About Citizens Disability

By HighYa Staff

Did you just watch a TV ad for Citizens Disability hosted by Alan Thicke? If so, you probably already know how frustrating the Social Security Disability process can be, and you’re looking for assistance. With this in mind, Citizens Disability claims that they can help you navigate the complex and often confusing process of obtaining disability benefits, including filing paperwork and attending hearings, while putting their decades of experience litigating Social Security claims to work for you.

But when it comes down to it, will Citizens Disability really be actively involved in your Social Security Disability claim? And if so, do the services they provide offer a good value for your money? We decided to put these claims to the test, and here’s what we found.

How Citizens Disability Works

According to the Citizens Disability website, the Social Security Administration receives hundreds of thousands of applications each month, which often means that you and your problems can become nothing but a case number.

However, instead of attempting to navigate all the hearings, paperwork, and beaurocracy associated with filing for disability benefits by yourself, Citizens Disability claims that they’ll match you with a disability advocate who can help evaluate your situation, handle your application, and deal with the Social Security agency on your behalf. And by putting their knowledge and decades of experience to work for you, they can help keep you in compliance and fully informed throughout the process (more about this in the Consumers section).

As such, with their goal of being “the nation's leading social justice advocacy group,” Citizens Disability claims that thy can help with both Social Security Disability Insurance (SSDI) and Supplemental Security Income (SSI) claims related to "Medically Determinable Impairment" across all four stages, including:

  • Initial Application – After all your information is gathered and your SSDI application is complete, it will then be filed with your local SSA office. At this point, your application will be reviewed by the SSA to verify your work history, while the State Disability Determination Service will decide your disability level. Citizens Disability claims that your application can be denied for a variety of reasons, including earning too much money during the previous year, a lack of medical evidence, and paperwork that was incorrectly filed.
  • Reconsideration – If your SSDI application is denied based on the above, Citizens Disability will file an appeal. Between these first two steps, a period of 5-7 months could pass.
  • ALJ Hearing – At this point, you and your Citizens Disability advocate will go before a judge to discuss why you’re unable to work. Within 6 months of this court date, you’ll receive a decision. If your claim is denied during this phase, you can either file a complaint in Federal Court or file a new application and begin from square one again.
  • Appeals Council – If you filed a complaint based on the judge’s decision in the previous step, an Administrative Law Judge will review this decision and either reverse or uphold it. Between these last two steps, a period of 12-18 months could pass.

Citizens Disability Pricing

Citizens Disability claims that your initial client evaluation is completely free and comes without risk or obligation. In fact, Citizens Disability only gets paid once your case is won, at which point they’ll collect 25% of the accrued benefit amount, up to $6,000.

What Do Other Consumers Have to Say About Citizens Disability?

Online customer reviews for Citizens United appear to be primarily negative, with the most common complaints referencing:

  • Poor customer service (rude staff, numerous unreturned phone calls, infrequent case updates, failure to send withdrawal letters to the SS administration, etc.).
  • Persistent, repeated phone calls after an individual has requested additional information about the services provided by Citizens Disability.

What’s the Bottom Line About Citizens Disability?

With such a wide variety of Social Security Disability claim types and circumstances surrounding them, it’s difficult to say whether or not Citizens Disability can assist you with your claim—and even if they can, whether or not their services will ultimately be beneficial. With this said, consider the following:

According to this article, the average monthly SSDI check in 2014 is $1,148, which amounts to roughly $14K per year. As such, let’s assume that Citizens Disability helps you win your case, and that your monthly check meets the average payout. This means that they’ll take their 25% fee, which in this example would amount to about $3,500 for the year, or $287 from each of your monthly checks. While the company may have ultimately helped you obtain SSDI benefits in the first place, which is certainly better than the alternative, it’s difficult (if not impossible) to gauge the level of value they provide.

On top of this, Citizens Disability appears to have an online reputation for difficult customer service, which may further decrease the value provided by their services.

Bottom line: If you’re in need of help navigating the SSDI application process, be sure to fully weigh all your options before signing over 25% of your much-needed benefits, as there may be more effective/less expensive options than Citizens Disability.

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!


Read 76 Citizens Disability Customer Reviews and Complaints

Write a Review
Average Consumer Rating: 2.7
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 29 4 star: 4 3 star: 1 2 star: 2 1 star:  40
Bottom Line: 43% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 76
Sort reviews by:

  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Scam

    • California,
    • May 15, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I signed up with Citizens Disability and ended up having to do 90% of the footwork myself. Their attorney contacted me one time and I never heard from my main attorney again. They ended up getting $6,000 or basically nothing, and now they're hitting me up for another $70. They don't do their job correctly, not happy, that is my opinion.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • May 16, 2019

      Citizens Disability, LLC

      Hi Scott,

      We're sorry that you feel we didn't do our job correctly. As agreed to initially, and regulated by the SSA, our fee is an industry standard 25% of retroactive benefits, capped at $6,000, and only payable in the event your claim is approved. This allows us to provide representation to our clients at no risk to them, as if they're not approved, there's no fee for representation. The $70 invoice is for medical records we gathered and paid for in advance to support your claim, which you agreed to reimburse us for - again, only in the event your claim was approved. We're sorry that you are unhappy with the fees, but certainly disagree that this makes us a scam. We work hard every day to help claimants win their claims, and are proud that we've been able to help so many on a contingent fee basis. Please don't hesitate to contact us if you'd like to discuss your invoice, we'd be happy to discuss it with you.


  • Very pleased with the professionalism and speedy result of this office

    • Ohio,
    • May 8, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    The process was very smooth and stress-free, kept me informed of every aspect and proved that they truly fight for their clients. I definitely will recommend them to any and everyone. Total rating - 10 stars. Thanks for a job well done.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • May 9, 2019

      Citizens Disability, LLC

      John, thank you for trusting us with your case, and for the kind words. We're thrilled that we were able to get you a positive result quickly. Please let us know if we can ever help in the future.


  • 1 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Awesome attorneys

    • Sebastian, FL,
    • May 3, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    These lawyers are the best I have seen. Very reliable and fast. My claim was settled very quickly, I am very satisfied. Will recommend to all I know.

    They kept me informed every step of the way and handled my case with ease.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • May 6, 2019

      Citizens Disability, LLC

      Thank you for the kind words, Susan, we're thrilled whenever we can help someone deserving gain access to benefits!


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    I'm very happy that Citizens Disability cares for my disability.

    • Florida,
    • May 2, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I recommend Citizens Disability to get all your benefits. They are a great lawyer that they helping me to get the disability help. I have a good experience with them, they are very helpful.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • May 3, 2019

      Citizens Disability, LLC

      Thank you for trusting us with your case Gloria, we appreciate it!


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    A winning team!

    • Montgomery, AL,
    • Apr 26, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I had just had surgery on both hands having problems with my legs and arms out on leave and decided to apply for my disability. Not knowing what I was doing. The new job I just got was giving me a hard time about when I could return to work. But they told me they had no lite duty work in the facility. And then I got a call from Citizens Disability! And my worries were over. They took my case and we won! They stayed in touch with me, made sure my paperwork was in order from all my doctors. They took me step by step all the way to my hearing. A job well done. Thank you Citizens Disability for a job well done! I couldn’t have done any of this without you.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Apr 29, 2019

      Citizens Disability, LLC

      Thank you for your kind words Valeria, we appreciate them! We're always thrilled when we can get a positive outcome for someone who has found themselves unable to sustain employment due to their conditions. Please let us know if we can ever help in the future!


  • 3 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Disability claim

    • Independence, MO,
    • Apr 24, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I reached out to Citizens Disability to see if they could help me with my disability claim through social security. I was told by a lot of people that inquired about disability, filed and was denied several times before actually getting approved! I was told to hire a high power attorney, but read stories of many clients of Citizen Disability, so I inquired about them and was pleased, so I called and the rest is history, my claim just approved thanks to Citizens Disability.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Apr 29, 2019

      Citizens Disability, LLC

      Hi Failelei, thank you for trusting us with your claim! We're so glad we were able to secure a positive outcome for you. Please let us know if we can ever help in the future.


  • Excellent service

    • Gulf Shores, AL,
    • Apr 16, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    After applying for disability and being turned down several times, I reached out to this firm. Best decision ever. Great support team, they keep you updated. The attorney I was assigned was awesome. They won my case through their diligence. Thank you Citizens Disability.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Apr 17, 2019

      Citizens Disability, LLC

      Thank you for sharing your experience Carolyn, and thank you for trusting us with your claim! If we can ever help in the future please don't hesitate to let us know.


  • Excellent from start to finish.

    • Maryland,
    • Apr 13, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Citizens Disability worked very hard to get me the disability I deserved. They walked me through the entire process, sent me all the paperwork with only my signature needed. I was very lucky to have them on my side. Their knowledgeable staff answered any and all questions that I had, and they were very kind and patient. I would most assuredly recommend them to anyone who wants to make there process much easier.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Apr 17, 2019

      Citizens Disability, LLC

      We appreciate you sharing your experience Deborah, and we'll be sure to pass on your words to the whole team - thank you for trusting us with your claim!


  • 1 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Success with Citizens Disability

    • Alabama,
    • Apr 10, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    While I didn't expect my claim to be approved, Citizens made it happen. I'm now recognized as disabled and I am compensated appropriately.

    I would recommend Citizens and have done so with my trusted peers.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Apr 11, 2019

      Citizens Disability, LLC

      Thank for you for the kind words Edward, and thank you for trusting us with your claim!


  • Citizens Disability, stands strong for you!

    • Cascade, CO,
    • Apr 6, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I had so much to deal with and thought I could tackle the SSA on my own. I was wrong. Denied the first time, I started researching for the right kind of help. I’m so glad I found Citizens Disability - they have stood strong by my side every step of the way and continue to do so! The times I could not go another day I knew that Citizens Disability was out there fighting for my rights when I couldn’t stand up for my self any longer! Why in the world would you go anywhere else when you can go to Citizens Disability. That’s all they do, which is help people who need help with the SSA.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Apr 8, 2019

      Citizens Disability, LLC

      Hi Richard,

      Thank you for your kind words and for trusting us with your claim, we're thrilled we were able to provide you with such a great experience. Please let us know if we can ever help in the future.


  • 7 out 8 people found this review helpful

    Half-hearted assistance

    • Bristol, TN,
    • Mar 10, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I was a fool for passing up a real lawyer for this outfit.

    I got my disability. They did get that done. Every effort is weak and leaves much to be desired.

    After two years of trying to understand Dot-Head English, I finally got to speak to a lawyer. She instructed me to apply for SSI in addition to SSDI claiming it would "increase my monthly payout considerably." This was grotesquely inaccurate. SSI penalized me for having SSDI. SSDI was deducted from my payout, not added to it.

    I was also lied to by another Citizens lawyer as to how much I would receive monthly. He told me I would get between $1400 and $1900 per month. Not even close to the truth. I get a little over $500.

    No one ever mentioned that SSI penalized you for everything.

    I was told I could keep a part-time job as long as I didn't make more than $1000 per month. SSI penalized me for the job too. Even though I was well under the stated monthly limit.

    The lawyer called me and said that SSI was shorting me $300 to $400 per month. Haven't heard from him since and nothing has been done.

    Overall, I would not recommend Citizens Disability. They don't seem to fully understand what they're doing and they've actually made my life worse.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

Showing 1-11 of 76

Write a Review for Citizens Disability!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review