64 Consumer Reviews for Citizens Disability - Page 3

Average Consumer Rating: 2.4
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 19 4 star: 4 3 star: 1 2 star: 2 1 star:  38
Bottom Line: 36% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 23-33 of 64
Sort reviews by:

  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Awesome so far

    • Goldsboro, NC,
    • Feb 2, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I'm really just getting ready for my hearing. This group is very on top of things. Thank you, Citizens Disability. Everyone I have talked to is really nice and respectful. I've been denied two times, but I have a great feeling this time with their help. I feel I have worked enough now time to get what's owed to me. Without this it has been a long wait, but I think it will be worth it. I couldn't do this alone. I wish I was able to work, but my body can't handle it.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Feb 4, 2019

      Matt Brulet,

      We're glad you're having a good experience so far Wanda - please don't hesitate to let us know if there's anything else we can do!

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 0 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Wait for it...

    • Springfield, MO,
    • Jan 4, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I don't recall when we started. But, I know they took more effort in my case than I did. Part of my illness... Anyway, they went beyond trying to reach me, trying to get me to fill the paperwork out and return it. There was a long period we had no contact. But, my court date was October 2018, November 2018 I heard from court, December 28th (today) I was found favorable.

    They sent a very nice gentleman to represent me. Which could have triggered my PTSD if he wasn't...He only saw me for maybe 10 minutes prior, he tried to and succeeded prepping me for the process. So I appreciate that he knew what he was doing and was able to be successful without my getting there at a more responsible time. But, I wasn't driving.

    Someone was always available to talk me through the stress of the process when things came up.

    But, I will have to wait another 60 days to find out what happens next.

    If all goes well...I will be changing to 5 stars!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jan 7, 2019

      Matt Brulet,

      Hi Neena, we're glad you've had a good experience so far - please don't hesitate to contact our client services team if you have any questions or if there's anything else we can do to help. Thank you!

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 22 out 24 people found this review helpful

    Not what I expected

    • Boston GA,
    • Nov 4, 2014

    Although they started off good when it came down to my hearing the rep did not put in any input whatsoever. I would not recommend this firm.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 42 out 47 people found this review helpful

    Good review with BBB. But...

    • Aug 23, 2015

    I checked the Better Business reviews before filing my claim. Citizen Disability looked good so my venture started. They sent me a packet with DVD's to watch to explain what was going to be happening during this process.

    I sent them all the medical information that I already had and then. I went to all my doctors and hospital, got every medical reports, labs. I did all the leg work. I never filed for disability before, I thought I was suppose to do this so we could get this process going and over with as quickly as possible.

    I received a letter of denial from Social Security. I called Citizens disability to ask what to do. They were not aware of a denial. They said they would contact Social Security but it was uncommon to be denied the first time.

    Well after months without an income I finally got a court date. I was a little nervous about this because Citizens Disability is located in another state.

    I received a call from an advocate of Citizens Disability, a lawyer in the area. We discussed the case over the phone the day the hearing which I won my case.

    Months after my hearing I received for a bill from Citizens Disability. They wanted me to pay them for what said was for fees from the doctors and hospitals for reports and paperwork.

    They sent me paperwork for the doctors, hospitals and I took them to be filled out. I paid fees for this, not them. And I talked with them regarding this matter, I thought it was all settled. But NO, Citizen's Disability sent this bill to another lawyers for collection. Not only does Citizen's Disability have a very high fee (25%). But then they want more of the little money you receive each month.

    Stick with a local lawyer to represent you. One that you can ask people about in your own neighborhood. Your not going to have an income during this process. Yes I checked the BBB. I should have check the BBB on my own neighborhood.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 36 out 38 people found this review helpful

    They are horrible!

    • Myrtle Beach, SC,
    • Jul 24, 2014

    If you hire them, they will be rude to you and not return your calls. You will meet your representative for the first time at the hearing and the representative will most likely not be an attorney and will most likely no know what she is doing. Your representative will most likely be rude and unprofessional to the Judge who you appear before. causing you much embarrassment and jeopardizing your chances of winning your case. If you win, it will not be because of good representation. If you win, it will be despite bad representation. You will most likely been better off without a representative. Do yourself a favor and hire a real attorney in your area who specializes in Social Security disability cases. You will receive far better representation for the same fee arrangement and significantly increase your chances of winning your case.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 27 out 32 people found this review helpful

    Do not hire them for your disability case.

    • Maryland,
    • Oct 5, 2014

    After more than a year and a half, and after submitting many documents, these incompetent people dropped my case 3 weeks prior to the hearing. Leaving me with no representation. They did not sent all documents to the social security administration. Restrained necessary information needed to make an informed case. Over 14 years of evidence accumulated and non of it was sent to SSA.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 31 out 34 people found this review helpful

    No answers to my questions

    • Walker, LA,
    • Nov 21, 2014

    I hired Citizens on TV. After a year of using them and having no satisfaction, I went ahead and contacted Social Security myself and I was amazed to find out that Citizens Disability didn't even know my case worker. I fired at them and said that hired a local attorney would be a better fit. Besides, you never speak to the same person and you always get the total run around.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 22 out 26 people found this review helpful

    Just called for info

    • Jan 9, 2015

    I just called for information and reached the wrong organization anyway. However, minutes later got a call back from them not the toll free number but from the area code that I live in claiming they were Citizens Disability and then they just hung up. Tried to call them back and got a buzzing sound. Has anyone else experienced this?

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 26 out 29 people found this review helpful

    Scam artists

    • Jul 13, 2015

    What they don't tell you is that if they win your case in a short time, they will bill you. They told SSA that I wasn't filing for SSI and yet when I did qualify, they took their 25% of the back payment, which happened to be one whole month's check, leaving me broke again! Since my disability claim was settled in five months, there was no back monies from SSDI so they sent me a bill for $1000.00. They don't tell you they are charging you by the quarter hour yet their rates run between $195.00 and $335.00 an hour.

    The itemized bill they sent me showed that for one day, they mailed out a bi-fold piece of mail with "Urgent legal document" stamped on the outside and said nothing more other than that they were working hard on my case. They were charging a total of $328.75. Is that how much a post card costs to them?

    Their formula for billing by the quarter hour blatantly pads the bill to make the total hours seem excessive. If they read a piece of mail that takes 15 minutes or even talk to you for five on the phone, they will bill you for every moment spent doing so. Even SSA said that anything more than 12 hours that they have claimed to work on my case seems excessive.

    For an agency that claims to be an advocate, they will take your money and leave you broke without warning and then bill you a ridiculous amount for hours they never performed.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 26 out 29 people found this review helpful

    Citizens disability is a scam

    • Texas,
    • Feb 13, 2015

    I went through this company for my disability which after 2 years was granted. When payment was issued Citizens Disability got 25% as agreed upon. About 2 weeks later I got a bill for over $7,000.00 in "additional items" which included things like scanning in one paper and charging .25 hour at the rate of 295.00.

    I have filed an appeal with Social Security twice so far and each time I was told they could collect this but it was between citizens Disability and myself. I only received $3,700.00 in back time. They wanted more than double that in fees. They called me with an offer to settle this for $1,000.00 which I reluctantly agreed to accept. This company is ridiculous.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 17 out 18 people found this review helpful

    I do not recommend using Citzens Disability

    • Rochester, NY,
    • Jun 28, 2015

    If you don't want to get stuck doing ALL your own paperwork and gathering all the doctors evidence, then do not use this company! I did ALL my own footwork and the lawyer that showed up to my hearing didn't even know my case nor was he prepared! They had two and a half years to get it together and when the day of court came, guess what? They didn't even have ALL my medical documents and the Judge had to give them another month to get it all in. I did it all by myself to begin with. This company is a joke and I would never refer anyone to them at all. When you call you get a different person every single time who is clueless when it comes to your case.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 23-33 of 64

Write a Review for Citizens Disability!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review