Read 57 Club W Customer Reviews and Complaints (Page 3)

Write a Review
Average Customer Rating: 2.2
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 10 4 star: 5 3 star: 2 2 star: 7 1 star:  33
Bottom Line: 28% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 23-33 of 57
Sort reviews by:

  • Not impressed

    • By Chris,
    • Cincinnati, OH,
    • Dec 10, 2014

    Wine is average to below average. It's nice (I guess) to customize orders and put off an order for a month, but that was not that important to me. My first shipment came with bottles falling out of the cardboard compartments, but the wine was not damaged. Second shipment had no issues. Our second order had one of the bottles corked, the wine was vinegary and not drinkable. We have not had the other bottles yet. Their solution was to give two credits to my account, although I doubt I'll use them since I have no desire to get any more of their wine. The Ohio taxes along with shipping make this cost- wise a disadvantage, and I'm not doing that for sub-par wine.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Not worth the money or hassle

    • By Katie,
    • NC,
    • Feb 1, 2015

    Ordered one box of wine. It was decent, but not worth the cost. I have several nice, local wine shops near my house that have better wine and lower prices.

    It's difficult to cancel. I called and was on hold for 10 minutes before I talked to a person. Of course they asked why I was quitting and I told them I no longer drink (good way to avoid them trying to convince you to stay). I guess he didn't have much to say after that. He canceled my account, then asked if I need anything else. I said, "no, but thank you so much" and he hung up immediately. Not professional and downright rude.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Subscription Service, Moderately Priced

    • By Matthew,
    • Jul 31, 2015

    Pros: They give you enough information to learn a thing or two about wine if you're absolutely new to it. Their online interface is pleasing and the amount you get is convenient. Good shipping and packaging.

    Cons: If you aren't in big city, then the prices actually aren't that great. They make it a bit of a pain to unsubscribe (but it still only takes several minutes by phone).

    I would recommend it to a friend because there are opportunities to get "free" bottles when friends are referred. Everyone just needs to be aware regarding subscriptions and what it takes to unsubscribe.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Awful customer service

    • By Brontee,
    • Oct 18, 2015

    The wines that they ship you are decent and it's nice that they come with a suggested recipe. The reason for the rating of 1 star is that they have terrible customer service. On one occasion they did not apply a promotional code which they had emailed me. When I contacted their customer support they did not deposit the difference back into my banking account but gave me credits towards my next purchase instead. The next time I placed an order, they ordered 2 shipments where only one of those was one I selected and authorized. When I called their customer service, the representative was argumentative and interrupted me as if she was trying to prove that I was wrong. To top it all off the credits that were supposed to be applied to my order weren't applied to either of the orders. The representative said that I would be initiated a return to my bank account only when they received the shipment that I did not even place. My poor customer service experience resulted in canceling my subscription. I would not recommend this service to anyone.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Impossible to cancel

    • By Georgia,
    • Jan 15, 2016

    Please make sure that you are willing to keep this club for the long haul, they make it nearly impossible to cancel their subscription. You cannot do it via email or chat or their website (though they happily take your card information via their website). You must call the number they provide you with, but you must also make sure you call during their business hours.

    Be careful signing up with them. You WILL regret it.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Winc

    • By Abbey,
    • Philadelphia, PA,
    • Jan 18, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    Awful! Do not sign up for Winc Wine Club. The wine is terrible and overpriced, it really is a scam, do not get fooled like I did!

    Also, once you put your credit card info on there, they keep charging you, and the website is purposely hard to navigate so that you cannot unjoin the club or remove your credit card information.

    This is a real person warning you about this site. I wish somebody had done the same for me.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Not worth the hassle for the wine they offer

    • By Todd,
    • Denver, CO,
    • Jan 14, 2015

    Website is fine, wine is just o.k., you can do better just going to a decent wine store. You have to be home to sign for the order, or you have to pick it up elsewhere, which can be a hassle. They will not let you cancel via a link, or by email, you must call them. They list a couple of lame reasons why this is the case, but to me it shows they have no confidence in their operation, and want to give you the hard sell when you call. I recommend you avoid this company.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • It's a SCAM

    • By Jennifer Ritter,
    • Austin, TX,
    • Jan 9, 2016

    Agree with the other reviewers - stay away! I also received a gift card and my order slightly exceeded the gift amount so I enter my credit card for the difference, and BAM, suddenly I'm a monthly subscriber. I call to cancel after my first unordered shipment, and I'm told okay after the sales person tries to convince me just to "skip a month" instead. She agrees to cancel and all is good and then I notice another unauthorized charge on my credit card a month later. I have alerted my credit card company's fraud department and encourage everyone else to do the same. Also, the wines were AWFUL. Are these even real wineries or just labels being made in a factory in downtown LA? I took one bottle to a cheese tasting and my friend literally spit it out. It tasted like cardboard. Stay far away from Club W.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Charged Me For Wine I Didn't Order

    • By KMM,
    • Washington DC,
    • Jan 24, 2016

    I had a $13 credit on my account and ordered 2 bottles of wine. They included (and charged me for) a third bottle, using the credit for that third bottle so that I never actually received it. When I complained, they tried to refund me only a portion of the credit. Total rip-off, stay far away.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Okay, but worth the effort?

    • By Jack Chaney,
    • Texas,
    • Apr 15, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have been a member for several months now and have found the quality of the wines to be okay, but not great. I believe I can find very comparable (maybe even better) quality of wine at my local HEB. The big thing for everyone is value. I can take my $45 and get a really good selection at my stores. No shipping and handling. The other side of that is convenience. Buying from Club W saves you time. Things all to consider.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Excellent wine adventure

    • By Linda,
    • New York,
    • Jul 4, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have been a Club W member for almost a year, and have so far enjoyed the experience immensely. It's like Christmas each month, when my delivery arrives.

    Although I have been a wine drinker for many years, my palate and discernment of what works for me has grown exponentially since joining Club W. Therein lies the real value of Club W.

    As a result, within a few short months I decided to become a premier member so as to benefit from even deeper discounts and added benefits. This has reduced my per-bottle price. I usually select one or two of their specific recommendations for me, and I include one or two from the other wines listed, increasing my level of experimentation and surprise. So far, it has been way more "hit" than "miss". I had a couple of bottles that I did not like, but overall, the quality of their wines has been above average, as compared with prior wines I have experienced in that same price range or even higher priced in some instances.

    That said, there are a couple of things that I would strongly suggest the company do to improve the Club W experience. First, the wines that are offered are limited in quantity and time period, so if you fall in love with a particular wine, there's a good chance it might not be available any longer once you decide to reorder it. This has happened to me several times. Secondly, I would like to see more variety in their overall selection options.

    Club W's value is in helping the wine enthusiast hone and deepen their personal taste preferences without the hit-or-miss aspect of local wine stores and wine store salespeople's recommendations. At least I know that the vast majority of wines I receive will be of very good quality, and that, should I object to a particular wine, they will take care of me with an account credit. I don't know of any wine store that does that. Yes, I can opt to try wines reviewed in wine magazines, but it has been fun receiving my regular shipments and varieties.

    Skipping shipments has not been a problem whatsoever either. I have even been provided with a free Club W sommelier phone consultation to ask any wine questions I had, It was very educational, informative and pleasant.

    I take a little bit of issue with Highya's review comments that suggests the wine labels and pricing are what influence one's opinions. While that may be initially true, the ongoing process of sampling a wide variety of wines over time, soon develops into a discernment of what a good wine should taste like, regardless of price and labeling. That has been the case with my own experience. My husband and I have both become more adept at identifying the nuances of what makes a wine taste good, at least for us! We will eventually expand to other wine sources to broaden our choices, but so far so good.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


Showing 23-33 of 57

Write a Review for Club W!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review
Club W