Read 57 Club W Customer Reviews and Complaints (Page 5)

Write a Review
Average Customer Rating: 2.2
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 10 4 star: 5 3 star: 2 2 star: 7 1 star:  33
Bottom Line: 28% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 45-55 of 57
Sort reviews by:

  • Would not recommend

    • By Shanda,
    • Jul 16, 2015

    The website is attractive and easy to navigate. It draws the user in immediately due to the ability to create your own wine type based on your answers to simple questions. The problem came after I placed my order for three bottles of wine. Only after my credit card was charged did I realize I was signing up for a monthly automatic shipment and it would continue to be charged. I read the terms and conditions and there was no indication of automated future shipments/charges. It was difficult to locate their phone number and even more difficult to cancel.

    I asked for a confirmation number upon cancelling and the lady was not able to provide one. I hung up unsure if the "membership" is even truly canceled. I will be watching my credit card statement very closely next month.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Best Wine Club EVER. Hands Down.

    • By Danielle ,
    • Los Angeles, CA,
    • Jun 19, 2015

    Super surprised by the low reviews on this site. Have you actually experienced the awesome-ness that is Club W?

    1. Personalized wine – I take a short, quick quiz on the different tastes I like - spicy food, mushrooms, and berries and then they match me with wine that has similar flavors. AMAZING. I was recommended some awesome bottles.​
    2. Choice – I was able to go with my recommendations or choose bottles I wanted. I watched the videos that went with the wines I thought would be tasty, and got a sense for whether I would like them or not. You can order as many as you want & any order over six bottles has free shipping... WIN!
    3. Quick, convenient delivery – I got the wine in two days. three bottles for $39 delivered to my office in a sleek, light-weight box with a handle for easy carrying! The wines came with awesome recipe cards and tasting notes!
    4. Not a scam – Before my next order, they sent me an email reminding me to go select my wines before my next shipment. Super helpful. I chose a couple new bottles (my new recommendations!) and got them a few days later.

    This is the best wine club out there. These wines are actually a huge steal, Napa Cab for $13? Yes, please.

    I totally recommend Club W to all my friends.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Great little club

    • By Tonya,
    • Jun 16, 2015

    Apparently, most of the negative reviewers below can't read (or didn't bother to) because it's VERY clear when you place the first order that you're enrolling in a monthly delivery club.

    I love that they give suggestions on wines I'd like (which have only gotten better as I've rated what they've sent me).

    It's VERY easy to skip a month (or two, or three). And if you want to cancel, just PICK UP THE PHONE and call.

    Definitely not a scam. The company delivers what they say they will, on time, and the website couldn't be more clear when your next box is going to be sent. Emails let you know when they are getting ready to pack the box so you can cancel for a month if you need to.

    As far as wine quality, I've discovered that a lot of the red wines do require some decanting and rest before they taste their best (though most reds and even whites do). These are wines that are very acceptable and drinkable for their price point.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Low quality wine and poor customer service

    A friend recommended this service, so I gave it a try. The wines were low quality with very simple flavor profiles and extremely short finishes. If you're looking for something cheap that doesn't taste bad, this is a good choice, but if you like wine, don't bother.

    More annoying was that cancellation was difficult. They don't have any way to cancel on the site, nor via email, nor by calling them unless you call during business hours in their time zone. I was also charged a cancellation fee, which I always consider to be the sign of a less reputable vendor.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Just Say No

    • By Marc,
    • East Hanover, NJ,
    • Mar 20, 2015

    They have a very poor disclosure about automatically being enrolled into a program where they will ship you three bottles of wine monthly and charge your credit card that they maintain on file.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Feels like a scam

    • By Michael,
    • Seattle, WA,
    • Mar 13, 2015

    I ordered a box to try the service. It turns out I automatically got subscribed to receive monthly boxes. There is no way to stop this on their websites and the person on chat said she couldn't do it either and that I need to call. Sounds like they're working on making it as hard as possible for people to opt out.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Scam

    • By Becky,
    • Boston, MA,
    • Mar 7, 2015

    Same as other reviews, I purchased the first time to try and there was no notice at all letting me know about the auto enrollment for monthly shipping. I could not cancel online and needed to call in order to do so instead. I hate the experience! It's just a scam!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Same review as others

    • By Anonymous,
    • Feb 19, 2015

    I didn't know (since they don't inform you) that you are signing up for a monthly service upon the first order. I just wanted to try to see if I liked it, next I know, I'm getting a notice that my card is being charged. Pain in the butt to cancel account as well. Total waste.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • TOTAL RIP OFF

    • By MH,
    • Dallas,
    • Feb 15, 2015

    Place an order with this company and they will automatically sign you up for monthly boxes at $45 each, which you can only cancel by phone. There is no warning that they are going to do this. And the wine isn't even good. This company is a COMPLETE SCAM! Stay away. Don't even sign up.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Not worth the money or hassle

    • By Katie,
    • NC,
    • Feb 1, 2015

    Ordered one box of wine. It was decent, but not worth the cost. I have several nice, local wine shops near my house that have better wine and lower prices.

    It's difficult to cancel. I called and was on hold for 10 minutes before I talked to a person. Of course they asked why I was quitting and I told them I no longer drink (good way to avoid them trying to convince you to stay). I guess he didn't have much to say after that. He canceled my account, then asked if I need anything else. I said, "no, but thank you so much" and he hung up immediately. Not professional and downright rude.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Not worth the hassle for the wine they offer

    • By Todd,
    • Denver, CO,
    • Jan 14, 2015

    Website is fine, wine is just o.k., you can do better just going to a decent wine store. You have to be home to sign for the order, or you have to pick it up elsewhere, which can be a hassle. They will not let you cancel via a link, or by email, you must call them. They list a couple of lame reasons why this is the case, but to me it shows they have no confidence in their operation, and want to give you the hard sell when you call. I recommend you avoid this company.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


Showing 45-55 of 57

Write a Review for Club W!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review
Club W