• 101 Customer Reviews
  • 50% Recommend This Company
3.0 out of 5
5 star: 44% 4 star: 5% 3 star: 0% 2 star: 2% 1 star: 45%

 Our Promise to You

To safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.

Sort reviews by:

  • No communication, they ruined my life.

    • By Stephen W.,
    • Tacoma, WA,
    • Aug 3, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Citizens Disability gave me false hope and I blindly trusted them for over four years of my life, and now I am still sick, hopeless and not knowing what to do. Do not use this organization. They told me nothing. I was in the loop about nothing the whole time. I wished I would have read more online about them beforehand. I am being interviewed by a news show about this organization. I was contacted by them so apparently, this is a big deal. They have done this to many people other than me.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Aug 6, 2018

      Company Response from Citizens Disability

      Mr. Wagers,

      We apologize that you feel we did not communicate with you often enough. Our records show that we were frequently in contact with you regarding your claim throughout the four years we were handling your claim. Our goal is for every client to feel well represented, which is why we have advocates available via phone, fax, and email to make sure we are always within reach for questions. While we regret that we did not live up to your expectations, we appreciate your feedback and will be reaching out by phone to speak with you in further detail to see where we can improve.


  • Terrible, unorganized, no communication

    • By Jeanne E.,
    • Chicago, IL,
    • Jun 26, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I hired them to help me with my disability claim in 2012-2013ish, they screwed up the entire case. They did not contact me in timely manners, they did not get correspondences to me, I was in the dark and could NEVER speak to the same person. I missed required appointments due to lack of communication, my hearing was missed, and the appeal was not done correctly either. I recommend running as far and as fast from these people as possible. Thanks to them I was denied, and to this day my condition has worsened, and if and when I have to apply again I will have to start all over, and Disability will not backdate to the original date.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Jun 27, 2018

      Company Response from Citizens Disability

      Hi Jeanne,

      We're sorry we didn't meet your expectations. We appreciate you taking the time to give us feedback and will use it to get better moving forward.


  • Disability

    • By Cynthia H.,
    • Camden, SC,
    • Jun 6, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Citizen’s Disability was wonderful and were very easy to work with. I received my disability the first I applied with their help. I recommend Citizen's Disability 100%. They were very thorough and kept me informed the entire process. Plus, the percentage that they charged was less than 99% of the other companies that provided the same services.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    • Jun 7, 2018

      Company Response from Citizens Disability

      Thanks for the kind words Cynthia! We're so glad you found our service helpful. If we can ever help in the future, please let us know!


  • Three years and still nothing

    Overall Experience:

    I started with them in 2015 and still have no idea who contacted them or submitted me to them to represent me. In 2016 the claims were denied and at the appeal hearing the Social Security expert they sent me told them in her observation of me that I would never be able to return to any work. Still at the hearing the lawyer they sent me for the hearing contacted me at 9 pm Central Time for a 10 am Central Time hearing at a location one hour and 45 minutes (the closet office) and told me to be there an hour or more ahead of the hearing to review my case before, instead of calling me during the day before denials come in the day of the hearing. A person has an equal chance of getting this far on their own then with a for-profit law firm looking to make 25% off the top of any back settlement, no matter how small, for years of work an advocate non-profit could do.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • They are not the attorneys that they claim to be

    • By Martie Lange,
    • Blue Springs, MO,
    • Apr 24, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I had to fill out all the paperwork myself. They are not helpful like indicated when they talk to you for the first time. They gave no concern to what I had to say. When SS turned down my claim, they didn't even know it happened until I called and told them and to see what was going to happen next. They don't return phone calls. The lawyer I talked to two weeks ago gave me his personal number, but it was a wrong number. I believe that all they care about is the money they get if I win. Right now I don't think they believe I will, so they are not trying to help.

    I found them by filling out a survey online to see if I qualified for SS benefits.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Apr 25, 2018

      Company Response from Citizens Disability

      Hi Martie,

      We're sorry that you are not happy with our services. With regards to denials, they are mailed from your local office, so it always takes a few days longer to reach us, a though we can always help over the phone even without our copy.

      We're a little confused regarding communication issues, as after speaking with the attorney handling your claim, it appears you've had multiple conversations with him over the past few weeks, as recently as yesterday. We assure you we care about your claim, and someone will be reaching out shortly to address your concerns and see how we can better serve you.


  • To Citizens

    • By Matt,
    • E tx,
    • Mar 25, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    All I can say is Citizens did what they said they were going to do. I have two friends that went through it, and they got approved. I went through it, and I got approved. I've never had any complaints from them, they always did what they said they were going to do, and I just want to thank everybody at Citizens and anybody else.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    • Mar 26, 2018

      Company Response from Citizens Disability

      Hi Matt,

      Thanks so much for the kind words! We're glad you had a good experience. If we can ever help in the future please don't hesitate to let us know!


  • Thank you

    • By James Mullen,
    • Nashville, IN,
    • Mar 9, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    This was a difficult process that took four years! I quit, but they would not let me. They talked me thru it, said I could win, although I was skeptical. It went all the way to a final, appealed review. I won, right then and there, without having to wait for a decision. I would have never done that without them. It is hard for me to imagine the negative reviews. They were so helpful. They were ALWAYS available when I called. I don't know how much they are going to charge. I know it is $6000. I hope it is not more than that, like charging expenses for everything until my money is all gone. I am waiting to find out.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    • Mar 13, 2018

      Company Response from Citizens Disability

      Hi James,

      Our fee is determined by the Social Security Administration, so it will be difficult to tell you exactly how much it will be until the post-hearing process is complete. We'll have a team member reach out to you this week to go over the details to make sure you understand how it works so there are no surprises. Thanks for the kind words, we're glad we were able to get you a positive result!


  • Messed up company

    Overall Experience:

    Citizen Disability is the worst company ever. I understand about my hearing, and what they just said, that's very understandable, that this company will waste your time they cannot help you. And I'll be honest, when I looked at their reviews, and that people said bad things about them, I ignored it, and I still went through with the process. It's no lie what people are saying about them; it's the worst company ever to deal with for them to be your lawyers.

    I had a hearing and they did not show up at my hearing, they hired another lawyer that was in my area to come to my hearing, and did not have any experience about my case because that's what it seemed like to me.

    Do never hire this company. They are very bad people. They need to go out of business. These people are a joke, like people said, and wasted a whole three years of my life. If you don't believe me try it out yourself and you'll see they are a joke. And I will make sure I will put this on every social media page about Citizens Disability to not have to work for you. They need to go out of business. They are wasting people's time and are just terrible.

    And the lady, Felicia, she calls you and she's very rude and gets smart with people, and then when you want them to close your case out, the will send you a CD. You won't get paperwork like you give them when they close your case out. Messed up company. See for yourself!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Mar 1, 2018

      Company Response from Citizens Disability

      Hi Andrea,

      We're sorry you feel you did not receive a high level of service with us. We take pride in our service and would like to clarify that we did show up at your hearing. We have attorneys and advocates across the country to allow us to offer representation to clients who do not live near our offices. We're sorry you felt your hearing representative did not have experience with your case, however, we assure you your file was developed thoroughly.

      We cannot mail you your "paper file" because your file here is electronic. We put the file onto CD to allow for ease of shipping. If you'd like to print your file to paper once you receive it you are more than welcome to.

      Our goal is to provide excellent service to all clients. We're sorry we weren't able to meet your expectations, but do thank you for the feedback.


  • Don't waste your time

    Overall Experience:

    They weren't diligent in getting medical records from the doctor. I didn't meet or converse with the supposed attorney until 15 minutes before my hearing. After an unfavorable decision, they dropped me as a client.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Advocacy is everything!

    • By Veronica,
    • New York,
    • Nov 5, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    This process can be long, arduous, and at times discouraging. Having Citizens Disability with me throughout the process made it less overwhelming and comfortable. They were available to answer my questions along the way which kept me informed in real time. I would recommend Citizens Disability to anyone seeking representation they can trust. Citizens Disability have been my touchstone and advocate, and I could not have succeeded without them. So many thanks!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    • Nov 7, 2017

      Company Response from Citizens Disability

      Thank you for the kind words Veronica! We're so glad we were able to assist you. Thanks for the opportunity to do so, and please don't hesitate to contact us in the future if there's anything we can do!


  • Citizens Disability

    • By Lisa Cooper,
    • Kentucky,
    • Oct 25, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    They did a great job, and they kept me informed at all times. Their team is awesome! I had worked with a lawyer before, but this team was right with me after fighting for 5 years. The attorney I had was great; he spoke up and did a wonderful job!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Nov 7, 2017

      Company Response from Citizens Disability

      Thanks Lisa! We're so glad you had a good experience and we were able to get you a positive result. Please don't hesitate to contact us in the future if there's anything we can do!


  • They weren't very helpful

    • By Rosemary,
    • Staten Island, NY,
    • Aug 29, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    These people don't help you with your claim. I had to constantly call to get an update and when I got denied they refuse to appeal. I wouldn't advise anyone to hire them, and I regret contacting them. I've wasted two and a half years to get denied because they couldn't do their job. Please do your research before viewing a good lawyer. I wouldn't advise anyone to use these lawyers at all. Research and check reviews and use a good lawyer for your case.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • What a joke

    • By John E. Adams,
    • Reed City, MI,
    • Aug 22, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    These people are a joke. They gave me an approximate date for a hearing when they took my case, which was 13 months away. Three months after that date, I call them and ask them when is my court date as it's three months past they said it would be. And why haven't I gotten a court date yet? They said they don't set the schedule, and have nothing to do with the court dates.

    Tell me if I'm wrong, but if you make a court date, you are on the docket and have a court date, correct?

    I threatened to seek help from another firm if I didn't have a date within 24 hours. In less than an hour, I received a call and an email (and in a few days a letter in the mail) with a definite date. All of a sudden when the possibility of losing my case to another firm, they manufacture a court date almost instantly? This leads me to believe they were not actively working on my claim at all. I'm just letting it sit to take up time so they can take a bigger piece of my pie.

    They make you sign a 25% fee waiver. I'm not sure, but I think it must remove the cap that is set by the Social Security Administration. This is the paperwork my attorney at the hearing was so adamant to get me to sign before the hearing.

    Now, all of a sudden, they over whelm me with paper work they want done. Why wasn't this all taken care of during the 16 months from when they took the case? Again, this leads me to believe they have not been actively working on my case. And it was not medical records as I have been reporting that on a regular basis.

    So, here we are, court day. They tell me to be there one hour early to review my case with my attorney (only they know who he is, I have no clue). Not only is he late to meet with me, he is 20 minutes late for the hearing time. That is one hour, 20 minutes total late. The Judge is wanting to get started. All my attorney wants me to do sign papers for Citizens Disability 25% piece of my pie. No case review because this kid is almost one and half hours late!

    We go into the hearing. My young, right out of college attorney smells like booze, although he tries to cover it up with cologne. The judge asks me all kinds of questions to help my case while my hung over attorney sits there with his head up his ass. Don't take my word for it, the transcripts from the hearing will tell it all.

    Of course, Citizens pays my attorney no matter what, so what does he care. I'm sure he never even looked at my case prior to arriving at the court room. Of course, I end up losing my case. Surprised? Hardly! Now, Citizens won't answer my calls or emails.

    I'm trying to seek help from other firms. But, no firm want's to clean up after Citizens Disability. So I guess my next appeal I will be dealing with on my own.

    I would report Citizens Disability to BBB, but I have paid them nothing, so nothing to gain there. I would report my hung over, late, unprepared attorney to the BAR, but I have no paper work with his name on it, so I have no idea who he is!

    Luckily, a friend gave me a link to this site, where I am happy to give my review and advice.

    My review? 0 out of 10!

    My advice? Stay away from these people. They are NOT on your side! You will not know who your attorney is that is supposed to handle your case. You will NOT have any contact with an attorney prior to your court date. He is paid regardless of the outcome of your case, so there is no incentive for the attorney to be properly prepared to support you in court for your disability case. You will be on your own in court.

    Like I said, don't take my word for it. The transcripts of my case tell a grim story of how these people represent you.

    I had to give them one star because a zero star option was not available!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Very quick on returning calls and giving me info I ask for

    Overall Experience:

    I am going through Citizens Disability right since 2013 late in the year, but they have been very well mannered. They return calls promptly, and they give me any answers I ask about. They are very persistent on pushing to get me in, and it does take time, so it's not their fault, it is the Social Security office that lags here due to the lack of disability judges. It's not Citizens fault. They have given me everything I need and to hear when I ask them.

    One of the best that I've found is if I win then great, if not, they did their best as it's up to Social Security to make a decision on who wins not the advocates, but they do push as hard as they can. I have tons of faith in them. I trust them.

    The last advocate with me from another firm had told me after my appeal if I would have tried killing myself twice in a year, it would've been a win for sure. I fired him right there and told him to jump off a bridge and don't even think of sending me a bill. They had the nerve to send me a $15.00 bill for whatever reason, and I sent it back stating I will not pay this as my advocate said what he said so keep this and pay for it yourselves. I wish I could mention who they are, but I can't. But watch who is fake.

    I believe in Citizens for they have helped me more than I can imagine. I don't blame them for my wait for appeal because in Michigan we lost a lot of judges for this and it set them behind. I'm patiently waiting as I'll be in very soon with a 100% chance outcome. They're doing super. They don't hesitate to sit and talk if you need to. Terrific people so far, and I hope I can say the same when it's over and if I win, they deserve every penny earned. Thanks.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • No help!

    • By Juanita,
    • Glendale, Arizona,
    • Apr 10, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I was with them for four years, and they never called me. I had to fire one of the lawyers at my hearing, and the judge even stopped the hearing because of how unprepared and unprofessional she was. They called me back promising me they would fix their wrong, but in the end, it was a waste of time and no help at all. Don't use them!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Very good service.

    Overall Experience:

    I have had good customer service with Citizens Disability and received prompt call backs and answers. I have had to wait on hold for a while, but I'm not their only client. They have been extremely helpful for me, and yes I would recommend them. Thank you!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • The biggest lie in the industry

    Overall Experience:

    Long story short, the company was given to us as a referral from the Department of Workforce Services in Utah. At first, they were looking as if they were helping, but the bottom line was that my husband was turned down twice.

    We moved to Arizona from Utah, at which time the Arizona Department of Economic Security hooked my husband up with an advocate associated with the Social Security Administration, and less than eight months later he was approved. But, because he signed with Citizens Disability (giving them 25%, which they actually took more than the 25%, and they were not instrumental at all in helping us obtain our SSI), my husband and I lost our home in Utah while waiting for this SSI to come through, and are now are living with our in-laws.

    I would steer clear of anyone wanting you to sign over a portion of your settlement to them. Now, if you think that is helping someone, then sign up. I am currently looking into litigation to get my money back from them, and won't stop until I do.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Useless

    Overall Experience:

    Don't waste your time with this company. Use disability lawyer near you so you can personally talk to him.

    Citizens Disability did not represent me well at all. My lawyer quit two weeks before my hearing with the judge, and I was not notified. After multiple calls, the agency contacted me and gave me a new lawyer. This lawyer called me around 8 pm the night before the hearing. She wasn't prepared at all. Some records and letters from friends and co-workers were not submitted. It was a disaster.

    I researched this company before using it, and the reviews looked promising. I loved how I didn't have to pay unless I win. I thought you had to pay lawyers up front. You do not! There are lawyers who do the same thing. You can personally speak to them, submit records and letters and receive help with forms.

    Using Citizens Disability is a waste of time. You might as well do it by yourself. I have more complaints, but I hope this is enough to persuade you not to use them. Good luck.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Persistent phone calls

    Overall Experience:

    I contacted Citizens Disability just to inquire more information about it. I spoke with a live representative and was then transferred to another one who wanted to start my application. I had to, once again, explain I wasn't ready to start an application and needed time to think about and would call them back at my earliest convenience or if I wanted to move forward with the application. This was in the summer of 2016. Well apparently they only hear what they want to hear because I have received numerous calls, several times in a row, at all hours and any day of the week. I had even placed my number on the do not call list four times and the automated teller still calls. This company has even found a way to leave voice mails on my cell phone without actually calling.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • They are real. I won a large sum.

    Overall Experience:

    Citizens Disability is not a scam, I used them and won. It took 5 years, but I am young. I was awarded both. I wasn't aware I had to pay for both, I thought it was a set fee. But when they go for both and you win, you pay for both.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Waste of time

    • By M Weiss,
    • Tucson, AZ,
    • Dec 14, 2015
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I had started my claim in July 2015. By August I was denied because I was working. I told Citizens my last job date would be July 10. I called to advise them that date was wrong, but they decided in their greed to use a date of December 2014.

    I sent paperwork, that they requested in September and then again in October regarding my medical information.

    No communication from Citizens Disability so I decided to call them.

    I called November 9, requesting an update on my claim. I was given the LAME EXCUSE that I didn't respond to any phone calls they had sent to me. I was advised then that my claim was denied, Did I want to proceed? Of course. I wasn't calling for that stupid question to be asked. I was advised they would call me back within 24-48 hours. I did not receive any calls from Citizen's Disability. I received calls from other disability companies asking me question.

    On 11-24-2015 I called again. Again the lies of me not answering my phones were there. And did I want to proceed with my claim?

    On 11-27-2015 I received a letter from them that their efforts to reach me were unsuccessful.

    Imagine my surprise on 12-1-2015 I was told they needed to start a new claim.

    I fired this company on the same date for their lies, and lack of professionalism and lack of timely handling my claim.

    On 12-3-2915 I received a phone call saying the same things and now they want to charge me.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Bad Company

    • By Beverly,
    • Florida,
    • Nov 16, 2015
    Overall Experience:

    Citizens Disability is the worst company to deal with (although Binder and Binder were just as bad). You do not have to work full time to apply for disability, they only require this so their 25% of your check comes out to a big amount. If you only qualify for $1000/month and they get $250 they don't want your case no matter how sick you are. This company is corrupt and should be investigated by the Better Business Bureau.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • They were great

    • By Sara Curso,
    • New York ,
    • Oct 31, 2015
    Overall Experience:

    They helped me fill out the forms. They gave me directions, they provided the doctors information, they were on top of it above and beyond. I want to thank you Citizens Disability for all your help, I appreciate it.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Beware

    • By John ,
    • New Brunswick, NJ,
    • Oct 28, 2015
    Overall Experience:

    They will persistently call you with a computer that pretends to be a human. I don't know how good the service is, but their initial contact process is annoying and illegal. They ignore the "do not call lists" and call multiple times.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Great communication both with calls and mail.

    • By Douglas,
    • Stafford, VA,
    • Oct 24, 2015
    Overall Experience:

    They kept up with all the data and kept me informed of all the steps and time frames. They provided doctors appointments and made sure I was notified in order not to miss any appointments.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Great results

    • By Amanda Platt,
    • Huntersville, NC,
    • Oct 9, 2015
    Overall Experience:

    I had a great experience with Citizen's Disability from the very beginning till the end. Everyone I talked to on the phone was professional and answered all my questions. Everything they said would happen and was accurate. I gave them every doctor contact I went to and they gathered all the paperwork throughout the entire two years I dealt with them. I was amazed at how well they knew what to do at each step. I was denied twice verbally just by reading a few of my initial medical reports but then Citizen's sent me detailed reports to be filled out by three of my most visited doctors. After about 8 months I finally got a hearing. It just takes a lot of patience waiting for a turn but they had good follow through and told me it would take about this long. I ended up winning my case with great representation from them and their fees were just taken from the initial lump payment you get of back pay to you. They do not take anything out of your monthly benefits like others were responding. I was very happy overall with this company. You do have to give them the information they need upfront and stick with them.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Being ripped off, stealing my money

    • By Wendy Wool Phomsouvanh,
    • Oviedo, FL,
    • Aug 24, 2015
    Overall Experience:

    I did call Citizens Disability and had a phone interview. The HR in my company's insurance referred me to Allsup, who handled my claim and went to court with me and dealt with all. Now, Citizens Disability is taking my disability check for August 2015 claiming I owe them fees. Allsup could not have settled my case without a letter. Now I am being robbed of my disability money, I cannot dispute this. I am blatantly being robbed. Do not call this company. $610.00 may be nothing to some people but to me it is life. This company is unspeakable.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


Showing 55-81 of 101

Write a Review for Citizens Disability!

Share your experience to help others discover great products!

Write a Review
Citizens Disability