Cologuard Test Reviews

Cologuard Test

Overall Rating

1.6

115 Customer Reviews

Summary

Created by Exact Science Corporation, the Cologuard Test screens for precancerous and cancerous cells in the colon lining, before they enter the bloodstream. Learn how customers are reviewing this product.

Write a Review

Customer Reviews

1.6 Stars out of 115 Reviews
5 Star:8% 4 Star:5% 3 Star:2% 2 Star:5% 1 Star:78%
17% Recommend This Service
Start your review of Cologuard Test:
Sort Reviews By

Posted on Jun 10, 2017

Very easy to do

By Cheryl Green, Santa Maria, California, Verified Reviewer

My doctor recommended this test for me, and my insurance, Aetna HMO, covered the cost. I took the test, followed the easy to do instructions and sent it off. It has been a little over two weeks, and my doctor has not got the results yet. I hope the test results get to my doctor soon. He will let me know. Waiting...

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 8 People Have Voted

Posted on Oct 6, 2017

Very accurate, non invasive test.

By Steve Logan, Columbus, MS, Verified Reviewer

I turned 50 a few months ago and did my first Cologuard test. Results were back in 2 weeks, and my doc informed me the test was positive. I then scheduled a colonoscopy which I just had done this morning, and they found and removed nine polyps. The colonoscopy wasn’t so bad but the prep work yesterday I wouldn’t wish on anybody. No way ever would I do a colonoscopy as a pure screening tool. Get a Cologuard test done first before you do that prep work for nothing.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 10 People Have Voted

Posted on Jul 14, 2018

Taken about a year ago.

By David S., High Bridge, NJ, Verified Reviewer

I'm 74 and was never tested for colon cancer and would never have been if not for Cologuard. It's noninvasive and a wonderful alternative for those who have been putting this off. I highly recommend it, and it gave me great peace of mind.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 7 People Have Voted

Posted on Sep 5, 2018

Quick and easy

By Jackie Q., Livonia, NY, Verified Reviewer

My experience with Cologuard was a positive one, especially because the results were NEGATIVE. I was SO relieved to not have to get a colonoscopy. The research shows that there can be significant issues with having the procedure when a person is 75 or older. My husband had a very bad experience when he had his first colonoscopy several years ago, and it took him a year or more to recover from it. So, I am very happy with my results, and I would definitely recommend the test to anyone who wants to avoid the unpleasantness of having to have an invasive procedure.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 5 People Have Voted

Posted on Nov 15, 2018

Cologuard did me a favor!

By Elizabeth S., Boston, MA, Verified Reviewer

I was always avoiding a colonoscopy, so my MD mailed me Cologuard. The test was easy! I was quite shocked when it came back positive. After all, no family history for colon cancer and I had no plans of ever having a colonoscopy! However, much to my doctor's delight, I had to have one now. Well, I did, and while I didn't have cancer, I did have polyps that can turn into cancer. I had 5 polyps and they got them all. I was lucky, and honestly, I believe Cologuard saved me from a future with colon cancer in it. So with that being said, take a Cologuard test, it could save your life!

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 5 People Have Voted

Posted on Mar 16, 2019

I've completed both a colonoscopy and Cologuard

By Randy V., Tempe, AZ, Verified Reviewer

I've completed both a colonoscopy and Cologuard. I found Cologuard to be a simple and easy test to complete in the privacy of my home. I won't miss the 2 stage prep over the course of several hours. I won't miss waiting in the colonoscopy factory hoping the G.I. isn't running too late. I won't miss the Propofol twitching my heart. I won't miss getting into a gown and bearing my lower half to half the staff. I won't miss having to take time off work in addition to my wife having to be present and missing work as well. But most importantly to me is I can do this in another 3 years and not worry that a busy doctor missed something growing and it won't be discovered for another 10 years.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 10 People Have Voted

Posted on Jun 7, 2019

For me - excellent

By Gary W., Indiana, Verified Reviewer

Honestly I don't see how this can only get a 1.6 rating and some calling it a scam. I get having mixed results but calling it a scam is totally irresponsible. I would say the right decision to use Cologuard is based on several factors determined by your doctor, family history and your diet. For me, I am 64 and believe it or not never had a colonoscopy, my family was horrified (3 nurses) by this fact but I just couldn't pull the trigger on the big C prep and probe test. Bottom line, no prep, read a few easy to understand instructions, when nature calls have a BM in a container, send it off via UPS drop off location and 2 weeks later (today) get your results. Piece of cake! Fortunately for me, the test was negative! So I am thrilled and highly recommend this option!

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 6 People Have Voted

Posted on Sep 30, 2019

Much better than a colonoscopy for me

By Lois D., Louisiana, Verified Reviewer

I hated my first colonoscopy taken about 15 years ago and vowed to never have another since I was well over 70 years and had no history of colon cancer anywhere in my family. When my doctor suggested the Colonguard, I accepted because it was non-evasive. The procedure was simple and easy to follow and I received the good news of a negative result within a week so I am very happy and would highly recommend it.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 4 People Have Voted

Posted on Nov 5, 2019

Very good procedure

By Roscoe P., New York, Verified Reviewer

I recently had a Cologuard Test and would recommend it to others. It was easy and what I consider less risky than a standard colonoscopy, which has possibilities of contamination, colon tears, and reactions to the anesthesia they must give you before the procedure. I am a tenured healthcare provider and have no affiliation with Cologuard. However, my test came back negative, and it's the fact that it's 92% accurate when checking for colon cancer. Some of the reviews I read on here must be from the Colonoscopy Manufactures. They're worried that DNA tests will replace the old Guard and make EXPENSIVE outpatient procedures obsolete. This is my opinion. My medically educated opinion.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 8 People Have Voted

Posted on Sep 27, 2020

Cologuard probably saved my life

By Suzyn T., Midwest, Verified Reviewer

After having two previous colonoscopies (with no findings at all, not one tiny polyp), I decided to go with a FIT test instead years later. Relieved that it came back negative, I put off future screenings until a little voice in my head told me I needed to do more. My primary care doctor ordered a Cologuard test about a year later and it came back positive. Thank God I did this. A subsequent colonoscopy found three advanced adenomas that could not be removed without surgery (that took out part of my colon). Yes, I am thankful for Cologuard. FIT testing did not work for me.

Length of Use: 1–2 years

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Non-invasive

Convenient

At-home use

No “cons” were specified in this review

Helpful Review? 1 Person Has Voted

Posted on May 11, 2017

Non-invasive vs. invasive testing

By Wendy Ettel, Texas, Verified Reviewer

I asked my doctor about the Colonguard Test as I knew at 63 I was way overdue for a full colonoscopy. I also knew that I would eventually have to have one done regardless of the results of the Colonguard Test, so I had my doctor order it.

I weighed the processes required for both tests, and the Colonguard process beats a colonoscopy hands down.

Let's see, did I want to arrange to get to a hospital, wait for hours to check-in, ingest the most horribly thick sour-tasting purge liquid which would cause me to spend hours on a toilet and develop screaming hemorrhoids, run the risk of possible death from anesthesia or a perforated bowel? Or did I want to stay home and poop into a plastic bowel and become intimate with my bowel movement?

Honestly, I didn't want to do either but had to make a choice. So even though I will now have to get a full colonoscopy anyway due to a positive test result, I believe I would have never arranged to get a colonscopy done if I had not done the Colonguard Test first. Now I know I MUST get the dreaded colonoscopy even though I've never had any symptoms. No more excuses!

So, I'm glad I took the test and would recommend it, especially if you are like me and believe no news is good news.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 10 People Have Voted

Posted on Jul 19, 2017

Better than a colonoscopy

By Leslie Lafayette, California, Verified Reviewer

Even though I found my colonoscopy to be "not that bad," I did hate the prep day that preceded it. You can't eat anything, you drink tea (I hate tea) or have chicken broth, and also use laxative pills and liquids, so you spend late in the day long into the evening in your bathroom, just you and your friend, the toilet. Then the next day, depending on what time your appointment is, you have no food or water for several hours, you go in, and if you are lucky, you are properly sedated, and you don't remember most of what happened, but parts of the test can be uncomfortable.

With the Cologuard, you have a few simple steps which are clearly outlined in the very well done brochure. You can choose which day you want to take the test, and once you finish and seal up the UPS box, you can take it over and drop it off (it's prepaid) and you wait for results. The Cologuard Kit is nicely done, it is an impressive little engineering feat, and makes dealing with a less than delightful situation less messy and seemingly more sanitary.

I have taken this test TWICE. The first time I put the wrong date on the labels (my fault), and despite following the instructions exactly and getting the box back on time, the wrong date put me outside the 72-hour limit. And they failed to notify me of this, so after five days when I called them, I learned I had to take the test again.

Since this was my fault, I did take it again and mailed it off today. Now I am learning that there is a high false positive (13%?) on this test and figure I will probably have to get a colonoscopy anyway. But if it does come back OK, I am going to trust it since my last colonoscopy was clear, no polyps, and I am old enough now to figure, the heck with it, I don't need any more colonoscopies. Check that one off.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 8 People Have Voted

Posted on Sep 1, 2017

Good option

By Dee, Asheville, NC, Verified Reviewer

I have horrific reactions to the three most common drugs used in colonoscopy (versed--midazolam, propofol--diprivan, and Demerol--meperidine), ranging from uncontrollable vomiting to respiratory distress. I have tiny, deep veins. So, the idea of a bowel cleanse followed by fasting followed by a difficult needle stick, nauseating drugs, and dehydration sent me in search of other options.

No one in 100 miles will do unsedated colonoscopy (and l wasn't thrilled about the option, either). So I looked at FIT, gFOBT, and Cologuard. I also called my insurance provider to check costs. And I asked my doctor's opinion. She said it was up to me, but Cologuard was getting pretty good results as far as details. Yes, it's $650 out of pocket, which worked out to be about the same as colonoscopy once co-pay and my deductible were figured in ($120 copay and $500 deductible).

The test was simple. Easy to do. Took ten minutes as opposed to two days. My only fear now is that I had a tiny hemorrhoid, and will that trigger a false positive? (I didn't notice it until in process). I'm not sure what to do in this case other than beg for a second screening or refuse consent on drugs (those of you shocked at that haven't been covered in purple bruises from throwing up or having someone dig for a vein). I am hoping for good results in about two weeks.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 7 People Have Voted

Posted on Mar 30, 2019

I'm glad I did it

By Pam L., Kansas, Verified Reviewer

I'm 67 and fully intended never to have a colonoscopy. When I told and told my PCP that, he talked me into at least doing the Cologuard test. It was easy to do and the instructions were thorough. The test came back abnormal; necessitating a follow-up colonoscopy. Just my luck. I had to wait 30 days for that, which was pretty stressful. I ended up having 4 polyps removed, one of which was precancerous. The gastro said it would likely have been full blown cancer within a year or two. I suppose just going for the colonoscopy in the first place would have been the best thing to do, but...

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 4 People Have Voted

Posted on Feb 14, 2020

Great product

By Lisa B., Berryville, AR, Verified Reviewer

This is a wonder, easy, important product for everyone. My problem is that most insurers do not pay for it. Arkansas Blue Cross and Blue Shield DO NOT COVER THIS PROCEDURE. BUYER BEWARE. But a great product!

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 2 People Have Voted

Posted on Jan 11, 2021

Good alternative

By James G., Enfield, CT, Verified Reviewer

I am 74 years old and I do not want to have an invasive test, because I am immune suppressed, and allergic to most antibiotics, if there is any injury to my colon and I got an infection, it could be a life or death situation. There is much more chance of that than a possible cancer finding. This was the 3rd or 4th fecal test I have taken from two different suppliers and all were negative.

I am confident of the results. I did follow the instructions exactly, which I think is necessary for any test.

Length of Use: 6–12 months

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Delivered promptly

Very professional packing and appearance

Thorough instructions

A bit difficult to do properly, but probably necessary

Posted on Sep 8, 2018

False positive but you should do it anyway

By Bill R., Los Angeles, CA, Verified Reviewer

I'm a 63-year-old male. My father had colon cancer (and survived). I took the Cologuard test (not that hard to do) and received a "positive" result. I went for a colonoscopy and the result was that I had a small polyp, it was not cancerous and I was all clear. I was told to return in three years for another colonoscopy. So the Cologuard "positive" was not accurate. My doctor said they may have detected the polyp as a "positive." A stressful process, but it's best to go through the whole process.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 3 People Have Voted

Posted on Feb 2, 2019

Torn on this test

By Linda H., East Rockaway, NY, Verified Reviewer

My husband has a defibrillator implanted and hasn’t had a colonoscopy in 16 years because it warrants the colonoscopy to be done in a hospital so they can turn his device off in the event of polyps, it could set off his defibrillator. So, his PCP recommended Cologuard. It came back positive. He went for the colonoscopy at the hospital, the doctor informed that there were many polyps (over 10), he stopped counting. So on the one hand, we’re glad Cologuard spotted this, but on the other hand, the anxiety caused over this was horrible, the waiting makes me nuts. So I thank Cologuard for finding something, but inevitably, a colonoscopy was still necessary. My advice is to just go get the colonoscopy. This Cologuard Test causes way too much worry, unless it comes back negative.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 18 People Have Voted

Posted on Feb 2, 2019

Easy to use but an insurance warning

By Bruce C., Minnesota, Verified Reviewer

The test was very easy to use. I tested positive so went for a colonoscopy. You should be aware Cologuard is "screening," which my insurance covers 100%, but colonoscopy was now "diagnostic," so not treated as preventive and I had a sizable bill for the procedure with a deductible, etc. You might be better off just getting the colonoscopy which will be coded as "screening" if it is your first time and avoid the cost if your Cologuard comes back positive.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 23 People Have Voted

Posted on May 5, 2018

Cologuard uses bribery to get patients to return kit

By Gino Pinoza, Kansas City, MO, Verified Reviewer

I was very surprised to get a "negative" result when I have a bleeding hemorrhoid and their instructions clearly say don't use the kit if you have a bleeding hemorrhoid. My doctor apparently didn't know Exact Sciences excluded patients with this condition when he ordered the test. So I set the kit aside for weeks presuming I'd get a positive result, not for cancer but for blood in my stool and decided not to participate.

Exact Sciences robocalled me incessantly, and it wasn't until they offered me a $75 gift card in April to complete the test and return the kit in March, did I do so. It was easy and private but by the month of May, no gift card and bottom line, I don't trust my results.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 26 People Have Voted

Posted on Oct 26, 2018

False positive

By Becky B., Utah, Verified Reviewer

Taking the test and sending it in was very easy. However, I received a positive result. This then made it necessary for me to have a colonoscopy. I was in turmoil for several weeks, believing I had colon cancer. It was a nerve-wracking time. After my colonoscopy, I was told no cancer. No issues. The test wasn’t reliable.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 21 People Have Voted

Posted on Oct 30, 2018

Negative without explanation is not comforting.

By Phyllis R., Michigan, Verified Reviewer

Too much chance for error. No explanation if the negative report. Just OK, isn't much use. I would like an explanation if why the report is negative. I wasn't sure I should send in the specific stool because as I was packaging it, it fell apart and I wondered if it could be used. I am still wondering. Just as much concerned after as before.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 16 People Have Voted

Posted on Apr 29, 2019

False positive

By Tom L., Vero Beach, FL, Verified Reviewer

I’m 73 and had this test because my doctor recommended. It came back positive. For three weeks I thought I had cancer, because Cologuard indicated the test is 94% accurate. Well, I had a colonoscopy performed and there were no polyps or cancer detected. Since I had this test I have read articles from various institutions and doctors indicating this test is 78% false positive.

DO NOT GET the Cologuard Test!

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 33 People Have Voted

Posted on May 29, 2019

Joy Joy

By Dorothy I., Montgue, CA, Verified Reviewer

The test is awkward. Hard to sit and go with the way this sits on your toilet. And everyone is right - TOO many phone calls. If I have a question I will call you. GEES. Of course today I get the results - positive. I also agree that they should inform the doctor of what part was positive. Fecal blood or DNA. Now Doctor wants a colonoscopy, sorry I can't afford it. And the Dr's office told my husband!

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 23 People Have Voted

Posted on Sep 9, 2020

Very questionable

By Donna T., Metro Atlanta, GA, Verified Reviewer

I will start off by saying this was covered 100% thru my Medicare. But, I sent off the first sample, got a call a few days later saying the container was damaged and I needed another test. I agreed as long as I would not be billed for anything, which I wasn't. The box you return is not very well padded so I can see why there could be a problem, but Cologuard needs to refigure the box. I was not surprised when the results came back positive as after reading a lot of reviews on this product, I found out this is very common. The letter I received said POSITIVE - nothing about what was found or what I needed to do. That was it, a letter with the one word on it. That seemed unprofessional to me. There was no follow up by them. I would not recommend this as there are too many negative comments and I have read where a lot of people have had insurance problems. I am due for a colonoscopy in November 2021 (thought it was this year which is why I did the Cologuard), and will bite the bullet and pay for a test I have more confidence in.

Length of Use: 3–6 months

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Convenience

Unprofessional notification

Helpful Review? 5 People Have Voted

Posted on Mar 3, 2017

Tricked

By Jeanette Pollett, Florida, Verified Reviewer

I was told by my doctor that this was a good way to have the test in a non-invasive manner and that it was paid by insurance. My insurance (Blue Cross) refuses to pay, and now I am stuck with a $600 bill.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 13 People Have Voted

Posted on Mar 26, 2017

Unsuspected and tricked!

By Suneeta Mahagaokar, Sugar Land, TX, Verified Reviewer

My doctor prescribed Cologuard as a non-invasive test that would be paid in full by my insurance. Exact Sciences never advised me to contact my insurance nor informed me of my substantial out-of-pocket cost for Cologuard before sending me the kit or processing the sample. My insurance (United HealthCare) will not pay; it considers Exact Sciences to be out of network.

I am beyond shocked that unsuspecting patients like me are billed $649 when I would never have done this test had I known my out-of-pocket charge for this non-mandatory test.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 9 People Have Voted
Showing 1-27 of 115

Our Promise to You

In order to safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.