Coinbase Reviews

Coinbase

Overall Rating

1.3

88 Customer Reviews

Summary

Coinbase is a trading platform allowing you to buy, sell, and manage your cryptocurrency. Learn what customers are saying.

Write a Review

Customer Reviews

1.3 Stars out of 88 Reviews
5 Star:5% 4 Star:0% 3 Star:1% 2 Star:3% 1 Star:89%
8% Recommend This Company
Start your review of Coinbase:
Sort Reviews By

Posted on Mar 1, 2021

Coinbase garbage support

By Ben H., Texas, Verified Reviewer

My email account was hacked and the hackers were able to reset my password to Coinbase and turn off my 2FA settings. I was able to disable my account, however, it has been over 15 days without any assistance on getting my account unlocked so I can log back in and check for any damages. So far I have only received generic responses that in no way answers or addresses any of my questions. On top of that, they said a specialist will get back with me within 4-5 days. It has been 15. They do not have a number to call to speak with a person live. Only have email support and use social media to bash them. For a company worth over 77 billion, they should have a well-equipped customer service center but that does not seem to be the case. Also, their fees are about the highest around. I do not recommend using any of their services after actually using their services myself. Besides the simplicity of Coinbase, they suck.

Length of Use: 3–6 months

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Simple

Higher than average fees

Support is basically non-existent at this point

Posted on Feb 23, 2021

Update

By Abbas S., Baden-Württemberg, Germany, Verified Reviewer

They eventually fixed my problem. But still, it shouldn't have arisen in the first place.

Length of Use: 1–2 years

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

It's fairly easy to use

The non pro version has high fees

Posted on Aug 24, 2020

Coinbase stinks and their support staff are clowns.

By Miguel V., Riverside, CA, Verified Reviewer

Coinbase requires you to provide a key to add them to a DUO authenticator account but won't provide the key to complete the transaction, their support staff are like feeble children who don't have a clue of how to help you. I have $1000+ of XRP I want to transfer to my ledger wallet and have tried for over 5 straight days to get the transaction to work but it fails, they keep asking for a TAG, which is not required or needed by Ledger wallet. I keep checking the XRP not needed button but it still fails. I have sent emails to Support and it is obvious they don't have a clue what to do to remedy my problem. STAY away from Coinbase, they are not reputable and will only waste your time.

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

It was easy to get in

They don't have a support system and what they do have is useless

Posted on May 6, 2020

Coinbase (aka "Scambase") will rip you off!

By Mark H., United Kingdom, Verified Reviewer

Coinbase is a scam - they refused to release my assets and I lost money. They said I had to go through "enhanced verification" despite the fact my account has already been verified but the "Scambase" website for the verification refused to work/they refused to accept uploads. Coinbase refused to help and said there was nothing they could do.

Coinbase refused to provide a UK address for service for litigation and apparently they talk about being registered by the FCA in the UK but they are not actually operating with a license for selling crypto etc. and are trading illegally (only e-money, not digital assets), so they are a scam, which will implode, so buyer beware.

Coinbase unlawfully holds your crypto which shows they do not actually have the liquidity so do you really want to be the sucker which loses their money when this ponzi scam fails?

RIP off "SCAMBASE" - a bunch of thieving idiots who refuse to acknowledge or respond to complaints.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Posted on Nov 15, 2019

BEWARE of scam

By Yuet S., London, England, Verified Reviewer

This website is legal but you could get your hard-earned money TRAPPED because they wouldn't pass your ID verification no matter how many times you've gone through it, this is to stop you from taking money out of your account. Today they wrote me another email to do the verification for the 5th time and it took them a MONTH to write this.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 3 People Have Voted

Posted on Sep 19, 2019

Coinbase sucks

By Jason B., Duncan, SC, Verified Reviewer

They place ridiculously long holds on purchases. If you ever contact customer support, they only reply with policy quotes, they never actually answer questions. Coinbase is just a terrible service.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Posted on Aug 5, 2019

Poor, poor customer service

By Mark D., San Francisco, CA, Verified Reviewer

I would recommend Coinbase Pro as the best exchange for cryptocurrencies. However, if you ever have a problem and you want to contact support, good luck, you're going to need it. I just got off the phone after over four hours. I spoke to four "support specialists", the third one hung up on me, after I finally figured out how to fix my problem. She was going to send me instructions on how to do something to my Google Authenticator (she never did). The problem turned out to be that I did not have the auto time and the time zone setting turned on in my phone settings. I told her that I had found those instructions and requested that she remain on the phone with me, she instead hung up. I have had problems in the past and even their higher-up email support was unable to resolve my issues. Three problems with their platform and support was not aware of how things work.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Posted on May 30, 2019

Coinbase is a scam!

By Timothy Y., New Mexico, Verified Reviewer

DO NOT USE Coinbase. I deposited my money in a Coinbase account. After I made the deposit, I was informed that I would not be able to access my money for fifteen days. They say this is to prevent fraud.

After the fifteen day waiting period, I checked my account to find my money was gone. Coinbase offers no explanation for this no would they take any steps to correct the problem. The only reply I received was one informing me that the case was closed and that no further action would be taken.

When I tried again to get any answers the reply was the same.

This is the most blatantly crooked organization on the mainstream web if you ask me. How they can commit thievery and still call themselves legitimate is beyond me. Next time I'll take my chances on the dark web.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 5 People Have Voted

Posted on May 27, 2019

Don't trust Coinbase Reoccurring Transfers

By Don F., West Hollywood, CA, Verified Reviewer

I have to say, I won't use these folks ever again. I have been loyal to Coinbase for 2 plus years. All that I can say is, NEVER do an automatic Reoccurring Transfer.

Coinbase charged me 100 bucks more than the spot price had been all day for a Reoccurring Transfer. Then, after further review, this had happened on all 6 of the same type of transactions. I guess that they think that you won't really examine the spot price paid on these type of transactions.

I inquired, and all that I got back was a standard communication stating that prices fluctuate and that there must have been many buyers at that moment.

Well, you can research the price on a given day down to the minute on their own screen of history for the last 24 hours. The price charged was nowhere near the spot price for that exact minute. I have the screenshots saved to prove it.

And, they want to join the banking industry, and be part of everyday commerce? Think of how they can screw each of us further on even the purchase of a cup of coffee.

While they were cleared of wrongdoing, insider trading, on OX when they added it to their range of coins, I don't see how. It fluctuated from up 300 percent plus to dropping like a rock in mere minutes.

Ugh. Disappointed. Coinbase is fairly easy to use, that is why I have hung in there. Done now. Now, just trying to get the last of my money out. AGAIN, they have it, payment cleared, just holding and using my cash.

Hasta luego, Baby!

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 4 People Have Voted

Posted on Apr 30, 2019

Coinbase is like AIDS - if you know it, you avoid it.

By Santo F., GO, Verified Reviewer

Stay away from the Mother of all the Frauds!

They made a very comfortable UI to attract more users, but as you use it and put your money inside this platform, your account is frozen and all your bitcoins are gone!

Yes, Bernie Armstrong is really a true artist of the scam.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 3 People Have Voted

Posted on Feb 16, 2019

Coinbase allows deposits, but not withdraws for me.

By Matthew R., Washington, Verified Reviewer

Coinbase took my money and will not let me withdraw. I deposited several thousand dollars to Coinbase. They confirmed this deposit with an email and I can see the money when I am logged in. I was able to use this money to buy Bitcoin and pay their (very high) fees. However, when I wanted to withdraw my Bitcoin, they hit with me a long list of verification processes. Even after completing them, my Bitcoin is still frozen. Customer Service will not answer the phone for withdrawal problems "at this time." So, my money is gone. Buyer beware!

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 5 People Have Voted

Posted on Feb 6, 2019

Once the have access to your account they can (and will) withdraw funds without your permission.

By Tim S., Manitoba, Canada, Verified Reviewer

Keep your money. Coinbase is not where you want to invest or trust. They can and will pull money from your other accounts for no reason and if you complain? They lock you out. Money and account gone. "Coinwaste."

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 4 People Have Voted

Posted on Jan 17, 2019

Coinbase a scam

By John C., California, Verified Reviewer

As the saying goes, I wish I could give less than one star. I've been totally screwed by Coinbase - twice. Once when they shut down BCH trading for weeks without notice and I watched the value of my coin plunge with no ability to sell it. A day or two is one thing. But weeks without notice while it is crashing is an entirely different animal.

A second butt mongering (still unresolved) is being unable to move my coin out of the vault. During months of trying, I get an error message every time I try to move ETH out of my vault. I've tried calling, emailing, "chatting" (what total BS, they have no chat just a search result auto-reply) over a period of months. No one ever answers the phone ("we are not able to support this or that particular issue by phone at this time"), and no one ever replies to email. They get your money and totally ignore you if you have an issue.

It is an unbelievable scam, and I am amazed they do not fall under some regulatory agency that would have shut them down by now. I would not go near them with a 100-foot pole and I am on a mission now to spread the word on Coinbase as far and wide as I can online and on social media. They think they have you by the balls being unable to reach them.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 7 People Have Voted

Posted on Jan 9, 2019

Update

By B. Fisher, Pennsylvania, Verified Reviewer

January 2019 - ha, I forgot I wrote this review (old review).

Coinbase has made changes. Some improvement, some not. But they are (in my honest opinion) one of the less cluttered and easy sites to use. Limited offerings (not a real exchange), but facilitates a purchase of crypto with fiat.

REMEMBER, these are ALL rehypothecating agencies.

None of your funds/cryptos are truly safe from scam, "hack" or whatever the reason will be - you use the site to purchase, and TAKE IT OUT. If you don't own your keys (public number, private number - both), you don't own the crypto.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 14 People Have Voted

Posted on Dec 28, 2018

A total scam

By Barry S., Boston, MA, Verified Reviewer

When I originally set up an account, I was never informed that I would have to jump through hoops just to withdraw my money. Also, they never informed me that I need to give them my bank ID and password. No way! Here's a copy of the email they sent me during my 6 months of trying to get my money. Their response:

It seems you are not able to access your account, because you are not receiving the 2FA verification code, since you have an old phone number under your account. Therefore, in order to be able to access your account and withdraw your balance, you must update the phone number to access your account through the account recovery process.

Here are the steps to follow:

1. Login normally to your Coinbase account with your username and password

2. Once you have logged in successfully with your login credentials, click on the link "Code not working?"

3. If you do not receive this 2-step prompt when logging in, try clearing your browser cache and/or following the above steps in your browser's "private" or "Incognito" mode.

4. Click on "I no longer own the phone number ending in +1 xxx xxx 1234" (as an example)

5. You will be prompted to start an Account Recovery process for your security codes.

Please note that, while the pictures of the front and back of your ID can be uploaded from files, the photo of your face will need to be taken live by webcam. This process must be completed through the website and cannot be completed using the mobile app.

This process may take 48-72 hours to complete. This process will only work if you are using SMS for your security codes - not an app. You will receive a confirmation that the process has been completed. Then you will start receiving your codes on your new phone. If you do not receive your codes on your new phone, or have any issues, please let us know.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 5 People Have Voted

Posted on Dec 12, 2018

TOTAL FRAUD!

By Michael C., California, Verified Reviewer

Coinbase fraud! Delays and hold completely UNACCEPTABLE! Tragic joke. I bailed when they held my funds for two weeks, which I've come to understand is short, compared to some. Do not suffer them! Unless you like being LIED TO!

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 4 People Have Voted

Posted on Nov 4, 2018

Alerted them of fraud, got back in a week or two, never tried to resolve

By Hrant A., New York, NY, Verified Reviewer

SEC, FINRA, all government agencies should investigate!

Even though one tells them there's fraud involved, they haven't gotten back to me for a week or two, thus holding me accountable for approximately $1000. Furthermore, even if currently reach customer service, they have no way to resolve it, as they pass it up to above, even though agreeing I am 100% right. I get a generic letter from the company subsequently with no explanation or rudimentary understanding of events, just denying trying to figure all out, as they should apologize.

Stay away, as to this day, as of a year ago, I can't get anyone to speak to have authority to resolve the issue, let alone look into it!

No customer service!

No fraud intervention!

No interest in curbing fraud and remedy!

They DON'T CARE! SEC, FINRA, and the US Government should definitely open multiple inquiries, as they can fix a $1000 mistake of theirs on a fraud I had alerted them to, yet don't have the manpower to do so!

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 6 People Have Voted

Posted on Oct 25, 2018

Worst customer support I've ever experienced

By Steve S., State College, PA, Verified Reviewer

Coinbase has the worst customer service of any company in the world.

There are 6200 customers who are using Coinbase with our mining pool who are in limbo because Coinbase has not replied to four times we have tried to contact them over the course of 34 days. This level of service is unacceptable. The customer service is so bad that criminals have taken over their Reddit forums and are now impersonating Coinbase staff, "helping" desperate people get support. They post a number to call and then try to get the user to install executable files that allow them to steal money from Coinbase! If Coinbase actually replied to its tickets, nobody would trust these criminals.

Avoid Coinbase at all costs. bitFlyer is a much more reputable exchange, and every ticket I have ever submitted to them has been answered within three hours.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 8 People Have Voted

Posted on Oct 19, 2018

They will take your money!

By Brian S., Philadelphia, PA, Verified Reviewer

It's this simple - if you invest with Coinbase, they will eventually take your money and cost you thousands in fees. This is my opinion and personal experience.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 5 People Have Voted

Posted on Oct 17, 2018

Coinbase stole $600 from me

By Tim W., Ohio, Verified Reviewer

I opened a Coinbase account about a year ago and all was fine until I wanted to change my e/m associated with my account.

I did everything they required which took over a month because of their ineptitude and run around.

I now have a new account with my new e/m, but they won't transfer the money in my old account to my new account.

I have been given the classic run around and have finally given up all hope that anything will get resolved. How hard is it to assign a new e/m to my account? It is just a way to steal my money!

BEWARE! Do not use Coinbase.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 5 People Have Voted

Posted on Oct 14, 2018

Referral offer

By Albina C., Brooklyn, NY, Verified Reviewer

We need to get what we were offered and promised! It's a contract!

The issue here, I think, can be that the person which I sent a referral to used my original email address when I registered with Coinbase almost a year ago, and which I gave to her to register for Coinbase, while she didn't have any spare email for that time. So their automated system probably detected duplicate email address, which already received a referral offer a year ago. But the person who got a referral has her own name, social security, account number; it's not a duplicate profile! And referral offer was under her name!

We contacted Coinbase many times, they are not willing to help, or even to understand what the issue is and why it's not triggering the referral offer for both of us.

They should manually give me $10 and my friend $10 as stated in their referral program. We triple checked every requirements have been met on our side!

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 4 People Have Voted

Posted on Jul 5, 2018

Coinbase - fraud, scams, money-laundering and corruption

By Michael Z., Panama City Beach. FL, Verified Reviewer

WARNING, Coinbase is poison!

On Friday, 06/30/17, I had been notified that Coinbase, LLC had unilaterally WITHOUT authorization initiated a multitude of transactions. Prior to this close to 30 ETH had magically vanished from our "Wallet."

After I had notified Alex H, Supervisor of FRAUD with Coinbase that if it would be impossible to email myself anything. Especially since their graphics department forgot to put the letter "g" in my Gmail address. After I had notified Coinbase that I desired to close my account in a PROFESSIONAL matter they immediate locked me out of my ability to access my "Wallets." They owe my daughters approximately $50K.

Join me in the fight: Coinbase is poison to the Blockchain and are engaged in money-laundering, corruption, scams, and more!

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 12 People Have Voted

Posted on Jun 23, 2018

Fraudulent company

By Ian M., Toronto, Ontario, Canada, Verified Reviewer

I live in Canada and, in 2014, I bought two bitcoins at Coinbase. Today I tried to sell one of them and was notified by Coinbase that, because I live in Canada, I could not sell them. What kind of nonsense is that? They let you buy but don't let you sell.

Stay away from this outfit. They STEAL!

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 6 People Have Voted

Posted on May 26, 2018

Fraudulent and scam site

By Mark P., New York, Verified Reviewer

Basically, my account on Coinbase had been hacked on December 28, 2017. About two weeks later on January 21, 2018, my account was hacked again. Both times all the funds were taken out.

During the time nobody was logged into my account according to the IP address and times that this happened. Also during the time my account was hacked since my bank and credit card were linked, the hacker decided to withdraw funds from my account. Somehow, some way somebody was able to get into my account without logging in to remove BTC and charge my bank account over $2k. I was the only person with my IP address to log in way after these transactions were facilitated. There is no way I logged in without my IP address showing up during this time.

I logged in several hours later to find my account empty again and another bank charge. I was forced to close my bank account and also lock my Coinbase account so no further fraud would be committed on my account as to what Coinbase had told me. It has taken several months for this to get sorted out and nothing at all has been sorted out during these past 6 months. The only thing that happened in these 6 months is Coinbase locking me out of my account and were taking several weeks to respond to my customer support tickets which have not gotten resolved.

So at this point, we know my account was hacked two times. I was forced to close my bank account, Coinbase is fully aware of the situation. Coinbase is also aware that I have a pending charge that was not authorized, not any IP address login at the time. Coinbase is also aware that the pending charge is a fraudulent charge and Coinbase claims I must fulfill the pending transaction in order to reinstate my account. This does not make sense at all. How can you say you protect us and our money when you can clearly see a fraudulent pending transaction? How are my funds securely stored in a Coinbase vault and I'm still experiencing fraud in my account with another pending transaction?

Coinbase claims I must pay this fraudulent pending charge of $2k in order to reinstate my account.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 7 People Have Voted

Posted on May 20, 2018

No control over money. Conflicting explanations for sell price drop. "send" (to other wallets) amounts remain low way too long.

By Diego A Giordano, California, Verified Reviewer

Overall, it's super inconvenient and frustrating to not have the ability to use your bitcoin, especially while its value is dropping. You wait a week to see the transaction on bank account statement, then at least another week for the bitcoin to be spendable. Debit card transactions are faster, but it still takes too long for the BTC to become actually available.

I've had it since the 25th of April, and after hundreds of dollars and numerous transactions, I can only spend $30.00 worth of bitcoin online (balance is around $600.00). Until the market changes, I just want to find BTC deals for goods and services; the currency doesn't hold much promise for me at the moment so I'd like to trade it for something else that does and Coinbase won't allow it. The idea of cryptocurrency can be quite noble, but with vendors like Coinbase, I'm not so sure many people will want to go through the trouble and expenses. I haven't seen the benefits of using crypto through Coinbase yet. I will take my business elsewhere as soon as someone gets back to me with some answers to my questions.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 4 People Have Voted

Posted on Apr 17, 2018

Stay away, do not use Coinbase

By Jamie Perkins, North Carolina, Verified Reviewer

This place is terrible, DO NOT use them!

I used them to buy Bitcoin on 2/1 ($175) and on 2/4 ($120), and those are the dates drafted from my bank account on 2/14 and the exact same amounts were deducted from my bank account again. I received an email stating it was some sort of malicious attack and that if money was not returned in a couple days to contact my bank, which is what I did. I specifically told my bank personnel that the transaction from the 14th was not authorized and Coinbase told me to have them return that to me.

I received and email two months later saying my $120 transaction of Bitcoin was rejected. I called Coinbase to find out what was going on and the lady who answered the phone was an absolute moron and I could not get thru her thick skull that I was double billed. I have checked my bank statements twice now I was only returned the double-billed amounts that took place on the 14th. She was supposedly sending the problem to an "account specialist" and would get a reply in 5-7 business days, but it has been a couple of weeks now and I have heard nothing from them.

Basically, they have stolen $120 from me. I have reported them to the BBB as well as to the Attorney General of North Carolina to get this resolved. Stay away from this company; they are a scam.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 8 People Have Voted

Posted on Feb 19, 2018

New user

By Tim Hanson, El Paso, TX, Verified Reviewer

I opened Coinbase for the first time two days ago. Everything seems going well. I had no problems making several transactions. It was smooth so far. I believe some people have no patience or are awkward on how to use it. Only thing is can't find live support, but I think they will in the future when they expand staff.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 2 People Have Voted
Showing 1-27 of 88

Our Promise to You

In order to safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.