Read 94 Citizens Disability Customer Reviews and Complaints (Page 2)

Write a Review
Average Customer Rating: 2.9
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 40 4 star: 6 3 star: 1 2 star: 3 1 star:  44
Bottom Line: 49% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 12-22 of 94
Sort reviews by:

  • 41 out 46 people found this review helpful

    I got denied for SSI and I called citizens and they didn't even know I got denied until I told them.

    • WV,
    • Aug 5, 2015

    I applied for SSI on the internet. It wasn't to long there after I seen an ad on TV about Citizens Disability. So I called them and and the information they give me sounded good. So I tried their services. I gave them the information they asked for. After that they said they would keep in touch with me on how the case was going. But I never did hear from them, I always had to call them. So 5 months went by and still nothing. So I called them again, they told me it was in processing. So I said ok.

    So the 6th month comes up. I called the social security office and asked them. They told me I should here something in about 3 weeks. So I said ok great. That time came, I got my letter in the mail that said I was denied. So I called Citizens Disability to tell them I was denied. At first they did not know anything about it. Then the guy on the phone said that's right we got the letter today. I told him that I was going to get a private attorney to do my appeal. Then he said we will start the appeal process right away. I told him no you won't, I got an attorney to do that. He tried his best to let them to continue. I told them no, I've done all the foot work. Then he said they were still going to get there money. I said for what, your ad said "we don't get money unless we get you money." I said I was denied so how can you do that. They said we will file a paper with SSI and you won't know it until you get a paper from SSI stated that it was taken out. I told them I will have my lawyer get in touch with them, then I hung up. This place is nothing but a money making scam.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 31 out 36 people found this review helpful

    Citizens Disability Has Proven Their Incompetence

    • Pasco, WA,
    • Aug 18, 2015

    At the time of writing, I am currently in a psychiatric ward here in Richland, WA. I ended up here after having attempted suicide, because Social Security denied my request to have my disability claim expedited due to extreme hardship circumstances. I had originally filed my claim through Citizens Disability in December 2011, and went to my first and only hearing on February 28, 2014. I had received my first denial in May 2014, which led to my being evicted from my apartment in Pasco the following month.

    Because of Citizens Disability's incompetence, I will be homeless again as of next month. Their incompetence also drove me to committing suicide. I plan to take legal action against Citizens Disability for legal malpractice, and I have had to contact the offices of US Senators Patty Murray and Maria Cantwell to see what they might be able to do in helping me get the benefits I desperately need.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 42 out 48 people found this review helpful

    Being ripped off, stealing my money

    • Oviedo, FL,
    • Aug 24, 2015

    I did call Citizens Disability and had a phone interview. The HR in my company's insurance referred me to Allsup, who handled my claim and went to court with me and dealt with all. Now, Citizens Disability is taking my disability check for August 2015 claiming I owe them fees. Allsup could not have settled my case without a letter. Now I am being robbed of my disability money, I cannot dispute this. I am blatantly being robbed. Do not call this company. $610.00 may be nothing to some people but to me it is life. This company is unspeakable.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 40 out 47 people found this review helpful

    Beware

    • New Brunswick, NJ,
    • Oct 28, 2015

    They will persistently call you with a computer that pretends to be a human. I don't know how good the service is, but their initial contact process is annoying and illegal. They ignore the "do not call lists" and call multiple times.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 72 out 77 people found this review helpful

    Bad Company

    • Florida,
    • Nov 16, 2015

    Citizens Disability is the worst company to deal with (although Binder and Binder were just as bad). You do not have to work full time to apply for disability, they only require this so their 25% of your check comes out to a big amount. If you only qualify for $1000/month and they get $250 they don't want your case no matter how sick you are. This company is corrupt and should be investigated by the Better Business Bureau.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 80 out 89 people found this review helpful

    Waste of time

    • Tucson, AZ,
    • Dec 14, 2015
    • Verified Reviewer

    I had started my claim in July 2015. By August I was denied because I was working. I told Citizens my last job date would be July 10. I called to advise them that date was wrong, but they decided in their greed to use a date of December 2014.

    I sent paperwork, that they requested in September and then again in October regarding my medical information.

    No communication from Citizens Disability so I decided to call them.

    I called November 9, requesting an update on my claim. I was given the LAME EXCUSE that I didn't respond to any phone calls they had sent to me. I was advised then that my claim was denied, Did I want to proceed? Of course. I wasn't calling for that stupid question to be asked. I was advised they would call me back within 24-48 hours. I did not receive any calls from Citizen's Disability. I received calls from other disability companies asking me question.

    On 11-24-2015 I called again. Again the lies of me not answering my phones were there. And did I want to proceed with my claim?

    On 11-27-2015 I received a letter from them that their efforts to reach me were unsuccessful.

    Imagine my surprise on 12-1-2015 I was told they needed to start a new claim.

    I fired this company on the same date for their lies, and lack of professionalism and lack of timely handling my claim.

    On 12-3-2915 I received a phone call saying the same things and now they want to charge me.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 21 out 24 people found this review helpful

    Persistent phone calls

    I contacted Citizens Disability just to inquire more information about it. I spoke with a live representative and was then transferred to another one who wanted to start my application. I had to, once again, explain I wasn't ready to start an application and needed time to think about and would call them back at my earliest convenience or if I wanted to move forward with the application. This was in the summer of 2016. Well apparently they only hear what they want to hear because I have received numerous calls, several times in a row, at all hours and any day of the week. I had even placed my number on the do not call list four times and the automated teller still calls. This company has even found a way to leave voice mails on my cell phone without actually calling.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 22 out 28 people found this review helpful

    Useless

    Don't waste your time with this company. Use disability lawyer near you so you can personally talk to him.

    Citizens Disability did not represent me well at all. My lawyer quit two weeks before my hearing with the judge, and I was not notified. After multiple calls, the agency contacted me and gave me a new lawyer. This lawyer called me around 8 pm the night before the hearing. She wasn't prepared at all. Some records and letters from friends and co-workers were not submitted. It was a disaster.

    I researched this company before using it, and the reviews looked promising. I loved how I didn't have to pay unless I win. I thought you had to pay lawyers up front. You do not! There are lawyers who do the same thing. You can personally speak to them, submit records and letters and receive help with forms.

    Using Citizens Disability is a waste of time. You might as well do it by yourself. I have more complaints, but I hope this is enough to persuade you not to use them. Good luck.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 34 out 39 people found this review helpful

    The biggest lie in the industry

    Long story short, the company was given to us as a referral from the Department of Workforce Services in Utah. At first, they were looking as if they were helping, but the bottom line was that my husband was turned down twice.

    We moved to Arizona from Utah, at which time the Arizona Department of Economic Security hooked my husband up with an advocate associated with the Social Security Administration, and less than eight months later he was approved. But, because he signed with Citizens Disability (giving them 25%, which they actually took more than the 25%, and they were not instrumental at all in helping us obtain our SSI), my husband and I lost our home in Utah while waiting for this SSI to come through, and are now are living with our in-laws.

    I would steer clear of anyone wanting you to sign over a portion of your settlement to them. Now, if you think that is helping someone, then sign up. I am currently looking into litigation to get my money back from them, and won't stop until I do.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 29 out 33 people found this review helpful

    No help!

    • Glendale, Arizona,
    • Apr 10, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I was with them for four years, and they never called me. I had to fire one of the lawyers at my hearing, and the judge even stopped the hearing because of how unprepared and unprofessional she was. They called me back promising me they would fix their wrong, but in the end, it was a waste of time and no help at all. Don't use them!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 28 out 31 people found this review helpful

    What a joke

    • Reed City, MI,
    • Aug 22, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    These people are a joke. They gave me an approximate date for a hearing when they took my case, which was 13 months away. Three months after that date, I call them and ask them when is my court date as it's three months past they said it would be. And why haven't I gotten a court date yet? They said they don't set the schedule, and have nothing to do with the court dates.

    Tell me if I'm wrong, but if you make a court date, you are on the docket and have a court date, correct?

    I threatened to seek help from another firm if I didn't have a date within 24 hours. In less than an hour, I received a call and an email (and in a few days a letter in the mail) with a definite date. All of a sudden when the possibility of losing my case to another firm, they manufacture a court date almost instantly? This leads me to believe they were not actively working on my claim at all. I'm just letting it sit to take up time so they can take a bigger piece of my pie.

    They make you sign a 25% fee waiver. I'm not sure, but I think it must remove the cap that is set by the Social Security Administration. This is the paperwork my attorney at the hearing was so adamant to get me to sign before the hearing.

    Now, all of a sudden, they over whelm me with paper work they want done. Why wasn't this all taken care of during the 16 months from when they took the case? Again, this leads me to believe they have not been actively working on my case. And it was not medical records as I have been reporting that on a regular basis.

    So, here we are, court day. They tell me to be there one hour early to review my case with my attorney (only they know who he is, I have no clue). Not only is he late to meet with me, he is 20 minutes late for the hearing time. That is one hour, 20 minutes total late. The Judge is wanting to get started. All my attorney wants me to do sign papers for Citizens Disability 25% piece of my pie. No case review because this kid is almost one and half hours late!

    We go into the hearing. My young, right out of college attorney smells like booze, although he tries to cover it up with cologne. The judge asks me all kinds of questions to help my case while my hung over attorney sits there with his head up his ass. Don't take my word for it, the transcripts from the hearing will tell it all.

    Of course, Citizens pays my attorney no matter what, so what does he care. I'm sure he never even looked at my case prior to arriving at the court room. Of course, I end up losing my case. Surprised? Hardly! Now, Citizens won't answer my calls or emails.

    I'm trying to seek help from other firms. But, no firm want's to clean up after Citizens Disability. So I guess my next appeal I will be dealing with on my own.

    I would report Citizens Disability to BBB, but I have paid them nothing, so nothing to gain there. I would report my hung over, late, unprepared attorney to the BAR, but I have no paper work with his name on it, so I have no idea who he is!

    Luckily, a friend gave me a link to this site, where I am happy to give my review and advice.

    My review? 0 out of 10!

    My advice? Stay away from these people. They are NOT on your side! You will not know who your attorney is that is supposed to handle your case. You will NOT have any contact with an attorney prior to your court date. He is paid regardless of the outcome of your case, so there is no incentive for the attorney to be properly prepared to support you in court for your disability case. You will be on your own in court.

    Like I said, don't take my word for it. The transcripts of my case tell a grim story of how these people represent you.

    I had to give them one star because a zero star option was not available!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

Showing 12-22 of 94

Write a Review for Citizens Disability!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review