Read 94 Citizens Disability Customer Reviews and Complaints (Page 2)

Write a Review
Average Customer Rating: 2.9
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 40 4 star: 6 3 star: 1 2 star: 3 1 star:  44
Bottom Line: 49% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 12-22 of 94
Sort reviews by:

  • 31 out 36 people found this review helpful

    Citizens Disability Has Proven Their Incompetence

    • Pasco, WA,
    • Aug 18, 2015

    At the time of writing, I am currently in a psychiatric ward here in Richland, WA. I ended up here after having attempted suicide, because Social Security denied my request to have my disability claim expedited due to extreme hardship circumstances. I had originally filed my claim through Citizens Disability in December 2011, and went to my first and only hearing on February 28, 2014. I had received my first denial in May 2014, which led to my being evicted from my apartment in Pasco the following month.

    Because of Citizens Disability's incompetence, I will be homeless again as of next month. Their incompetence also drove me to committing suicide. I plan to take legal action against Citizens Disability for legal malpractice, and I have had to contact the offices of US Senators Patty Murray and Maria Cantwell to see what they might be able to do in helping me get the benefits I desperately need.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 29 out 33 people found this review helpful

    No help!

    • Glendale, Arizona,
    • Apr 10, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I was with them for four years, and they never called me. I had to fire one of the lawyers at my hearing, and the judge even stopped the hearing because of how unprepared and unprofessional she was. They called me back promising me they would fix their wrong, but in the end, it was a waste of time and no help at all. Don't use them!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 28 out 31 people found this review helpful

    What a joke

    • Reed City, MI,
    • Aug 22, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    These people are a joke. They gave me an approximate date for a hearing when they took my case, which was 13 months away. Three months after that date, I call them and ask them when is my court date as it's three months past they said it would be. And why haven't I gotten a court date yet? They said they don't set the schedule, and have nothing to do with the court dates.

    Tell me if I'm wrong, but if you make a court date, you are on the docket and have a court date, correct?

    I threatened to seek help from another firm if I didn't have a date within 24 hours. In less than an hour, I received a call and an email (and in a few days a letter in the mail) with a definite date. All of a sudden when the possibility of losing my case to another firm, they manufacture a court date almost instantly? This leads me to believe they were not actively working on my claim at all. I'm just letting it sit to take up time so they can take a bigger piece of my pie.

    They make you sign a 25% fee waiver. I'm not sure, but I think it must remove the cap that is set by the Social Security Administration. This is the paperwork my attorney at the hearing was so adamant to get me to sign before the hearing.

    Now, all of a sudden, they over whelm me with paper work they want done. Why wasn't this all taken care of during the 16 months from when they took the case? Again, this leads me to believe they have not been actively working on my case. And it was not medical records as I have been reporting that on a regular basis.

    So, here we are, court day. They tell me to be there one hour early to review my case with my attorney (only they know who he is, I have no clue). Not only is he late to meet with me, he is 20 minutes late for the hearing time. That is one hour, 20 minutes total late. The Judge is wanting to get started. All my attorney wants me to do sign papers for Citizens Disability 25% piece of my pie. No case review because this kid is almost one and half hours late!

    We go into the hearing. My young, right out of college attorney smells like booze, although he tries to cover it up with cologne. The judge asks me all kinds of questions to help my case while my hung over attorney sits there with his head up his ass. Don't take my word for it, the transcripts from the hearing will tell it all.

    Of course, Citizens pays my attorney no matter what, so what does he care. I'm sure he never even looked at my case prior to arriving at the court room. Of course, I end up losing my case. Surprised? Hardly! Now, Citizens won't answer my calls or emails.

    I'm trying to seek help from other firms. But, no firm want's to clean up after Citizens Disability. So I guess my next appeal I will be dealing with on my own.

    I would report Citizens Disability to BBB, but I have paid them nothing, so nothing to gain there. I would report my hung over, late, unprepared attorney to the BAR, but I have no paper work with his name on it, so I have no idea who he is!

    Luckily, a friend gave me a link to this site, where I am happy to give my review and advice.

    My review? 0 out of 10!

    My advice? Stay away from these people. They are NOT on your side! You will not know who your attorney is that is supposed to handle your case. You will NOT have any contact with an attorney prior to your court date. He is paid regardless of the outcome of your case, so there is no incentive for the attorney to be properly prepared to support you in court for your disability case. You will be on your own in court.

    Like I said, don't take my word for it. The transcripts of my case tell a grim story of how these people represent you.

    I had to give them one star because a zero star option was not available!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 27 out 32 people found this review helpful

    Do not hire them for your disability case.

    • Maryland,
    • Oct 5, 2014

    After more than a year and a half, and after submitting many documents, these incompetent people dropped my case 3 weeks prior to the hearing. Leaving me with no representation. They did not sent all documents to the social security administration. Restrained necessary information needed to make an informed case. Over 14 years of evidence accumulated and non of it was sent to SSA.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 27 out 34 people found this review helpful

    They are real. I won a large sum.

    Citizens Disability is not a scam, I used them and won. It took 5 years, but I am young. I was awarded both. I wasn't aware I had to pay for both, I thought it was a set fee. But when they go for both and you win, you pay for both.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 26 out 29 people found this review helpful

    Scam artists

    • Jul 13, 2015

    What they don't tell you is that if they win your case in a short time, they will bill you. They told SSA that I wasn't filing for SSI and yet when I did qualify, they took their 25% of the back payment, which happened to be one whole month's check, leaving me broke again! Since my disability claim was settled in five months, there was no back monies from SSDI so they sent me a bill for $1000.00. They don't tell you they are charging you by the quarter hour yet their rates run between $195.00 and $335.00 an hour.

    The itemized bill they sent me showed that for one day, they mailed out a bi-fold piece of mail with "Urgent legal document" stamped on the outside and said nothing more other than that they were working hard on my case. They were charging a total of $328.75. Is that how much a post card costs to them?

    Their formula for billing by the quarter hour blatantly pads the bill to make the total hours seem excessive. If they read a piece of mail that takes 15 minutes or even talk to you for five on the phone, they will bill you for every moment spent doing so. Even SSA said that anything more than 12 hours that they have claimed to work on my case seems excessive.

    For an agency that claims to be an advocate, they will take your money and leave you broke without warning and then bill you a ridiculous amount for hours they never performed.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 26 out 29 people found this review helpful

    Citizens disability is a scam

    • Texas,
    • Feb 13, 2015

    I went through this company for my disability which after 2 years was granted. When payment was issued Citizens Disability got 25% as agreed upon. About 2 weeks later I got a bill for over $7,000.00 in "additional items" which included things like scanning in one paper and charging .25 hour at the rate of 295.00.

    I have filed an appeal with Social Security twice so far and each time I was told they could collect this but it was between citizens Disability and myself. I only received $3,700.00 in back time. They wanted more than double that in fees. They called me with an offer to settle this for $1,000.00 which I reluctantly agreed to accept. This company is ridiculous.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 26 out 32 people found this review helpful

    A good experience

    • Philadelphia, PA,
    • Mar 18, 2015

    I have worked with Citizens Disability for only three months and they got me a positive approval from Social Security. They kept me up to date on the whole process and answered all my questions in a timely manner. I would highly recommend their service.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 25 out 28 people found this review helpful

    My Experience with Citizens disability

    • Grand Junction co.,
    • Jul 31, 2015

    Once they get you signed up, they tell you you won't have a Lawyer or Medical Expert in court. Never enter a court Room without an Attorney. You won't be taken seriously. And then they don't return your calls when you have questions.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 24 out 29 people found this review helpful

    Bad experience

    Worst experience EVER. It took almost 5 months and multiple phone calls before I could contact the person handling my case. They didn't keep me updated, didn't get the paperwork together, and because of the way they handled it, I lost the appeal. I would recommend finding someone else to represent you.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 24 out 28 people found this review helpful

    They weren't very helpful

    • Staten Island, NY,
    • Aug 29, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    These people don't help you with your claim. I had to constantly call to get an update and when I got denied they refuse to appeal. I wouldn't advise anyone to hire them, and I regret contacting them. I've wasted two and a half years to get denied because they couldn't do their job. Please do your research before viewing a good lawyer. I wouldn't advise anyone to use these lawyers at all. Research and check reviews and use a good lawyer for your case.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

Showing 12-22 of 94

Write a Review for Citizens Disability!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review