59 Consumer Reviews for Citizens Disability - Page 3

Average Consumer Rating: 2.4
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 17 4 star: 3 3 star: 1 2 star: 2 1 star:  36
Bottom Line: 34% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 23-33 of 59
Sort reviews by:

  • 9 out 15 people found this review helpful

    Citizens Disability

    • Kentucky,
    • Oct 25, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    They did a great job, and they kept me informed at all times. Their team is awesome! I had worked with a lawyer before, but this team was right with me after fighting for 5 years. The attorney I had was great; he spoke up and did a wonderful job!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (2)
    View all 2 commentsHide comments
    • Nov 7, 2017

      Matt Brulet,

      Thanks Lisa! We're so glad you had a good experience and we were able to get you a positive result. Please don't hesitate to contact us in the future if there's anything we can do!

    • Mar 21, 2018

      Sabrina

      I had a hearing with the judge about my SSDI, why does it take so long to get an answer from the judge advocate? When I talk to citizens with a disability to find out where my case lies, all I get is that we are not privileged to those answers, mind you, it has been four months now since my hearing. I have been going at this for 38 months now. I am frustrated, tired, and ready to lose everything because of this. My life is on hold and to be quite honest, I do not like feeling like this.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 24 out 28 people found this review helpful

    They weren't very helpful

    • Staten Island, NY,
    • Aug 29, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    These people don't help you with your claim. I had to constantly call to get an update and when I got denied they refuse to appeal. I wouldn't advise anyone to hire them, and I regret contacting them. I've wasted two and a half years to get denied because they couldn't do their job. Please do your research before viewing a good lawyer. I wouldn't advise anyone to use these lawyers at all. Research and check reviews and use a good lawyer for your case.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 28 out 31 people found this review helpful

    What a joke

    • Reed City, MI,
    • Aug 22, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    These people are a joke. They gave me an approximate date for a hearing when they took my case, which was 13 months away. Three months after that date, I call them and ask them when is my court date as it's three months past they said it would be. And why haven't I gotten a court date yet? They said they don't set the schedule, and have nothing to do with the court dates.

    Tell me if I'm wrong, but if you make a court date, you are on the docket and have a court date, correct?

    I threatened to seek help from another firm if I didn't have a date within 24 hours. In less than an hour, I received a call and an email (and in a few days a letter in the mail) with a definite date. All of a sudden when the possibility of losing my case to another firm, they manufacture a court date almost instantly? This leads me to believe they were not actively working on my claim at all. I'm just letting it sit to take up time so they can take a bigger piece of my pie.

    They make you sign a 25% fee waiver. I'm not sure, but I think it must remove the cap that is set by the Social Security Administration. This is the paperwork my attorney at the hearing was so adamant to get me to sign before the hearing.

    Now, all of a sudden, they over whelm me with paper work they want done. Why wasn't this all taken care of during the 16 months from when they took the case? Again, this leads me to believe they have not been actively working on my case. And it was not medical records as I have been reporting that on a regular basis.

    So, here we are, court day. They tell me to be there one hour early to review my case with my attorney (only they know who he is, I have no clue). Not only is he late to meet with me, he is 20 minutes late for the hearing time. That is one hour, 20 minutes total late. The Judge is wanting to get started. All my attorney wants me to do sign papers for Citizens Disability 25% piece of my pie. No case review because this kid is almost one and half hours late!

    We go into the hearing. My young, right out of college attorney smells like booze, although he tries to cover it up with cologne. The judge asks me all kinds of questions to help my case while my hung over attorney sits there with his head up his ass. Don't take my word for it, the transcripts from the hearing will tell it all.

    Of course, Citizens pays my attorney no matter what, so what does he care. I'm sure he never even looked at my case prior to arriving at the court room. Of course, I end up losing my case. Surprised? Hardly! Now, Citizens won't answer my calls or emails.

    I'm trying to seek help from other firms. But, no firm want's to clean up after Citizens Disability. So I guess my next appeal I will be dealing with on my own.

    I would report Citizens Disability to BBB, but I have paid them nothing, so nothing to gain there. I would report my hung over, late, unprepared attorney to the BAR, but I have no paper work with his name on it, so I have no idea who he is!

    Luckily, a friend gave me a link to this site, where I am happy to give my review and advice.

    My review? 0 out of 10!

    My advice? Stay away from these people. They are NOT on your side! You will not know who your attorney is that is supposed to handle your case. You will NOT have any contact with an attorney prior to your court date. He is paid regardless of the outcome of your case, so there is no incentive for the attorney to be properly prepared to support you in court for your disability case. You will be on your own in court.

    Like I said, don't take my word for it. The transcripts of my case tell a grim story of how these people represent you.

    I had to give them one star because a zero star option was not available!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Nov 29, 2017

      Brian Taylor

      My court date is tomorrow morning and I still haven't heard from my attorney. I gave Citizens Disability another call today, and I was given the same response, "I will send an urgent email." I asked if they will get the email today because it was getting close to 5 pm EST. She ensured me that they would. I asked them, "What time is it now?" Again, she ensured me that they would get the email. So I asked, "Are you in Massachusetts or even in the United States?" The response was "No, I'm in the Philippines." OMG.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 15 out 22 people found this review helpful

    Very quick on returning calls and giving me info I ask for

    I am going through Citizens Disability right since 2013 late in the year, but they have been very well mannered. They return calls promptly, and they give me any answers I ask about. They are very persistent on pushing to get me in, and it does take time, so it's not their fault, it is the Social Security office that lags here due to the lack of disability judges. It's not Citizens fault. They have given me everything I need and to hear when I ask them.

    One of the best that I've found is if I win then great, if not, they did their best as it's up to Social Security to make a decision on who wins not the advocates, but they do push as hard as they can. I have tons of faith in them. I trust them.

    The last advocate with me from another firm had told me after my appeal if I would have tried killing myself twice in a year, it would've been a win for sure. I fired him right there and told him to jump off a bridge and don't even think of sending me a bill. They had the nerve to send me a $15.00 bill for whatever reason, and I sent it back stating I will not pay this as my advocate said what he said so keep this and pay for it yourselves. I wish I could mention who they are, but I can't. But watch who is fake.

    I believe in Citizens for they have helped me more than I can imagine. I don't blame them for my wait for appeal because in Michigan we lost a lot of judges for this and it set them behind. I'm patiently waiting as I'll be in very soon with a 100% chance outcome. They're doing super. They don't hesitate to sit and talk if you need to. Terrific people so far, and I hope I can say the same when it's over and if I win, they deserve every penny earned. Thanks.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 29 out 33 people found this review helpful

    No help!

    • Glendale, Arizona,
    • Apr 10, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I was with them for four years, and they never called me. I had to fire one of the lawyers at my hearing, and the judge even stopped the hearing because of how unprepared and unprofessional she was. They called me back promising me they would fix their wrong, but in the end, it was a waste of time and no help at all. Don't use them!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 22 out 26 people found this review helpful

    Very good service.

    I have had good customer service with Citizens Disability and received prompt call backs and answers. I have had to wait on hold for a while, but I'm not their only client. They have been extremely helpful for me, and yes I would recommend them. Thank you!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 34 out 39 people found this review helpful

    The biggest lie in the industry

    Long story short, the company was given to us as a referral from the Department of Workforce Services in Utah. At first, they were looking as if they were helping, but the bottom line was that my husband was turned down twice.

    We moved to Arizona from Utah, at which time the Arizona Department of Economic Security hooked my husband up with an advocate associated with the Social Security Administration, and less than eight months later he was approved. But, because he signed with Citizens Disability (giving them 25%, which they actually took more than the 25%, and they were not instrumental at all in helping us obtain our SSI), my husband and I lost our home in Utah while waiting for this SSI to come through, and are now are living with our in-laws.

    I would steer clear of anyone wanting you to sign over a portion of your settlement to them. Now, if you think that is helping someone, then sign up. I am currently looking into litigation to get my money back from them, and won't stop until I do.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 22 out 28 people found this review helpful

    Useless

    Don't waste your time with this company. Use disability lawyer near you so you can personally talk to him.

    Citizens Disability did not represent me well at all. My lawyer quit two weeks before my hearing with the judge, and I was not notified. After multiple calls, the agency contacted me and gave me a new lawyer. This lawyer called me around 8 pm the night before the hearing. She wasn't prepared at all. Some records and letters from friends and co-workers were not submitted. It was a disaster.

    I researched this company before using it, and the reviews looked promising. I loved how I didn't have to pay unless I win. I thought you had to pay lawyers up front. You do not! There are lawyers who do the same thing. You can personally speak to them, submit records and letters and receive help with forms.

    Using Citizens Disability is a waste of time. You might as well do it by yourself. I have more complaints, but I hope this is enough to persuade you not to use them. Good luck.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 21 out 24 people found this review helpful

    Persistent phone calls

    I contacted Citizens Disability just to inquire more information about it. I spoke with a live representative and was then transferred to another one who wanted to start my application. I had to, once again, explain I wasn't ready to start an application and needed time to think about and would call them back at my earliest convenience or if I wanted to move forward with the application. This was in the summer of 2016. Well apparently they only hear what they want to hear because I have received numerous calls, several times in a row, at all hours and any day of the week. I had even placed my number on the do not call list four times and the automated teller still calls. This company has even found a way to leave voice mails on my cell phone without actually calling.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 27 out 34 people found this review helpful

    They are real. I won a large sum.

    Citizens Disability is not a scam, I used them and won. It took 5 years, but I am young. I was awarded both. I wasn't aware I had to pay for both, I thought it was a set fee. But when they go for both and you win, you pay for both.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 80 out 89 people found this review helpful

    Waste of time

    • Tucson, AZ,
    • Dec 14, 2015
    • Verified Reviewer

    I had started my claim in July 2015. By August I was denied because I was working. I told Citizens my last job date would be July 10. I called to advise them that date was wrong, but they decided in their greed to use a date of December 2014.

    I sent paperwork, that they requested in September and then again in October regarding my medical information.

    No communication from Citizens Disability so I decided to call them.

    I called November 9, requesting an update on my claim. I was given the LAME EXCUSE that I didn't respond to any phone calls they had sent to me. I was advised then that my claim was denied, Did I want to proceed? Of course. I wasn't calling for that stupid question to be asked. I was advised they would call me back within 24-48 hours. I did not receive any calls from Citizen's Disability. I received calls from other disability companies asking me question.

    On 11-24-2015 I called again. Again the lies of me not answering my phones were there. And did I want to proceed with my claim?

    On 11-27-2015 I received a letter from them that their efforts to reach me were unsuccessful.

    Imagine my surprise on 12-1-2015 I was told they needed to start a new claim.

    I fired this company on the same date for their lies, and lack of professionalism and lack of timely handling my claim.

    On 12-3-2915 I received a phone call saying the same things and now they want to charge me.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (2)
    View all 2 commentsHide comments
    • Jan 21, 2016

      Kelsey Taylor

      My husband has had the EXACT same problem. My husband and I filled out and faxed ALL of the necessary paperwork to the social security office. They took $2520.00 from his settlement and they never called him back or even called to let him know he was approved. How is this company still in business?

    • Feb 10, 2016

      doris morgan

      I am curious to know the status of my account.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 23-33 of 59

Write a Review for Citizens Disability!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review