About Citizens Disability

Did you just watch a TV ad for Citizens Disability hosted by Alan Thicke? If so, you probably already know how frustrating the Social Security Disability process can be, and you’re looking for assistance. With this in mind, Citizens Disability claims that they can help you navigate the complex and often confusing process of obtaining disability benefits, including filing paperwork and attending hearings, while putting their decades of experience litigating Social Security claims to work for you.

But when it comes down to it, will Citizens Disability really be actively involved in your Social Security Disability claim? And if so, do the services they provide offer a good value for your money? We decided to put these claims to the test, and here’s what we found.

How Citizens Disability Works

According to the Citizens Disability website, the Social Security Administration receives hundreds of thousands of applications each month, which often means that you and your problems can become nothing but a case number.

However, instead of attempting to navigate all the hearings, paperwork, and beaurocracy associated with filing for disability benefits by yourself, Citizens Disability claims that they’ll match you with a disability advocate who can help evaluate your situation, handle your application, and deal with the Social Security agency on your behalf. And by putting their knowledge and decades of experience to work for you, they can help keep you in compliance and fully informed throughout the process (more about this in the Consumers section).

As such, with their goal of being “the nation's leading social justice advocacy group,” Citizens Disability claims that thy can help with both Social Security Disability Insurance (SSDI) and Supplemental Security Income (SSI) claims related to "Medically Determinable Impairment" across all four stages, including:

  • Initial Application – After all your information is gathered and your SSDI application is complete, it will then be filed with your local SSA office. At this point, your application will be reviewed by the SSA to verify your work history, while the State Disability Determination Service will decide your disability level. Citizens Disability claims that your application can be denied for a variety of reasons, including earning too much money during the previous year, a lack of medical evidence, and paperwork that was incorrectly filed.
  • Reconsideration – If your SSDI application is denied based on the above, Citizens Disability will file an appeal. Between these first two steps, a period of 5-7 months could pass.
  • ALJ Hearing – At this point, you and your Citizens Disability advocate will go before a judge to discuss why you’re unable to work. Within 6 months of this court date, you’ll receive a decision. If your claim is denied during this phase, you can either file a complaint in Federal Court or file a new application and begin from square one again.
  • Appeals Council – If you filed a complaint based on the judge’s decision in the previous step, an Administrative Law Judge will review this decision and either reverse or uphold it. Between these last two steps, a period of 12-18 months could pass.

Citizens Disability Pricing

Citizens Disability claims that your initial client evaluation is completely free and comes without risk or obligation. In fact, Citizens Disability only gets paid once your case is won, at which point they’ll collect 25% of the accrued benefit amount, up to $6,000.

What Do Other Consumers Have to Say About Citizens Disability?

Online customer reviews for Citizens United appear to be primarily negative, with the most common complaints referencing:

  • Poor customer service (rude staff, numerous unreturned phone calls, infrequent case updates, failure to send withdrawal letters to the SS administration, etc.).
  • Persistent, repeated phone calls after an individual has requested additional information about the services provided by Citizens Disability.

What’s the Bottom Line About Citizens Disability?

With such a wide variety of Social Security Disability claim types and circumstances surrounding them, it’s difficult to say whether or not Citizens Disability can assist you with your claim—and even if they can, whether or not their services will ultimately be beneficial. With this said, consider the following:

According to this article, the average monthly SSDI check in 2014 is $1,148, which amounts to roughly $14K per year. As such, let’s assume that Citizens Disability helps you win your case, and that your monthly check meets the average payout. This means that they’ll take their 25% fee, which in this example would amount to about $3,500 for the year, or $287 from each of your monthly checks. While the company may have ultimately helped you obtain SSDI benefits in the first place, which is certainly better than the alternative, it’s difficult (if not impossible) to gauge the level of value they provide.

On top of this, Citizens Disability appears to have an online reputation for difficult customer service, which may further decrease the value provided by their services.

Bottom line: If you’re in need of help navigating the SSDI application process, be sure to fully weigh all your options before signing over 25% of your much-needed benefits, as there may be more effective/less expensive options than Citizens Disability.

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!

66 Consumer Reviews for Citizens Disability

Average Consumer Rating: 2.5
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 20 4 star: 4 3 star: 1 2 star: 2 1 star:  39
Bottom Line: 36% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 66
Sort reviews by:

  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Half-hearted assistance

    • Bristol, TN,
    • Mar 10, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I was a fool for passing up a real lawyer for this outfit.

    I got my disability. They did get that done. Every effort is weak and leaves much to be desired.

    After two years of trying to understand Dot-Head English, I finally got to speak to a lawyer. She instructed me to apply for SSI in addition to SSDI claiming it would "increase my monthly payout considerably." This was grotesquely inaccurate. SSI penalized me for having SSDI. SSDI was deducted from my payout, not added to it.

    I was also lied to by another Citizens lawyer as to how much I would receive monthly. He told me I would get between $1400 and $1900 per month. Not even close to the truth. I get a little over $500.

    No one ever mentioned that SSI penalized you for everything.

    I was told I could keep a part-time job as long as I didn't make more than $1000 per month. SSI penalized me for the job too. Even though I was well under the stated monthly limit.

    The lawyer called me and said that SSI was shorting me $300 to $400 per month. Haven't heard from him since and nothing has been done.

    Overall, I would not recommend Citizens Disability. They don't seem to fully understand what they're doing and they've actually made my life worse.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    The best service for a maximum $6,000 or 25%.

    • Bakersfield, CA,
    • Mar 9, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I am sure if one has the money for a high priced private attorney you will have better customer bedside manners, but if you are like me, then Citizens Disability is the way to go. For me, I don't need a lot of pats on the back, only the facts. After the first two go around, I was denied by the Social Security office. They didn't include correct information and even had the labor expert classify my job incorrectly. I did get discouraged because I always knew in my heart I was supposed to win. I don't want anyone else to be discouraged, and this is my intent in writing this review.

    It took 2 and 1/2 years for a court date, and I was represented with such professionalism. I didn't even know all he was going to say or ask me in front of the judge. Honestly, my representative must have known all there is about SSDI. If your case goes to court Citizens Disability will send you a CD. On the CD they tell you most of their cases are won at court. Social Security is good at denying all claims. They even sent me to a bone Social Security doctor who said I was in satisfactory condition and able to work. Ha, my knees shook, my arms and hands shaking as well. Don't let the Social Security team bully you from continuing your claim. The decision from the judge just came in and it reads fully favorable! Within 60 days I will receive my letter from another office on the benefits owed to me. I have returned to work, so I can't say what happens with ongoing payments. All of the paperwork, and the phone calls they received from me, and the great legal representation for the max amount of $6,000 or 25%. What a bargain, that means they collected $2000 a year to keep my case notes, medical records all updated then transferred to the Social Security office.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Hire a local attorney!

    • Ohio,
    • Feb 20, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I did get my disability in just under two years, here is my issue. I did all of the footwork and paperwork, they were not there for me at all! My grandson came to live with me at this time and I had NO income, I had checked into having my case expedited, the SS office said that I could file for that and I should go through my attorney, so I called them and guess what they told me, that there was no such thing!

    I began this process myself and did everything I needed to do and fax it all over to the disability determination office. Three weeks later I received a letter telling me that it had been excepted and my attorney needed to go online to a site and fill out some documents. I call Citizens Disability to let them know and their response once again was there is no such thing as having your case expedited! Even though I was standing there with the paper in my hand! I called the disability board and explained everything to them. I also told them I tried to fire them but we were too far along in the case and was unable to do so. They wanted the case to drag out so they could get more money, was my belief.

    My court date was set for December 4th, I was called on November 13th and told not to come, that the Judge ruled in my favor! Today is now 2/15/19 and I have yet to receive any payments of any kind and yesterday the local SS office called me asking me all kinds of questions, like who lived with me when, and other things that really should not matter! And before you ask, NO it was not a scam, I got the number, looked it up, called it back with the extension and spoke with her again. Now she said that she needs to call my father and ask him some questions! WTH!

    I called my so-called ATTORNEY and no one will call me back! Ohhhhh, and now today their phone lines are down (it's Friday, LOL).

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Extremely fast at getting my case settled

    • Raiford, FL,
    • Feb 19, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    They were extremely fast at getting my case settled. They had my case settled with Social Security Disability in about six months. That is very fast dealing with the Government. I am very happy with my experience with Citizens Disability.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Feb 20, 2019

      Matt Brulet,

      David, thank you so much for your kind words! We're so glad that you had a good experience and are thrilled that you were approved so quickly. If we can ever help in the future, please let us know!

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 5 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Horrible experience

    • Texas,
    • Feb 15, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have been dealing with this company for two years. They were slow on communication, couldn’t explain where my documents went. Then after two years they call me and basically say they won’t make any money from my case and I will have to go to court alone. Now mind you my hearing is in April, it’s February.

    I only rated them one star because I had to, they make you. I would prefer zero stars!

    Thanks Citizens Disability for nothing!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (2)
    View all 2 commentsHide comments
    • Feb 19, 2019

      Matt Brulet,

      Hi Angel, thanks for speaking with us today and coming to an agreement for us to represent you at your hearing - we're sorry for your frustrations, but are glad we were able to work it out. We look forward to fighting for you!

    • Feb 19, 2019

      Scott C.

      Did you still have to pay Citizens Disability?

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 6 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Awesome so far

    • Goldsboro, NC,
    • Feb 2, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I'm really just getting ready for my hearing. This group is very on top of things. Thank you, Citizens Disability. Everyone I have talked to is really nice and respectful. I've been denied two times, but I have a great feeling this time with their help. I feel I have worked enough now time to get what's owed to me. Without this it has been a long wait, but I think it will be worth it. I couldn't do this alone. I wish I was able to work, but my body can't handle it.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (2)
    View all 2 commentsHide comments
    • Feb 4, 2019

      Matt Brulet,

      We're glad you're having a good experience so far Wanda - please don't hesitate to let us know if there's anything else we can do!

    • Feb 15, 2019

      Tina B.

      I found them online and decided to go with them after reading reviews, what a mistake! I have done all of the footwork myself! My grandson came to live with me in the process so I ask if I could have my claim expedited, they said that there was no such thing, but I knew that there was because I spoke to the SS office. I decided to fax over everything from the courts myself to the SS office. A couple of weeks later I received a letter from the disability office judge telling me that in fact my case would be expedited, and my attorney needed to go to this website and fill out a form. I call Citizens Disability to let them know, again they said that there was NO such thing! As I sat there with it in my hand!

      I called the disability office and told them what was going on, there was nothing more I could do at that point. My disability did go through without a court hearing even though it was set, that was back in November. I have yet to get any money or hear anything. Yesterday the SS office called me and was asking me all kinds of questions about my past and who lived with me, when, and now wants to call my father and ask him all kinds of questions before they tell me anything, and I can't get in touch with my attorney! WHAT A CROCK OF CRAP! I have never heard anything like this, and before you ask, YES it is the SSI office, I have the direct number and her extention line, I checked it all out! This is just insane! I would say hire a local attorney!

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Patience rewards those who wait.

    • San Antonio, TX,
    • Jan 18, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    In the midst of frustration, pain, and very little hope. Where did my dreams go?

    Experiencing emotional issues, along with long-lived health condition, I found myself lost. What do I do?

    Thanks to a dear friend, experiencing similar conditions, he made love filled suggestion: "Go ahead and apply for disability. I did it. I got it."

    The concept had not crossed my mind. All I knew was that I was experiencing severe issues which did not allow me to have a fulfilling normal life anymore. I thought about it. Came to a conclusion - why not?

    He told me about Citizens Disability. "Contact them," he said.

    I found myself reading through the website and filling out some initial forms. I knew this would not be a one-shot experience.

    Sure enough, rejection came along. I also knew that patience rewards those who wait.

    I contacted Citizens Disability once again. This time I requested to talk to the main office. I wanted to go to the problem solver herself. I did not want just to fill out a "reconsideration form." I needed to throw this ball to someone that would catch it and run with it.

    Fortunately, I was able to contact a good player. A player that listened and took suggestions as well as make them.

    We scored! We won. A year into the game I was awarded SS Disability.

    I plan on taking some college courses so I can stay active and possibly commence a new less stressful part-time career. Today I visited a local School of Art. A new beginning.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jan 21, 2019

      Matt Brulet,

      Thank you so much for your trust, Jesús. We're thrilled to hear that you had a great experience, and that access to benefits will allow you the freedom to pursue a more fulfilling life. Please let us know if we can ever help in the future.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    They were very good, they helped me win my case, thanks again.

    • Manhattan, NY,
    • Jan 10, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    My name is Willie Ann August. Citizen Disability helped me win my case through Social Security. They were a great team, they work hard to win my case. Yes, I would recommend a friend to Citizen Disability because they get the job done. If I can be of any more help, do not hesitate.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jan 11, 2019

      Matt Brulet,

      Hi Willie, thank you for the kind words, we're so glad you had a good experience! Thank you again for trusting us with your claim.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 6 out 7 people found this review helpful

    How I was able to have people that work for Citizens Disability on my side was the best support I could have.

    • Connecticut,
    • Jan 7, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Thank you for your support. I told Citizens Disability everything that happened to me since I found out I had MS. Report about doctor visits and what they always said on how I am doing, the medicinal drugs I have to take. Make sure you have a phone number or email so Citizens Disability can always get a hold of you and always keep in touch. Make sure you fill out all the forms Citizens Disability sends you, and if you have any questions you can always call them. GOOD LUCK.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jan 8, 2019

      Matt Brulet,

      Thank you for trusting us with your claim, Rico, and for sharing those tips on how others can help their cases. We're in this together with our clients, and couldn't have done it without you. Please let us know if we can ever help in the future.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Wait for it...

    • Springfield, MO,
    • Jan 4, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I don't recall when we started. But, I know they took more effort in my case than I did. Part of my illness... Anyway, they went beyond trying to reach me, trying to get me to fill the paperwork out and return it. There was a long period we had no contact. But, my court date was October 2018, November 2018 I heard from court, December 28th (today) I was found favorable.

    They sent a very nice gentleman to represent me. Which could have triggered my PTSD if he wasn't...He only saw me for maybe 10 minutes prior, he tried to and succeeded prepping me for the process. So I appreciate that he knew what he was doing and was able to be successful without my getting there at a more responsible time. But, I wasn't driving.

    Someone was always available to talk me through the stress of the process when things came up.

    But, I will have to wait another 60 days to find out what happens next.

    If all goes well...I will be changing to 5 stars!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jan 7, 2019

      Matt Brulet,

      Hi Neena, we're glad you've had a good experience so far - please don't hesitate to contact our client services team if you have any questions or if there's anything else we can do to help. Thank you!

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Social Security benefits

    • Garrett, IN,
    • Jan 3, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Like I said, it takes time, they only took maybe eight, they kept in touch and told me everything was going on all. The people I talk to on the phone are very respectful, knowledgeable and make you feel comfortable. Thank you, Citizen Disability, you guys are wonderful.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jan 7, 2019

      Matt Brulet,

      Thank you for trusting us with your claim Randall!

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 66

Write a Review for Citizens Disability!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review