with you for representation. I will highly recommend Citizens Disability to anyone applying for Social Security.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 4 out 5 people found this review helpful

    No worries.

    • Eugene, OR,
    • Aug 8, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have no worries and want to thank you for all your hard work making my life a little easier. I can relax, sit back knowing my disability claim is being taken care of. They have made it easy to fill out paperwork and are there when I need answers or have some confusion about the paperwork. I would recommend Citizens Disability to anyone knowing they would be taking care of just like I have been.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 3 out 4 people found this review helpful

    No problems!

    • La Vergne, TN,
    • Aug 3, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    CD was always keeping me in the form and asking for medical info for my case! Whenever I would call they would ask all questions and would take any updates! Never any problems! Very easy people to work with! I would recommend them to family and friends! Good people! Thanks CD!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 4 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Good news

    • Green Bay, WI,
    • Jul 26, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    With Citizens Disability they took my case so that I might get Social Security Disability. They sent me all the paperwork that was required and paperwork for my doctor to fill out also. All I had to do was read the papers, sign them, or bring some paperwork to my doctor to fill out and sign. Citizens Disability then took the signed paperwork to Social Security Disability and as good attorneys that they are, fought for me to get Social Security Disability. Which they had won for me. Choosing Citizens Disability was the right decision for me, they understand the law and know what to say and how to say it. I don't think the average person would understand half of the stuff that Citizens Disability does. I would recommend them to anyone who asks me.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 1 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Fully favorable decision

    • Las Vegas, NV,
    • Jul 23, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I had a great experience with Citizens Disability. They filled out all paperwork and gathered all medical records and the judge had all copies. It is a process. They have no control over when you will get a court date. When the day came I met with my lawyer, which was almost three years after filing. He prepped me and went over some of the questions that I will be asked. Told me the hearing will last between forty-five minutes to an hour. To my surprise, fifteen minutes into the hearing, the judge found me totally disabled and awarded me the three years back pay. If you can hold out through the process, the fully favorable decision will be well worth it!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 4 out 5 people found this review helpful

    My review was awesome results, didn't think I was going to be approved because it took so long. But thanks to you all I was approved.

    • Georgia,
    • Jul 23, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I'm so excited about my results. It took several months and I thank Citizens Disability for walking me through. Ya'll were so patient with me, I've been through a lot and I don't know where to start, how blessed I was to find you. I was approved. My tears of joy, I have no income, I have to accept what people give me but now I have hope for my future, peace of mind. Waiting for social security to send letter for the amount I'll be getting and I owe all of my happiness to you. Thank you Citizens Disability for everything you have done. The hard work paid off.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

Showing 1-11 of 94

Write a Review for Citizens Disability!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review