About CloudPets Teddy

CloudPets Teddy is a stuffed bear that delivers a personal message from mom, dad, or anyone connected via its proprietary iTunes app. They say a loved one can send a short voice message through the app, which is then transferred to the "cloud" and delivered through the internal speaker in the toy. To return a message, the child squeezes the bear's paw and records their own 10-second reply.

CloudPets Teddy is made by Spiral Toys LLC, which also markets this product under the name Toy-Fi. However, there is no rating or accreditation info on Spiral Toys on the BBB website.

How CloudPets Teddy Works

CloudPets Teddy does its communication shtick via a free app in the iTunes Store (they say Android is coming soon). They claim it will work on any iPhone, iPad, or iPod Touch using OS 7.1 or later. To use CloudPets Teddy both the sender and receiver (meaning the child with the bear) must have the app installed on their smartphone or tablet. In addition, the receiver's device must be enabled for Bluetooth and within 10 meters of the toy.

Then, when mommy or daddy is away from home, they can open the app and record a 10-second message. The message goes to the "cloud" and is transferred to the receiver's app and the red heart-shaped LED on the bear's chest will glow. It is unclear how the child activates the bear to retrieve the message, but to respond, the child squeezes one of the bear's paws which activates a recording device; the message is then sent back via Bluetooth to the app and up to the cloud.

…or so they say.

CloudPets Teddy Pricing, Returns, and Privacy

The CloudPets app is free, but the CloudPetsTeddy sells for $29.99 plus $8.99 S&H for a total of $38.98. You can return CloudPets within 30 days and get your money back minus S&H and what it cost to ship Teddy back. CloudPets Teddy privacy policy states they can keep your name, address, phone, and email and use it to solicit you with other products or services; they also state "from time to time" they may give this info to "reputable" third parties.

Bottom Line: Is CloudPets Teddy a Scam?

This is a cute idea that may appeal to parents who are often away from their young children (they offer free shipping to members of the military). We like that the app is available for free, so you can check out the technology before buying the bear. However, getting the toy to "talk" may require a few more steps, so both parents need to be a little bit tech savvy. But do you really need a talking bear to deliver a 10-second message via iPhone when you can have unlimited video chatting between parents and children with the same device? We'll let you make that "call," but we strongly suggest downloading the app and trying it out first before spending any money.

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!

56 Consumer Reviews for CloudPets Teddy

Average Consumer Rating: 2.0
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 10 4 star: 2 3 star: 2 2 star: 5 1 star:  37
Bottom Line: 25% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 56
Sort reviews by:

  • 15 out 25 people found this review helpful

    great toy

    • Los Angeles, CA,
    • Apr 24, 2015
    • Verified Reviewer

    This is a great toy. I read the previous reviews and was a little skeptical. But now that I've used it, I have to say it's really fun.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 29 out 35 people found this review helpful

    We Love It.

    • Jul 29, 2015

    My kid loves this. When I'm working (I'm a working mom), I can send him goodnight messages, which really help him sleep. I'm not too sure about the negative reviews I read here... I think they've made a lot of updates to the app. Because I had no trouble setting up our Cloudpet and getting it rolling. Just like when I buy any electronic device, I had to wait for a short update, and I went through about five minutes of trial and error before I totally figured it out, but it's been smooth sailing. It's super easy for my kiddo to use, pretty much a matter of squeezing one paw or the other. This is a great product.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • A great companion for my daughter

    • Sep 14, 2015
    • Verified Reviewer

    Cloud Pets can send and receive messages from anywhere around the world. I purchased this because I can send messages to my daughter whenever I am away from home on overseas work trips. We have the iPhone and it works great. I bought this after I see my colleague buying one for his kid as a birthday present.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Sep 14, 2015

      Nicole Rohrer , Brand Strategist

      Hello Ang,

      Thanks so much for reaching out with your review. We're so happy to hear that you and your daughter are having fun messaging through your CloudPet. We love to hear how CloudPets contribute to family connectedness. Take care!

      The CloudPets Team

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Great Toy

    • Chicago, IL,
    • Sep 18, 2015
    • Verified Reviewer

    I’ve been trying to take more time to become tech savvy because this is how I have to be in today’s times. When we initially received the CloudPets Teddy I wanted to make sure I set it up correctly. I took the time to go through the instructions and surprisingly enough it was easy and I set everything up right. Once I got it set up I was amazed at this product. This is a great concept. Since my family is scattered all over the place the CloudPets Teddy allows them to be a part of my daughter’s life. For my daughter’s birthday I had my family members download the free app and all of them sent her a special birthday wish. What a beautiful thing. I love this toy. It’s ingenious! I’m glad I purchased it because it made my daughter feel special.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 0 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Great product made my parents/child happy.

    • NY,
    • Sep 19, 2015
    • Verified Reviewer

    If you have your family/relatives/friends live far away, and your children seldom contact them, this toy will be a wonderful gift for them, not only for children, but also great for us.

    Here is the video of my daughter who got a message from her uncle: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FGsONbbDawo&feature=youtu.be

    Here is the video of my daughter who a message from her grandpa: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iaGTQedKL_Q&feature=youtu.be

    My parents and brother live 6,000 miles away, My 9 years old daughter never seen them since she was born. Once we chatted on Skype, it was great, but it didn't continue because of the time lag.

    I installed Cloudpet app from my Amazon Fire phone before purchasing. It works! (Here is the video how to install Google play app -- this video is old. So you can download ES File Explorer and APK installer from Amazon App store.)

    And I bought a dog Cloudpet at Walmart. The installation is pretty easy. I just followed it.

    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xL-UfLci6_A&list=RDxL-UfLci6_A#t=96

    Once your device is able to connect to the Cloudpet, do a test to send a voice message from your phone and send it to your Cloudpet. You will get this message:

    "Message sent! To send a message to a Cloudpet, go to your child's dashboard, Tap my messages and Send to Cloudpet."

    So, you simply click your icon and your child's icon will show up. Click your child's icon to send a message. That is it.

    To invite a friend/family:

    1. On your icon, tap " Manage Users"

    2. Tap " FRIEND PERMISSIONS"

    3. Tap " INVITE FRIENDS" on the bottom.

    4. Type your friend's email address, choose " relationship" and click choose your chid's icon and send.

    5. Your friends click the link to install Cloudpet app.

    6. Your friends make their account.

    7. Your friends choose your child's icon as Assign permissions.

    8. One your friends do the job, you go to " FRIEND PERMISSIONS" and tap your friend's then tap your child's icon and save.

    Now you can send /receive from your friends.

    I strongly suggest to anybody to install Cloudpet app before purchasing for a test.

    Here is compatible devices with Cloudpets:

    https://cloudpets.zendesk.com/hc/en-us/articles/204532098-What-devices-work-with-the-CloudPets-

    I am very happy with my purchase. My brother told me that mom cried with joy when she heard my daughter's voice.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (2)
    View all 2 commentsHide comments
    • Dec 30, 2015

      Todd,

      This is a fake comment and review. No one will spend their time doing a YouTube video just to boast about a 40 dollar toy. This write up is too detailed.

      Overall, I bought this toy and I am not satisfied either. I don't like the inability to connect from far away. That is a real write up.

    • Dec 31, 2015

      Cookie

      Yes, I did. These toys are no longer $40 unless you find a deal somewhere. My daughter has never seen my parents and brother who live in Japan for the last 10 years. I am so into CloudPets, just like my husband is into quadcopters. Now my daughter can contact with them often. When I saw some people complained about the app, my son started to help because he is into technology. He has joined in Robotic team at his high school for a year now. He likes to figure out things like that. It is fun for me to do these kind of things.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 3 people found this review helpful

    An excellent gift for a 3 to 5 year old grandchild who does not live close.

    • Walker, LA,
    • Sep 21, 2015

    This is the most wonderful gift I could have given my 3 year old grandson that lives in Cairo, Egypt. He loves it. His mom and dad are both computer literate which made this a simply, GREAT gift. 3 times a week, I send him a message on the cloud app on my phone. Living in Louisiana, my calls can be very expensive. With his mom or dad's assistant, he can send me back a message. This is the best gift I have given one of my grandchildren. Thank EVERYONE that made this terrific toy.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 7 out 9 people found this review helpful

    The Best Dog Ever

    My job requires me to do quite a bit of traveling and I’m always looking for creative ways to send love messages to my daughter. One of my coworkers suggested I purchase a Cloud Pet for my daughter. I was able to find a Cloud Pet at Walmart. What an amazing toy. I absolutely love the fact that I can send a voice message while I’m away. My daughter loves the Cloud Pet dog I got her and loves the messages. What a wonderful product.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Love it

    • Swansboro, North Carolina,
    • Feb 14, 2016

    My fiancé got this for me for Christmas before he left for boot camp. He was able to send messages from his work and his friend's house and even from his hotel he stayed at before leaving. This product is fantastic. Definitely recommend it.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Wonderful toy!

    • South Carolina,
    • Jan 20, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I bought this toy for my two and a 1/2-year-old granddaughter for Christmas. She loves it! I love it as well, because I live three states away, and I can send messages to her. She has not figured out how to send one back, but she will as she gets older. I liked it so much, that I bought one for each of my great-grandchildren so we can communicate too.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Feb 18, 2017

      Kerry Ann Lepley

      I bought six CloudPets, one for each grandchildren's family. I have an Android smartphone. I have been trying to set up my children's email address since Christmas, and it continues to say "problem communicating with the server." Even my kids have tried to fix it. I am getting so disgusted with this whole thing because I have spent well over $200. Do you have any advice?

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Best toy in the world

    • United Kingdom,
    • May 8, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    My son loves this toy. It's a little hard to set up but when you get the hang of it, it is very good. He loves the stories but it's shame that two don't work but overall, this is a very good idea as my son can send his dad messages in China from UK when he's away on work.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 10 out 12 people found this review helpful

    Happy Daughter

    • Fort Wayne, IN,
    • Jun 21, 2015

    We had a frustrating night setting up the app between our phones, but after watching several helpful tutorials we got it. My daughter is super happy, and she loves this toy!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jul 21, 2015

      Nicole Rohrer , Brand Strategist

      Hi Angie,

      Thank you so much for sharing your review. We are so glad that you and your daughter are enjoying your CloudPet! Also, we are just finishing up all the bug fixes and are launching an all new app in the coming days. The new CloudPets App will be more intuitive, easier to use, and easier to navigate. It will also address the difficulties and issues customers have been experiencing. Please be sure to take a look at our Facebook page for updates and timelines on the release. Feedback from customers like you is extremely valuable to us and has helped us streamline the app development. Please let us know if there is anything else we can do to make the experience more enjoyable.

      Thank you!

      The CloudPets Team

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 56

Write a Review for CloudPets Teddy!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review