About Citizens Disability

Did you just watch a TV ad for Citizens Disability hosted by Alan Thicke? If so, you probably already know how frustrating the Social Security Disability process can be, and you’re looking for assistance. With this in mind, Citizens Disability claims that they can help you navigate the complex and often confusing process of obtaining disability benefits, including filing paperwork and attending hearings, while putting their decades of experience litigating Social Security claims to work for you.

But when it comes down to it, will Citizens Disability really be actively involved in your Social Security Disability claim? And if so, do the services they provide offer a good value for your money? We decided to put these claims to the test, and here’s what we found.

How Citizens Disability Works

According to the Citizens Disability website, the Social Security Administration receives hundreds of thousands of applications each month, which often means that you and your problems can become nothing but a case number.

However, instead of attempting to navigate all the hearings, paperwork, and beaurocracy associated with filing for disability benefits by yourself, Citizens Disability claims that they’ll match you with a disability advocate who can help evaluate your situation, handle your application, and deal with the Social Security agency on your behalf. And by putting their knowledge and decades of experience to work for you, they can help keep you in compliance and fully informed throughout the process (more about this in the Consumers section).

As such, with their goal of being “the nation's leading social justice advocacy group,” Citizens Disability claims that thy can help with both Social Security Disability Insurance (SSDI) and Supplemental Security Income (SSI) claims related to "Medically Determinable Impairment" across all four stages, including:

  • Initial Application – After all your information is gathered and your SSDI application is complete, it will then be filed with your local SSA office. At this point, your application will be reviewed by the SSA to verify your work history, while the State Disability Determination Service will decide your disability level. Citizens Disability claims that your application can be denied for a variety of reasons, including earning too much money during the previous year, a lack of medical evidence, and paperwork that was incorrectly filed.
  • Reconsideration – If your SSDI application is denied based on the above, Citizens Disability will file an appeal. Between these first two steps, a period of 5-7 months could pass.
  • ALJ Hearing – At this point, you and your Citizens Disability advocate will go before a judge to discuss why you’re unable to work. Within 6 months of this court date, you’ll receive a decision. If your claim is denied during this phase, you can either file a complaint in Federal Court or file a new application and begin from square one again.
  • Appeals Council – If you filed a complaint based on the judge’s decision in the previous step, an Administrative Law Judge will review this decision and either reverse or uphold it. Between these last two steps, a period of 12-18 months could pass.

Citizens Disability Pricing

Citizens Disability claims that your initial client evaluation is completely free and comes without risk or obligation. In fact, Citizens Disability only gets paid once your case is won, at which point they’ll collect 25% of the accrued benefit amount, up to $6,000.

What Do Other Consumers Have to Say About Citizens Disability?

Online customer reviews for Citizens United appear to be primarily negative, with the most common complaints referencing:

  • Poor customer service (rude staff, numerous unreturned phone calls, infrequent case updates, failure to send withdrawal letters to the SS administration, etc.).
  • Persistent, repeated phone calls after an individual has requested additional information about the services provided by Citizens Disability.

What’s the Bottom Line About Citizens Disability?

With such a wide variety of Social Security Disability claim types and circumstances surrounding them, it’s difficult to say whether or not Citizens Disability can assist you with your claim—and even if they can, whether or not their services will ultimately be beneficial. With this said, consider the following:

According to this article, the average monthly SSDI check in 2014 is $1,148, which amounts to roughly $14K per year. As such, let’s assume that Citizens Disability helps you win your case, and that your monthly check meets the average payout. This means that they’ll take their 25% fee, which in this example would amount to about $3,500 for the year, or $287 from each of your monthly checks. While the company may have ultimately helped you obtain SSDI benefits in the first place, which is certainly better than the alternative, it’s difficult (if not impossible) to gauge the level of value they provide.

On top of this, Citizens Disability appears to have an online reputation for difficult customer service, which may further decrease the value provided by their services.

Bottom line: If you’re in need of help navigating the SSDI application process, be sure to fully weigh all your options before signing over 25% of your much-needed benefits, as there may be more effective/less expensive options than Citizens Disability.

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!


Read 83 Citizens Disability Customer Reviews and Complaints

Write a Review
Average Consumer Rating: 2.8
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 33 4 star: 4 3 star: 1 2 star: 2 1 star:  43
Bottom Line: 45% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 83
Sort reviews by:

  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Citizens Disability claim

    • California,
    • Jun 19, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Thanks to Citizens Disability services and support to advocate my claim in my personal opinion came out favorable, great job. They always keep in touch. Took me a couple of years to get it and finally the decision was made after my hiring. Thank God for that and thank you Citizens Disability for your great success in my claim.

    Whether online or through the phone, they are always professionals.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Jun 20, 2019

      Company Response from Citizens Disability

      Thank you for the kind words Susan, we're thrilled that you had a great experience! Please don't hesitate to contact us if we can ever help in the future, and thank you for trusting us with your claim.


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Nothing but BS

    • Kansas,
    • Jun 10, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    The people at Citizens Disability must be ignorant. I started receiving calls out of the blue. I informed them I've been on disability for years. A different person will call, I tell them the same thing and put me on the "do not call" list. Day after day for three months this has gone on. I block one number, they call from another. If they're too stupid to be able to stop one phone I wouldn't trust them with anything.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Jun 11, 2019

      Company Response from Citizens Disability

      Hi Bob,

      We're sorry to hear your frustration with receiving calls. If you'd be willing to provide your phone number privately here, or by calling our claimant services team at (877) 678-0935, we'd be happy to confirm your number has been added to our Do Not Call list.


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Quick response

    • Bassett, VA,
    • Jun 4, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Citizens Disability did a great job with handling my case. They kept me posted about what was going on with my case. I thought it was going to take at least a couple of years but Citizens got it less than that time and I was surprised of how quick the decision was made, thank God for that and thank you Citizens Disability for your work.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Jun 5, 2019

      Company Response from Citizens Disability

      Thank you for the kind words Vivian, we're glad we were able to make things happen so quickly for you. Thank you for trusting us with your claim!


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Citizens Disability was great at getting my case approved when I couldn't get it done alone.

    • Riverview, FL,
    • May 30, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    From beginning to end of filing for disability the team was more than willing and able to assist me with my claim. If I had any questions they were there to assist me with courteous assistance. Whether online or through phone they were always professional.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Jun 3, 2019

      Company Response from Citizens Disability

      Margaret, we're thrilled you had a good experience! Thank you for trusting us with your claim.


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Unfavorable

    • Tennessee,
    • May 29, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    After being assured multiple times by Citizens reps that my most important medical records had been sent to Social Security and to the Adjudication Judge, I discovered through my new attorney that records indicated the most important medical records were never sent. My Disability claim (after several years) was denied and I now have to begin a new claim. Looking into personal injury claim against this company as my health has suffered greatly due to the disaster that was my case.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • May 30, 2019

      Company Response from Citizens Disability

      Hi Marie,

      As we've replied to several of the other reviews you've left on various sites, we'd be happy to discuss this further with you to address your concerns. Please don't hesitate to contact us via the contact information we emailed you so we can discuss the records you feel weren't sent and where you feel your case was handled improperly.


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Highly recommend Citizens Disability

    As a recent client of Citizens Disability, I highly recommend them to anyone looking for an attorney/advocate to assist them with there initial application or denial for Social Security Disability benefits. This is a very professional company. They assist me with applying and through my hearing process. They were always there to meet my every need and made sure all my information stayed updated at all times with Social Security. I was well represented at my hearing before an Administrative Law Judge and won my case and am now getting the benefits I deserved.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • May 28, 2019

      Company Response from Citizens Disability

      Thank you for the kind words, Jacqueline, we're thrilled that you had such a great experience. If we can ever help in the future, please don't hesitate to contact us.


  • Can never talk to rep immediately

    • Virginia,
    • May 24, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have experienced some of the same difficulties with the service. They do not appear to be very much engaged in the day-to-day issues surrounding your claim. No sense of urgency in responding to you when asked to send or fax important documents needed immediately badly SSA. I always get rude and fast-talking telephone operators who are actually grilled one day telling them that they were an answering service and that part of this so-called company. She kept using modifiers to explain to me that yes she was an employee employed about this company. When I asked point blank are you employed as an answering service, of course that makes you employed but you're an answering service correct? She kept stammering in giving me BS answers. Now I'm trying to fire them and get an attorney to represent me. I don't think they deserve a dime for all of this run around they have given me. I had a claim come in by the as March 29th and it is now the middle of May and we have yet to go over my questionnaire playing phone tag. What a piece of crap company.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Scam

    • California,
    • May 15, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I signed up with Citizens Disability and ended up having to do 90% of the footwork myself. Their attorney contacted me one time and I never heard from my main attorney again. They ended up getting $6,000 or basically nothing, and now they're hitting me up for another $70. They don't do their job correctly, not happy, that is my opinion.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • May 16, 2019

      Company Response from Citizens Disability

      Hi Scott,

      We're sorry that you feel we didn't do our job correctly. As agreed to initially, and regulated by the SSA, our fee is an industry standard 25% of retroactive benefits, capped at $6,000, and only payable in the event your claim is approved. This allows us to provide representation to our clients at no risk to them, as if they're not approved, there's no fee for representation. The $70 invoice is for medical records we gathered and paid for in advance to support your claim, which you agreed to reimburse us for - again, only in the event your claim was approved. We're sorry that you are unhappy with the fees, but certainly disagree that this makes us a scam. We work hard every day to help claimants win their claims, and are proud that we've been able to help so many on a contingent fee basis. Please don't hesitate to contact us if you'd like to discuss your invoice, we'd be happy to discuss it with you.


  • Very pleased with the professionalism and speedy result of this office

    • Ohio,
    • May 8, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    The process was very smooth and stress-free, kept me informed of every aspect and proved that they truly fight for their clients. I definitely will recommend them to any and everyone. Total rating - 10 stars. Thanks for a job well done.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • May 9, 2019

      Company Response from Citizens Disability

      John, thank you for trusting us with your case, and for the kind words. We're thrilled that we were able to get you a positive result quickly. Please let us know if we can ever help in the future.


  • 1 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Awesome attorneys

    • Sebastian, FL,
    • May 3, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    These lawyers are the best I have seen. Very reliable and fast. My claim was settled very quickly, I am very satisfied. Will recommend to all I know.

    They kept me informed every step of the way and handled my case with ease.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • May 6, 2019

      Company Response from Citizens Disability

      Thank you for the kind words, Susan, we're thrilled whenever we can help someone deserving gain access to benefits!


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    I'm very happy that Citizens Disability cares for my disability.

    • Florida,
    • May 2, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I recommend Citizens Disability to get all your benefits. They are a great lawyer that they helping me to get the disability help. I have a good experience with them, they are very helpful.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • May 3, 2019

      Company Response from Citizens Disability

      Thank you for trusting us with your case Gloria, we appreciate it!


Showing 1-11 of 83

Write a Review for Citizens Disability!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review