Citizens Disability Reviews

  This company has claimed this profile, is getting alerted on any new customer reviews entering this page, and may engage in dialogue with its customers to address their matters.

Companies cannot pay money or provide goods in order to remove or alter customer reviews.
Citizens Disability

Overall Rating

3.0

103 Customer Reviews

Summary

Citizens Disability, a Social Security Disability advocacy group, claims to help qualified individuals obtain Social Security Disability Insurance (SSDI) and Social Security Income. Learn what customers are saying.

Write a Review

Customer Reviews

3.0 Stars out of 103 Reviews
5 Star:44% 4 Star:5% 3 Star:0% 2 Star:2% 1 Star:45%
50% Recommend This Company
Start your review of Citizens Disability:
Sort Reviews By

Posted on Dec 25, 2020

I'm very satisfied with all the hard work they did for me that resulted in a favorable decision!

By Allen C., Bakersfield, CA, Verified Reviewer

I know Citizens Disability are a group of people who truly care about their clients. I was always treated with respect, and communication from them was excellent, I was never left in the dark about my case. Most of all, they fought for me, which resulted in a favorable decision for my case. I would highly recommend Citizens Disability to anyone that is having a hard time with their case, Citizens Disability will get it done.

Length of Use: 2+ years

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Citizens Disability won my case in a timely manner

Great communication

Always available to answer questions

Easier to email docs to doctor, didn't see option on home website to do that, however, rep helped me with it

Helpful Review? 1 Person Has Voted

Posted on Dec 11, 2020

I was applying for SSDI and SSI

By J T., Minneapolis, MN, Verified Reviewer

I had to call the company to update them about doctor appointments. Call for all my doctor records. Call social security for updates and they want 25 percent or $6000, what a joke.

Length of Use: 3–6 months

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

No “pros” were specified in this review

Being on hold

No follow-up

You have to do all the work

Posted on Aug 12, 2020

95% great!

By Paul F., Check, VA, Verified Reviewer

Just want to say thanks to Citizens Disability for helping me get my disability check within 7 months. Thanks again! If you are looking for a company that will go to work for you, this is the one. It's well worth the 25% they take out from your back pay. I highly recommend this company to you!

Length of Use: 6–12 months

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Quick response

Nice people

Gathered most medical records for me

I had to call them every so often for updates

Helpful Review? 2 People Have Voted

Posted on Feb 3, 2020

How Citizens fights for their clients and comes out like a champion

By Jeffery H., Lewisville, TX, Verified Reviewer

Years ago I got into a car accident in another state, I got hit by an SUV going 65 miles an hour struck to the passenger door of a 1966 Chevy Caprice classic, whom I was driving. My friend in the passenger seat got knocked to the back seat, shattered all the windows of the car, pushed my driver door into a light pole, pinning me to the steering wheel, pinning my leg down. All I remember was waking up in an ambulance and since then I've been having horrible back pain problems. I was taken to the hospital in an ambulance, hospitalized, the doctors told me if I wasn't driving that old car I would probably wouldn't be here telling you this story right now. That car, it really saved my life. I went to chiropractors in Indiana and had treatment out there.

I had a lawyer in Indiana, his name was Kristen Gill. The light that the lady went across on was green and the light that I went to cross on was green, so both lights were green. It kind of wasn't her fault but she still hit my car and it was the fault of the city of Gary, Indiana because earlier that day there was an accident, I believe a fire truck or something hit a car because of the same reason and they still didn't fix the lights, so I blame my accident not on the passenger that struck me but the city of Gary, Indiana for not fixing the traffic lights. I had a lawyer in Indiana named Kristen Gill,I believe that the case was to me not settled the right way, I didn't get anything out of it, I didn't win and I believe that lawyer really did something to not make me win and get a settlement. I don't know what happened but I didn't get any results from that attorney.

I moved to Texas, I continued going to see the back and spine institute in Plano, Texas. I was prescribed with a hundred and eighty norcos, Tylenol 3.25 with codeine pills for my back every 3 months. After like the fourth time I got my prescription I got cut off, I could no longer receive the medication because I didn't have insurance or any income to pay for my medication, so since then I just been taking Tylenol or whatever I can take for my back and my condition got pretty worse. This is my third time filing for benefits; the first two times I had lawyers but they didn't fight as hard as Citizens Disability is doing for me now. I believe they're doing a great job. I highly recommend them to anyone that needs help getting their benefits. I'm very satisfied with the way they're handling my case and I'm fully confident that they will come out on top and get what I deserve.

My life hasn't been the same since my accident, I can't do the things I used to do anymore. I can't hold down a job, and if I do get a job, I can't tell the job that I have a back problem or they won't hire me, so I'm now not working, I'm homeless, zero income, and I hope that I get my benefits because I really do deserve them. It's hard getting medical records when I was recently diagnosed with cellulitis and I can barely walk. My feet swelled up really bad and I have bad rashes on both legs and hopefully with the treatment that I had and the prescription medicine that they gave me I will be fine here soon. But my lower back problem will never go away, I hate that I have that, but I have to deal with it. I can't lay down for long periods of time, I can't sleep in bed anymore, I have to sleep sitting up on a soft sofa or some kind of lazy boy recliner or something like that. I can no longer do the things I used to do. I used to be a chef and I miss it very much, but now I can't even stand in the kitchen for long periods of time to cook a meal. And there's no way I can even get to any kind of doctors, and if I did I would, but I can't afford any more medical treatment at the time. So basically, that's my story, and hopefully Citizens Disability will get the benefits that I deserve, and I thank them very much and I appreciate all that they have done for me.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 3 People Have Voted

Posted on Jan 24, 2020

Scammers

By Donna S., Dadeville, AL, Verified Reviewer

These people continue to call me even though I am on the do not call list. I spoke with them three times in the last hour. Each time I told them I am not disabled and they still tried to "qualify" me for disability!

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 4 People Have Voted

Posted on Jan 20, 2020

It was awesome

By Stoney M., Seneca, SC, Verified Reviewer

They were awesome, they do all the work for you, I didn't have to do anything. They get all the medical records and stuff for you, they get the lawyer for you, if you don't get approved you don't pay anything.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 1 Person Has Voted

Posted on Jan 14, 2020

Unsure if scam

By Pam K., Georgia, Verified Reviewer

I received a call from a heavily-accented man who asked me a bunch of questions saying that I had applied. I have not applied for any SSI. I talk with him for over an hour and then I had to go in for my radiation treatment for my breast cancer and was told he would call me back. Then I receive a call back from a heavily-accented woman, answered more questions for them, and she kind of got rude when she asked for my full social security number and I refuse to give it to her, stating I do not give that information out over the phone. She said it was part of their paperwork and they had to have it or they couldn't go any further. She was very demanding in this and I hung up on her. We will see. I'll look at it this way, if I had applied for it then they should have had my full Social Security number already.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 7 People Have Voted

Posted on Jan 2, 2020

Best company and best attorney

By Jill M., Boynton Beach, FL, Verified Reviewer

I have been trying to get on disability for 6 long years! I had a private attorney for 3, but they failed to tell me (until I get to hearing) they never got records from my many doctors! I then went through Citizens Disability and I have to say I was hesitant because of the past, but they really work hard!

They always called me with every update.

I had the best attorney and the staff is so nice!

I recommend you all use Citizens Disability. If you're truly in need of disability, Citizens Disability is the way to go! They also do not charge forever like others.

They truly made life easier, I'm able to finally go to doctors and I wish you all the best!

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 2 People Have Voted

Posted on Dec 12, 2019

So happy

By John R., Alabama, Verified Reviewer

I would like to say to anyone that can't work due to pain and suffering, Citizens Disability is the one to call. They stuck by me all the way to the end, they answered all my questions and took all my calls, so please, I encourage anyone that's reading this to give them a try.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 3 People Have Voted

Posted on Nov 7, 2019

Thanks for helping me

By Connie S., Carrollton, KY, Verified Reviewer

First off, I want to thank my lawyer Andrew S. Youngman for sending Gwen Meehan to help me with my case. My life has changed after I got breast cancer. I can't do anything after my surgeries, I can't lift anything or do anything after I had mastectomy and reconstruction, my life changed after they cut me, I went down, I can't do anything like I used to, can't raise my arm above my head, I can't change my room around, can't walk unless I stop because of my bladder, since they cut on my stomach and both of my breast and my limp notes. This messed me up, I'm so in depression and anxiety so I got to get help like this. I don't like looking at myself but I want to thank everyone that helped me again.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 4 People Have Voted

Posted on Oct 30, 2019

Didn’t know they were such a rip-off

By Vanessa L., Brookshire, TX, Verified Reviewer

These people are a rip-off, they lie, you do your own work, it’s best you don’t use them at all. Please don’t use them. I will make this very public, I will get a lawyer to fight it, I will write a letter to US Congress and to the President and do everything I can to fight this.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 14 People Have Voted

Posted on Sep 19, 2019

Citizens Disability

By Bradley C., New York, Verified Reviewer

Can't say enough good things about Citizens Disability. Very thorough and professional, had a terrific attorney and they stuck with me through the two years it took to get my claim approved.

Two years may seem like a long time at the outset (it can take over two years just to get a hearing date) but keep in mind that you are dealing with the Social Security Administration and if you don't have a specialist attorney or Citizens Disability on your side you don't stand a chance.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 7 People Have Voted

Posted on Sep 14, 2019

Some rude representatives and no up-to-date information about my case

By Synobia W., Pennsylvania, Verified Reviewer

I applied with Citizens Disability in October 2018. They started off with the fast service to get all of my information.

After March 2019 I had to call them back almost every week and now I get no information and a bunch of excuses or none at all. I have called Social Security and they state that they are waiting for information. I called yesterday and someone answered the phone and hung up quickly.

I had to call back and a man answered the phone with a strong accent and said that he would call me back and never did as usual with them. Should I seek other legal counsel?

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 9 People Have Voted

Posted on Sep 9, 2019

They did what they promised!

By Carey M., Bakersfield, CA, Verified Reviewer

I found them on Facebook and I had already applied for SSDI. I am not a trusting person, and I have not filed anything with the government and I have to say I was a little intimidated. But I contacted Citizens Disability and they were very helpful as well as completely on time. They filed my appeals and collected my records and they were always very nice. I was a little frustrated with the fact that I worked for 3 companies and they all paid into the disability insurance. I could not imagine why the government would take almost 5 years to get me to a hearing and I called Citizens Disability and told them I would have to do it on my own. That afternoon I got a date with the judge. I, of course, called Citizens Disability and apologized and asked them not to let me go as a client. I was a week away from my hearing and I figured I would have to go to it on my own, but I got to the address where the hearing was and went into the wrong court and after I had it figured out and I got to the right place...There stood my lawyer and I had never seen him or talked to him in person, but I knew that he was from Citizens Disability and he was there for me. He was the company personified. He knew everything he was supposed to. He was exactly what I needed and I was happy to have him in my corner. Thank you, everyone, and especially Andrew Youngman.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 6 People Have Voted

Posted on Aug 13, 2019

Successful victory

By Anthony F., South Carolina, Verified Reviewer

Citizens Disability is a great company that works very hard for their clients. I am very pleased with how they handled my claim. They kept in constant contact. And if you have to appeal, they will send a lawyer with you for representation. I will highly recommend Citizens Disability to anyone applying for Social Security.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 7 People Have Voted

Posted on Aug 8, 2019

No worries.

By Damien M., Eugene, OR, Verified Reviewer

I have no worries and want to thank you for all your hard work making my life a little easier. I can relax, sit back knowing my disability claim is being taken care of. They have made it easy to fill out paperwork and are there when I need answers or have some confusion about the paperwork. I would recommend Citizens Disability to anyone knowing they would be taking care of just like I have been.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 6 People Have Voted

Posted on Aug 3, 2019

No problems!

By Robert B., La Vergne, TN, Verified Reviewer

CD was always keeping me in the form and asking for medical info for my case! Whenever I would call they would ask all questions and would take any updates! Never any problems! Very easy people to work with! I would recommend them to family and friends! Good people! Thanks CD!

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 4 People Have Voted

Posted on Jul 26, 2019

Good news

By Joel M., Green Bay, WI, Verified Reviewer

With Citizens Disability they took my case so that I might get Social Security Disability. They sent me all the paperwork that was required and paperwork for my doctor to fill out also. All I had to do was read the papers, sign them, or bring some paperwork to my doctor to fill out and sign. Citizens Disability then took the signed paperwork to Social Security Disability and as good attorneys that they are, fought for me to get Social Security Disability. Which they had won for me. Choosing Citizens Disability was the right decision for me, they understand the law and know what to say and how to say it. I don't think the average person would understand half of the stuff that Citizens Disability does. I would recommend them to anyone who asks me.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 4 People Have Voted

Posted on Jul 23, 2019

Fully favorable decision

By Maria W., Las Vegas, NV, Verified Reviewer

I had a great experience with Citizens Disability. They filled out all paperwork and gathered all medical records and the judge had all copies. It is a process. They have no control over when you will get a court date. When the day came I met with my lawyer, which was almost three years after filing. He prepped me and went over some of the questions that I will be asked. Told me the hearing will last between forty-five minutes to an hour. To my surprise, fifteen minutes into the hearing, the judge found me totally disabled and awarded me the three years back pay. If you can hold out through the process, the fully favorable decision will be well worth it!

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 1 Person Has Voted

Posted on Jul 23, 2019

My review was awesome results, didn't think I was going to be approved because it took so long. But thanks to you all I was approved.

By Audrey P., Georgia, Verified Reviewer

I'm so excited about my results. It took several months and I thank Citizens Disability for walking me through. Ya'll were so patient with me, I've been through a lot and I don't know where to start, how blessed I was to find you. I was approved. My tears of joy, I have no income, I have to accept what people give me but now I have hope for my future, peace of mind. Waiting for social security to send letter for the amount I'll be getting and I owe all of my happiness to you. Thank you Citizens Disability for everything you have done. The hard work paid off.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 4 People Have Voted

Posted on Jun 19, 2019

Citizens Disability claim

By Susana O., California, Verified Reviewer

Thanks to Citizens Disability services and support to advocate my claim in my personal opinion came out favorable, great job. They always keep in touch. Took me a couple of years to get it and finally the decision was made after my hiring. Thank God for that and thank you Citizens Disability for your great success in my claim.

Whether online or through the phone, they are always professionals.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Company Response from Citizens Disability

Jun 20, 2019

Thank you for the kind words Susan, we're thrilled that you had a great experience! Please don't hesitate to contact us if we can ever help in the future, and thank you for trusting us with your claim.

Helpful Review? 5 People Have Voted

Posted on Jun 10, 2019

Nothing but BS

By Bob T., Kansas, Verified Reviewer

The people at Citizens Disability must be ignorant. I started receiving calls out of the blue. I informed them I've been on disability for years. A different person will call, I tell them the same thing and put me on the "do not call" list. Day after day for three months this has gone on. I block one number, they call from another. If they're too stupid to be able to stop one phone I wouldn't trust them with anything.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Company Response from Citizens Disability

Jun 11, 2019

Hi Bob,

We're sorry to hear your frustration with receiving calls. If you'd be willing to provide your phone number privately here, or by calling our claimant services team at (877) 678-0935, we'd be happy to confirm your number has been added to our Do Not Call list.

Helpful Review? 8 People Have Voted

Posted on Jun 4, 2019

Quick response

By Vivian B., Bassett, VA, Verified Reviewer

Citizens Disability did a great job with handling my case. They kept me posted about what was going on with my case. I thought it was going to take at least a couple of years but Citizens got it less than that time and I was surprised of how quick the decision was made, thank God for that and thank you Citizens Disability for your work.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Company Response from Citizens Disability

Jun 5, 2019

Thank you for the kind words Vivian, we're glad we were able to make things happen so quickly for you. Thank you for trusting us with your claim!

Helpful Review? 3 People Have Voted

Posted on May 30, 2019

Citizens Disability was great at getting my case approved when I couldn't get it done alone.

By Margaret E., Riverview, FL, Verified Reviewer

From beginning to end of filing for disability the team was more than willing and able to assist me with my claim. If I had any questions they were there to assist me with courteous assistance. Whether online or through phone they were always professional.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Company Response from Citizens Disability

Jun 3, 2019

Margaret, we're thrilled you had a good experience! Thank you for trusting us with your claim.

Helpful Review? 3 People Have Voted

Posted on May 29, 2019

Unfavorable

By Marie M., Tennessee, Verified Reviewer

After being assured multiple times by Citizens reps that my most important medical records had been sent to Social Security and to the Adjudication Judge, I discovered through my new attorney that records indicated the most important medical records were never sent. My Disability claim (after several years) was denied and I now have to begin a new claim. Looking into personal injury claim against this company as my health has suffered greatly due to the disaster that was my case.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Company Response from Citizens Disability

May 30, 2019

Hi Marie,

As we've replied to several of the other reviews you've left on various sites, we'd be happy to discuss this further with you to address your concerns. Please don't hesitate to contact us via the contact information we emailed you so we can discuss the records you feel weren't sent and where you feel your case was handled improperly.

Helpful Review? 7 People Have Voted

Posted on May 27, 2019

Highly recommend Citizens Disability

By Jacqueline J., Bessemer, AL, Verified Reviewer

As a recent client of Citizens Disability, I highly recommend them to anyone looking for an attorney/advocate to assist them with there initial application or denial for Social Security Disability benefits. This is a very professional company. They assist me with applying and through my hearing process. They were always there to meet my every need and made sure all my information stayed updated at all times with Social Security. I was well represented at my hearing before an Administrative Law Judge and won my case and am now getting the benefits I deserved.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Company Response from Citizens Disability

May 28, 2019

Thank you for the kind words, Jacqueline, we're thrilled that you had such a great experience. If we can ever help in the future, please don't hesitate to contact us.

Helpful Review? 2 People Have Voted

Posted on May 24, 2019

Can never talk to rep immediately

By Kenneth W., Virginia, Verified Reviewer

I have experienced some of the same difficulties with the service. They do not appear to be very much engaged in the day-to-day issues surrounding your claim. No sense of urgency in responding to you when asked to send or fax important documents needed immediately badly SSA. I always get rude and fast-talking telephone operators who are actually grilled one day telling them that they were an answering service and that part of this so-called company. She kept using modifiers to explain to me that yes she was an employee employed about this company. When I asked point blank are you employed as an answering service, of course that makes you employed but you're an answering service correct? She kept stammering in giving me BS answers. Now I'm trying to fire them and get an attorney to represent me. I don't think they deserve a dime for all of this run around they have given me. I had a claim come in by the as March 29th and it is now the middle of May and we have yet to go over my questionnaire playing phone tag. What a piece of crap company.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 5 People Have Voted
Showing 1-27 of 103

Our Promise to You

In order to safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.