About Cogniflex

Cogniflex is the latest in a line of brain-enhancing supplements which uses a variety of ingredients to supposedly boost brain power.

A preliminary look at the website’s home page features a “Made in the USA” graphic and a gold-seal graphic which reads, “Best Price, Best Offer, Bestseller” We’ll check out the validity of the “Bestseller” claim later in this article.

The homepage also has a photo of the Cogniflex bottle. The label of the bottle notes the name of the supplement, the “Unlock Your Brain’s Potential” motto, as well as a logo which says “Sure Science”. According to the website’s Terms and Conditions, Sure Science LLC is a Wyoming-based limited liability company.

You’ve probably come to this review because you’re looking for a product that can help you boost your brain power, give you a mental edge and sharpen your focus and memory. We want you to find that help because we think it’s important, but we also want to make sure you choose a product that will do what its manufacturers claim it will do.

Over the next few minutes, we’re going to help you understand what Cogniflex claims to do and whether or not science backs it up. Then, we’ll give you our conclusions about what we’ve found.

What Does Cogniflex Promise?

According to Cogniflex’s website, the supplement offers you five advantages: elevated concentration, improved creativity, boosted energy, enhanced memory recall and a spike in your work productivity.

Cogniflex claims to take effect within 30 minutes and can last up to 6 hours. The active ingredients (included in the next section) are claimed to have increased visual information processing, learning rate and memory consolidation, as well as exhibiting the ability to boost test scores by 8.4 percent and reduce stress within three days of starting the supplement.

The company provides a simple, bullet-point list of each of its benefits along with the active ingredients which supposedly produce them.

Each of the bulleted points includes a “Source” link which takes the consumer to a scientific study which is supposed to back up the claim. Cogniflex’s sources are third-party studies that were not affiliated with the company.

How does it claim to do it?

In the “How Does Cogniflex Work?” section of the supplement’s website, they claim that coffee and energy drinks are the favored remedy for boosting energy. However, Cogniflex claims, boosting energy doesn’t improve things like focus and memory. That’s where Cogniflex is supposed to excel – it offers you a more comprehensive solution to your fatigue.

Cog​niflex does this by loading up their pills with helpful ingredients which unlock your potential maintain your focus and increase your energy.

The specific benefits of the product are related to the supplement’s proprietary blend of nootropics (products designed to boost brain function). The pills include the following active ingredients listed on the site: bacopa monnieri (brahmi), rhodiola rosea, tyrosine, L-theanine, vinpocetine and huperzine-A.

The supplement’s website asserts that bacopa monnieri has been proven to positively impact brain function, but that the positive effects of bacopa monnieri are more pronounced after 12 weeks of use compared to just four weeks of use. A numberless graph accompanies this claim and shows a steady increase from what is assumed to be the beginning of the trial on the left of the graph to the end of the trial on the right side of the graph. The graph shows a doubling effect – the end amount is twice as much as the beginning amount. Again, the website does not specify what the graph means or from where the graph was taken so it may or may not be true.

Does Science Back up Cogniflex?

As mentioned earlier, Cogniflex’s active ingredient-related benefits are listed in six succinct bullet points. Each bullet point includes a “Source” link, giving the consumer a sense that each claim is legitimate because it is backed up by science. We took a look at each source to verify the claims.

Bacopa Monnieri

According to Cogniflex, bacopa monnieri has been shown to improve the speed of visual information processing, learning rates and the ability to consolidate memories. The source link takes the reader to a 2002 study.

Here’s where the information gets interesting. The study pointed out that taking bacopa monnieri had no significant effect on short-term memory, working memory, attention or psychological conditions like depression.

There was, however, an effect on the way subjects were able to recall, after a brief time, pairs of unrelated words they were asked to memorize.

This being the only solid evidence of improved memory performance, the study seems to suggest that Cogniflex’s claims of better visual processing, learning rates and memory consolidation are a jargon-ish way of saying that bacopa monnieri has the ability to improve a very specific type of cognitive function.

Rhodiola Rosea

Cogniflex claims that rhodiola rosea “significantly” reduces physical/mental fatigue and can boost test scores by 8.4 percent. The source link took us to the abstract (an abbreviated version) of a 2000 study by researchers from Russia’s Volgograd Medical Academy. The study shows that students who took a 20-day regimen of rhodiola rosea extract SHR-5 showed significant improvement in physical fitness, mental fatigue and neuro-motoric tests.

Though the link took us to an abbreviated version of the study, we were able to find the full study on a different site. While we could not verify Cogniflex’s 8.4 percent claim, the full study confirmed significant improvement in physical fitness, mental fatigue and neuro-motoric tests.

The next bullet point in Cogniflex’s claimed benefits – that life-stress symptoms were decreased after only three days of usage and more effective after 4 weeks of use – links to the same study. Like the 8.4 percent claim, this claim was not included in the study’s abstract. The full text of the study did not mention the specific claims of this bullet point.

Huperzine-A

Cogniflex’s claim that Huperzine-A enhances memory and learning performance is pulled straight from the title of the corresponding source text, a 1999 study of Chinese middle school students.

Vinpocetine

This ingredient, Cogniflex claims, is supposed to increase memory and reduce reaction time. The source study indicates that a group of 12 female volunteers who took vinpocetine of varying amounts (10, 20 and 40 mg) showed improved short-term memory function. Reaction time, however, was not mentioned in the study.

L-Theanine

Cogniflex’s claim that L-Theanine helps reduce stress without sedation is not entirely true, according to the source study abstract to which this bullet point linked. Subjects who suffered from high anxiety and took L-Theanine did show a significant increase in the release of “alpha power waves”, which are known to foster relaxation and concentration. However, there were no significant changes in subjects who did not suffer from high anxiety. Also, there was no mention of the effect of L-Theanine on sedation.

Conclusions

The conclusions which Cogniflex draws from the sources linked to their claims are marginal, according to the studies used. While some of the facts (Huperzine-A) were accurate, others were not.

Cogniflex’s own Terms and Conditions (TC) state that the company has not reviewed any of the source materials included on the website and is not responsible for their accuracy. We feel as though this discredits the claims made on the site.

Furthermore, Cogniflex’s TC state that website users must be at least 18 years of age, yet several of the studies referenced on the site were conducted on subjects who were younger than 18 years old.

Our conclusion, when considering the evidence found in the claims, the sources and the TC, is that Cogniflex’s claims are shaky and at times, misleading.

Cogniflex Cost and Return Policies

Cogniflex offers attractive pricing tiers. One bottle of 60 capsules costs $48, three bottles cost $96 and five bottles cost $144. Based on details provided in the product’s TC, one bottle lasts 30 days (two pills per day).

According to their TC, Cogniflex can change the price of the product at any time.

Like other supplements we’ve covered, according to Cogniflex's Terms & Conditions, once you make your purchase you will be enrolled in an auto-ship program in which you’ll be sent new product every month and be charged for it. However, we were recently contacted by Cogniflex informing us that at this time they not enroll anyone into their auto-recurring monthly programs and it's only a one-time purchase. They claim to have added the "monthly autoship enrollment" into their terms &conditions as a legal technicality for future reference. In the future should Cogniflex decide to create a monthly membership, they will frame your purchase not only as a purchase, but as enrollment in their “program.” The website doesn’t indicate how much product you’ll be sent, but the safe choice is to assume you’ll be auto-shipped the same order you made: $48, $96 or $144.

If you’ve already bought Cogniflex and you want to take yourself out of the auto-ship program, call this number to cancel: 1-800-767-4440.

Also, like other supplements we’ve reviewed, once you buy Cogniflex, you’re bound by their arbitration agreement, which means you cannot file a class-action lawsuit against the company.

Cogniflex purchases come with a 30-day, money-back guarantee. The site’s TC show that the guarantee is a legitimate one, with the caveat that the money-back offer is available for a single refund per product ordered. If you aren’t satisfied with your purchase, you can return your Cogniflex containers -- even if they’re empty -- for a full refund if the return is received within 30 days of receipt. The initial purchase price will be refunded, less shipping and handling.

Bottom Line: So What Should You Do about Cogniflex and Improving Focus?

Cogniflex is an interesting product because research shows that some of the ingredients in the supplement actually do improve brain function. However, because we could not find ingredient levels listed on the company’s website, there’s no way of knowing if the amount of ingredients in the pill are equal to the amount (and effectiveness) of the ingredients tested in the referenced studies.

Because Cogniflex bends the facts of the studies it references and then takes no responsibility for the accuracy of those studies gives us pause.

We were also concerned with the misleading nature of the “Bestseller” seal featured on the website’s home page. There is no evidence given on the website to prove the claim the seal makes.

Based on our observations of the evidence provided, we recommend that you steer clear of Cogniflex and search out other proven options for enhancing your memory, energy and mood.

Get more Sleep!

One of the most powerful ways to increase your energy and make your brain work like it should is also one of them simplest solutions: sleep.

Harvard University has an entire section of their website dedicated to the power of sleep. According to their researchers, sleep can:

  • Improve your ability to learn new tasks
  • Positively affect your mood, judgement, motivation and perception of events
  • Strengthen your memory and your learning

Kill the Stress

Stress also plays an important role in how your brain functions. A 2012 article from Yale News pointed out the brains of individuals who’ve undergone short, long or extended periods of stress actually shrink! Not only that, but stress is also linked to addiction, depression and anxiety.

Cutting down on stress will require some changes in your life, but your body and your mind will thank you.

Exercise More

A regular regimen of exercise can produce some pretty amazing changes in your brain. Just a little bit of exercise every day can aid in creating new blood vessels in the brain (vital for cell health), decrease inflammation and reduce insulin resistance. In addition, regular exercise can improve your memory and thinking skills.;

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!

24 Consumer Reviews for Cogniflex

Average Consumer Rating: 1.8
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 4 4 star: 0 3 star: 1 2 star: 1 1 star:  18
Bottom Line: 25% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 24
Sort reviews by:

  • 132 out 136 people found this review helpful

    Hate this product and company

    • Northlake,TX,
    • Jun 5, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    I purchased this product a little over a month ago and have tried taking it with and without food. However, it gives me a horrible feeling of burning and itching. So I called to return it only to be told because it has been a week more than the month they will not take it back and refund my money. So I will get on every website possible to let everyone know it's a terrible product and to NOT purchase it.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 130 out 133 people found this review helpful

    Scam

    • California,
    • Aug 14, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    I've been taking this for over 3 months now and haven't had any positive results, I truly believe this is a scam. I'm so mad that I didn't do the research I normally do. Hopeful this review will help someone else not to be scammed.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 122 out 123 people found this review helpful

    Waste of money and time

    • Tennessee,
    • May 17, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    This pill is nothing like advertised. My husband and I ordered 4 bottles of this. We are now on bottle 4 and cannot tell we are even taking this pill. We gave this pill a little bit of time to get into our system before writing this review because like most pills, it needs to get into your system before you can feel the effects. This was a complete waste of time and money.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 112 out 115 people found this review helpful

    Altergic Reaction (hives)

    • El Paso, TX,
    • May 30, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    I purchased Cogniflex online. After receiving it in the mail, I tried Cogniflex and about one hour after the first dose, I broke out in hives all over my body. About one week later, I tried it again in hopes that it was not the Cogniflex that I had an allergic reaction to. Again, I had an allergic reaction and developed hives all over my body. I do not know what is in Cogniflex and I do not recommend anyone ingesting this product.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 95 out 96 people found this review helpful

    Double Scam!

    • Austin, TX,
    • May 14, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    If I could rate a product negatively, I'd rate Cogniflex a -5.

    The product was totally ineffective, even at double or triple daily dose. I did not experience any cognitive changes. That is the first scam

    The second scam is their return policy. There is a $9.95 restocking fee for each bottle, even for the "free" ones they give you and the empty ones you send back. I reminded them that these fees are not in the terms and conditions and the returns policy does not exist.

    They also will not refund a second order that was never received by me anyway.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 89 out 91 people found this review helpful

    Bad Order Experience

    • Vegas, NV,
    • Dec 24, 2015

    Just placed and order for the buy 3 get 2 free. I went through buying process online and the company never confirmed the total amount before completing my order. Final page shows total of $144. Immediately called to get clarification on pricing. I was advised the $28.80 bottle is for the 5 bottles and not 3. So basically, they advertise your savings and not the actual cost. Customer service immediately offered me 5 bottles for $104. So they were willing to issue me a $40 credit, the call disconnected as we were discussing refund policies. I called back right away to let them know I just wanted to test out 1 bottle for now, they advised me all products are final sale and no refunds will be issued.

    However, they wanted me to keep all 5 bottles and return within 30 days if dissatisfied. I am not interested in a 30 day trial if I am calling ahead of time to cancel the order before it even ships. Great customer service, seeing as how now you have lost a potential customer and received a bad review when all you had to do was refund and ship out the 1 bottle. I advised the rep I would be disputing the charge with my bank and they would also be losing a customer and getting an honest unsatisfactory review. The customer service rep’s reply was like “Well, if that’s what you have to do…” Great work.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (3)
    View all 3 commentsHide comments
    • May 16, 2016

      Terry Elliott

      I ordered the "buy 2 get one free" deal that was advertised as "$32.00 a bottle, get one free". When I checked my credit card account, they had charged me $96.00. Seems to me, the charge should have been $64.00. So I called the 800 number & wanted to return the package unopened & I was informed I would be charged a restocking fee of $9.00 per bottle & the woman was very rude. I have contacted my credit card company & filed a dispute. Due to the fact there was deceptive advertising, I plan on filing a complaint with the Arizona Attorney General's consumer fraud department. This outfit is an out & out scam.

    • Nov 13, 2016

      Nick

      Same thing happened here, but they refunded the difference. I called, and the customer service representative said the same thing mentioned in your comment. I explained to her that I am not retarded and that I completely understand what she is saying and where the charge was coming from.

      Regardless of her reasons, the fact is, if the advertisement says the deal is "buy three and get two free" you can only charge me for three items. You cannot charge me a discounted rate for all five items. I asked to talk to someone in their legal department to discuss the illegal advertising on their website. I was transferred to a supervisor (Mindy) who understood exactly what I was complaining about and was more than happy to refund the difference. I was pleased with the refund. But the real problem is, that the company has not changed their advertisement. Not everyone is a frugal prick like me, so I can only imagine how many people have been ripped off.

      Come on corporations of the world. Don't let small mistakes and procrastination destroy your reputation and your relationship with your customers. It's just not worth it.

    • Jan 6, 2017

      Keith Smith

      Thank God that there is someone that will investigate these products that Dr. Oz recommends to everyone! I have had my doubts because I purchased some products that didn't do anything. He was brought before some counsel, and he was criticized for the products he recommends to people.

      Thank you for this vigilant service, keep up the good work.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 91 out 96 people found this review helpful

    Scam!

    • Birmingham, AL,
    • Jan 14, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    One major ingredient left off and it's on the Supplement Facts label on the bottle, CAFFEINE ANHYDROUS Cogniflex is a scam! It does not work and I just want my money back.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 88 out 92 people found this review helpful

    Embarrassed to say that I actually fell for this one.

    • Meridian, ID,
    • Dec 24, 2015

    Customer service was terrible, this is the placebo effect at its best. It's also a great example of companies/people taking advantage of the innocent. I'm ashamed to admit that I actually spent my hard earned money on this in hopes for a better life. For all we know, we could just be buying sugar pills. Don't waste your money on this crap!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 75 out 77 people found this review helpful

    Terrible Customer Service

    • May 10, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    So I did fall for this product as I am ashamed to say. I went to cancel it 10 minutes after putting in the order and is still being charged $9.95 per bottle for cancelation. The customer rep was extremely rude. Tried to push a 45% discount on me but when I asked if I didn't like the product can I still return in the 30 days and she said that wouldn't be possible if I accepted the discount. So I am out of $50 because of the fine print.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 51 out 68 people found this review helpful

    This a ripoff!

    • Abilene, TX,
    • Oct 9, 2015

    This is a big rip off. A horrible company. They should not be allowed to have a company.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (11)
    View all 11 commentsHide comments
    • Oct 18, 2015

      James Hamdan, Customer Service

      Ronald,

      I looked up your Cogniflex order, and I see that you were refunded in full for $144.00. Why do you say that you were ripped off?

      Is there anything else that we could've done to make your Cogniflex experience more positive? Our goal is to provide the best possible customer support and we appreciate all comments and suggestions that may help us improve in the future.

       

    • Oct 19, 2015

      Susan Caspar ,

      I ordered Cogniflex last night than immediately tried to cancel the order because it was more expensive than what I calculated

    • Oct 20, 2015

      Shane

      I've been taking it for about a week and I can feel a difference. I am a big gamer and I have been doing a lot better at them. Also I noticed myself getting a lot less stressed and being able to focus a lot more on different tasks. Thanks for the product guys.

    • Oct 28, 2015

      Mildred

      I ordered the buy two get one free. But when the order was processed, I was charged for all three bottles. I called their 800 number and they did process a credit for the third bottle. It should take about five business days to process. Will keep you informed as to whether I receive the credit and if the product is actually helping.

    • Oct 29, 2015

      Ronald Brown,

      What are the side effects?

    • Oct 30, 2015

      Margaret,

      You should have heard the way the person I talked to on the phone talked to me. It was awful! I still believe that your product is a complete scam.

    • Nov 23, 2015

      Asa Rowlett,

      I did not buy this product. However, I did have a focus of cognitive neuroscience in college and this product attracted my attention. I did a lot of reading all over the internet and was not wholly impressed by what I found. Consumer reports averaged out to somewhere above placebo effect, as vitamins should. To be fair I was not massively unimpressed by what I read, but reviews were mostly what I found. I don't trust reviews. I trust science. And I did not find much of that. Thus far my research on this product has concluded with not enough information because there is nothing to be found. By the way my specific interest in college was finding a generic cognitive improvement method. The best solutions to this are all mentioned above: vitamins, exercise, sleep, being a healthy person (go figure). Does this product work? Yes, vitamins and other simple natural ingredients improve cognitive function to some extent. Is it a miracle drug? No, but neither are daily multivitamins and they do a hell of a job. Looking for the ultimate brain solution? Be healthy. Need it tomorrow? Go to bed early, and run when you wake up. Yes a jog pace is okay and anywhere from .5-5.0 miles will do the trick. You might not notice it right away but running specifically of all exercise methods helps prevent brain deterioration and improve cognitive function much more than anything in history. Good luck.

    • Dec 9, 2015

      Danielle,

      I cannot rate this product because I have not ordered any. Like most of you, I saw an ad on Facebook and thought about getting some. I always research the reviews of a product before making a decision to order anything online. So far the only conclusion I have come to, is that mind over matter is such a real thing! Yes, more sleep and eating right and exercise are really what's best for your body, but there is no such thing as a miracle quick fix. If you take a sugar pill and are told all of these things will improve I believe they will in many ways. If you believe, it will work it just might.

    • Jan 14, 2016

      Rrichard,

      I was considering possibly trying this product, however it has way too many negative comments associated with it. I will go with the number one rated product as per my research.

    • Feb 6, 2016

      Pierpont

      I wonder if this is the same company that created the other scam supplement. I can't remember the name right now but I remember the line that suckered me into buying it: "a calm state of euphoria." Hook, line and sinker.

    • Apr 7, 2016

      Carmen Woodie

      I ordered it today, before I found this article. For me $96 is a huge amount of money so I'm not feeling very good right now. I will give it a shot I guess and go from there. Not much else to do at this point. I will get back here with my results. I really wish I would have found this article before.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 53 out 58 people found this review helpful

    Ronald from customer service was rude.

    • Florida,
    • Nov 10, 2015

    Hey Roanld, it's funny you say you want to provide the best customer service possible. I spoke with you directly on the phone when I placed my order for this placebo pill. Not only did you lie about the return policy but you were rude when I pressed you to speak with a supervisor. Hey everybody, I'm Ronald and I lie to people to make a quick buck. Do not buy this product! You have been warned.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 24

Write a Review for Cogniflex!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review