Read 57 Club W Customer Reviews and Complaints (Page 3)

Write a Review
Average Customer Rating: 2.2
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 10 4 star: 5 3 star: 2 2 star: 7 1 star:  33
Bottom Line: 28% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 23-33 of 57
Sort reviews by:

  • 1 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Buy Smart

    • Eau Claire WI,
    • Jan 21, 2016

    Club W was recommended by a friend. For a year I've been a satisfied customer. Yes, the wines vary in appeal, especially initially; that's cause to intelligently rate your bottles as you uncork them. In doing so you will draw more wines that appeal to your tastes into your prospect lists. For a bottle that severely disappoints, Club W honors its promise to fully refund the purchase price. I've had a few such bottles, and a quick, easy phone call is all it takes to get the disappointing bottle's price credited to my account for a future purchase. Not every wines is 5-Star, but take care to note the ones that aren't and you soon will be amiably sampling wines you can enjoy from around the world.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 4 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Impossible to cancel

    • Jan 15, 2016

    Please make sure that you are willing to keep this club for the long haul, they make it nearly impossible to cancel their subscription. You cannot do it via email or chat or their website (though they happily take your card information via their website). You must call the number they provide you with, but you must also make sure you call during their business hours.

    Be careful signing up with them. You WILL regret it.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    It's a SCAM

    • Austin, TX,
    • Jan 9, 2016

    Agree with the other reviewers - stay away! I also received a gift card and my order slightly exceeded the gift amount so I enter my credit card for the difference, and BAM, suddenly I'm a monthly subscriber. I call to cancel after my first unordered shipment, and I'm told okay after the sales person tries to convince me just to "skip a month" instead. She agrees to cancel and all is good and then I notice another unauthorized charge on my credit card a month later. I have alerted my credit card company's fraud department and encourage everyone else to do the same. Also, the wines were AWFUL. Are these even real wineries or just labels being made in a factory in downtown LA? I took one bottle to a cheese tasting and my friend literally spit it out. It tasted like cardboard. Stay far away from Club W.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 7 out 8 people found this review helpful

    Nope.

    • Los Angeles, CA,
    • Dec 29, 2015

    As a fellow employee I'm telling you now stay away. While Club W isn't a scam (come on people it's in the name!) it definitely has a system that is designed to get money from you over and over again. My suggestion is if you want to only get one box just to try it out, gift card, etc. place the order and then cancel three days later. This gives the warehouse time to process your order and the customer rep person can't give you any crap about "if I can cancel your order now you won't get your wine". Wrong. Call them out on that, totally not true.

    The wines are at best mediocre, don't be fooled by the more expensive wines either, they're the same quality. The only wine I would ever buy from them again was the Chop Shop. So good.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    It's a monthly pick-me-up

    • Norwalk, CT,
    • Nov 26, 2015

    I like this service. It's easy to put a shipment on hold (I'm a single woman and am rollin' in wine at the moment), the customer service people have been nice, and it's kind of neat to get 3 bottles of wine at my door each month for a reasonable price.

    I'm impressed with the videos they make describing the wines, the recipe cards and descriptions that come with each shipment. It's very well thought-out.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    I like it.

    • Wisconsin,
    • Nov 21, 2015

    I've been a member for 3 months. It is clear that you will be enrolled in a club by the name of the website, the terms and conditions, and it's literally everywhere. I like most of the wines, but of course this can vary from customer to customer. I have no intentions of cancelling any time soon.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Nice service, friendly, but overall not for me.

    • Nov 17, 2015

    I tried Club W for about 6 months and then quit because I realized 1) I couldn't taste a huge difference between these wines and ones I found at the grocery store for $8; and 2) getting wines shipped to me was much less convenient than just getting them from the store. If you have a rich palette and find stores less convenient, you may like this wine service.

    The wine picking and recommendations were fun, I'm a sucker for bottle design and really enjoyed the wines I did get. However, each one wasn't more magical tasting than the store. I was expecting to really taste big punches of the flavors in the wine, but inevitable all the red wines I got ended up tasting like "red wine taste" to my tongue. To save on shipping, I got 12 wines for the first order, and that box is SO heavy! In the end, I'd much rather pick up an $8-16 bottle of wine from the store without the shipping charge and without the big heavy box.

    It was a fun experience, overall. Canceling took less than 5 minutes, with no pressure to keep you enrolled.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Disappointing experience but great customer service!

    • Atlanta, GA,
    • Nov 17, 2015
    • Verified Reviewer

    I've had Club W for the last 10 months, and had multiple shipping issues. I also wasn't a huge fan of most of the wines I received. I just canceled after three attempted deliveries of this month's shipment (attempted delivery to my workplace where there was a receptionist to sign for the delivery). I was pleasantly surprised by my customer service rep! She apologized profusely for the multiple shipping headaches, and helped me quickly cancel my membership without trying to get me to stay on like most membership services. She also gave me a full refund for the wine I didn't receive.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 2 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Love this company

    • Oct 31, 2015

    I'm a very satisfied member but want to share a cancellation story. My father was a satisfied Club W member but recently needed to cancel his subscription due to an illness - extended stage lung cancer. When he called to cancel the Club W rep. did inquire why and he was forthright with her. She processed the cancelation flawlessly and wished him thoughts and prayers. He later received a personal card from the Club W. rep he had never met wishing him the best in his fight against cancer. It’s the little things that matter - unfortunately this thoughtfulness can be a rarity in our business culture today.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 5 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Too Hard To Cancel

    • Los Angeles,
    • Oct 27, 2015
    • Verified Reviewer

    It's inconvenient and annoying to cancel. I had to contact them several times and even now I don't feel 100% sure. With so many other awesome ways to get a hold of great wine, I'd definitely skip this.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Awful customer service

    • Oct 18, 2015

    The wines that they ship you are decent and it's nice that they come with a suggested recipe. The reason for the rating of 1 star is that they have terrible customer service. On one occasion they did not apply a promotional code which they had emailed me. When I contacted their customer support they did not deposit the difference back into my banking account but gave me credits towards my next purchase instead. The next time I placed an order, they ordered 2 shipments where only one of those was one I selected and authorized. When I called their customer service, the representative was argumentative and interrupted me as if she was trying to prove that I was wrong. To top it all off the credits that were supposed to be applied to my order weren't applied to either of the orders. The representative said that I would be initiated a return to my bank account only when they received the shipment that I did not even place. My poor customer service experience resulted in canceling my subscription. I would not recommend this service to anyone.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

Showing 23-33 of 57

Write a Review for Club W!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review