About Clever Investor

Real estate investing is a risky business, which is why Clever Investor claims to be one of the largest, most moral resources on the Internet for investors and enthusiasts alike. The company claims that their award winning training products can help you live the life you’ve always dreamed, and their outstanding customer support can help you every step of the way.

However, if you’ve researched the real estate “guru” industry in the past, you know that it can be filled with empty advice and half-baked promises. So is Clever Investor a real estate training company where, as they put it, “real estate investors profit,” or is the only one profiting the company itself? Let’s flip the facts and see what they have to say.

How The Clever Investor Works

Clever Investor claims that becoming a successful real estate investor can help you live the life you’ve always wanted; working when you want, taking long vacations, spending quality time with your family, and perhaps most importantly, helping you become financially secure. However, founder Cody Sperber also claims that there is a science to successful real estate investing, which is where his self-proclaimed award-winning real estate investment training and support come in.

With this in mind, Clever Investor claims to provide you with actionable (what the Clever Investor calls “tactical”), step-by-step investing advice, including information that you can immediately put to use regardless of the niche you’re thinking about pursuing, whether it’s flipping, wholesaling, foreclosure investing, and more. As such, there are five primary sections to the Clever Investor website:

  • Education – Courses and tips related to creative real estate investing, wholesale real estate, buy, fix, and hold; and buy, fix, and flip.
  • Products – Video and audio courses related to Reverse Short Sale Systems, Fast Track Profit Systems, and Automated Marketing.
  • Events – Infrequent gatherings of other like-minded real estate investors where you’ll learn new ways of taking your business to the next level, many of which can be immediately implemented into your business plan.
  • Mentoring – Unlike other real estate programs such as Fortunebuilders and Scott Yancey seminars, Clever Investor claims that their one-on-one mentoring programs provide you with real-world information that you can use to start or grow your real estate investing business, without being promised “better” information through continuous upsells (more about this in the Bottom Line section).
  • Blog – Regularly updated content related to real estate investment.

Clever Investor Pricing & Refund Policy

Most of the information found under the Education section of the Clever Investor website appears to be free, although the Reverse Short Sale System is priced at $97. However, there are no prices listed for any of the other products on the company’s website, including for the Fast Track Profit System, Automated Marketing Machine, or for the Mentoring programs.

After reading through the Clever Investor’s Terms & Conditions, we found out that subscription programs come with a 30-day trial, after which you’ll be billed $97 per month on a recurring basis until cancelled. With this in mind though, we didn’t find anything on the Clever Investor website that was available through a subscription program.

Despite this, their refund policy claims that all of their products come with a 30-day, no risk, money back guarantee.

What’s the Bottom Line About Clever Investor?

So, what’s the bottom line: Should you spend your hard-earned money on Clever Investor products? While we located very few online complaints regarding the company, and while they are Ripoff Report Verified based on their commitment to customer service and their client’s success, keep the following in mind:

First, although Clever Investor appears to have a primarily positive online reputation, the most common complaints we encountered cited:

  • That the information they provide might be more suited toward beginners, although much of the same information can be found through other real estate investing books.
  • Accusations that Clever Investor makes most of their money through selling their systems and mentoring programs than they do from actually performing real estate deals.
  • Some material only gives you basic real estate investing information while constantly upselling you on additional products.

Next, based on her several appearances in Clever Investor videos and webinars, it appears that Barbara Corcoran (ABC’s Shark Tank) endorses their products, as she herself has a deep background in real estate. However, don’t take this to mean that everything she invests in is a good product—a prime example of this would be AngelLift strips.

Finally, similar to many other real estate and stock investment sites, several of the intro videos on the Clever Investor website seem to be more about tugging on your emotions (e.g. claiming that the video will only be available for a short time, that you shouldn’t share the link with your friends, etc.) than they are about providing real information about Clever Investor products.

Bottom line: In order to gauge how helpful Clever Investor will be for you, you may want to thoroughly read through the free Education section of their site. If you find the information there useful, only at that point might you want to spring for something more costly.

Want to Learn Expert Tips for Online Safety?

Join over 3 million HighYa readers who receive weekly how-to guides, tips & reviews and get a FREE COPY of our Complete Online Safety e-book. Enter your email below to get started!

27 Consumer Reviews for Clever Investor

Average Consumer Rating: 4.4
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 21 4 star: 3 3 star: 0 2 star: 0 1 star:  3
Bottom Line: 89% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 27
Sort reviews by:

  • 10 out 10 people found this review helpful

    Clever Investor has given me the tools to invest in real estate full-time

    Clever Investor has given me the tools and the confidence I needed to begin investing in real estate full time. Everyone over at Clever has been extremely supportive, from the tech guys setting up all my systems to the real estate experts that have ALWAYS made themselves available to me. These experts have literally walked me through deals in real time.

    What I find amazing about Clever is that it is more than just a real estate education program, it is a community of students, mentors, and staff where the culture is to help each other. Just being part of the community has allowed me to expand my business and make more money. I am doing deals with people I met through Clever in markets I never had access to before.

    Within three weeks of attending my first Clever event I was able to get my first real estate deal closed and two others right behind it. I have not looked back since!

    I continue to work on deals with people in the community and look forward to many more in the future. I credit a lot of my successes as a real estate investor to the Clever Family always having my back, and for that I can't thank them enough!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 15 out 15 people found this review helpful

    Excellent service and great training!

    I purchased a couple of products from Clever Investor over the years. Every time I have, it has had actionable training that helped me in my real estate investing business to make more money and do things more efficiently. The customer support is top notch if you need help, and their tech support team helped set up my websites for me (technology is not my strength).

    I haven't met Cody personally, but you can tell from the training videos, the team of Mentors, and his entire staff that he truly cares about his students. I would probably still be stuck working a 9-5 job if it wasn't for Cody Sperber and Clever Investor. They're the real deal.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 11 out 27 people found this review helpful

    Education great, Support far from it.

    To everyone considering Clever Investor,

    I would really like to give a great review on the material and education from Clever Investor, because all in all the material they give you is very good and well thought out. I have purchased the Fast Track system and I would say I have learned a ton, with videos to make the learning more entertaining.

    The reason this review is only one star is because Clever Investor has failed me on the support side. As I was looking into mentoring with Clever, I had scheduled an appointment with one of their business service members and he failed to contact me, and never called for the appointment.

    I messaged support and Leif Meyerson called me, said this was unprofessional and that it would never happen again. He said he was going to work with me personally and that he could always be reached by email. Now after countless attempts and multiple phone calls and emails, I'm back to where I started.

    Clever Investor let me down, and I feel that you should all know the almost two months of trying to get into contact with Leif, I could have been investing my time and money into something else.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (3)
    View all 3 commentsHide comments
    • Sep 24, 2017

      Karen

      I find it interesting, while I have seen replies to other posts from Cody or his representatives there is not one here, and this one seems honest and legit. I am considering this program as well but I am hoping to find mentoring and support locally. I see this program was $297 just a while ago but now is $497 (just watched replay today).

    • Oct 5, 2017

      Cody Sperber, Founder/CEO

      My name is Leif Meyerson and I am the Director of Business Development here at Clever Investor. Cody came across this review and wanted to give me the opportunity to comment personally since Mr. Rusak mentioned me by name.

      First, I would like to say I take our students success very seriously. “Our student’s success is our success” is not only our main company value but is also my personal mission. Having said that this review caught me completely off guard. I rarely deal one-on-one with our students so I clearly remember Mr. Rusak.

      Mr. Rusak submitted an application for mentoring with us back in May. He had never purchased any of our training and was not a current student. He had simply found us online and requested information. Those of you that have worked with us, and are familiar with our mentoring program, know it is not an easy program to be accepted into. You must to go through a very thorough interview process. We do this to ensure we only work with a student that is a perfect fit. This is not a program for everyone.

      When Mr. Rusak started the interview process he did not click with one of my Business Development Consultants. At this time my consultant approached me about his conversation and I immediately reached out to Mr. Rusak. I did this to be certain that he understood just because the mentoring program wasn’t right for him at this time did not mean we could not help him on his journey with real estate investing. And just to be clear, money was not the issue as I am sure some of you are assuming.

      While speaking with Mr. Rusak I came to the conclusion that he was a great person that just needed to believe he was getting the right help. At that point I gifted him our entire Fast Track training course. I want to make that crystal clear, he did not purchase the Fast Track, as he claims in his review. I gave him a $500 course and did not charge him a dime. I then let him know how to go about getting through the training. I also told him once he completed my instructions to reach back out to me directly.

      A few weeks had gone by and I had a very serious family emergency. My 3 month old son spent 5 days in the ICU at Phoenix Children’s Hospital. I was distraught to say the least. During this time Justin did email me stating he was ready to move forward. Even though I was going through the scariest moment of my life I still responded letting him know the situation and apologized for the inconvenience. I was out of the office for several weeks spending time with my family. We are so blessed that my now 6 month old son is doing amazing and is in perfect health.

      When I returned to the office I saw that Mr. Rusak had been calling my office line. I reached out to him as soon as I possibly could and explained that at this time I could not personally work with him due to the catch up I was playing after being out for an extended period of time. I then offered to have my Senior Business Development Consultant continue working with him and complete a game-plan. Again we have done all of this and never charged Mr. Rusak a cent.

      The last I heard from my consultant he completed the game-plan with Mr. Rusak and gave him a clear path to get his investment business going.

      All that said I can understand how frustrating it can be for someone who is just starting out in real estate to find the right team to trust and follow. I truly hope Mr. Rusak is on the right path and is finding the success he wants. I am very proud of the support we give our students on every level and I hope this response sheds some light on the reality of the situation.

    • Oct 30, 2017

      Teresa Williams

      All I want to know is how can get my money back like he stated several times. I need the website or customer service ASAP, please. Thanks in advance.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 22 out 38 people found this review helpful

    Clever Investor, thumbs up?

    • Las Vegas, Nevada,
    • Feb 15, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    Hey, it's Jai Thompson, US Navy Veteran and Real Estate Investor here.

    I have brought into the Clever Investor system, and even though don't like the website that was designed for me (in my personal opinion it sucks), however, my website does get buyers, but no sellers. It integrates well with the Podio, which is the only Customer Relationship Management that it work. The fact is I hate Podio. Cody is a great trainer the material is TOP notch, but his business support staff SUCKS. You will never get a hold of anyone in his office that is an actual real estate investor. You will get a customer service group of people who has no idea what you are talking about.

    I have been a real estate investor for almost four months, and I have never gotten any help with any deals from any member of his team. My budget is not very high at all (actually, I had nothing but $100, which I used for a direct campaign) and his team laughed at me and told me that was not enough. So I did it anyways, and guess what? I got nothing.

    I was determined to get my first check, which I did, and it was a co-wholesale deal, and it was a small check ($3k), which is not much, but at least I went to Fidelity once to pick up a check. I immediately tweeted about my check, and I have to say I was the first one to get my check and it was not a $20k check like he said is so easy to get.

    I am sorry this is very long, but the training is good, I would recommend the training, but if you have $20k to put up just make sure you get Cody himself.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 38 out 41 people found this review helpful

    Really was the best!

    I have been a real estate investor off and on to one degree or the other for years and a licensed real estate agent. I have purchased and studied over these years numerous real estate training and even "mentoring" programs and I can sincerely say that this was by far the very best! It actually took you from beginning to end and clearing up things I had always been confused about even from my agent training.

    What impressed me was that they DID NOT strategically hold back information or leave you with confusions, like the others, so that they could continuously solve such with an upsell program. They laid it out easier and better than anybody ever has and left me feeling like I could actually do it and now I am!

    I am interested in the other levels because they did such a good job on the first levels and lessons to others. Thank You!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jul 6, 2017

      Cledus Young

      Greg, your feedback was very helpful. I started to invest back in 2000 and obtained many rentals over the years. The crash of 2008 caused financial pressures resulting in major losses. However, I'm interested in getting back into the game. I would like to connect with you and have future discussions, so I sent you a LinkedIn invite. Thank you.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 24 out 39 people found this review helpful

    A product review

    I joined Clever's apprentice program for $7,000. I'm sure some of you think I'm crazy. Maybe you're right, well I decided to invest in education instead of blind marketing campaigns. You go on to sites like bigger pockets and nothing against them as a lot of stuff on there is really good information but when you see companies like Cody's, they bash them as every other company. They say things like, “Don't spend money on a program like this, do a direct mail campaign and net yourself 2-3 deals.” That's also not as easy as you think it is.

    Then again I'm not going to lie, I haven't closed a single deal in my three months of working with them. They have given me every single thing I need and then more to be a successful real estate investor. The only thing holding me back is me. I slacked at times, I wasn't as persistence as I needed to be.

    Bottom line is – even though I haven't closed a deal yet, i couldn't be more happy with my experience with Clever Investor.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 30 out 31 people found this review helpful

    Clever Investor Mentoring Program

    Mentoring program will be used to help our business get off the ground that we can start buying and selling real estate properties.

    Pros: Price - My business partner and I have spent lots of money in the past without getting a one on one mentor. If we needed one in which we did, it would have cost us at least another $20,000. The cost that Clever Investor offered is more than reasonable and they worked with us and we did not have to pay all at once.

    Pros: Staff - We cannot find the words to express the professionalism and friendliness of the staff at Clever Investors. We are very pleased.

    Pros: Service - Clever Investor has provided us with excellent service thus far and even though we no longer have a one on one mentor, my mentor and the other staff at Clever Investor is still available for us.

    Cons: Wish we had a little more time with our mentor Andrew Massoro, who was really great to work with. He held us accountable for our assignments and that kept us on our toes. Thanks Andrew.

    We would 100% recommend Clever Investor. No we are not a paid or non-paid spoke persons for Clever Investors. We are two sisters from NYC trying to make a dollar out of fifteen cents and we are on our way to doing it with Clever Investor's help.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 25 out 29 people found this review helpful

    Great Company. To recommend

    • New York,
    • Feb 23, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    I wish to retract a negative comment I made earlier. After writing my original review about Cody Sperber, I realized that I may have overreacted and said some things that went way overboard. I have had some bad experiences in the past with other coaching programs, and I allowed my past to effect how I felt about Cody and his team.

    After getting to know them, I realize that they are actually pretty genuine people that really do care about their students, and their success. I was trying to do wholesaling in the U.S., but I live in Europe and this was much more difficult than I originally thought it would be. They did everything they said they would do, and have some of the best training I have seen online.

    I feel bad that I took out my frustrations on Cody Sperber by saying some of the things I did. He immediately reached out to me, and we resolved our differences. He stepped up and made things right, and I truly do apologize for saying some of the things I did about him online.

    At the end of the day I believe that Cody is very knowledgeable about real estate, and that the Clever team works hard to teach their students to invest in real estate the right way.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 31 out 35 people found this review helpful

    So much info

    • Miami, FL,
    • Jan 2, 2016

    I never leave reviews, I never make the time. But for The Fast Track Profit system I had too. I absolutely love this program and all the step by step information it provides. Cody isn't hiding anything, he literally educates you on real estate and shows you step by step how to be successful in this business. I've tried other programs and they were nowhere near as informative as this program. I highly recommend it.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 32 out 34 people found this review helpful

    Whatever they are selling, buy it.

    • Indianapolis, IN,
    • Dec 21, 2015
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have looked at many courses concerning investing in Real Estate. Many made big promises, many charged more money, but none delivered like Clever Investor. I purchased their "Fast Track" program and at the exact same time and the exact same price purchased a direct competitors program to do a split test and see which worked best for me. I found the test to be over almost before it started. Both programs had the exact same language and pretty much the same techniques; however, the Clever Investor program was more thoroughly thought through on the psychology of the process from beginning to end. I was so impressed that I purchased the Mentorship program to keep myself accountable to someone else. The mentorship program is top notch and very cost effective as my mentor saved me from rushing into a marketing campaign to early and suggested a great approach that has proven to be quite successful. I trust this company and its claims as they are doing active real estate deals at all levels of the company.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 29 out 31 people found this review helpful

    Great coaching

    • CA,
    • Nov 26, 2015

    I am getting great hands on training for doing real deals thru my coach Torston, and special coach Bridget, alongside my specific team members that are designated and hand picked just for me, the student.

    They are very experienced real estate investors and they have given me coaching strategies that are tailored to the market that I am working in and it is really helping me work toward getting deals. I am able to talk with them specifically concerning specific things that I am working on, things I need understanding or help with, and/or problem areas. They also help give me specific strategies and experiences that they have gone through and what they recommend for me with powerful strategies to move forward to be successful and focused, not just general stuff. I even get help with walking through a live deals, and steps to take for progression, which is the main part of the coaching program.

    I really appreciate the personal touch with the team and they are so helpful in getting me to be successful in real estate investing. And my coach was very caring when my dad passed away half way thru the program and helped get me one session with specialist coach Bridgett who was so great, in order to catch me up when I had to take a few weeks away after my dad passed -- that's care! Her strategies were so helpful. And Torsten gives some great coaching, direct strategies, focus planning for my market, and pushes me to forward to get real deals done. I am always energized when I have my coaching sessions and get moving in my real estate investing business.

    Also my Clever Investor team sent me and my family a condolence card, which meant a great deal, especially for a business to take time to show care at that time. Anytime I call for help, everyone is so positive, nice, kind and willing to help, and will get you help as fast as they can. They treat you like family. I recommend these coaches and the coaching program at Clever Investor.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (3)
    View all 3 commentsHide comments
    • Dec 13, 2015

      Keith Thomas

      Hello My name is Keith Thomas. I am thinking about buying this program, but I would like to hear from you personally if possibly. My number is 360-649-1460.

    • Jan 5, 2016

      Sam

      Just read your review. You didn't say anything about closing any deals. Have you closed any deals? I have the Fast Track Profit System, but due to "things" that I have no control over I have as of yet to do anything. How much is/was the mentoring? I live in Mission Hills, CA located in the San Fernando Valley. I would like to hear from you.

    • Oct 3, 2017

      gerardo

      Hey, can you please contact me, my email is gerardogomez84 [at] yahoo.com.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 27

Write a Review for Clever Investor!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review