Read 57 Club W Customer Reviews and Complaints (Page 4)

Write a Review
Average Customer Rating: 2.2
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 10 4 star: 5 3 star: 2 2 star: 7 1 star:  33
Bottom Line: 28% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 34-44 of 57
Sort reviews by:

  • 5 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Complete scam, do not give them your money!

    • By EB,
    • CA,
    • Sep 21, 2015

    Made multiple attempts to cancel my 'subscription' that were ignored. I continued to be charged without my consent and currently have a case open with my bank to get my money back.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 6 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Not a scam but not great

    • By Rida,
    • New York,
    • Aug 26, 2015

    I tried it for 3 months and the wines are mediocre. The company has a fun premise and makes buying wine fun, accessible and unintimidating, but it's not for someone who really cares about good wine. The orders come via FedEx and the last two times, the wines have arrived very warm, well past the temperature in which they should be stored. All this makes already cheap wine taste even cheaper.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 9 out 17 people found this review helpful

    Scam!

    • By Jax,
    • Stamford, CT,
    • Aug 21, 2015

    If I could give this no stars, I would. I believe this business is a scam! I received a $50 wine credit as a wedding present from a friend. I went on Club W's site and did as I was told to use that credit. The additional fee for the wine ~$6 was charged to my credit card. All of a sudden, because they have my credit card on file, I'm signed up for some "club," and they are sending me wine and charging my card ~$50? When I called to ask them about it, I was informed that "it is explained thoroughly in the sign up process" (I DISAGREE!), and I am now a member of this "club", which I never even signed up for! Furthermore, they won't pay shipping to return this wine package I didn't order and want me to pay for the return shipping, or they would "credit my credit card a percentage of the charge," and I can keep the wine.

    Either way, I'm losing money on something I DIDN'T ORDER! Just don't start with this sham of a business. If I could return the gift I got so I never had to deal with this place, I would do so happily.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 9 out 12 people found this review helpful

    Irritating business practices

    • By Anonymous,
    • Aug 14, 2015

    I received a gift to Club W, which sounded like a fun way to try a few new wines. I ended up paying an extra $1.60 over the gift amount once tax and shipping were added, but I didn't think this was a big deal.

    Wong. By entering my payment info I was automatically signing up for monthly shipments that cannot be canceled without calling during limited business hours. What had been a generally pleasant experience (nice site design, ok wines) has turned into a pain in the butt. I definitely would not recommend this site to anyone else, as a gift or otherwise.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 6 out 10 people found this review helpful

    Scam!

    • By John Tesh,
    • Aug 8, 2015

    Any website that wont let you cancel online is a total scam. Club W is not only a pain in the butt, I had to file a dispute to get my money back on wine that they got back - since Fedex won't deliver when you're not home.

    Total scam. No place to cancel. Give them false credit card info and they can't charge you anymore. If they store your old info, they are out of PCI compliance and you can report them for that.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 4 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Subscription Service, Moderately Priced

    • By Matthew,
    • Jul 31, 2015

    Pros: They give you enough information to learn a thing or two about wine if you're absolutely new to it. Their online interface is pleasing and the amount you get is convenient. Good shipping and packaging.

    Cons: If you aren't in big city, then the prices actually aren't that great. They make it a bit of a pain to unsubscribe (but it still only takes several minutes by phone).

    I would recommend it to a friend because there are opportunities to get "free" bottles when friends are referred. Everyone just needs to be aware regarding subscriptions and what it takes to unsubscribe.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 2 out 3 people found this review helpful

    So far so good

    • By Eric,
    • San Francisco, CA,
    • Jul 23, 2015

    I signed up to Club W and got my first shipment today. I decided to try one of the wines that came today, even though I have quite a few bottles waiting to be opened. The wine was a blend of Cabernet and Syrah. It was absolutely fantastic - easily worth the approximately $16 price tag. But I did notice something odd. I wanted to lookup reviews for that wine, and couldn't find any reference to the "Upswell" winery. But Google does tell me that the trademark is owned by Club W. So they are maximizing their profits by selling their own wine - no doubt bought in bulk from suppliers at rock bottom prices. So that's a red flag to me. It's also a red flag that you have to call them to cancel the service. But I have to tell you, it was one delicious bottle of wine. I don't think Club W is a scam. Time will tell if its worth it, if they are just selling their white-label brands then I won't stick with it.

    Oh it was nice that the wine also came with a recipe. It was a delicious chicken recipe that I went ahead and cooked. In fact it was these recipes that made me choose Club W over a couple competitors. So I have to say, it's a good experience so far. I'll stick with it to see if it works for me long term or not. But its not a scam. That Upswell 2012 was simply delicious.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 8 out 12 people found this review helpful

    Absolutely a scam

    • By Ben,
    • Jul 22, 2015

    They make it impossible to delete your account. They charge you $50 a month unless you specifically respond to their email saying no. I have been trying to stop this for months. They absolutely do not give refunds and there is no way to make it stop. They should be sued into bankruptcy. Again there is no way to delete your account, they do not allow you to stop and continually charge you. Do not use this service.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 5 out 8 people found this review helpful

    Bad web experience and difficult to cancel

    • By Aaron W.,
    • Jul 20, 2015

    It's not very apparent that you will be joining a monthly subscription. Cancellation is only possible by phone which is extremely difficult for my situation and they refused to accommodate my request by email.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 10 out 11 people found this review helpful

    Definitely not a scam.

    • By B,
    • Columbus, OH,
    • Jul 18, 2015

    I thought it was very clearly written that it was a monthly wine service. Not sure why so many people are saying it was a scam. I mean at worst, you got some more wine.

    I just upped my order from 3 to 6 bottles for next month. All were good wine, and it’s great for a novice wine drinker. They give you descriptions of the taste which is something I love. I hated going into a grocery store and having no idea what I was getting into. Or worse yet, someone asking me what the wine was like and I bought it blind. For each wine they have videos, food pairings, and recipes.

    It’s a pretty cool site and definitely not a scam.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 5 out 6 people found this review helpful

    I think they're great.

    • By Pawiba,
    • New York, NY,
    • Jul 17, 2015
    • Verified Reviewer

    I find the list of negative reviews below to be very odd - my experience with Club W has been nothing but positive. When signing up, it was very clear that there was a monthly commitment that can be canceled with an easy phone call (although I'm aware of a current "trend" that actually talking to someone on the phone is seen as a horrible thing). I've tried 30 bottles in the last three months. Most of them were excellent and interesting; the worst was no worse than pretty good. Living in an apartment building, we have a doorman who can accept delivery, which is very easy. So for me, the experience is fun, new, and fulfilling. I have no negative comments.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

Showing 34-44 of 57

Write a Review for Club W!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review