About Cologuard Test

If you’re 50 years or older and are at average risk for colon cancer, the Cologuard Test is a prescription-only, noninvasive colon cancer screen that you can take in the comfort of your home.

On top of this, Exact Science Corporation tells us that Cologuard doesn’t require any preparation, diet changes, medications, or time off. It simply works over three easy steps: 1) Get, 2) Go, 3) Gone.

Once the company receives your kit, we’re told their screening technology can help identify abnormal cells in the colon, making it potentially effective for precancer and cancer (more about this soon).

Colon cancer is a serious issue, and you’re looking to take some initiative by getting screened in advance. But is the Cologuard Test necessarily your best option? This is but one of the many important questions we’ll help answer in this review.

To begin, let’s discuss the basics.

What is Colon Cancer? Can It Be Prevented?

What Does the Colon Do?

The colon (more commonly known as the large intestine) is the last part of the digestive system where fluids and salt are reabsorbed, and waste is prepared for elimination. This is also where probiotic bacteria play their biggest role.

Overall, the colon consists of four parts:

  1. The ascending colon, which attaches to the small intestine and runs along the lower-right part of the abdomen.
  2. The transverse colon, which runs across the midsection, just underneath the stomach,
  3. The descending colon, which runs down the left side of the abdomen, and
  4. The sigmoid colon, which attaches to the rectum.

How Does Colorectal Cancer Start?

It’s here in the rectum where most colorectal cancers begin, usually as a growth on the inner lining, called a polyp.

Hyperplastic and inflammatory polyps are quite common but aren’t precancerous, while adenomatous polyps sometimes morph into cancer, and are labeled as precancerous.

If cancer eventually takes hold in one of these polyps, it can grow into the wall of the colon and rectum, eventually making its way into the bloodstream, lymph nodes, and eventually to other organs.

Is Colon Cancer Preventable?

According to the American Cancer Society, there are approximately 135,000 new cases of colorectal cancer each year, which means men and women have a 1-in-21 risk of developing the disease at some point in their life.

While the death rate for colorectal cancer continues to decline, it’s still the third leading cause of cancer-related deaths in the United States, although it’s also one of the most treatable—if caught early.

And this is exactly what the Cologuard Test promises to do. But exactly how does it work?

How Does Cologuard’s DNA Screening Work?

The Cologuard Test has been approved by the FDA since 2014 and can be prescribed by any licensed healthcare provider.

To help screen for colon cancer, we’re told that Cologuard works using “advanced DNA technology,” which identifies abnormal (precancerous or cancerous) cells in the lining of your colon, through your stool.

This way, colon cancer (or the potential for developing it) can be identified long before it enters the bloodstream and increases in severity.

Cologuard vs. Colonoscopy

How does this compare to a traditional colonoscopy? Whereas Cologuard detects abnormal cells via DNA screening, a colonoscopy involves inserting a thin flexible camera into your large intestine, looking for polyps, areas of bleeding, and so forth.

In other words, Cologuard is a DNA screen, compared to the visual inspection provided by a colonoscopy.

Important note: Compared to some of the other health screening kits like Counsyl, 23andMe, and Pathway Genomics, Cologuard is not a genetic test. Here’s how they word it in their FAQ:

“Cologuard does not provide information about DNA changes that are inherited or can be passed on to your children. Cologuard identifies DNA mutations that are acquired over time in cells lining the colon; these mutations can be associated with the presence of colon cancer or precancerous lesions.”

For more, Cologuard’s Patient Brochure and Doctor Discussion Guide are must-reads.

After you’ve discussed your risk level for colon cancer with your doctor (we’ll come back this thought again shortly), they’ll order the kit and have it shipped directly to your door.

Once received, you’ll open and unzip the plastic bag inside and pull out the contents. Don’t forget to keep the bag attached!

he different parts that make up the Cologuard TestThe different parts that make up the Cologuard Test, including plastic bracket, collection container, tube and probe, preservative, and detailed Patient Guide. Image credit: Cologuard.

Then, the Cologuard collection process works over the following four steps:

Step 1: Sit

Raise the toilet lid and seat, place the included plastic bracket on the toilet rim, and then lower the seat onto the bracket. Next, you’ll unscrew the lid of the container and place the container into the hole in the bracket.

Finally, sit on the toilet and have a bowel movement into the container. Remove the container and place it on the counter.

Step 2: Scrape

Now, you’ll unscrew the cap on the small plastic tube and pull out the attached probe.

Next, scrape the surface of the stool sample until it lightly covers the end of the probe, and then place the probe back in the tube.

Step 3: Soak

Take the bottle of stool preservative and empty it into the container, covering the stool. Afterward, you’ll need to replace the lid on the container, making sure it’s straight and tightly closed.

Step 4: Ship

Fill out both labels using a ballpoint pen, including your full name, date of birth, and the sample collection date and time. Peel off one label and wrap it around the tube. Peel off other label and place it on the lid of the container.

Then, return the labeled components to the box, close the zippered bag, and seal the box.

Keep in mind that Cologuard’s lab will need to receive your sample within 72 hours of collection. As such, since it’s shipped prepaid overnight via UPS, the company recommends sending it within 24 hours.

From there, the company tells us your test results will be delivered to your doctor within two weeks.

What kinds of results might you expect? We’ll discuss this in a minute, but let’s first find out for whom the Cologuard Test might be ideal.

Who Shouldn’t Use the Cologuard Test?

According to the Cologuard website, their test should not be used by “high-risk individuals, including those with a history of colon cancer or polyps, IBD, certain hereditary cancer syndromes, or a family history of colon cancer.”

How can you determine your level of risk? The manufacturer recommends talking with your doctor, who can let you know more.

Even if you don’t fall into one of the above groups, you can’t use the Cologuard Test if you have blood in your stool from hemorrhoids, as well as during menstruation or other existing conditions, as this may result in a false positive.

Speaking of false positives…

How Accurate Are Cologuard’s Results?

Again, referencing what we learned on the test’s website:

“In a 10,000-patient clinical study, Cologuard found 92% of colon cancers. It also found 69% of high-risk precancers (high-grade dysplasia), those most likely to develop into cancer.”

On the other hand, in a clinical study of Cologuard (unknown if it’s the same one referenced above), “13% of people without cancer or precancer tested positive.” In other words, based on the company’s testing, it seems Cologuard results in about a 13% false positive rate.

What happens if your Cologuard Test results come back positive? The company recommends following up with a diagnostic colonoscopy.

Negative? While the company recommends continued screening at regular intervals, they note that Cologuard’s “performance when used for repeat testing has not been evaluated or established.”

In other words, it’s unclear if it can continue to provide effective colorectal screening beyond the first round of testing.

How Much Does the Cologuard Test Cost? Is It Covered by Insurance?

If you'd like to pay for Cologuard out of pocket, the maximum cost is $649. The test’s website indicates that 30+ states have legally mandated insurance companies to “cover colon cancer screening tests like Cologuard for fully-insured patients.”

This includes Medicare, Medicare, as well as many private insurers.

If you have questions about pricing, coverage, or anything else, Exact Science Corporation’s customer service department can be reached at 844-870-8870.

Given what we’ve learned so far, what are Cologuard’s patients saying?

Does the Cologuard Test Come With Solid Patient Reviews?

None of the HighYa staff ordered a Cologuard Test, so we can’t speak from a firsthand perspective.

However, while it’s clear that the screen can provide easy screening that’s more accurate than current tests, there seems to be some back-and-forth among authority websites about its overall value.

For example, a 2014 LA Times article puts it this way:

“… anyone testing positive with Cologuard should confirm the result with a colonoscopy. It also said that anyone testing negative should still be regularly screened "with a method appropriate for the individual patient," which in many cases means a colonoscopy.

This raises questions about the value of this "breakthrough test," which Exact Sciences is pricing at about $600 per patient — compared with $25 for the traditional stool blood exam …”

A more recent Health News Review article notes:

“… there’s ongoing debate about the appropriateness and cost-effectiveness of the test. While both the FDA and CMS (which recommended approving Medicare coverage of the test for enrollees) had approved the Cologuard test last year, the US Preventive Services Task Force (USPTF) recently concluded in its draft colon cancer screening guideline update that Cologuard should be used as an “alternative screening” tool in certain populations, rather than a “recommended” test.”

Together, this means that Cologuard occupies a middle ground between a colonoscopy, which you’ll need to have regardless of the results, and the existing FIT test, which provides less accurate results, but also costs a great deal less.

On top of this, many authority websites indicate that Cologuard might not necessarily improve screening rates or mortality rates.

Finally, despite the fact that Cologuard had been around about two years at the time of our research and is FDA approved, we found no direct patient feedback about the process or the results.

From a company perspective, Cologuard is brought to you by Exact Science Corporation based out of Madison, WI.

How Can You Know If the Cologuard Test Is Right for You?

Whether you’re concerned about colon cancer and are seeking professional feedback, or you’ve decided to get screened with a Cologuard Test, you’ll need to speak with your doctor first.

They’ll be able to provide feedback about all the available options, help you understand your risk level for colon cancer, and discuss any of your concerns.

So, given its accuracy and ease of use, if your insurance carrier covers all (or at least most) of the Cologuard Test, then it might be easy to justify the added cost compared to a traditional FIT test.

Whether you choose Cologuard or FIT, though, keep in mind that neither of these is intended to replace a colonoscopy. Instead—especially if you have a family history of colon cancer or other high-risk factors—they’re only designed to work as supplementary screening.

With so little online Cologuard patient feedback, why not be a pioneer, add your voice to the conversation, and help others shop smarter? Write your review below!

Read Next: Sugar Versus Artificial Sweeteners: What’s Better for You?

Want to Learn Expert Tips for Online Safety?

Join over 3 million HighYa readers who receive weekly how-to guides, tips & reviews and get a FREE COPY of our Complete Online Safety e-book. Enter your email below to get started!

19 Consumer Reviews for Cologuard Test

Average Consumer Rating: 1.9
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 2 4 star: 3 3 star: 0 2 star: 0 1 star:  14
Bottom Line: 32% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 19
Sort reviews by:

  • Results not trustworthy

    • Virginia,
    • Nov 21, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    Just get the colonoscopy. I wasted time with this test. Even if you test negative, they recommend going anyhow for the colonoscopy. I am going for my colonoscopy early January 2018 due to a positive result. The test does not even specify if it is DNA cancer markers they found or blood. Nothing like the real thing.

    This is a game changer for this in marketing to capitalize off of people’s fears to make money. I feel suckered and used. Just do a colonoscopy and be sure. This is a scam, believe me.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 5 out 6 people found this review helpful
    Updated review

    Was wrong, showed a false positive

    • New York,
    • Nov 9, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    Thanks to a program in New York state, a cancer screening program covered my cost (my insurance would NOT cover both a Cologuard and a colonoscopy even if I got a positive test).

    Anyway had the a REAL exam today (colonoscopy), and it was NEGATIVE. After 40 days of worry and stress, it was nothing.

    Do not waste your time and insurance money on this test. Swallow your pride to do the REAL test, then you are sure, otherwise, stick to FIT test, which you can do at home. I am glad this nightmare is over and am so thankful for the gastroenterology team for their amazing support. This is what they do, they see with their eyes. Don't trust a stranger across the world looking at your poop under a microscope, who knows if they are hung over or poorly paid, and who knows what credentials they have.

    Obviously, they were wrong with me and many others with FALSE POSITIVES.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)

    • Previous review
    • Oct 7, 2017

    Deceitful

    If you test positive, you are forever scarred with a positive even if the follow up is negative.

    Bottom line, more cost. All about money and not about health. Now if I get a colonoscopy, it will cost most of my deductible, which is $10,000. So I am now waiting until January 2018 so I can put that toward my deductible.

    (read moreread less...)

  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Convenient, expensive

    Pleased with the convenience, but not happy about what I felt was pushy sale tactics from Exact Sciences Corporation regarding the time I received test until the time it was sent back (it was middle of holiday season, and postal interruptions might compromise the test).

    I don't know that my provider was aware of the cost incurred by me. My insurance does not cover “genetic testing" as coded by Exact Sciences, and there was not any warning in test paperwork of such coding that could result in denial of coverage by insurance companies. After multiple conversations with health care provider, insurance company, and Exact Sciences, the result was "too bad so sad, pay your $650.00 bill." Had I known this prior to testing a colonoscopy, I would have decided on the cheaper, although more intrusive, way to go.

    Tell your healthcare provider to get prior authorization before using this test!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Nov 7, 2017

      Tina

      I would not trust the test results, go get the real test. Check with your county to see if they have a program to help pay for the REAL Screening, not this scam to make money test. My results were WRONG, it read positive. I had the REAL test, a colonoscopy that my county has paid for. After doing this stupid test, despite a positive result, my insurance would not cover the real test, a colonoscopy test so that doesn't count that this test is accurate.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Very accurate, non invasive test.

    • Columbus, MS,
    • Oct 6, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I turned 50 a few months ago and did my first Cologuard test. Results were back in 2 weeks, and my doc informed me the test was positive. I then scheduled a colonoscopy which I just had done this morning, and they found and removed nine polyps. The colonoscopy wasn’t so bad but the prep work yesterday I wouldn’t wish on anybody. No way ever would I do a colonoscopy as a pure screening tool. Get a Cologuard test done first before you do that prep work for nothing.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Nov 7, 2017

      Tina

      No, it is NOT accurate. Mine was positive also and when I did the REAL test, a full colonoscopy with real doctors the color guard was WRONG. So, I would not be comfortable with this product at all if I were you.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 6 out 9 people found this review helpful

    False positive

    The test was easy but worthless. It gave a positive result and after many delays had to have a colonoscopy. I had a small non-cancerous polyp. Too much stress and cost for that false positive. No family history or risks for colon cancer. Just get a colonoscopy.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Nov 7, 2017

      Tina

      Same thing here! I did not even have a polyp and the Cologuard gave me a positive reading. NO polyps, no issue, just a small hemorrhoid that was it.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Doctor misinformed on process

    • Ohio,
    • Sep 20, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I would rather endure a colonoscopy than to use Cologuard again. I found customer service of little help when trying to explain that my doctor's office was misinformed of the billing process with insurance. I was not told of the hundred dollar reduced-fee for paying cash until after the fact which was of no help to me. Very dismayed by the whole thing and I really didn't feel that anyone listened except for the very first young man who helped me with a possible appeal. Everyone just wanted to be right and tell me I was wrong.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 10 out 11 people found this review helpful

    Terrible

    1. Received "positive" Cologuard. However, they don't tell you if it's for blood or cancer DNA.

    2. Took fecal occult and got negative, so that left cancer DNA.

    3. Had colonoscopy negative, not even a small polyp.

    Don't waste your money - they can't tell you one way or another why you get an appositive result, and false positives are common enough that it's a waste of time.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Nov 7, 2017

      Tina

      Same here!

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Good option

    • Asheville, NC,
    • Sep 1, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have horrific reactions to the three most common drugs used in colonoscopy (versed--midazolam, propofol--diprivan, and Demerol--meperidine), ranging from uncontrollable vomiting to respiratory distress. I have tiny, deep veins. So, the idea of a bowel cleanse followed by fasting followed by a difficult needle stick, nauseating drugs, and dehydration sent me in search of other options.

    No one in 100 miles will do unsedated colonoscopy (and l wasn't thrilled about the option, either). So I looked at FIT, gFOBT, and Cologuard. I also called my insurance provider to check costs. And I asked my doctor's opinion. She said it was up to me, but Cologuard was getting pretty good results as far as details. Yes, it's $650 out of pocket, which worked out to be about the same as colonoscopy once co-pay and my deductible were figured in ($120 copay and $500 deductible).

    The test was simple. Easy to do. Took ten minutes as opposed to two days. My only fear now is that I had a tiny hemorrhoid, and will that trigger a false positive? (I didn't notice it until in process). I'm not sure what to do in this case other than beg for a second screening or refuse consent on drugs (those of you shocked at that haven't been covered in purple bruises from throwing up or having someone dig for a vein). I am hoping for good results in about two weeks.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Nov 7, 2017

      Tina

      You sure you want to bet your health on this test? I got a POSITIVE, had a colonoscopy exam today, and guess what Cologuard was wrong. It was NEGATIVE! If mine was wrong, yours can be wrong too!

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Warning: stay away from this Cologuard Test!

    • North Carolina,
    • Aug 31, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    After celebrating my 50th birthday, my doctor recommended a check for colon cancer. Two options were presented; the traditional colonoscopy, which is covered 100% by insurance, or an experimental test that the Cologuard rep appears to pawn off as covered by insurance.

    This is NOT covered by insurance, and the bill will knock you to the floor!

    Their customer service reps will not budge, will not work with you and repeat over and over, "Our pamphlet emphasizes in huge bold dark letters to check with insurance prior to ordering the test." That right there, folks, appears to indicate they KNOW good and well that this isn't covered, why else the "bold, huge letters" unless it's verbiage for CSR later when the bill arrives!

    Do yourself a favor and opt for the traditional colon cancer screening! Your pocketbook will thank you!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 5 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Poor experience

    • Hayward, CA,
    • Aug 21, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    Six months ago I completed all the necessary paperwork to obtain the Cologuard Test. My physician filled out his portion, and the forms were mailed to Exact Sciences. I never received the kit or heard from them.

    I recently called, and Exact Sciences and the woman said that I was not in their system. She said it would be better to have the doctor fax everything to them. One month ago I again visited with my physician, and we completed the forms a second time, but the MD's office faxed them to Exact Sciences. I was standing right there and watched them fax the forms.

    Now it's one month later and again no kit. I just called Exact Sciences and spoke to the same lady. All she does is give excuses.

    I give up! Very bad customer service. No follow-up. They do not care to solve the problem.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Marketing promises insurance pays - you are paying 100%

    • Oakland County, MI,
    • Aug 9, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    My spouse and I used this test. The first concerning sign came four weeks after using the tests when we received letters from Exact Sciences requesting us to contact our insurance to convince them to pay for this service.

    I work for a high-tech company headquartered in Silicon Valley with an office in Michigan. Our insurance doesn't pay for Cologuard at all, even after explaining to the insurance and HR benefits person that taking off a day from work for colonoscopy and the distraction for preparation while I am on critical projects will benefit the company. The advertisements for Cologuard and Exact Sciences website convinces you that there is no doubt insurances pay. The sad reality is, you pay 100% out of your pocket ($649) while co-pays for colonoscopy range from $0 to a maximum of $350 for my insurance.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 19

Write a Review for Cologuard Test!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review