Read 57 Club W Customer Reviews and Complaints (Page 4)

Write a Review
Average Customer Rating: 2.2
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 10 4 star: 5 3 star: 2 2 star: 7 1 star:  33
Bottom Line: 28% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 34-44 of 57
Sort reviews by:

  • It's not rocket science folks – It's WINE.

    • By James,
    • Phoenix, AZ,
    • Jul 26, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    This is CLEARLY a monthly wine subscription. I've been a member for years with only minor complaints. The wines I receive are great. My wife really enjoys the whites, and I like the reds, especially the Malbecs from Argentina and ANYTHING they send from Spain has been terrific. I've gotten some bad wines, but I expect some good and some bad from an adventurous wine club.

    My mother LIVES in Napa so I know and drink great wine all day long. If you want snob wine, this is not for you. If you want a fun experience with above average (and some great) wines... give them a try.

    I had one issue where the wine arrived very warm (in Phoenix) and had to send the wine back. That problem has been fixed.

    I don't know if it's hard to cancel as I don't plan to! But all my interactions with customer service have been pleasant and they fixed anything I needed with a smile.

    Overall Club W is something I plan on staying with for a long time and I recommend it to people all the time.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Winc Promotion is a Trap

    If you got any promotional mail or email from Winc, please go through completely because it is a trap. First, they will give you a promotion for $25 or so, but send you wine that's not even worth $5.

    And then the next month they will automatically charge your account $50 for 3 more bottles. And you cannot cancel this order. If you want to return the order, you need to pay $20 to send it back.

    So if you want to avoid this, then AVOID WINC!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • So far so good

    • By Eric,
    • San Francisco, CA,
    • Jul 23, 2015

    I signed up to Club W and got my first shipment today. I decided to try one of the wines that came today, even though I have quite a few bottles waiting to be opened. The wine was a blend of Cabernet and Syrah. It was absolutely fantastic - easily worth the approximately $16 price tag. But I did notice something odd. I wanted to lookup reviews for that wine, and couldn't find any reference to the "Upswell" winery. But Google does tell me that the trademark is owned by Club W. So they are maximizing their profits by selling their own wine - no doubt bought in bulk from suppliers at rock bottom prices. So that's a red flag to me. It's also a red flag that you have to call them to cancel the service. But I have to tell you, it was one delicious bottle of wine. I don't think Club W is a scam. Time will tell if its worth it, if they are just selling their white-label brands then I won't stick with it.

    Oh it was nice that the wine also came with a recipe. It was a delicious chicken recipe that I went ahead and cooked. In fact it was these recipes that made me choose Club W over a couple competitors. So I have to say, it's a good experience so far. I'll stick with it to see if it works for me long term or not. But its not a scam. That Upswell 2012 was simply delicious.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Love this company

    • By Mark Breneman,
    • Oct 31, 2015

    I'm a very satisfied member but want to share a cancellation story. My father was a satisfied Club W member but recently needed to cancel his subscription due to an illness - extended stage lung cancer. When he called to cancel the Club W rep. did inquire why and he was forthright with her. She processed the cancelation flawlessly and wished him thoughts and prayers. He later received a personal card from the Club W. rep he had never met wishing him the best in his fight against cancer. It’s the little things that matter - unfortunately this thoughtfulness can be a rarity in our business culture today.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • I like it.

    • By Nico,
    • Wisconsin,
    • Nov 21, 2015

    I've been a member for 3 months. It is clear that you will be enrolled in a club by the name of the website, the terms and conditions, and it's literally everywhere. I like most of the wines, but of course this can vary from customer to customer. I have no intentions of cancelling any time soon.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • It's a monthly pick-me-up

    • By Melanie Szlucha,
    • Norwalk, CT,
    • Nov 26, 2015

    I like this service. It's easy to put a shipment on hold (I'm a single woman and am rollin' in wine at the moment), the customer service people have been nice, and it's kind of neat to get 3 bottles of wine at my door each month for a reasonable price.

    I'm impressed with the videos they make describing the wines, the recipe cards and descriptions that come with each shipment. It's very well thought-out.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • False advertising and misleading customer service.

    • By Michelle,
    • California,
    • Apr 27, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    False advertising. Customers CANNOT control the day/time of their delivery.

    As per their article here: https://support.winc.com/hc/en-us/articles/223279247-Who-can-accept-a-shipment-from-Winc-.

    "Further customize your delivery details (including scheduling a delivery date/time or delivering to another address*), you can sign up for FedEx's Delivery Manager to make those arrangements."

    This is NOT true, which means that if you cannot sign for the package the first time, you will either have to make yourself available at four-hour intervals or add another errand to your day by going to you local FedEx, line up, sign and pick up the package there.

    Awful customer service. I spent time arguing with them to then have them tell me that their website and support teams have been wrong and they were misleading customers.

    Too bad. It's good wine at good prices.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Outraged!

    • By Ashley Adams,
    • California,
    • Jun 1, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    Terrible company! I got one shipment and the wine was not good, so I decided to cancel. Well, they have no place on the site to cancel, so I spoke to a representative on chat and they said my account was canceled. The next billing cycle I am charged $53.00! I contact customer service immediately; I had not received a shipping notification yet just saw it on my bank app. They said there was nothing I could do.

    They REFUSED to refund me for an order they sent without permission after my account should have been closed then told me if I refused the order there was a $20 restocking fee. If I sent it back, the shipping would be on me as well, and a restocking fee may still apply.

    I'm OUTRAGED. They make it impossible to cancel their subpar service. Also, you cannot choose when the wine is delivered, so it took me over a week to get my shipment after the first delivery attempt.

    DONT let this company run with your wallet!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Disappointing experience but great customer service!

    • By Julia,
    • Atlanta, GA,
    • Nov 17, 2015
    • Verified Reviewer

    I've had Club W for the last 10 months, and had multiple shipping issues. I also wasn't a huge fan of most of the wines I received. I just canceled after three attempted deliveries of this month's shipment (attempted delivery to my workplace where there was a receptionist to sign for the delivery). I was pleasantly surprised by my customer service rep! She apologized profusely for the multiple shipping headaches, and helped me quickly cancel my membership without trying to get me to stay on like most membership services. She also gave me a full refund for the wine I didn't receive.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Nice service, friendly, but overall not for me.

    • By Anonymous,
    • Nov 17, 2015

    I tried Club W for about 6 months and then quit because I realized 1) I couldn't taste a huge difference between these wines and ones I found at the grocery store for $8; and 2) getting wines shipped to me was much less convenient than just getting them from the store. If you have a rich palette and find stores less convenient, you may like this wine service.

    The wine picking and recommendations were fun, I'm a sucker for bottle design and really enjoyed the wines I did get. However, each one wasn't more magical tasting than the store. I was expecting to really taste big punches of the flavors in the wine, but inevitable all the red wines I got ended up tasting like "red wine taste" to my tongue. To save on shipping, I got 12 wines for the first order, and that box is SO heavy! In the end, I'd much rather pick up an $8-16 bottle of wine from the store without the shipping charge and without the big heavy box.

    It was a fun experience, overall. Canceling took less than 5 minutes, with no pressure to keep you enrolled.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Buy Smart

    • By Richard,
    • Eau Claire WI,
    • Jan 21, 2016

    Club W was recommended by a friend. For a year I've been a satisfied customer. Yes, the wines vary in appeal, especially initially; that's cause to intelligently rate your bottles as you uncork them. In doing so you will draw more wines that appeal to your tastes into your prospect lists. For a bottle that severely disappoints, Club W honors its promise to fully refund the purchase price. I've had a few such bottles, and a quick, easy phone call is all it takes to get the disappointing bottle's price credited to my account for a future purchase. Not every wines is 5-Star, but take care to note the ones that aren't and you soon will be amiably sampling wines you can enjoy from around the world.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


Showing 34-44 of 57

Write a Review for Club W!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review
Club W