About Cogniflex

By HighYa Staff

Cogniflex is the latest in a line of brain-enhancing supplements which uses a variety of ingredients to supposedly boost brain power.

A preliminary look at the website’s home page features a “Made in the USA” graphic and a gold-seal graphic which reads, “Best Price, Best Offer, Bestseller” We’ll check out the validity of the “Bestseller” claim later in this article.

The homepage also has a photo of the Cogniflex bottle. The label of the bottle notes the name of the supplement, the “Unlock Your Brain’s Potential” motto, as well as a logo which says “Sure Science”. According to the website’s Terms and Conditions, Sure Science LLC is a Wyoming-based limited liability company.

You’ve probably come to this review because you’re looking for a product that can help you boost your brain power, give you a mental edge and sharpen your focus and memory. We want you to find that help because we think it’s important, but we also want to make sure you choose a product that will do what its manufacturers claim it will do.

Over the next few minutes, we’re going to help you understand what Cogniflex claims to do and whether or not science backs it up. Then, we’ll give you our conclusions about what we’ve found.

What Does Cogniflex Promise?

According to Cogniflex’s website, the supplement offers you five advantages: elevated concentration, improved creativity, boosted energy, enhanced memory recall and a spike in your work productivity.

Cogniflex claims to take effect within 30 minutes and can last up to 6 hours. The active ingredients (included in the next section) are claimed to have increased visual information processing, learning rate and memory consolidation, as well as exhibiting the ability to boost test scores by 8.4 percent and reduce stress within three days of starting the supplement.

The company provides a simple, bullet-point list of each of its benefits along with the active ingredients which supposedly produce them.

Each of the bulleted points includes a “Source” link which takes the consumer to a scientific study which is supposed to back up the claim. Cogniflex’s sources are third-party studies that were not affiliated with the company.

How does it claim to do it?

In the “How Does Cogniflex Work?” section of the supplement’s website, they claim that coffee and energy drinks are the favored remedy for boosting energy. However, Cogniflex claims, boosting energy doesn’t improve things like focus and memory. That’s where Cogniflex is supposed to excel – it offers you a more comprehensive solution to your fatigue.

Cog​niflex does this by loading up their pills with helpful ingredients which unlock your potential maintain your focus and increase your energy.

The specific benefits of the product are related to the supplement’s proprietary blend of nootropics (products designed to boost brain function). The pills include the following active ingredients listed on the site: bacopa monnieri (brahmi), rhodiola rosea, tyrosine, L-theanine, vinpocetine and huperzine-A.

The supplement’s website asserts that bacopa monnieri has been proven to positively impact brain function, but that the positive effects of bacopa monnieri are more pronounced after 12 weeks of use compared to just four weeks of use. A numberless graph accompanies this claim and shows a steady increase from what is assumed to be the beginning of the trial on the left of the graph to the end of the trial on the right side of the graph. The graph shows a doubling effect – the end amount is twice as much as the beginning amount. Again, the website does not specify what the graph means or from where the graph was taken so it may or may not be true.

Does Science Back up Cogniflex?

As mentioned earlier, Cogniflex’s active ingredient-related benefits are listed in six succinct bullet points. Each bullet point includes a “Source” link, giving the consumer a sense that each claim is legitimate because it is backed up by science. We took a look at each source to verify the claims.

Bacopa Monnieri

According to Cogniflex, bacopa monnieri has been shown to improve the speed of visual information processing, learning rates and the ability to consolidate memories. The source link takes the reader to a 2002 study.

Here’s where the information gets interesting. The study pointed out that taking bacopa monnieri had no significant effect on short-term memory, working memory, attention or psychological conditions like depression.

There was, however, an effect on the way subjects were able to recall, after a brief time, pairs of unrelated words they were asked to memorize.

This being the only solid evidence of improved memory performance, the study seems to suggest that Cogniflex’s claims of better visual processing, learning rates and memory consolidation are a jargon-ish way of saying that bacopa monnieri has the ability to improve a very specific type of cognitive function.

Rhodiola Rosea

Cogniflex claims that rhodiola rosea “significantly” reduces physical/mental fatigue and can boost test scores by 8.4 percent. The source link took us to the abstract (an abbreviated version) of a 2000 study by researchers from Russia’s Volgograd Medical Academy. The study shows that students who took a 20-day regimen of rhodiola rosea extract SHR-5 showed significant improvement in physical fitness, mental fatigue and neuro-motoric tests.

Though the link took us to an abbreviated version of the study, we were able to find the full study on a different site. While we could not verify Cogniflex’s 8.4 percent claim, the full study confirmed significant improvement in physical fitness, mental fatigue and neuro-motoric tests.

The next bullet point in Cogniflex’s claimed benefits – that life-stress symptoms were decreased after only three days of usage and more effective after 4 weeks of use – links to the same study. Like the 8.4 percent claim, this claim was not included in the study’s abstract. The full text of the study did not mention the specific claims of this bullet point.

Huperzine-A

Cogniflex’s claim that Huperzine-A enhances memory and learning performance is pulled straight from the title of the corresponding source text, a 1999 study of Chinese middle school students.

Vinpocetine

This ingredient, Cogniflex claims, is supposed to increase memory and reduce reaction time. The source study indicates that a group of 12 female volunteers who took vinpocetine of varying amounts (10, 20 and 40 mg) showed improved short-term memory function. Reaction time, however, was not mentioned in the study.

L-Theanine

Cogniflex’s claim that L-Theanine helps reduce stress without sedation is not entirely true, according to the source study abstract to which this bullet point linked. Subjects who suffered from high anxiety and took L-Theanine did show a significant increase in the release of “alpha power waves”, which are known to foster relaxation and concentration. However, there were no significant changes in subjects who did not suffer from high anxiety. Also, there was no mention of the effect of L-Theanine on sedation.

Conclusions

The conclusions which Cogniflex draws from the sources linked to their claims are marginal, according to the studies used. While some of the facts (Huperzine-A) were accurate, others were not.

Cogniflex’s own Terms and Conditions (TC) state that the company has not reviewed any of the source materials included on the website and is not responsible for their accuracy. We feel as though this discredits the claims made on the site.

Furthermore, Cogniflex’s TC state that website users must be at least 18 years of age, yet several of the studies referenced on the site were conducted on subjects who were younger than 18 years old.

Our conclusion, when considering the evidence found in the claims, the sources and the TC, is that Cogniflex’s claims are shaky and at times, misleading.

Cogniflex Cost and Return Policies

Cogniflex offers attractive pricing tiers. One bottle of 60 capsules costs $48, three bottles cost $96 and five bottles cost $144. Based on details provided in the product’s TC, one bottle lasts 30 days (two pills per day).

According to their TC, Cogniflex can change the price of the product at any time.

Like other supplements we’ve covered, according to Cogniflex's Terms & Conditions, once you make your purchase you will be enrolled in an auto-ship program in which you’ll be sent new product every month and be charged for it. However, we were recently contacted by Cogniflex informing us that at this time they not enroll anyone into their auto-recurring monthly programs and it's only a one-time purchase. They claim to have added the "monthly autoship enrollment" into their terms &conditions as a legal technicality for future reference. In the future should Cogniflex decide to create a monthly membership, they will frame your purchase not only as a purchase, but as enrollment in their “program.” The website doesn’t indicate how much product you’ll be sent, but the safe choice is to assume you’ll be auto-shipped the same order you made: $48, $96 or $144.

If you’ve already bought Cogniflex and you want to take yourself out of the auto-ship program, call this number to cancel: 1-800-767-4440.

Also, like other supplements we’ve reviewed, once you buy Cogniflex, you’re bound by their arbitration agreement, which means you cannot file a class-action lawsuit against the company.

Cogniflex purchases come with a 30-day, money-back guarantee. The site’s TC show that the guarantee is a legitimate one, with the caveat that the money-back offer is available for a single refund per product ordered. If you aren’t satisfied with your purchase, you can return your Cogniflex containers -- even if they’re empty -- for a full refund if the return is received within 30 days of receipt. The initial purchase price will be refunded, less shipping and handling.

Bottom Line: So What Should You Do about Cogniflex and Improving Focus?

Cogniflex is an interesting product because research shows that some of the ingredients in the supplement actually do improve brain function. However, because we could not find ingredient levels listed on the company’s website, there’s no way of knowing if the amount of ingredients in the pill are equal to the amount (and effectiveness) of the ingredients tested in the referenced studies.

Because Cogniflex bends the facts of the studies it references and then takes no responsibility for the accuracy of those studies gives us pause.

We were also concerned with the misleading nature of the “Bestseller” seal featured on the website’s home page. There is no evidence given on the website to prove the claim the seal makes.

Based on our observations of the evidence provided, we recommend that you steer clear of Cogniflex and search out other proven options for enhancing your memory, energy and mood.

Get more Sleep!

One of the most powerful ways to increase your energy and make your brain work like it should is also one of them simplest solutions: sleep.

Harvard University has an entire section of their website dedicated to the power of sleep. According to their researchers, sleep can:

  • Improve your ability to learn new tasks
  • Positively affect your mood, judgement, motivation and perception of events
  • Strengthen your memory and your learning

Kill the Stress

Stress also plays an important role in how your brain functions. A 2012 article from Yale News pointed out the brains of individuals who’ve undergone short, long or extended periods of stress actually shrink! Not only that, but stress is also linked to addiction, depression and anxiety.

Cutting down on stress will require some changes in your life, but your body and your mind will thank you.

Exercise More

A regular regimen of exercise can produce some pretty amazing changes in your brain. Just a little bit of exercise every day can aid in creating new blood vessels in the brain (vital for cell health), decrease inflammation and reduce insulin resistance. In addition, regular exercise can improve your memory and thinking skills.;

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!


Read 24 Cogniflex Customer Reviews and Complaints

Write a Review
Average Consumer Rating: 1.8
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 4 4 star: 0 3 star: 1 2 star: 1 1 star:  18
Bottom Line: 25% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 24
Sort reviews by:

  • 17 out 33 people found this review helpful

    Great Supplement

    I'm 67 years old and having trouble with my memory and my ability to focus. I was given this supplement by my son. I take it first thing in the AM. My wife has been astonished by the way my memory has improved. My ability to focus is improving everyday. For me it is a 5 star supplement. Last month I was worried about dementia now I wonder how much better I can get.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Feb 18, 2016

      Gary,

      This guy works for the company! It's called placebo incorporated.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 36 out 82 people found this review helpful

    Super Charger

    • Bradenton, FL,
    • Mar 6, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have tried every nootropic on the market but Cogniflex keeps me coming back. I think it gives me the most clarity, focus and energy but also makes me feel like I can get anything done. I truly believe it super charges your brain. Try it out, I promise it is worth it.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (2)
    View all 2 commentsHide comments
    • Jul 12, 2016

      Roland

      Does it really work?

    • Feb 27, 2017

      Julie Williford Stosz

      I see that it has been some time now since you began taking Cogniflex, is it still working the same way as you stated in your comment?

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 31 out 83 people found this review helpful

    Although not quite a limitless pill, still an amazing product

    After reading the reviews I almost canceled my order. Then I decided I was just going to send back once I received it. I'm so glad I didn't. As much as I had convinced my self that it wasn't going to work, I decided to give it a try. Since taking this product I find myself having much more productive days, increased energy, I'm picking up extra shifts at work, cleaning my car often. etc. So although you won't be reading hieroglyphics just by simply taking this, you will find yourself being way more productive than usually. Truly amazing product.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 5 people found this review helpful

    First nootropics a noticeable success!

    Other than taking Focus Factor over a decade ago, I hadn't yet tried any nootropics. So I gave Cogniflex and another maker a try. I started with the Cogniflex and within a week to week-and-a-half, I absolutely noticed a change. Not exactly earthshattering, but realistically enthusiastic. I was energized and actually desired to creatively work, as it now gave me new purpose! Loving that feeling inspired my happiness to grow, and again my work was now merely "solutions getting done." Oh, sure, my recollection was also somewhat better; some things I recalled were strange and insignificant, while others seemed to assist me with my search for enlightenment. Certainly, I lost my keys far fewer times, if any.

    There may be many other products out there, and there are info and miss info alike, so when making a choice, I'd consider after trying two different nootropics, I truly felt Cogniflex was more effective, period. I'm so glad I tried it, and I plan on staying on it.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 20 out 38 people found this review helpful

    Mixed Review

    The product is good so far. The speediness that you guys got it out to me was extremely fast. You were also fast, deducting money from my account. But anyway, I was on Facebook, it popped up, I clicked and got sucked in. And yes, I wanted it, got it, but what sucked me in was buy 2 get 1 free. No price any where. Oh well, I wanted it so I went for the buy 2 get 1 free. Then looked at my bank account and saw 96 bucks was taken out. I thought this stuff better work, so I waited to get it. Not until I researched the price that I saw that I got nothing for free. So I emailed, you called back, I missed the call. However my email was plain and simple, I said correct this and I will be ok. Or if it's right, then don't send it, cancel this order. Well I got the order and no correction, just a receipt that said I bought 3 bottles. I still want my free bottle.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (3)
    View all 3 commentsHide comments
    • Nov 10, 2015

      Anonymous,

      It shows right on the site that each bottle is 48 dollars. So two times 48 equals $96 therefore your third bottle was free.

    • Nov 26, 2015

      Johnny Jeffs,

      Anthony Blackmon, after all you been through, you say you would recommend it to a friend? I'm glad that I'm not friends with you because you sound like a bad friend.

    • Feb 11, 2016

      Anonymous,

      You and the 62 year old dementia guy up there are funny. Both of you have good reviews for this pill. You go to describe the "price is good" and the old dude says it basically cured his dementia. Both are obviously written by paid people. Look at the wording on both of your comments. You guys sound like an infomercial with your fake back stories. "Ooh I love this pill because it cures my dementia" and "ooh look here 96 bucks for 3. That's buy two get one free." How much did they pay you guys to go around and make fake accounts to comment this? Both of your guys accounts were recently made and only have the one comment about these pills. There's so much misleading, disguised ads nowadays. Open your eyes people. They're tricking you. They think you're stupid. And they don't even try to make this stuff believable. They even paid CNN to make a review about this. They basically said it gives you a great high. And Facebook promoted it as "recommended info."

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 46 out 46 people found this review helpful

    Things Don't Add Up

    • Islamorada, FL,
    • Dec 4, 2015
    • Verified Reviewer

    Preface Note: my "Things don't add up" reference is referring to Cogniflex not the above review.

    I will also start off by saying, that I haven't taken the Cogniflex in a consistent manner and yet to know whether or not it actually works.

    But after reading the above review, let me tell you the things that aren't adding up for me.

    1. The above review lists the ingredients that the Cogniflex is supposed to contain as represented in their ad--two of which are not even on the bottles that I received.

    Nowhere on my bottle are the following ingredients listed: Vinpocetine and Huperzine -A. I wish I could attach a picture of the back of my bottle to show this.

    2. The above article, does a great review of Cogniflex; however, it doesn't mention the ingredients listed under "Other Ingredients." Normally this wouldn't concern me, as usually they are benign type ingredients. However, a RED FLAG (or should I say blue flag) for me is the food coloring listed under other ingredients called FD&C blue number 1. Also, what is Silica and Titanium Dioxide? Benign ingredients?

    We already know that the FDA in September of 2003 issued a public health advisory to alert the public about toxicity levels in food colorings, and especially, this particular food coloring.

    Again, I wish I could take a picture of the label of my bottle and attach it here.

    Unfortunately, I wish I had done further research before actually ordering a bunch of bottles. Live and learn.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 51 out 68 people found this review helpful

    This a ripoff!

    • Abilene, TX,
    • Oct 9, 2015

    This is a big rip off. A horrible company. They should not be allowed to have a company.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (11)
    View all 11 commentsHide comments
    • Oct 18, 2015

      James Hamdan, Customer Service

      Ronald,

      I looked up your Cogniflex order, and I see that you were refunded in full for $144.00. Why do you say that you were ripped off?

      Is there anything else that we could've done to make your Cogniflex experience more positive? Our goal is to provide the best possible customer support and we appreciate all comments and suggestions that may help us improve in the future.

       

    • Oct 19, 2015

      Susan Caspar ,

      I ordered Cogniflex last night than immediately tried to cancel the order because it was more expensive than what I calculated

    • Oct 20, 2015

      Shane

      I've been taking it for about a week and I can feel a difference. I am a big gamer and I have been doing a lot better at them. Also I noticed myself getting a lot less stressed and being able to focus a lot more on different tasks. Thanks for the product guys.

    • Oct 28, 2015

      Mildred

      I ordered the buy two get one free. But when the order was processed, I was charged for all three bottles. I called their 800 number and they did process a credit for the third bottle. It should take about five business days to process. Will keep you informed as to whether I receive the credit and if the product is actually helping.

    • Oct 29, 2015

      Ronald Brown,

      What are the side effects?

    • Oct 30, 2015

      Margaret,

      You should have heard the way the person I talked to on the phone talked to me. It was awful! I still believe that your product is a complete scam.

    • Nov 23, 2015

      Asa Rowlett,

      I did not buy this product. However, I did have a focus of cognitive neuroscience in college and this product attracted my attention. I did a lot of reading all over the internet and was not wholly impressed by what I found. Consumer reports averaged out to somewhere above placebo effect, as vitamins should. To be fair I was not massively unimpressed by what I read, but reviews were mostly what I found. I don't trust reviews. I trust science. And I did not find much of that. Thus far my research on this product has concluded with not enough information because there is nothing to be found. By the way my specific interest in college was finding a generic cognitive improvement method. The best solutions to this are all mentioned above: vitamins, exercise, sleep, being a healthy person (go figure). Does this product work? Yes, vitamins and other simple natural ingredients improve cognitive function to some extent. Is it a miracle drug? No, but neither are daily multivitamins and they do a hell of a job. Looking for the ultimate brain solution? Be healthy. Need it tomorrow? Go to bed early, and run when you wake up. Yes a jog pace is okay and anywhere from .5-5.0 miles will do the trick. You might not notice it right away but running specifically of all exercise methods helps prevent brain deterioration and improve cognitive function much more than anything in history. Good luck.

    • Dec 9, 2015

      Danielle,

      I cannot rate this product because I have not ordered any. Like most of you, I saw an ad on Facebook and thought about getting some. I always research the reviews of a product before making a decision to order anything online. So far the only conclusion I have come to, is that mind over matter is such a real thing! Yes, more sleep and eating right and exercise are really what's best for your body, but there is no such thing as a miracle quick fix. If you take a sugar pill and are told all of these things will improve I believe they will in many ways. If you believe, it will work it just might.

    • Jan 14, 2016

      Rrichard,

      I was considering possibly trying this product, however it has way too many negative comments associated with it. I will go with the number one rated product as per my research.

    • Feb 6, 2016

      Pierpont

      I wonder if this is the same company that created the other scam supplement. I can't remember the name right now but I remember the line that suckered me into buying it: "a calm state of euphoria." Hook, line and sinker.

    • Apr 7, 2016

      Carmen Woodie

      I ordered it today, before I found this article. For me $96 is a huge amount of money so I'm not feeling very good right now. I will give it a shot I guess and go from there. Not much else to do at this point. I will get back here with my results. I really wish I would have found this article before.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 43 out 47 people found this review helpful

    Terrible fraudulent product. Scam alert.

    • Ohio,
    • Oct 23, 2015

    This product is a full blown scam to take advantage of people looking to help their everyday life. Better off eating right and getting sleep.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 48 out 55 people found this review helpful

    typo on the label...what esle is wrong

    • California,
    • Oct 28, 2015

    I recently purchased this supplement online for the orange county company. I knew it was probably a joke of a miracle pill but figured what could it hurt. When I received the package and read the back of the bottle I noticed a typo on the label. Who in their right mind is going to take a mind altering drug with a typo on the bottle? How many people had to look at the label and sign off on it before it was printed? If they cannot spell "store" correctly, what else could be wrong with the formula of the drug, mixture, missed ingredient on the label?

    I don't want "sore in a cool dry place". I think the public should be aware of this as it could be a health and safety hazard.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 36 out 52 people found this review helpful

    Total scam

    • Oshkosh, Wisconsin,
    • Nov 2, 2015

    Tried to order 1 bottle to try it. Couldn't change the amount of bottles ordered. Contacted them before it was shipped out to cancel my order. Ended up paying $170 for 6 bottles. They only contacted me back after the order had arrived to my house. And then to top it off they sent 11 bottles. So I called them about returning them, all unopened and in unopened shipping box and it will cost $10 per bottle to pay a restocking fee. So they are giving me $60 back to keep the crap. They did this on purpose. It's no more than a vitamin supplement and it does nothing else. They are trying to use the placebo effect on people. Stick to real drugs if you want results because you can't trust this garbage supported by the media, who is just as at fault for promoting it. Now I'm out $110 and am stuck with 11 bottles of vitamins because that's what they intended to do in the first place.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Nov 27, 2015

      William Keith

      Would you sell me a couple bottles at a discount?

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 53 out 58 people found this review helpful

    Ronald from customer service was rude.

    • Florida,
    • Nov 10, 2015

    Hey Roanld, it's funny you say you want to provide the best customer service possible. I spoke with you directly on the phone when I placed my order for this placebo pill. Not only did you lie about the return policy but you were rude when I pressed you to speak with a supervisor. Hey everybody, I'm Ronald and I lie to people to make a quick buck. Do not buy this product! You have been warned.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 24

Write a Review for Cogniflex!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review