59 Consumer Reviews for Citizens Disability - Page 2

Average Consumer Rating: 2.4
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 17 4 star: 3 3 star: 1 2 star: 2 1 star:  36
Bottom Line: 34% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 12-22 of 59
Sort reviews by:

  • 7 out 8 people found this review helpful

    I don’t understand why Citizens Disability hasn’t been shut down yet

    • Dayton, OH,
    • Aug 12, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    The company poached my father, who is a senior, and pitched to him in a sales way, stating they could help with his disability claim to make it faster and easier. I have volunteered for quite a while now helping seniors, and I’m familiar with the process myself. If someone has a disability listed in the Blue Book, meets all the requirements to be considered disabled and it is clearly documented, it shouldn’t take any longer than 6-9 months at the most to get approved. The process is not as difficult as some people or places have made it seem, it’s been grossly exaggerated. There is a general application, where you list your disability, and you need to have doctors records showing when it started, the diagnosis and severity/symptoms... and sometimes the prognosis or when /if it will end. That’s all. It’s not rocket science.

    This place uses that as a weapon to convince people how difficult it is and make themselves seem needed. They charge MORE than a licensed attorney would, but what makes them the worst type of people is...they drag out the process as much as they possibly can. My father's disabilities were clear, records were clear. He had the perfect claim, and they dragged it out for two years knowing that the more his back pay was, the more they would get out of it. During that time he suffered. By the time I found out about this, I couldn’t get rid of them because it would’ve restarted the process for him. He hid it from me because he said he realized he’d been scammed after it was too late.

    They should be ashamed of themselves, along with all of these organizations that claim to monitor this sort of thing. Such as the BBB, who in my opinion is a scam in itself. The BBB is highly recognized and their opinion valued. But they should have to disclose that they accept payments from businesses to include them in their website. They’re really more like a club and hold no power. If you really want to file a complaint: go to the FDA for medical or drug related issues, the FTC for purchase or good related problems or the FCC for utilities. There are plenty of places that DO have the power to do something, but they only have power if they know what the problem is.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Aug 13, 2018

      Matt Brulet,

      Hi Samantha,

      We wish the disability application process were that simple. For claimants who meet listed conditions, as you mention, the process is relatively straightforward. For the overwhelming majority of applicants who do not meet listed conditions, but rather have combinations of various conditions and symptoms, the process is much more complex and difficult, and we're proud to help them navigate it.

      We do not "charge MORE than a licensed attorney." Our fees are regulated by government statue and are the industry standard. We also do not drag out the process as you claim. Our fees are capped at the government maximum regardless of how long a claim takes. The reality is that the Social Security claims backlog has been growing for years due to SSA being understaffed and under-budgeted. We work as hard as possible to get all of our claims approved as quickly as possible.

      Withdrawing as your father's representative also would absolutely not "restart the process," as you claim. We want to have productive working relationships with all of our clients, and would love to speak further with your father, and you if he authorizes it, about all of these matters.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 11 out 12 people found this review helpful

    No communication, they ruined my life.

    • Tacoma, WA,
    • Aug 3, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Citizens Disability gave me false hope and I blindly trusted them for over four years of my life, and now I am still sick, hopeless and not knowing what to do. Do not use this organization. They told me nothing. I was in the loop about nothing the whole time. I wished I would have read more online about them beforehand. I am being interviewed by a news show about this organization. I was contacted by them so apparently, this is a big deal. They have done this to many people other than me.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (2)
    View all 2 commentsHide comments
    • Aug 6, 2018

      Matt Brulet,

      Mr. Wagers,

      We apologize that you feel we did not communicate with you often enough. Our records show that we were frequently in contact with you regarding your claim throughout the four years we were handling your claim. Our goal is for every client to feel well represented, which is why we have advocates available via phone, fax, and email to make sure we are always within reach for questions. While we regret that we did not live up to your expectations, we appreciate your feedback and will be reaching out by phone to speak with you in further detail to see where we can improve.

    • Sep 18, 2018

      Roxanne D.

      I am about to attend my hearing tomorrow. After reading this, I am greatly concerned. I was contacted monthly, concerning my claim but never spoke with an attorney and felt lost the whole time. The Hearing CD I was given that I cannot review. My anxiety levels prevent me from completely grasping things and wanted someone to review with me before I go. I have no medical insurance and they kept asking me for more medical or current medical information for which I could not get after moving to a different state and starting all over. I use walk-in clinics and no consistent doctor to verify anything. I am so afraid this will be a big bust. Now ready, the bank stuff...I am really scared and petrified.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 12 out 14 people found this review helpful

    Terrible, unorganized, no communication

    • Chicago, IL,
    • Jun 26, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I hired them to help me with my disability claim in 2012-2013ish, they screwed up the entire case. They did not contact me in timely manners, they did not get correspondences to me, I was in the dark and could NEVER speak to the same person. I missed required appointments due to lack of communication, my hearing was missed, and the appeal was not done correctly either. I recommend running as far and as fast from these people as possible. Thanks to them I was denied, and to this day my condition has worsened, and if and when I have to apply again I will have to start all over, and Disability will not backdate to the original date.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jun 27, 2018

      Matt Brulet,

      Hi Jeanne,

      We're sorry we didn't meet your expectations. We appreciate you taking the time to give us feedback and will use it to get better moving forward.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Disability

    • Camden, SC,
    • Jun 6, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Citizen’s Disability was wonderful and were very easy to work with. I received my disability the first I applied with their help. I recommend Citizen's Disability 100%. They were very thorough and kept me informed the entire process. Plus, the percentage that they charged was less than 99% of the other companies that provided the same services.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jun 7, 2018

      Matt Brulet,

      Thanks for the kind words Cynthia! We're so glad you found our service helpful. If we can ever help in the future, please let us know!

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 10 out 11 people found this review helpful

    Three years and still nothing

    I started with them in 2015 and still have no idea who contacted them or submitted me to them to represent me. In 2016 the claims were denied and at the appeal hearing the Social Security expert they sent me told them in her observation of me that I would never be able to return to any work. Still at the hearing the lawyer they sent me for the hearing contacted me at 9 pm Central Time for a 10 am Central Time hearing at a location one hour and 45 minutes (the closet office) and told me to be there an hour or more ahead of the hearing to review my case before, instead of calling me during the day before denials come in the day of the hearing. A person has an equal chance of getting this far on their own then with a for-profit law firm looking to make 25% off the top of any back settlement, no matter how small, for years of work an advocate non-profit could do.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 13 out 14 people found this review helpful

    They are not the attorneys that they claim to be

    • Blue Springs, MO,
    • Apr 24, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I had to fill out all the paperwork myself. They are not helpful like indicated when they talk to you for the first time. They gave no concern to what I had to say. When SS turned down my claim, they didn't even know it happened until I called and told them and to see what was going to happen next. They don't return phone calls. The lawyer I talked to two weeks ago gave me his personal number, but it was a wrong number. I believe that all they care about is the money they get if I win. Right now I don't think they believe I will, so they are not trying to help.

    I found them by filling out a survey online to see if I qualified for SS benefits.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (3)
    View all 3 commentsHide comments
    • Apr 25, 2018

      Matt Brulet,

      Hi Martie,

      We're sorry that you are not happy with our services. With regards to denials, they are mailed from your local office, so it always takes a few days longer to reach us, a though we can always help over the phone even without our copy.

      We're a little confused regarding communication issues, as after speaking with the attorney handling your claim, it appears you've had multiple conversations with him over the past few weeks, as recently as yesterday. We assure you we care about your claim, and someone will be reaching out shortly to address your concerns and see how we can better serve you.

    • May 9, 2018

      Brian M

      DO NOT DEAL WITH THEM! THEY'RE AN ABSOLUTE WASTE OF TIME! I had a hearing with a lawyer of theirs who didn't do shit for me! After three years an submitting updated medical evidence, in the end, it was all for nothing! This was a huge blow to me as this process which included their "lawyer" is a complete waste of time. As a vet with mental health issues, it's still a tough pill to swallow!

      Their lawyers "claim" to be lawyers but they're not because if they were actual lawyers, I would have received a favorable decision after being denied three times already! A bit of advice, STAY AWAY from Citizens Disability at ALL costs, do your homework and find a reputable lawyer who will help you get what YOU deserve. Please DO NOT WASTE your time with Citizens Disability.

    • May 18, 2018

      James R

      I would NOT recommend THEM AT ALL! I have been dealing with them since January 2016. I never get follow-ups. I have spoken with an attorney ONLY ONCE and that was when I threatened to fire them. I got a text this morning, saying that they needed to talk to me about an appeal. I called and of course, I got one of their rude, offshore, and hard to understand associates. I was told that an appeals specialist would call me in the next two business days. WOW, I get to think about this ALL weekend! HOW RUDE!

      Do NOT USE THEM, They do not care about their clients. They only care about their money.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 8 out 9 people found this review helpful

    To Citizens

    • E tx,
    • Mar 25, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    All I can say is Citizens did what they said they were going to do. I have two friends that went through it, and they got approved. I went through it, and I got approved. I've never had any complaints from them, they always did what they said they were going to do, and I just want to thank everybody at Citizens and anybody else.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Mar 26, 2018

      Matt Brulet,

      Hi Matt,

      Thanks so much for the kind words! We're glad you had a good experience. If we can ever help in the future please don't hesitate to let us know!

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 9 out 9 people found this review helpful

    Thank you

    • Nashville, IN,
    • Mar 9, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    This was a difficult process that took four years! I quit, but they would not let me. They talked me thru it, said I could win, although I was skeptical. It went all the way to a final, appealed review. I won, right then and there, without having to wait for a decision. I would have never done that without them. It is hard for me to imagine the negative reviews. They were so helpful. They were ALWAYS available when I called. I don't know how much they are going to charge. I know it is $6000. I hope it is not more than that, like charging expenses for everything until my money is all gone. I am waiting to find out.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (4)
    View all 4 commentsHide comments
    • Mar 13, 2018

      Matt Brulet,

      Hi James,

      Our fee is determined by the Social Security Administration, so it will be difficult to tell you exactly how much it will be until the post-hearing process is complete. We'll have a team member reach out to you this week to go over the details to make sure you understand how it works so there are no surprises. Thanks for the kind words, we're glad we were able to get you a positive result!

    • Mar 16, 2018

      Patricia Perkins

      Citizens Disability services worked long and hard with me in getting the award, I was very pleased. My hopes were low in the beginning, but they kept on processing my claim. I will highly recommend them (and I have been) SSDI. Andrew Young and his team are AWESOME. Thank you to ALL, for changing my life.

    • Mar 19, 2018

      Matt Brulet,

      Thanks so much for the kind words Patricia!

    • Mar 27, 2018

      Shelly Jones

      I am going through Citizens Disability right now.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 12 out 13 people found this review helpful

    Messed up company

    Citizen Disability is the worst company ever. I understand about my hearing, and what they just said, that's very understandable, that this company will waste your time they cannot help you. And I'll be honest, when I looked at their reviews, and that people said bad things about them, I ignored it, and I still went through with the process. It's no lie what people are saying about them; it's the worst company ever to deal with for them to be your lawyers.

    I had a hearing and they did not show up at my hearing, they hired another lawyer that was in my area to come to my hearing, and did not have any experience about my case because that's what it seemed like to me.

    Do never hire this company. They are very bad people. They need to go out of business. These people are a joke, like people said, and wasted a whole three years of my life. If you don't believe me try it out yourself and you'll see they are a joke. And I will make sure I will put this on every social media page about Citizens Disability to not have to work for you. They need to go out of business. They are wasting people's time and are just terrible.

    And the lady, Felicia, she calls you and she's very rude and gets smart with people, and then when you want them to close your case out, the will send you a CD. You won't get paperwork like you give them when they close your case out. Messed up company. See for yourself!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Mar 1, 2018

      Matt Brulet,

      Hi Andrea,

      We're sorry you feel you did not receive a high level of service with us. We take pride in our service and would like to clarify that we did show up at your hearing. We have attorneys and advocates across the country to allow us to offer representation to clients who do not live near our offices. We're sorry you felt your hearing representative did not have experience with your case, however, we assure you your file was developed thoroughly.

      We cannot mail you your "paper file" because your file here is electronic. We put the file onto CD to allow for ease of shipping. If you'd like to print your file to paper once you receive it you are more than welcome to.

      Our goal is to provide excellent service to all clients. We're sorry we weren't able to meet your expectations, but do thank you for the feedback.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 11 out 14 people found this review helpful

    Don't waste your time

    They weren't diligent in getting medical records from the doctor. I didn't meet or converse with the supposed attorney until 15 minutes before my hearing. After an unfavorable decision, they dropped me as a client.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 13 out 17 people found this review helpful

    Advocacy is everything!

    • New York,
    • Nov 5, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    This process can be long, arduous, and at times discouraging. Having Citizens Disability with me throughout the process made it less overwhelming and comfortable. They were available to answer my questions along the way which kept me informed in real time. I would recommend Citizens Disability to anyone seeking representation they can trust. Citizens Disability have been my touchstone and advocate, and I could not have succeeded without them. So many thanks!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (6)
    View all 6 commentsHide comments
    • Nov 7, 2017

      Matt Brulet,

      Thank you for the kind words Veronica! We're so glad we were able to assist you. Thanks for the opportunity to do so, and please don't hesitate to contact us in the future if there's anything we can do!

    • Nov 27, 2017

      Gladys

      I have a question! The 25% charge, will that be only one time once you are approved or will Citizens Disability take 25% every month or every year? I was under the impression that it was only once when your claim is approved. Please be honest with me and clarify this for me. Thank you in advance! I need guidance and info.

    • Nov 29, 2017

      Matt Brulet,

      Hi Gladys,

      The 25% fee is only charged once you are approved and is applied directly to your one-time retroactive benefits check. In fact, the 25% fee is actually set and regulated by the government for your protection, and the SSA usually calculates and withholds this fee automatically for claimants when they are approved.

      The fee is also outlined and explained in the contract we send to every single one of our prospective clients to make sure you have a chance to read it in writing too!

      I hope that answers your question, if not please feel free to give us a call anytime during our normal business hours.

    • Dec 18, 2017

      Michael

      They have been my attorney since April 22, 2014, and yet, social security has me do the legwork collecting documents, medical records and sending the fax because my representatives don't respond and or return correspondence. Kind of whack for a 'Nations best advocate.'

    • Jan 4, 2018

      Benjamin Harrison

      I'm starting to work on my case now.

    • Jan 5, 2018

      Matt Brulet,

      Hi Michael,

      We'd love to hear more about your experience, gathering medical records and reviewing evidence/documents prior to submission are a few of the things we do most often for our clients. Please contact us using the client number in your Welcome Kit or via our website so we can help!

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 12-22 of 59

Write a Review for Citizens Disability!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review