About CloudPets Teddy

CloudPets Teddy is a stuffed bear that delivers a personal message from mom, dad, or anyone connected via its proprietary iTunes app. They say a loved one can send a short voice message through the app, which is then transferred to the "cloud" and delivered through the internal speaker in the toy. To return a message, the child squeezes the bear's paw and records their own 10-second reply.

CloudPets Teddy is made by Spiral Toys LLC, which also markets this product under the name Toy-Fi. However, there is no rating or accreditation info on Spiral Toys on the BBB website.

How CloudPets Teddy Works

CloudPets Teddy does its communication shtick via a free app in the iTunes Store (they say Android is coming soon). They claim it will work on any iPhone, iPad, or iPod Touch using OS 7.1 or later. To use CloudPets Teddy both the sender and receiver (meaning the child with the bear) must have the app installed on their smartphone or tablet. In addition, the receiver's device must be enabled for Bluetooth and within 10 meters of the toy.

Then, when mommy or daddy is away from home, they can open the app and record a 10-second message. The message goes to the "cloud" and is transferred to the receiver's app and the red heart-shaped LED on the bear's chest will glow. It is unclear how the child activates the bear to retrieve the message, but to respond, the child squeezes one of the bear's paws which activates a recording device; the message is then sent back via Bluetooth to the app and up to the cloud.

…or so they say.

CloudPets Teddy Pricing, Returns, and Privacy

The CloudPets app is free, but the CloudPetsTeddy sells for $29.99 plus $8.99 S&H for a total of $38.98. You can return CloudPets within 30 days and get your money back minus S&H and what it cost to ship Teddy back. CloudPets Teddy privacy policy states they can keep your name, address, phone, and email and use it to solicit you with other products or services; they also state "from time to time" they may give this info to "reputable" third parties.

Bottom Line: Is CloudPets Teddy a Scam?

This is a cute idea that may appeal to parents who are often away from their young children (they offer free shipping to members of the military). We like that the app is available for free, so you can check out the technology before buying the bear. However, getting the toy to "talk" may require a few more steps, so both parents need to be a little bit tech savvy. But do you really need a talking bear to deliver a 10-second message via iPhone when you can have unlimited video chatting between parents and children with the same device? We'll let you make that "call," but we strongly suggest downloading the app and trying it out first before spending any money.

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!

56 Consumer Reviews for CloudPets Teddy

Average Consumer Rating: 2.0
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 10 4 star: 2 3 star: 2 2 star: 5 1 star:  37
Bottom Line: 25% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 56
Sort reviews by:

  • 20 out 26 people found this review helpful

    I'm hoping the experience will get better.

    • Wisconsin,
    • Jun 15, 2015

    So far, I'm really disappointed in the CloudPet experience. The reason I bought this was because I'm going to be out of the country for 5 weeks for work and my daughter told me "this is a perfect gift for a kid who's parent is going to be gone for 5 weeks". How can you argue with that?

    So I go to buy it and they have and extra charge for expedited shipping, otherwise they can't guarantee when you will get it. I have a few weeks to go so I skip this charge. Then there is an expedited handling fee as well, without out it they will process others orders first. Decided to pay this fee to be safe, hate to not get the thing in time for an extra $5.99 charge.

    The bear gets delivered, my daughter loves it. I go to download the app for my phone and after messing around for a half hour I find out the app for the Android phone does not exist yet even though they advertise it for both Android and I-phones.

    I call there and they tell me it will be available in 24-48 hours...been 4 days now, still not in the App Store on my phone.

    I also wanted to use it on my tablet, no Windows app available either. I talked to the phone rep and her Supervisor about using it on my Surface Pro 3 tablet that runs Windows and they both told me it works on most tablets, there's no reason it shouldn't work on mine. Apparently neither of them know there is a difference between an Android and Windows operating system?

    I feel there is a lot of false advertising going on here. Hopefully this thing is everything it is made out to be on TV when the Android App becomes available. They did at least extend my money back guarantee by 30 days since I can't really try it out at this time.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jul 21, 2015

      Nicole Rohrer , Brand Strategist

      Hello Mike,

      We're very sorry for your frustrating experience. We want to let you know that We are just finishing up all the bug fixes and are launching an all new app in the coming days. The new CloudPets App will be more intuitive, easier to use, and easier to navigate. It will also address the difficulties and issues customers have been experiencing. Please be sure to take a look at our Facebook page for timelines on the release. Please let us know if there is anything else we can do to make the experience more enjoyable. We do hope you will consider CloudPets as a messaging option for your family in the future. Thank you for your patience.

      The CloudPets Team

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 20 out 26 people found this review helpful

    Not happy with them

    • Tucson, AZ,
    • Jul 3, 2015

    CloudPets are a scam. I have been trying to make these work and have unable to. I called Cloudpets and they tell me that someone will call me back. Someone did call me and told me to log into cloudpets.com. I did that and then they tell me to delete the app because there is something wrong with app. Well, I did that and now can't get hold of anyone at CloudPets.

    My grandchildren love the way they feel and they wanted to be connected to me. Only one 10 second message goes and comes. I want my money back.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Aug 5, 2015

      Nicole Rohrer , Brand Strategist

      Hello Lilly,

      We're very sorry for your negative experience. Will you please contact us at support@cloudpets.com so we can assist you with troubleshooting and determine whether your CloudPets need to be replaced. We truly appreciate your patience. Thank you.

      The CloudPets Team

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 28 out 35 people found this review helpful

    A bit disappointed

    • Everett, WA,
    • Jul 28, 2014

    After days, weeks and now months we still have a cute little teddy bear that does absolutely nothing. We bought the cloud pet teddy because my fiancee and I were about to marry and we wanted a way for my new bride to stay in touch with our granddaughter. After our wedding we don't live close to our granddaughter and she misses the close relationship she had prior to the wedding. Not only does the bear not function not one person from cloud pets respond to assist you.

    My opinion...if all we wanted was a cute bear we could have bought one anywhere for less money and without the frustration. Cloud pets should step up and refund every ones money or provide a product that functions as advertised. It's heart breaking to see the disappointed look on her face and the frustration she experience s every day trying to get the bear to function. If you ask me it's a scam and nothing is going to be done to correct the problem.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jul 21, 2015

      Nicole Rohrer , Brand Strategist

      Hello Chuck,

      We're very sorry for your trouble and frustration, as well as for this late response. You should have been offered a free return shipping label and a replacement CloudPet. If you have not been able to secure this, please email us at support@cloudpets.com so that we can initiate this process. Please mention this Highya correspondence in your email. Also, we want to let you know that We are just finishing up all the bug fixes and are launching an all new app in the coming days. The new CloudPets App will be more intuitive, easier to use, and easier to navigate. It will also address the difficulties and issues customers have been experiencing. Please be sure to take a look at our Facebook page for updates and timelines on the release. Feedback from customers like you is extremely valuable to us and has helped us streamline the app development. Please let us know if there is anything else we can do to make the experience more enjoyable. Thank you for your patience.

      The CloudPets Team

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 28 out 35 people found this review helpful

    Didn't work

    • Las Vegas,
    • Aug 13, 2014

    Neither mine nor my wife's cell phone recognized the bear through the cloud pets app. I tried our Samsung Galaxy tablet, which recognized the bear, but after about 4 hours of messing with it, I've only been able to get one message sent to the bear. The rest of the messages don't send and the app freezes while sending them. So it now shows that 7 messages are being sent. I think I'm going to have to just pay the money to send the bear back. It's not worth the $40.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jul 21, 2015

      Nicole Rohrer , Brand Strategist

      Hi Brandon,

      We're very sorry for your negative experience. Also, you should have been offered a free return shipping label as well as a replacement CloudPet. Will you please contact us at support@cloudpets.com so that we can figure out how to resolve this issue for you? Please mention this Highya correspondence in your email. Also, we want to let you know that we are just finishing up all the bug fixes and are launching an all new app in the coming days. The new CloudPets App will be easier to use and easier to navigate. It will also address the difficulties and issues customers have been experiencing. Please be sure to take a look at our Facebook page for updates on the release. Feedback from customers like you is extremely valuable to us and has helped us streamline the app development. Please let us know if there is anything else we can do to make the experience more enjoyable. Thank you for your patience.

      The CloudPets Team

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 27 out 33 people found this review helpful

    Horrible

    • May 5, 2015

    We couldn't even get the item past the initial set up. It doesn't work, and the return policy is shady. My kid was extremely upset when I told him we needed to send it back. so now I'm stuck with a 50.00 stuffed animal that doesn't work.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jul 21, 2015

      Nicole Rohrer , Brand Strategist

      Hello Michelle,

      We are very sorry for your negative experience, and we are especially sorry that you were not offered a free return shipping label, as that is our policy for defective products. Also, we want to let you know that we are just finishing up all the bug fixes and are launching an all new app in the coming days. The new CloudPets App will be more intuitive, easier to use, and easier to navigate. It will also address the difficulties and issues customers have been experiencing. Feedback from customers like you is extremely valuable to us. Please let us know if there is anything else we can do to make the experience more enjoyable. And please contact us at support@cloudpets.com so that we can initiate the replacement process for you. Please mention this Highya correspondence. Thank you for your patience.

      The CloudPets Team

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 28 out 35 people found this review helpful

    Don't waste your money

    • Charleston, SC,
    • May 26, 2015

    My daughter spent her hard earned money to buy this toy and it doesn't work. I am a top executive at a mobile/tech company and this product should be super easy to use, but it is not, because it frankly just doesn't work. I am now staring at a semi-cute looking dog (we have a ton of stuffed animals so I am an expert- he is semi cute) with a disappointed daughter looking over my shoulder. Well done.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jul 21, 2015

      Nicole Rohrer , Brand Strategist

      Hello Melissa,

      We sincerely apologize for your frustration and for the delayed response. Have you been able to resolve these issues? If not, please contact support@cloudpets.com and/or visit www.mycloudpets.com to view helpful tutorials. You may also reach Customer Service at 844-782-6108 or cloudpets@webcsr.info. Also, we want to let you know that we are just finishing up all the bug fixes and are launching an all new app in the coming days. The new CloudPets App will be more intuitive and easier to use. It will also address the difficulties and issues customers have been experiencing. Please be sure to take a look at our Facebook page for updates on the release. Please let us know if there is anything else we can do to make the experience more enjoyable. Thank you very much for your patience.

      The CloudPets Team

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 27 out 32 people found this review helpful

    Not worth it

    • CA,
    • May 30, 2015

    My daughter got the cat for her birthday. She loves the stuffed animal, but it won't receive the messages that are sent. App freezes, then starts to receive message but error states pet is not connected. Pet blinks as if connected, then nothing happens. I've reset and reloaded app for iPhone. Expensive for $40.00 stuffed toy with cheap components that glitch. Thanks for a disappointed 6 year old Cloud Pets.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jul 21, 2015

      Nicole Rohrer , Brand Strategist

      Hi Sarah,

      We are very sorry for you trouble and for the delayed response. Have you been able to receive a replacement for your CloudPet? If not, please contact Customer Service at 844-782-6108 or cloudpets@webcsr.info to arrange to receive a replacement and a free return shipping label. Also, we want to let you know that we are just finishing up all the bug fixes and are launching an all new app in the coming days. The new CloudPets App will be more intuitive, easier to use, and easier to navigate. It will also address the difficulties customers have been experiencing. Please be sure to take a look at our Facebook page for updates on the release. Feedback from customers like you is extremely valuable to us and has helped us streamline the app development. Please let us know if there is anything else we can do to make the experience more enjoyable.

      Thank you so much for your patience.

      The CloudPets Team

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 19 out 23 people found this review helpful

    Expensive stuffed animal

    • NY,
    • Jun 12, 2015

    Commercials are very unclear on the steps you have to take to get the message to the animal. Doesn't just go the bear cloud, it has to go between devices and OK'ed by parents to send it to the animal first defeats the purpose. Very upset little girl that I am not letting her keep this. Didn't know you had to have so many devices just to make it work. Makes no sense to have to go to device first to send the message to the animal when you can just get it from the device. Freezes and has to be reset all the time and hit and miss on the animal being able to return a message. Very disappointed.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jul 21, 2015

      Nicole Rohrer , Brand Strategist

      Hello Melissa,

      Thank you for reaching out to the Highya community and to us. Through the Cloud, messages can be sent from one profile to another from anywhere in the world. But, to protect children from unauthorized messages, your CloudPet can only receive those messages from a device within 30 feet. In the same way, messages can only be sent from your CloudPet to a device within 30 feet. Once in the device, messages have reached the Cloud and can go anywhere. In addition to providing privacy for your children, another benefit of Bluetooth messaging is that is does not require Wi-Fi, which can be quite helpful on the go. However, we take customer satisfaction very seriously, and we encourage you to contact Customer Service at 844-782-6108 or cloudpets@webcsr.info if you have any concerns. Also, we want to let you know that we are just finishing up all the bug fixes and are launching an all new app in the coming days. The new CloudPets App will be more intuitive, easier to use, and easier to navigate. It will also address the issues customers have been experiencing. Please be sure to take a look at our Facebook page for updates and timelines on the release. Feedback from customers like you is extremely valuable to us and has helped us streamline the app development. Please let us know if there is anything else we can do to make the experience more enjoyable.

      Thank you so much for your patience,

      The CloudPets Team

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 6 out 23 people found this review helpful

    My review

    I bought two of these and they do not work at all. Do not waste your hard earned money on these.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jul 21, 2015

      Nicole Rohrer , Brand Strategist

      Hello Christine,

      Thank you for sharing your review with us and with the Highya community. We offer our sincerest apologies for the difficulties you've been experiencing. If you have not returned your CloudPets, you can reach Customer Service at 844-782-6108 or cloudpets@webcsr.info, and you can reach tech support at support@cloudpets.com. Also, we want to let you know that we are just finishing up all the bug fixes and are launching an all new app in the coming days. The new CloudPets App will be more intuitive, easier to use, and easier to navigate. It will also address the difficulties and issues customers have been experiencing. Please be sure to take a look at our Facebook page for updates and timelines on the release. Feedback from customers like you is extremely valuable to us and has helped us streamline the app development. Please let us know if there is anything else we can do to make the experience more enjoyable. Thank you so much for your patience,

      The CloudPets Team

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 9 out 14 people found this review helpful

    Very disappointed

    • California,
    • Jun 17, 2015

    My 7 year old was so happy to receive it. The first problem comes when you try to download the CloudPet app and it can not be found in the app store. So I ended up going to their website to click the app link to download to my device. Then I tried to set up the app, it kept saying they are sending a confirmation to my email to verify my email address to continue setup, but no email have been received yet. This was on Saturday, so we can not even make it work until Monday, because the customer service is only open Monday to Friday. If I knew this would be so complicated, I would not get it. I bought 5 of these for my daughter and my nieces. So we will have to wait and see what other problems I will encounter. Hope these are the only problems. I don't recommend this.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jul 21, 2015

      Nicole Rohrer , Brand Strategist

      Hi Mary,

      We're very sorry for the troubles you've been experiencing. We take product quality and customer service very seriously. You can reach Customer Service at 844-782-6108 or cloudpets@webcsr.info, and you can reach tech support at support@cloudpets.com. Also, We are just finishing up all the bug fixes and are launching an all new app in the coming days. The new CloudPets App will be more intuitive, easier to use, and easier to navigate. It will also address the difficulties and issues customers have been experiencing. Please be sure to take a look at our Facebook page for updates and timelines on the release. Feedback from customers like you is extremely valuable to us and has helped us streamline the app development. Please let us know if there is anything else we can do to make the experience more enjoyable.

      Thank you for your patience,

      The CloudPets Team

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 15 out 22 people found this review helpful

    A complete scam

    • Baton Rouge, LA,
    • Jun 22, 2015

    I ordered this toy when my six year old daughter had seen it on TV. I paid for rush shipping only to get it and learn it doesn't work. My daughter cried when I told her I had to take it back. I cant even find a customer service number to help with the problem. This was a complete waste.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jul 21, 2015

      Nicole Rohrer , Brand Strategist

      Hi Gary,

      We are so sorry for the problems you've experience. Customer service and product quality are very important to us. You can reach Customer Service at 844-782-6108 or cloudpets@webcsr.info. You can also reach tech support at support@cloudpets.com. We hope you hear from you so that we can help troubleshoot these issues. In addition, we are just finishing up all the bug fixes and are launching an all new app in the coming days. The new CloudPets App will be more intuitive, easier to use, and easier to navigate. It will also address the difficulties and issues customers have been experiencing. Please be sure to take a look at our Facebook page for updates and timelines on the release. Feedback from customers like you is extremely valuable to us and has helped us streamline the app development. Please let us know if there is anything else we can do to make the experience more enjoyable.Thank you for your patience.

      The CloudPets Team

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 56

Write a Review for CloudPets Teddy!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review