Read 57 Club W Customer Reviews and Complaints (Page 2)

Write a Review
Average Consumer Rating: 2.2
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 10 4 star: 5 3 star: 2 2 star: 7 1 star:  33
Bottom Line: 28% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 12-22 of 57
Sort reviews by:

  • I will never order from them again

    • Oct 10, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    I had a Club W membership. At first I thought it was pretty cool and there was no commitment as they would send you an email before shipping to give you the option to skip the month. Well this month that email never came and the only email I got was that they were shipping 10 bottles to me. Since I never got that email I was never able to adjust my order (not only did I not want 10 bottles but they were all bottles that I did not like).

    I tried contacting customer service and they said there was nothing they could do. They said they always send the email prior to shipping and I expressed my concern that I did not receive that email. I even checked my spam and junk folder and it wasn't even there. Their wines are not even good quality and their customer service is even worse. Never order from them! They are not worth it. You can get better bottles from the liquor store for less money with less hassle and inconveniences.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Bad service

    • Washington DC ,
    • Sep 7, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    This the worst service and they charge your card for their mistakes. They send an email that they are willing to help, but it's useless. Then you can't cancel the subscription without their permission.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Impossible to cancel

    • Cleveland, OH,
    • Aug 13, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    Once you sign in it will be impossible to unsubscribe. I did chat with them and they said that my account will be canceled. After a moth I still can log in and still see my "monthly experience" that is ready to be shipped using my credit card. I'm going to sue the company. NEVER ever try to use this club. Stay away.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 1 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Not an Honest Company

    I placed an order from a gift cert I received for fathers day. They placed me on the "club" monthly order without my consent. When I sent an email cancelling the "membership", they responded 2 times that I couldn't do it on line but had to call. So there would be no record of canceled "service". I called my credit card to cancel the "membership". By the way, the wine is not a quality product.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 3 out 4 people found this review helpful

    It's not rocket science folks – It's WINE.

    • Phoenix, AZ,
    • Jul 26, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    This is CLEARLY a monthly wine subscription. I've been a member for years with only minor complaints. The wines I receive are great. My wife really enjoys the whites, and I like the reds, especially the Malbecs from Argentina and ANYTHING they send from Spain has been terrific. I've gotten some bad wines, but I expect some good and some bad from an adventurous wine club.

    My mother LIVES in Napa so I know and drink great wine all day long. If you want snob wine, this is not for you. If you want a fun experience with above average (and some great) wines... give them a try.

    I had one issue where the wine arrived very warm (in Phoenix) and had to send the wine back. That problem has been fixed.

    I don't know if it's hard to cancel as I don't plan to! But all my interactions with customer service have been pleasant and they fixed anything I needed with a smile.

    Overall Club W is something I plan on staying with for a long time and I recommend it to people all the time.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 3 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Excellent wine adventure

    • New York,
    • Jul 4, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have been a Club W member for almost a year, and have so far enjoyed the experience immensely. It's like Christmas each month, when my delivery arrives.

    Although I have been a wine drinker for many years, my palate and discernment of what works for me has grown exponentially since joining Club W. Therein lies the real value of Club W.

    As a result, within a few short months I decided to become a premier member so as to benefit from even deeper discounts and added benefits. This has reduced my per-bottle price. I usually select one or two of their specific recommendations for me, and I include one or two from the other wines listed, increasing my level of experimentation and surprise. So far, it has been way more "hit" than "miss". I had a couple of bottles that I did not like, but overall, the quality of their wines has been above average, as compared with prior wines I have experienced in that same price range or even higher priced in some instances.

    That said, there are a couple of things that I would strongly suggest the company do to improve the Club W experience. First, the wines that are offered are limited in quantity and time period, so if you fall in love with a particular wine, there's a good chance it might not be available any longer once you decide to reorder it. This has happened to me several times. Secondly, I would like to see more variety in their overall selection options.

    Club W's value is in helping the wine enthusiast hone and deepen their personal taste preferences without the hit-or-miss aspect of local wine stores and wine store salespeople's recommendations. At least I know that the vast majority of wines I receive will be of very good quality, and that, should I object to a particular wine, they will take care of me with an account credit. I don't know of any wine store that does that. Yes, I can opt to try wines reviewed in wine magazines, but it has been fun receiving my regular shipments and varieties.

    Skipping shipments has not been a problem whatsoever either. I have even been provided with a free Club W sommelier phone consultation to ask any wine questions I had, It was very educational, informative and pleasant.

    I take a little bit of issue with Highya's review comments that suggests the wine labels and pricing are what influence one's opinions. While that may be initially true, the ongoing process of sampling a wide variety of wines over time, soon develops into a discernment of what a good wine should taste like, regardless of price and labeling. That has been the case with my own experience. My husband and I have both become more adept at identifying the nuances of what makes a wine taste good, at least for us! We will eventually expand to other wine sources to broaden our choices, but so far so good.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 0 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Great Choice

    I started with a Groupon Coupon at a great price for 15 bottles of wine. Yes, it was a deal but I did not care for all the wines received. From there I looked for a wine club and settled on Club W. Yes, I am paying more for 4 bottles of wine and free shipping. However, I have enjoyed the wines recommended as a result of the survey I took when I joined. There are ways to save which is nice, but for me it is more about enjoying a wine at a reasonable price. I am sorry though that a wine that I did enjoy was no longer available. However, it forced me to try another new one that I liked even better.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Okay, but worth the effort?

    • Texas,
    • Apr 15, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have been a member for several months now and have found the quality of the wines to be okay, but not great. I believe I can find very comparable (maybe even better) quality of wine at my local HEB. The big thing for everyone is value. I can take my $45 and get a really good selection at my stores. No shipping and handling. The other side of that is convenience. Buying from Club W saves you time. Things all to consider.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 6 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Not worth the money

    I am a big fan of wines and of trying new wines, so when I found out about Club W I thought that it would be a great thing to try because it would allow me to try all kinds of different wines and also potentially be cheaper than buying wine at my local grocery store. While both of these are true (to some extent), I was actually very disappointed with this service.

    The wines I received in my first order were not at all too my taste. They were very acidic and not at all sweet (which I prefer). I tried to cancel my subscription after this first shipment, but after talking to a "concierge" who recommended specific wines that would be more to my taste and provided me with a full refund credited to my account for my first three bottles, I was convinced to continue my transcription.

    I proceeded to order six more bottles which were recommended to me by the "concierge" that I had spoken to. I have been incredibly disappointed with the wines that I received. Though they have been on the "sweeter" and "lighter", I have found that they either do not taste of anything (to quote my boyfriend: "like vaguely alcoholic water"), have a terrible aftertaste, or have a terrible smell.

    After giving them a second chance and being incredibly unsatisfied with the wine that I received (honestly, I am pretty sure I have had better wine out of a box) I decided to cancel my subscription.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 1 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Good product and customer service

    • Wisconsin,
    • Feb 19, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    I was quite pleased with my wine, and when I wanted to cancel, it was a 30 second phone call, with no hassle. The customer service representative was super friendly, and in a world of sub par customer service, it was enough to make me want to actually review something for once. I would recommend this service to anyone. I will probably re subscribe in a few months, and have wine shipped to family for birthdays.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 3 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Charged Me For Wine I Didn't Order

    • Washington DC,
    • Jan 24, 2016

    I had a $13 credit on my account and ordered 2 bottles of wine. They included (and charged me for) a third bottle, using the credit for that third bottle so that I never actually received it. When I complained, they tried to refund me only a portion of the credit. Total rip-off, stay far away.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

Showing 12-22 of 57

Write a Review for Club W!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review