• 100 Customer Reviews
  • 50% Recommend This Company
3.0 out of 5
5 star: 44% 4 star: 6% 3 star: 1% 2 star: 3% 1 star: 46%

 Our Promise to You

To safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.

Sort reviews by:

  • Citizens Disability Has Proven Their Incompetence

    • By Romy R Robles,
    • Pasco, WA,
    • Aug 18, 2015
    Overall Experience:

    At the time of writing, I am currently in a psychiatric ward here in Richland, WA. I ended up here after having attempted suicide, because Social Security denied my request to have my disability claim expedited due to extreme hardship circumstances. I had originally filed my claim through Citizens Disability in December 2011, and went to my first and only hearing on February 28, 2014. I had received my first denial in May 2014, which led to my being evicted from my apartment in Pasco the following month.

    Because of Citizens Disability's incompetence, I will be homeless again as of next month. Their incompetence also drove me to committing suicide. I plan to take legal action against Citizens Disability for legal malpractice, and I have had to contact the offices of US Senators Patty Murray and Maria Cantwell to see what they might be able to do in helping me get the benefits I desperately need.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • I got denied for SSI and I called citizens and they didn't even know I got denied until I told them.

    • By Buddy,
    • WV,
    • Aug 5, 2015
    Overall Experience:

    I applied for SSI on the internet. It wasn't to long there after I seen an ad on TV about Citizens Disability. So I called them and and the information they give me sounded good. So I tried their services. I gave them the information they asked for. After that they said they would keep in touch with me on how the case was going. But I never did hear from them, I always had to call them. So 5 months went by and still nothing. So I called them again, they told me it was in processing. So I said ok.

    So the 6th month comes up. I called the social security office and asked them. They told me I should here something in about 3 weeks. So I said ok great. That time came, I got my letter in the mail that said I was denied. So I called Citizens Disability to tell them I was denied. At first they did not know anything about it. Then the guy on the phone said that's right we got the letter today. I told him that I was going to get a private attorney to do my appeal. Then he said we will start the appeal process right away. I told him no you won't, I got an attorney to do that. He tried his best to let them to continue. I told them no, I've done all the foot work. Then he said they were still going to get there money. I said for what, your ad said "we don't get money unless we get you money." I said I was denied so how can you do that. They said we will file a paper with SSI and you won't know it until you get a paper from SSI stated that it was taken out. I told them I will have my lawyer get in touch with them, then I hung up. This place is nothing but a money making scam.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Bad experience

    Overall Experience:

    Worst experience EVER. It took almost 5 months and multiple phone calls before I could contact the person handling my case. They didn't keep me updated, didn't get the paperwork together, and because of the way they handled it, I lost the appeal. I would recommend finding someone else to represent you.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Citizens Disibility was of no help with my claim. Not a dimes worth of help.

    • By Gary Grabill,
    • Pittsburgh, PA,
    • Aug 2, 2015
    Overall Experience:

    Citizens disability changed our deal as soon as they started our agreement. Citizens wanted to charge me for mailing and secretary time. Also, they wanted to set up a joint account to control any SS payments. When I called Citizens Disability to speak to my concerns, I was treated with disdain and told they could not do anything for me or address my concerns until I signed a change to our agreement. Citizens did submit my original application. A secretary spent less than a half hour on this. I was invoiced $2,600.00 for this. I won my disability case and was threatened with a law suite. I ended up paying $437.80 to end this mistake. Do not make my mistake.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • My Experience with Citizens disability

    • By William Ferguson,
    • Grand Junction co.,
    • Jul 31, 2015
    Overall Experience:

    Once they get you signed up, they tell you you won't have a Lawyer or Medical Expert in court. Never enter a court Room without an Attorney. You won't be taken seriously. And then they don't return your calls when you have questions.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • 100% Supportive

    • By Anna Pierson,
    • Fort Myers Florida,
    • Jul 18, 2015
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    The complaints I read most are about having to fill out paper work, I guarantee that you would do the same with any attorney. Citizens Disability was very supportive through the whole long process. And it is a long process, that's not Citizens fault, that's the Social Security system. If you have the patience to stick it out, Citizens will be there every step of the way. But it really comes down to your personal patience. And as far as gathering info that they need, they do the leg work for you and anytime I called them I always got through to someone and every question was answered. If you need help with your disability claim, call them, talk it through with them, you'll be glad you did. I was approved at my hearing. Citizens did that for me.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Treat professional service rendered

    • By Vernon Hunt JR,
    • Dallas, TX,
    • Jul 16, 2015
    Overall Experience:

    I wanted to take time out to share with everybody on what a great job Citizens Disability did for me. Words cannot express my true feelings.

    I began with Citizens Disability in February of 2012 and went for my disability hearing in January of 2015. Throughout the whole process they were with me and the courteous staff was very professional even when worried them as I tended to call them during the case. Finally we won, yeah. I'm very happy with the attorneys that prepped for my case, you know who you are.

    Everything matched my medical records and all I had to do was simply show up and tell them what was going on with me.

    I will mention attorney Mark Eagen because he made me so comfortable that you would think we've known each other our whole lives. Thank you, Citizens Disability.

    By the way, whether your case has been denied or just starting out and you're in the need of an attorney, I would recommend Citizen Disability as they will guide you through the process.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Unethical solicitation practices

    • By Carl Weisbrod,
    • Dallas, TX,
    • Jul 13, 2015
    Overall Experience:

    First, Citizens Disability is not a law firm; yet they charge the same (or more apparently, judging from comments on this site) than experienced attorneys who specialize in Social Security disability representation. Notwithstanding the post from the attorney who says he does contract work for Citizens, it employs mostly non-attorneys to appear at hearings of its clients.

    Citizens is apparently obtaining the contact information of individuals who are in the midst of applying for disability benefits, and soliciting them by unethical means:

    http://checkwhocalled.com/phone-number/1-203-544-4801

    I represent claimants in Social Security disability claims. A person who identified himself as Scott called a client of mine from this number. He said he was calling from “National Social Security Disability.” He tried to ask my client questions and told her he could get her $2500 more in benefits each month. He seemed angry and hung up when my client told him she needed to speak with her attorney. I called this number and got message that this phone number was not accepting calls right now.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Scam artists

    • By Al,
    • Jul 13, 2015
    Overall Experience:

    What they don't tell you is that if they win your case in a short time, they will bill you. They told SSA that I wasn't filing for SSI and yet when I did qualify, they took their 25% of the back payment, which happened to be one whole month's check, leaving me broke again! Since my disability claim was settled in five months, there was no back monies from SSDI so they sent me a bill for $1000.00. They don't tell you they are charging you by the quarter hour yet their rates run between $195.00 and $335.00 an hour.

    The itemized bill they sent me showed that for one day, they mailed out a bi-fold piece of mail with "Urgent legal document" stamped on the outside and said nothing more other than that they were working hard on my case. They were charging a total of $328.75. Is that how much a post card costs to them?

    Their formula for billing by the quarter hour blatantly pads the bill to make the total hours seem excessive. If they read a piece of mail that takes 15 minutes or even talk to you for five on the phone, they will bill you for every moment spent doing so. Even SSA said that anything more than 12 hours that they have claimed to work on my case seems excessive.

    For an agency that claims to be an advocate, they will take your money and leave you broke without warning and then bill you a ridiculous amount for hours they never performed.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • I do not recommend using Citzens Disability

    • By Anonymous,
    • Rochester, NY,
    • Jun 28, 2015
    Overall Experience:

    If you don't want to get stuck doing ALL your own paperwork and gathering all the doctors evidence, then do not use this company! I did ALL my own footwork and the lawyer that showed up to my hearing didn't even know my case nor was he prepared! They had two and a half years to get it together and when the day of court came, guess what? They didn't even have ALL my medical documents and the Judge had to give them another month to get it all in. I did it all by myself to begin with. This company is a joke and I would never refer anyone to them at all. When you call you get a different person every single time who is clueless when it comes to your case.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Comparison of Citizens Disability to other firms

    • By William T Allison,
    • Louisiana,
    • May 28, 2015
    Overall Experience:

    I am a semi-retired lawyer and I do contract work for numerous Social Security Disability Advocates. That puts me in a position to see and judge the work product of many of these firms. I can tell you that there are some horrible ones out there. Some of these "advocates" do nothing but sign the client up and maybe help fill out the disability report. Nothing else. Oh, yeah - you can be certain that they do file the "Appointment of Representative" form 1696 and their fee agreement.

    Citizens is not one of those firms. I have appeared at hearings for them in at least a dozen cases in the last six months. They are among the best in advocating for their clients. Their lawyers are competent and professional. All of my dealings with them have been pleasant and cordial.

    Being in my position, I sometimes have been embarrassed to appear for some of these firms, because their work is so shoddy. But, when I get a Citizens case, I know that the case has been properly prepared and it ready for the hearing.

    I can't speak to the issue of how courteous they are to their clients but everyone I have dealt with there has been very courteous and friendly.

    I doubt very seriously that they charge fees to clients without SSA approval. That would put them out of business. But, they might file a petition for approval of a fee and the client is notified of the petition and is given an opportunity to contest it. My experience is that the SSA never overpays lawyers.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • A good experience

    • By Jim Cisconto,
    • Philadelphia, PA,
    • Mar 18, 2015
    Overall Experience:

    I have worked with Citizens Disability for only three months and they got me a positive approval from Social Security. They kept me up to date on the whole process and answered all my questions in a timely manner. I would highly recommend their service.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • God bless everyone connected with Citizens Disability

    Overall Experience:

    I got my letter today from Social Security disability and they approved it. God bless everyone connected with Citizens Disability. They were all true angels to me at this difficult point in my life. Of course though, I would much rather have had my health than have the money. It was a difficult battle because I waited too long to apply for my benefits, but they still managed somehow to make it work for me. I want to thank them again for all for their efforts. Now I can start thinking about the future.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Citizens disability is a scam

    • By WL,
    • Texas,
    • Feb 13, 2015
    Overall Experience:

    I went through this company for my disability which after 2 years was granted. When payment was issued Citizens Disability got 25% as agreed upon. About 2 weeks later I got a bill for over $7,000.00 in "additional items" which included things like scanning in one paper and charging .25 hour at the rate of 295.00.

    I have filed an appeal with Social Security twice so far and each time I was told they could collect this but it was between citizens Disability and myself. I only received $3,700.00 in back time. They wanted more than double that in fees. They called me with an offer to settle this for $1,000.00 which I reluctantly agreed to accept. This company is ridiculous.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Just called for info

    • By John,
    • Jan 9, 2015
    Overall Experience:

    I just called for information and reached the wrong organization anyway. However, minutes later got a call back from them not the toll free number but from the area code that I live in claiming they were Citizens Disability and then they just hung up. Tried to call them back and got a buzzing sound. Has anyone else experienced this?

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • No answers to my questions

    • By James Parke,
    • Walker, LA,
    • Nov 21, 2014
    Overall Experience:

    I hired Citizens on TV. After a year of using them and having no satisfaction, I went ahead and contacted Social Security myself and I was amazed to find out that Citizens Disability didn't even know my case worker. I fired at them and said that hired a local attorney would be a better fit. Besides, you never speak to the same person and you always get the total run around.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Not what I expected

    • By Rebecca Chapin,
    • Boston GA,
    • Nov 4, 2014
    Overall Experience:

    Although they started off good when it came down to my hearing the rep did not put in any input whatsoever. I would not recommend this firm.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Do not hire them for your disability case.

    • By Nelson Alverio,
    • Maryland,
    • Oct 5, 2014
    Overall Experience:

    After more than a year and a half, and after submitting many documents, these incompetent people dropped my case 3 weeks prior to the hearing. Leaving me with no representation. They did not sent all documents to the social security administration. Restrained necessary information needed to make an informed case. Over 14 years of evidence accumulated and non of it was sent to SSA.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • They are horrible!

    • By Jake,
    • Myrtle Beach, SC,
    • Jul 24, 2014
    Overall Experience:

    If you hire them, they will be rude to you and not return your calls. You will meet your representative for the first time at the hearing and the representative will most likely not be an attorney and will most likely no know what she is doing. Your representative will most likely be rude and unprofessional to the Judge who you appear before. causing you much embarrassment and jeopardizing your chances of winning your case. If you win, it will not be because of good representation. If you win, it will be despite bad representation. You will most likely been better off without a representative. Do yourself a favor and hire a real attorney in your area who specializes in Social Security disability cases. You will receive far better representation for the same fee arrangement and significantly increase your chances of winning your case.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


Showing 82-100 of 100

Write a Review for Citizens Disability!

Share your experience to help others discover great products!

Write a Review
Citizens Disability