Read 57 Club W Customer Reviews and Complaints (Page 2)

Write a Review
Average Customer Rating: 2.2
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 10 4 star: 5 3 star: 2 2 star: 7 1 star:  33
Bottom Line: 28% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 12-22 of 57
Sort reviews by:

  • Same review as others

    • By Anonymous,
    • Feb 19, 2015

    I didn't know (since they don't inform you) that you are signing up for a monthly service upon the first order. I just wanted to try to see if I liked it, next I know, I'm getting a notice that my card is being charged. Pain in the butt to cancel account as well. Total waste.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Scam

    • By Becky,
    • Boston, MA,
    • Mar 7, 2015

    Same as other reviews, I purchased the first time to try and there was no notice at all letting me know about the auto enrollment for monthly shipping. I could not cancel online and needed to call in order to do so instead. I hate the experience! It's just a scam!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Best Wine Club EVER. Hands Down.

    • By Danielle ,
    • Los Angeles, CA,
    • Jun 19, 2015

    Super surprised by the low reviews on this site. Have you actually experienced the awesome-ness that is Club W?

    1. Personalized wine – I take a short, quick quiz on the different tastes I like - spicy food, mushrooms, and berries and then they match me with wine that has similar flavors. AMAZING. I was recommended some awesome bottles.​
    2. Choice – I was able to go with my recommendations or choose bottles I wanted. I watched the videos that went with the wines I thought would be tasty, and got a sense for whether I would like them or not. You can order as many as you want & any order over six bottles has free shipping... WIN!
    3. Quick, convenient delivery – I got the wine in two days. three bottles for $39 delivered to my office in a sleek, light-weight box with a handle for easy carrying! The wines came with awesome recipe cards and tasting notes!
    4. Not a scam – Before my next order, they sent me an email reminding me to go select my wines before my next shipment. Super helpful. I chose a couple new bottles (my new recommendations!) and got them a few days later.

    This is the best wine club out there. These wines are actually a huge steal, Napa Cab for $13? Yes, please.

    I totally recommend Club W to all my friends.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Scam!

    • By John Tesh,
    • Aug 8, 2015

    Any website that wont let you cancel online is a total scam. Club W is not only a pain in the butt, I had to file a dispute to get my money back on wine that they got back - since Fedex won't deliver when you're not home.

    Total scam. No place to cancel. Give them false credit card info and they can't charge you anymore. If they store your old info, they are out of PCI compliance and you can report them for that.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Not a scam but not great

    • By Rida,
    • New York,
    • Aug 26, 2015

    I tried it for 3 months and the wines are mediocre. The company has a fun premise and makes buying wine fun, accessible and unintimidating, but it's not for someone who really cares about good wine. The orders come via FedEx and the last two times, the wines have arrived very warm, well past the temperature in which they should be stored. All this makes already cheap wine taste even cheaper.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Not worth the money

    I am a big fan of wines and of trying new wines, so when I found out about Club W I thought that it would be a great thing to try because it would allow me to try all kinds of different wines and also potentially be cheaper than buying wine at my local grocery store. While both of these are true (to some extent), I was actually very disappointed with this service.

    The wines I received in my first order were not at all too my taste. They were very acidic and not at all sweet (which I prefer). I tried to cancel my subscription after this first shipment, but after talking to a "concierge" who recommended specific wines that would be more to my taste and provided me with a full refund credited to my account for my first three bottles, I was convinced to continue my transcription.

    I proceeded to order six more bottles which were recommended to me by the "concierge" that I had spoken to. I have been incredibly disappointed with the wines that I received. Though they have been on the "sweeter" and "lighter", I have found that they either do not taste of anything (to quote my boyfriend: "like vaguely alcoholic water"), have a terrible aftertaste, or have a terrible smell.

    After giving them a second chance and being incredibly unsatisfied with the wine that I received (honestly, I am pretty sure I have had better wine out of a box) I decided to cancel my subscription.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Just Say No

    • By Marc,
    • East Hanover, NJ,
    • Mar 20, 2015

    They have a very poor disclosure about automatically being enrolled into a program where they will ship you three bottles of wine monthly and charge your credit card that they maintain on file.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • I think they're great.

    • By Pawiba,
    • New York, NY,
    • Jul 17, 2015
    • Verified Reviewer

    I find the list of negative reviews below to be very odd - my experience with Club W has been nothing but positive. When signing up, it was very clear that there was a monthly commitment that can be canceled with an easy phone call (although I'm aware of a current "trend" that actually talking to someone on the phone is seen as a horrible thing). I've tried 30 bottles in the last three months. Most of them were excellent and interesting; the worst was no worse than pretty good. Living in an apartment building, we have a doorman who can accept delivery, which is very easy. So for me, the experience is fun, new, and fulfilling. I have no negative comments.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Bad web experience and difficult to cancel

    • By Aaron W.,
    • Jul 20, 2015

    It's not very apparent that you will be joining a monthly subscription. Cancellation is only possible by phone which is extremely difficult for my situation and they refused to accommodate my request by email.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Complete scam, do not give them your money!

    • By EB,
    • CA,
    • Sep 21, 2015

    Made multiple attempts to cancel my 'subscription' that were ignored. I continued to be charged without my consent and currently have a case open with my bank to get my money back.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Too Hard To Cancel

    • By Pam Cash,
    • Los Angeles,
    • Oct 27, 2015
    • Verified Reviewer

    It's inconvenient and annoying to cancel. I had to contact them several times and even now I don't feel 100% sure. With so many other awesome ways to get a hold of great wine, I'd definitely skip this.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


Showing 12-22 of 57

Write a Review for Club W!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review
Club W