63 Consumer Reviews for Coinbase - Page 2

Average Consumer Rating: 1.3
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 4 4 star: 0 3 star: 0 2 star: 2 1 star:  57
Bottom Line: 6% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 12-22 of 63
Sort reviews by:

  • 8 out 11 people found this review helpful

    Bad experience

    I'm new to Coinbase and every time I want to login I have so much difficulty to get in and after all that I can't do anything. It appears that an error has occurred, what's that all about? Is it normal?

    I am still thinking if I would recommend it to a friend.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 8 out 9 people found this review helpful

    Nonfunctional and unprofessional

    I am from Germany but residing in Canada. I could not change the country for verification to unlock a bigger investment limit. Support couldn't help, and they blocked the $100 weekly limit I had instead.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 11 out 12 people found this review helpful

    Thieves?

    After more than 3 weeks I am still waiting for my SEPA bank transfer to be credited to my account and an email from their support was worse than useless. I agree with the majority of other reviews here: AVOID!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jan 16, 2018

      Andy

      I agree. I had to do SEPA transfer twice, costing me €20 and it is still not verified.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 11 out 11 people found this review helpful

    Rip off

    • Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada,
    • Oct 31, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    This is a rip off scam. It costs about 15+% in total fees to do a transaction. They are rolling in the money from stupid companies that force buyers to use their VERY COMPLICATED system. Stick with PayPal, at least it's trustworthy and reasonable on the fees, AND EASY TO USE!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 14 out 17 people found this review helpful

    Avoid

    • Cleveland, OH,
    • Oct 19, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    After all verification (phone, credit card, etc.) process, they want to get your ID and banking account. Scammers! Avoid!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 20 out 20 people found this review helpful

    Shady business

    • Marietta, PA,
    • Oct 18, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    Initially, I thought Coinbase was great even though the verification process and bank transfers took awhile. That is excusable, however, every time I try to trade at a certain price, Coinbase seems to mark up the price to whatever suits them. It's ridiculous! I would be more vulgar if I could here because I'm not happy.

    Sure the fees are high, and I can deal with that. However, EVERY TIME I make a purchase at a good price it seems Coinbase is skimming almost all of my profits! This has happened multiple times. Whether it should be a 5 dollar profit or a 15 dollar profit, I always end up with NO profit!

    I'm done with Coinbase; they're deceiving people and I hope people read this, so it doesn't happen to others. Such a disappointment.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 23 out 23 people found this review helpful

    Never use Coinbase

    Coinbase is a horrible company. I tried to send my payment to a vendor, and the transaction timed out. Coinbase couldn't process the transaction fast enough, and the vendor rejected the transaction. The money was supposed to return to my wallet, but it did not.

    I went to the FAQ, and it states if the transaction times out Coinbase will contact the vendor and submit the payment. I was in contact with the vendor for 7 days with no message from Coinbase. I then emailed them three times over the next 7 days. Their site states they will be in contact within 48 hours. It took them 21 days to respond to my emails. By then I filed a complaint with the BBB.

    Coinbase finally got a hold of me and said my account was being terminated for a policy violation. Turns out they don't like people reporting them, so they close your account. I was told I wouldn't receive a refund, but I can keep my remaining 26 cents in my account.

    Luckily, the vendor felt bad for me and sent me my order for free. So not only did Coinbase keep my money but the vendor had to send me a free order out of good will.

    I'd never use Coinbase EVER. They SCAMMED me out of $85.75. This company is a joke.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 17 out 18 people found this review helpful

    Do not use Coinbase

    • Georgia,
    • Sep 26, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    $1000 disappeared from a transfer two months ago, and I still can't get anyone from this company to email me back. I should have done my homework on this company. The Better Business Bureau has not ranked this company, but there is an overwhelming number of complaints registered with them. Again do not use this site. They WILL steal your money.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 16 out 16 people found this review helpful

    Coinbase total fraud, thieves, money lost, gone!

    • Sep 21, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I wanted to withdraw all the money left on my Coinbase account. My transaction is dated 2nd of August, 2017 and is STILL PENDING! The amount is €15001.85 ($17,901.26).

    I wrote tons of emails to support, but Coinbase replies to emails once in a while as it was a robot reply just saying I need to wait more. I withdrew €15k and still no money back into my bank account!

    STAY AWAY from Coinbase! The company is stealing money from people!

    Help yourself and everyone who had the same experience complaining to the FBI, Consumer Financial Protection, and the San Fransisco District Attorney.

    People, react and complain against Coinbae! If you want to contact me use ilguso[at]doctor[dot]com.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 13 out 14 people found this review helpful

    They blocked my account from purchasing

    They have had my account frozen for over a month. They have zero customer service. It takes weeks to get back an automated response. They should be shut down by regulators. A truly despicable company.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 13 out 16 people found this review helpful

    How my $10,000 gift was stolen from a preschool’s Coinbase account

    If you are new to Bitcoin or even if you are not, do you really want to do business with a company from which the theft of your Bitcoin is this easy? Here is my true story:

    A few weeks a go, my husband and I decided to make a $10,000 donation to a preschool in our town. His Bitcoin investment was doing very well and we felt that we could afford the gift.

    Because of the way the tax rules work regarding donations to a nonprofit, donors can avoid capital gains taxes by directly giving property rather than selling the property and then donating cash.

    We contacted Rita, the director of the preschool, and let her know that we wanted to make a donation of $10,000 worth of Bitcoin. She was delighted, of course. But, as she was unfamiliar with Bitcoin, and using online accounts in general, she asked some colleagues about which exchange to use to transfer the money into her bank account.

    She chose to open an account in her preschool’s name at Coinbase. The process of opening an account, verifying the account, and connecting to a bank account at Coinbase is a long, painful process over many days and there are lots of reasons to want to have contact with Coinbase during the process. Unfortunately, Coinbase support is almost non-existent.

    However, I did not know this at the time. I assumed that a company as well known as Coinbase must have phone support. So I googled “Coinbase phone support” and a number popped up. I gave this number to Rita.

    It turns out that this number was a fraud. When Rita called it, a man identified himself as a Coinbase support rep and asked her to go to a special Coinbase support website where he had Rita enter her username, password, and the confirmation code texted to her phone. Coinbase, by default, requires confirmation of the computer that is being used before allowing a login. They do this by sending a device confirmation email to the email address on file for the account holder. That email must be opened on the same device as that on which the browser is accessing Coinbase. At the moment, we still don’t know how the scammers managed to get around this requirement.

    The result is that the Bitcoin is gone from Rita’s preschool’s account and we are left puzzled about how this was possible given Coinbase security.

    The theft seems to be largely the fault of Coinbase for these reasons:

    Coinbase support is schockingly bad. Even days after this theft of funds Coinbase has not responded to my emails. This lack of communication leaves their customers without the type of assurance that seems a natural part of handling other people’s money. And anxious customers are prey to scammers.

    They offer no telephone support. They don’t actually tell you this, by the way. They let you search their site vainly for a number until you decide to google it. If they simply announced on their site,”Note: we do not offer phone support,” this type of scam could be avoided.

    The lack of phone support leaves them open to exactly this type of fraud. They must certainly be aware that this type of scam is a threat to all Coinbase customers but they simply ignore it.

    Coinbase security was apparently designed to prevent transactions coming from untrusted devices yet the device confirmation apparently failed and Coinbase was breached.

    New account holders are likely to be less sophisticated customers like Rita. Coinbase, therefore, has a responsibility to have excellent security and support for those customers. Better security and/or support would have prevented this scam from succeeding.

    I’m still waiting to hear something, anything really, from Coinbase. I’ve found warnings online for exactly this type of scam and I’m wondering why Coinbase has apparently not protected its customers from them. I am hesitantly accepting that our gift of Bitcoin is gone, that our gift was stolen by scammers.

    And I’m left feeling extremely disappointed with Coinbase.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (2)
    View all 2 commentsHide comments
    • Sep 14, 2017

      Ilguso

      I'm sorry about your story, but unfortunately, this is not Coinbase's fault. Even if Coinbase is a SCAM because they freeze accounts without any reason for months.

      I'm sorry to say that if you google a number of the company that you cannot find on their website, and you cannot recognize that the page you open is not related to Coinbase website, then you just need to blame yourself, no one else.

    • Dec 1, 2017

      Maddie

      And what makes you believe Rita wasn’t the thief? I don’t mean to point fingers but you cannot simply blame a company. It could be anyone’s fault, including your own. It is a simple rule and your own responsibility, to first confirm the legitimacy of any phone numbers etc., and to be sure not to type any personal details unless it has been reviewed and confirmed that it is safe to do so.

      I would never donate such a large amount to just anyone without first ensuring that the company or person, will DEFINITELY receive my donation. I would ensure I took all the steps to prevent theft. Even if it meant for me to transfer the CryptoCurrencies into my own account first, and then donating that way. Not just handing it all over to someone just because they are the school director. Sorry to say this, it is no one else’ fault but your own.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 12-22 of 63

Write a Review for Coinbase!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review