Read 94 Citizens Disability Customer Reviews and Complaints (Page 3)

Write a Review
Average Customer Rating: 2.9
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 40 4 star: 6 3 star: 1 2 star: 3 1 star:  44
Bottom Line: 49% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 23-33 of 94
Sort reviews by:

  • 23 out 25 people found this review helpful

    Citizens Disibility was of no help with my claim. Not a dimes worth of help.

    • Pittsburgh, PA,
    • Aug 2, 2015

    Citizens disability changed our deal as soon as they started our agreement. Citizens wanted to charge me for mailing and secretary time. Also, they wanted to set up a joint account to control any SS payments. When I called Citizens Disability to speak to my concerns, I was treated with disdain and told they could not do anything for me or address my concerns until I signed a change to our agreement. Citizens did submit my original application. A secretary spent less than a half hour on this. I was invoiced $2,600.00 for this. I won my disability case and was threatened with a law suite. I ended up paying $437.80 to end this mistake. Do not make my mistake.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 22 out 24 people found this review helpful

    Not what I expected

    • Boston GA,
    • Nov 4, 2014

    Although they started off good when it came down to my hearing the rep did not put in any input whatsoever. I would not recommend this firm.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 22 out 26 people found this review helpful

    Just called for info

    • Jan 9, 2015

    I just called for information and reached the wrong organization anyway. However, minutes later got a call back from them not the toll free number but from the area code that I live in claiming they were Citizens Disability and then they just hung up. Tried to call them back and got a buzzing sound. Has anyone else experienced this?

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 22 out 28 people found this review helpful

    Useless

    Don't waste your time with this company. Use disability lawyer near you so you can personally talk to him.

    Citizens Disability did not represent me well at all. My lawyer quit two weeks before my hearing with the judge, and I was not notified. After multiple calls, the agency contacted me and gave me a new lawyer. This lawyer called me around 8 pm the night before the hearing. She wasn't prepared at all. Some records and letters from friends and co-workers were not submitted. It was a disaster.

    I researched this company before using it, and the reviews looked promising. I loved how I didn't have to pay unless I win. I thought you had to pay lawyers up front. You do not! There are lawyers who do the same thing. You can personally speak to them, submit records and letters and receive help with forms.

    Using Citizens Disability is a waste of time. You might as well do it by yourself. I have more complaints, but I hope this is enough to persuade you not to use them. Good luck.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 22 out 26 people found this review helpful

    Very good service.

    I have had good customer service with Citizens Disability and received prompt call backs and answers. I have had to wait on hold for a while, but I'm not their only client. They have been extremely helpful for me, and yes I would recommend them. Thank you!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 21 out 25 people found this review helpful

    God bless everyone connected with Citizens Disability

    I got my letter today from Social Security disability and they approved it. God bless everyone connected with Citizens Disability. They were all true angels to me at this difficult point in my life. Of course though, I would much rather have had my health than have the money. It was a difficult battle because I waited too long to apply for my benefits, but they still managed somehow to make it work for me. I want to thank them again for all for their efforts. Now I can start thinking about the future.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 21 out 24 people found this review helpful

    Persistent phone calls

    I contacted Citizens Disability just to inquire more information about it. I spoke with a live representative and was then transferred to another one who wanted to start my application. I had to, once again, explain I wasn't ready to start an application and needed time to think about and would call them back at my earliest convenience or if I wanted to move forward with the application. This was in the summer of 2016. Well apparently they only hear what they want to hear because I have received numerous calls, several times in a row, at all hours and any day of the week. I had even placed my number on the do not call list four times and the automated teller still calls. This company has even found a way to leave voice mails on my cell phone without actually calling.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 20 out 26 people found this review helpful

    Comparison of Citizens Disability to other firms

    • Louisiana,
    • May 28, 2015

    I am a semi-retired lawyer and I do contract work for numerous Social Security Disability Advocates. That puts me in a position to see and judge the work product of many of these firms. I can tell you that there are some horrible ones out there. Some of these "advocates" do nothing but sign the client up and maybe help fill out the disability report. Nothing else. Oh, yeah - you can be certain that they do file the "Appointment of Representative" form 1696 and their fee agreement.

    Citizens is not one of those firms. I have appeared at hearings for them in at least a dozen cases in the last six months. They are among the best in advocating for their clients. Their lawyers are competent and professional. All of my dealings with them have been pleasant and cordial.

    Being in my position, I sometimes have been embarrassed to appear for some of these firms, because their work is so shoddy. But, when I get a Citizens case, I know that the case has been properly prepared and it ready for the hearing.

    I can't speak to the issue of how courteous they are to their clients but everyone I have dealt with there has been very courteous and friendly.

    I doubt very seriously that they charge fees to clients without SSA approval. That would put them out of business. But, they might file a petition for approval of a fee and the client is notified of the petition and is given an opportunity to contest it. My experience is that the SSA never overpays lawyers.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 18 out 20 people found this review helpful

    Unethical solicitation practices

    • Dallas, TX,
    • Jul 13, 2015

    First, Citizens Disability is not a law firm; yet they charge the same (or more apparently, judging from comments on this site) than experienced attorneys who specialize in Social Security disability representation. Notwithstanding the post from the attorney who says he does contract work for Citizens, it employs mostly non-attorneys to appear at hearings of its clients.

    Citizens is apparently obtaining the contact information of individuals who are in the midst of applying for disability benefits, and soliciting them by unethical means:

    http://checkwhocalled.com/phone-number/1-203-544-4801

    I represent claimants in Social Security disability claims. A person who identified himself as Scott called a client of mine from this number. He said he was calling from “National Social Security Disability.” He tried to ask my client questions and told her he could get her $2500 more in benefits each month. He seemed angry and hung up when my client told him she needed to speak with her attorney. I called this number and got message that this phone number was not accepting calls right now.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 18 out 18 people found this review helpful

    Terrible attorney

    • Arizona,
    • Aug 12, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I tried for five years with Citizens to get my disability, and they were the most unprofessional group I have ever meet. They do not keep in touch with clients nor do they return phone calls when asked. And at no time can you ever speak with the attorney you hired during your case. Half of there staff does not speak English, and I would never recommend them to anyone in the first, not even my worst enemy. I sincerely hope this helps anyone else from having to suffer the experience I have had with Citizens Disability.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Aug 13, 2018

      Company Response from Citizens Disability

      Darren,

      We're sorry we didn't meet your expectations. We keep in touch with our clients through a variety of methods, including phone calls, text messages and email. We also return all phone calls and voicemails received. While we wish you had a better experience, we do sincerely appreciate your feedback and will use it to be better in the future.


  • 17 out 18 people found this review helpful

    I do not recommend using Citzens Disability

    • Rochester, NY,
    • Jun 28, 2015

    If you don't want to get stuck doing ALL your own paperwork and gathering all the doctors evidence, then do not use this company! I did ALL my own footwork and the lawyer that showed up to my hearing didn't even know my case nor was he prepared! They had two and a half years to get it together and when the day of court came, guess what? They didn't even have ALL my medical documents and the Judge had to give them another month to get it all in. I did it all by myself to begin with. This company is a joke and I would never refer anyone to them at all. When you call you get a different person every single time who is clueless when it comes to your case.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

Showing 23-33 of 94

Write a Review for Citizens Disability!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review