About Clever Investor

Real estate investing is a risky business, which is why Clever Investor claims to be one of the largest, most moral resources on the Internet for investors and enthusiasts alike. The company claims that their award winning training products can help you live the life you’ve always dreamed, and their outstanding customer support can help you every step of the way.

However, if you’ve researched the real estate “guru” industry in the past, you know that it can be filled with empty advice and half-baked promises. So is Clever Investor a real estate training company where, as they put it, “real estate investors profit,” or is the only one profiting the company itself? Let’s flip the facts and see what they have to say.

How The Clever Investor Works

Clever Investor claims that becoming a successful real estate investor can help you live the life you’ve always wanted; working when you want, taking long vacations, spending quality time with your family, and perhaps most importantly, helping you become financially secure. However, founder Cody Sperber also claims that there is a science to successful real estate investing, which is where his self-proclaimed award-winning real estate investment training and support come in.

With this in mind, Clever Investor claims to provide you with actionable (what the Clever Investor calls “tactical”), step-by-step investing advice, including information that you can immediately put to use regardless of the niche you’re thinking about pursuing, whether it’s flipping, wholesaling, foreclosure investing, and more. As such, there are five primary sections to the Clever Investor website:

  • Education – Courses and tips related to creative real estate investing, wholesale real estate, buy, fix, and hold; and buy, fix, and flip.
  • Products – Video and audio courses related to Reverse Short Sale Systems, Fast Track Profit Systems, and Automated Marketing.
  • Events – Infrequent gatherings of other like-minded real estate investors where you’ll learn new ways of taking your business to the next level, many of which can be immediately implemented into your business plan.
  • Mentoring – Unlike other real estate programs such as Fortunebuilders and Scott Yancey seminars, Clever Investor claims that their one-on-one mentoring programs provide you with real-world information that you can use to start or grow your real estate investing business, without being promised “better” information through continuous upsells (more about this in the Bottom Line section).
  • Blog – Regularly updated content related to real estate investment.

Clever Investor Pricing & Refund Policy

Most of the information found under the Education section of the Clever Investor website appears to be free, although the Reverse Short Sale System is priced at $97. However, there are no prices listed for any of the other products on the company’s website, including for the Fast Track Profit System, Automated Marketing Machine, or for the Mentoring programs.

After reading through the Clever Investor’s Terms & Conditions, we found out that subscription programs come with a 30-day trial, after which you’ll be billed $97 per month on a recurring basis until cancelled. With this in mind though, we didn’t find anything on the Clever Investor website that was available through a subscription program.

Despite this, their refund policy claims that all of their products come with a 30-day, no risk, money back guarantee.

What’s the Bottom Line About Clever Investor?

So, what’s the bottom line: Should you spend your hard-earned money on Clever Investor products? While we located very few online complaints regarding the company, and while they are Ripoff Report Verified based on their commitment to customer service and their client’s success, keep the following in mind:

First, although Clever Investor appears to have a primarily positive online reputation, the most common complaints we encountered cited:

  • That the information they provide might be more suited toward beginners, although much of the same information can be found through other real estate investing books.
  • Accusations that Clever Investor makes most of their money through selling their systems and mentoring programs than they do from actually performing real estate deals.
  • Some material only gives you basic real estate investing information while constantly upselling you on additional products.

Next, based on her several appearances in Clever Investor videos and webinars, it appears that Barbara Corcoran (ABC’s Shark Tank) endorses their products, as she herself has a deep background in real estate. However, don’t take this to mean that everything she invests in is a good product—a prime example of this would be AngelLift strips.

Finally, similar to many other real estate and stock investment sites, several of the intro videos on the Clever Investor website seem to be more about tugging on your emotions (e.g. claiming that the video will only be available for a short time, that you shouldn’t share the link with your friends, etc.) than they are about providing real information about Clever Investor products.

Bottom line: In order to gauge how helpful Clever Investor will be for you, you may want to thoroughly read through the free Education section of their site. If you find the information there useful, only at that point might you want to spring for something more costly.

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!

40 Consumer Reviews for Clever Investor

Average Consumer Rating: 4.5
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 32 4 star: 4 3 star: 0 2 star: 1 1 star:  3
Bottom Line: 90% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 40
Sort reviews by:

  • 19 out 20 people found this review helpful

    Cody is The REAL Deal...

    • New Jersey,
    • Oct 2, 2014

    I have been a mentor student with Cody and his team for about 8 months now, and I'm extremely pleased. His technology, processes, education, and personal mentoring have propelled me in my real estate investment business faster than I expected when I signed up. I have to admit that I was a bit nervous and uncertain when I signed up as there is a significant investment to get started with the 1:1 mentorship. That said, I come from no real estate background and so I knew this was the best way to dive right in. I recently closed on a transaction that literally took less than 2 hours from start to finish and brought me just under $5,000 in profit. This is just one example of many deals that Cody and his team have helped me put together. Our business is booming and I owe everything I know to Cody and team. They are the REAL deal!

    P.S. I have met Cody personally twice now and spoken to him on the phone and via text countless times. He is extremely smart and witty but also super humble. Cody is one of those people that you feel like you've known forever even though you only hung out with them a couple times. Moreover, his entire team of mentors, Dave, Franklin, Matt, Ivan, and everyone else are awesome - they will always lend a helping hand whenever you need them and don't mind slowing things down for folks like me that have no prior real estate or real estate investment background.

    HIGHLY RECOMMEND!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Mar 9, 2015

      Szilvia,

      Doug where is the one on one training located? And how much will it cost?

      Thank you

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 20 out 20 people found this review helpful

    Clever is the word

    • Atlanta,
    • Jun 8, 2015

    After trying a few others, Clever Investor is the one that gave me the education, tools, and motivation to become successful in real estate investing.

    None of the programs out there are free, (I don’t work for free either) but Clever Investor was reasonable and didn’t spend an inordinate amount of time up selling. You graduate with everything you need but your own effort. I more than covered my expenses with my first two contracts.

    I’m sure you’ve noticed the real estate market will always fluctuate, the systems taught are current and I will be updated with the most effective methods as the market changes.

    Organization is one of my weak points. Clever Investor provides scripts, examples of proven techniques, and computer programs needed to be efficient. I no longer let deals “fall through the cracks”. No more relying on sticky notes, my disorganized desk, or my faulty memory to ensure follow up work is done on time. Much of the work is automated with the Clever Investor system. Emails, appointments, and reminders are generated automatically.

    What has made the system most effective for me is the mentor (ask for Franklin) provided. The scheduled mentoring calls solve problems, give continuing advice, and hold me responsible for assignments given on the previous calls.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 15 out 15 people found this review helpful

    Clever investor company and labs

    I went to my first clever lab in February and it was great. You learn by doing not reading. Can't wait to be back. The team is very knowledgeable. It was a pleasure for my group and I and they care about each and every one of their students.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (2)
    View all 2 commentsHide comments
    • Mar 25, 2015

      Sean McLean

      Hey Nick! Yeah the Clever labs was amazing! It was great meeting you there. You definitely inspired a lot of people with your drive and success. Thank you very much for sharing your story with everyone at the lab. I'll keep you updated with my success as things happen!

    • Apr 2, 2015

      Nick Macrinos,

      Please do, it's great to here from you. And let me know how things are progressing.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 16 out 17 people found this review helpful

    Clever labs and Cody 'Sperber

    I was impressed from the start. I have been to several courses where you sit in a lecture type setting and learn from books and then, the support goes away. I have seen all the support. The team of people that work with Cody are genuine caring people. They truly want to see you succeed. The money I spent to attend was minimal compared to others, they take you by the hand and guide you, as opposed to throwing you to wolves.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 15 out 15 people found this review helpful

    I've learned so much.

    • Fullerton, CA,
    • Mar 23, 2015

    I've had a great experience working with the Clever team. They have a lot of knowledge and experience and help you with any road blocks that may come your way. The mentoring was exactly what I needed to take myself and the business to the next step.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 40 out 42 people found this review helpful

    Clever Investor Products and Mentoring

    • Minnesota, MN,
    • Jul 31, 2015
    • Verified Reviewer

    Hey all. I hope this review finds you all well as you're obviously here to make a decision to join the Clever Investor Adventure as I like to call it. I highly recommend you just don't think about it and go for it. (After reading my review of course.) Anyways, not sure how you came across Clever investor but feel privileged and lucky that you did because you just found the best real estate mentor and educator ever.

    I started back in March 2014 with just the Fast Track Profit System and that small investment changed my entire life. The amount of information and education along with all the paperwork and scrips you would need to get a deal done is mind blowing.

    I just recently joined the inner circle as a mentoring student with Cody and his team as of January 2015. I started just like you by researching the crap out of Cody and Clever Investor. I can assure you that Cody and the Clever investor team are outstanding, amazing and most genuine group of people I have ever met and have gotten to know personally and have talked to and met in person several times now. Cody and his team are true mentors, not guru's, as I have come to know Cody hates "gurus". 

    I originally found Cody on Facebook through an advertisement and did the same thing your doing, researching, but I realized after a week of that I couldn't find a reason not to. So I invested into the entire Fast Track Profit System knowing there was a 30 day money back guarantee, what did I have to lose? Nothing. That was probably the greatest investment I could have ever made in my life and I'm 24. (At this time I did interview to become a student of theirs but decided not too, I'm human sometimes I don't make the best choices, I should have done it.)

    I watched all his videos and training in about a week and was amazed with the amount of information and training provided along with all documents ever needed including scripts. I set up the entire business within a month. However, nothing happened until I took action later that year. I followed all of Cody's guidance and training I got from all the great videos and sent out advertising in September 2014. I used all of Cody's training and systems to get my first deal under contract, flipping it to and end buyer in four days and later closed in November for a profit of $20,487.95. I only used $250 of my own money in that transaction for earnest money when I probably didn't even have to use that much as we closed in nine days. Since then I have made much more money. Feel free to search YouTube for my testimonial videos, and many others who have had great success and isn't camera shy.

    I have met and talked to personally several of the other students and they are all making huge profits and having breakthroughs as well as myself but they are also working very hard for their success and Cody and his team are there every step of they way guiding myself and many others in the background making it all possible with the training, systems and programs to make sure every student is successful. They truly all are dedicated to each and every student's success.

    Bottom line, Cody and the Clever Investor team are amazing and completely dedicated to their students and their success. After joining the mentorship program, I wish I would have done it back in March 2014 as I would have been so much further ahead verses doing it all myself at first. Anyone that is truly successful in life has a mentor in someway or another. If you still have doubts, concerns or questions feel free to reach out to me 763-452-9000, I don't mind chatting. Much success to you all and I can't wait to hear from you about your success and hopefully possibly meet you at a Clever Investor event.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 28 out 29 people found this review helpful

    The best RE Education.

    • San Juan, Puerto Rico,
    • Jul 18, 2015
    • Verified Reviewer

    In the past 4 years, I have been a "student" of nearly every RE educational system out there. Thousands of dollars later, I have a closet full of DVDs and RE manuals, but not one deal under my belt and no real support system to depend on. Sure, the basic education is sound in theory, but it gets you nowhere in practicality, because once you try implementing what you learn in the 3-day workshop or DVDs, there are obstacles and hindrances that only a real mentor can guide you through. These educational systems were expensive, promising success and great wealth, but they were nothing more than "hit and run" scams, with no support system to help you through the bumps in the road, leaving you frustrated, discouraged, and sure to fail.

    That changed when I found Cody Sperber's Clever Investor mentorship program. This is the only real mentorship I have encountered along the way in my four years trying to make RE investing work.

    I am not getting paid to say this. Neither Cody nor his staff even know I am writing this review, but if this will prevent you from floundering around from RE guru to RE guru, spending your life savings with no result like I did, then I'm glad to help.

    Cody's mentorship program is very simple: Mentorship. He really cares for his students. He assigns us a personal coach who consults with you by phone every two weeks (and every day in between, if necessary), and he himself will consult with us every other month. He provides us with all online educational content: modules, videos, scripts, real estate laws and definitions, negotiation procedures, contracts, how to find motivated sellers and cash buyers. I mean, he holds nothing back and reveals all his trade secrets. He provides us with his proprietary software and marketing methodology. For Christ's sake, he even gives us his personal cell phone number in case of extreme crisis. But we always have our personal coach and other staff members available to help us at all times. No other so-called mentorship program even comes close to Cody's Clever Investor.

    So what have I gotten from this program? Since studying under Cody's tutorship, I am never alone. I have gained more knowledge, which in turn has raised my confidence level. I am equipped with all the tools needed to move forward in this business, and both Cody and my coach (Franklin Cruz) have made it their mission to see that I succeed. I now have a cash buyer's list which continues to grow, and I am on my way.

    How wonderful to finally be able to say, after four long, frustrating years, that I am a real estate investor.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 30 out 32 people found this review helpful

    Let's Go Places.

    • Seattle, WA,
    • Aug 9, 2015

    Being a complete beginner in real estate investing, I joined the Clever team not knowing what to expect. What I received is world class education and training from a world class mentoring team. My first impression was that this team really do have my best interests in mind. They want me to be successful, and push me to new levels of excellence I never thought I could reach. The education taught by Cody and the Clever team are simple, applicable, and effective. And the mentors will push you way beyond what you are comfortable with so that you can experience tangible breakthrough in your business. My mentor, Torsten Coulson knows how to dig out the champion in me underneath the layer of self-doubt and skepticism when I'm discouraged by setback or failures.

    Ultimately, you are the master of your destiny. If you want to be a successful real estate investor, are willing to work hard, and leverage some of the best in the business, then Clever Investor is the express train that will get you there.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 27 out 28 people found this review helpful

    Professional, Enthusiastic - The Real Deal

    • Seattle, WA,
    • Jul 21, 2015
    • Verified Reviewer

    After more than three years of working on my own, I finally decided to ask for help from a mentor. My first experience turned out to be much less than desirable until I met Cody Sperber and his Clever Investor team of absolute experts. Their unique hands-on, in their house training is far and away superior to any other type of real estate investor training programs available.

    They took me on as a student and I gained more insight and confidence in one weekend than all the previous years of working on my own.

    This is the real deal. If you really want to succeed as a full time real estate investor then hurry as fast as you can to Cody and make sure you get on their student mentoring program. You will not regret it.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jun 16, 2015

      Ilona

      Can you tell us how much this mentoring course costs?

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 24 out 24 people found this review helpful

    Clever Training is the best

    • San Francisco, CA,
    • Jun 7, 2015

    I was absolutely blown away by the 2-day training I received with the clever mentors. I had no idea I could get myself setup in a new market and be ready to make offers in such a short time. Not only that, but the networking and business coaching they provided give me confidence that I can grow and succeed anywhere. I really appreciate everything they've taught me and would recommend Clever Investor to any real estate investor who feels stuck, but knows they want to become a better businessman.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jun 16, 2015

      Ilona

      Can you tell us how much money you spent on this mentoring program?

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 28 out 29 people found this review helpful

    Ultimate Experience

    • Sibley, MO,
    • Jun 15, 2015

    This has been a great experience. They actually sit with you and work real deals. Your investment into this program will pay for itself quickly. One to two deals and all of your money will come back to you and then some. There are no hidden agendas with this company. They are honest and upfront. My personal mentor Dave is great to work with and the Ultimate Experience with Franklin is just what it says. We closed deals while he was here.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 40

Write a Review for Clever Investor!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review