Cologuard Test Reviews

Cologuard Test

Overall Rating

1.6

115 Customer Reviews

Summary

Created by Exact Science Corporation, the Cologuard Test screens for precancerous and cancerous cells in the colon lining, before they enter the bloodstream. Learn how customers are reviewing this product.

Write a Review

Customer Reviews

1.6 Stars out of 115 Reviews
5 Star:8% 4 Star:5% 3 Star:2% 2 Star:5% 1 Star:78%
17% Recommend This Service
Start your review of Cologuard Test:
Sort Reviews By

Posted on Mar 3, 2017

Tricked

By Jeanette Pollett, Florida, Verified Reviewer

I was told by my doctor that this was a good way to have the test in a non-invasive manner and that it was paid by insurance. My insurance (Blue Cross) refuses to pay, and now I am stuck with a $600 bill.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 13 People Have Voted

Posted on Mar 26, 2017

Unsuspected and tricked!

By Suneeta Mahagaokar, Sugar Land, TX, Verified Reviewer

My doctor prescribed Cologuard as a non-invasive test that would be paid in full by my insurance. Exact Sciences never advised me to contact my insurance nor informed me of my substantial out-of-pocket cost for Cologuard before sending me the kit or processing the sample. My insurance (United HealthCare) will not pay; it considers Exact Sciences to be out of network.

I am beyond shocked that unsuspecting patients like me are billed $649 when I would never have done this test had I known my out-of-pocket charge for this non-mandatory test.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 9 People Have Voted

Posted on Mar 27, 2017

Beware of high test cost; uncomfortable test

By Mary Thompson, Arizona, Verified Reviewer

I was afraid to undergo a colonoscopy (bad decision, in retrospect), so I asked my doctor about the Cologuard Test. The doctor said "they" would check to see if my insurance covered it and next thing I know, the test shows up on my doorstep. Assuming it was covered (another bad move, in retrospect), I went ahead and did the test. Well, my insurance has refused to pay and now I'm being charged $649 by the company!

I would never have taken the test had I know I would be charged such an exorbitant amount. I called the company, and it is very hard to get a hold of anyone in their billing department. It took them five days to call me back and then I wasn't home, so they left me a message and want me to call again. Will I have to wait another 5 days? It is very frustrating!

In addition, I found the test uncomfortable (I won't go into details here, but it was not as easy as they say). Needless to say, I would not recommend this test to anyone; get a colonoscopy instead. That's what I wish I had done!

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 11 People Have Voted

Posted on Jul 5, 2017

False positives or negatives

By Steven Walters, Florida, Verified Reviewer

My next door neighbor took the test, and it came back positive. He had the colonoscopy which indicated absolutely no problem, so it was a FALSE POSITIVE.

My wife and I took the test, and both came back positive! So three people within a hundred feet all took the test, and all came back positive. Really, what are the odds? Both of our doctors recommend we have a colonoscopy. Gee, what a way to drum up business.

I then read the instructions for the test again and found that false NEGATIVES are also possible, so in my opinion, the test is a $600 waste of Medicare money. The only thing it really does is scare you into having the colonoscopy, which makes the doctors richer, which is why they probably recommend the test.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 27 People Have Voted

Posted on Jul 9, 2017

I feel tricked

By Edward Scott, North Carolina, Verified Reviewer

My primary care physician recommended a colon cancer screening and suggested using Cologuard by Exact Sciences. He said it would be covered and I assumed Exact Sciences would obtain prior authorization from my insurance. My insurance has refused to pay anything, and Exact Sciences has now billed me $649.00. Exact Sciences does not inform patients that not all insurances cover Cologuard nor do they contact insurances to obtain prior authorization. I was not informed of this, and I was not informed of what my financial obligation would be should my insurance decline coverage.

If I had known I would not have chosen Cologuard and would have chosen a colonoscopy which would have been at no cost and fully covered by my insurance. I feel tricked.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 14 People Have Voted

Posted on Aug 9, 2017

Marketing promises insurance pays - you are paying 100%

By Thomas Stich, Oakland County, MI, Verified Reviewer

My spouse and I used this test. The first concerning sign came four weeks after using the tests when we received letters from Exact Sciences requesting us to contact our insurance to convince them to pay for this service.

I work for a high-tech company headquartered in Silicon Valley with an office in Michigan. Our insurance doesn't pay for Cologuard at all, even after explaining to the insurance and HR benefits person that taking off a day from work for colonoscopy and the distraction for preparation while I am on critical projects will benefit the company. The advertisements for Cologuard and Exact Sciences website convinces you that there is no doubt insurances pay. The sad reality is, you pay 100% out of your pocket ($649) while co-pays for colonoscopy range from $0 to a maximum of $350 for my insurance.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 11 People Have Voted

Posted on Aug 21, 2017

Poor experience

By L Hawk, Hayward, CA, Verified Reviewer

Six months ago I completed all the necessary paperwork to obtain the Cologuard Test. My physician filled out his portion, and the forms were mailed to Exact Sciences. I never received the kit or heard from them.

I recently called, and Exact Sciences and the woman said that I was not in their system. She said it would be better to have the doctor fax everything to them. One month ago I again visited with my physician, and we completed the forms a second time, but the MD's office faxed them to Exact Sciences. I was standing right there and watched them fax the forms.

Now it's one month later and again no kit. I just called Exact Sciences and spoke to the same lady. All she does is give excuses.

I give up! Very bad customer service. No follow-up. They do not care to solve the problem.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 14 People Have Voted

Posted on Aug 31, 2017

Warning: stay away from this Cologuard Test!

By Sue Kuchler, North Carolina, Verified Reviewer

After celebrating my 50th birthday, my doctor recommended a check for colon cancer. Two options were presented; the traditional colonoscopy, which is covered 100% by insurance, or an experimental test that the Cologuard rep appears to pawn off as covered by insurance.

This is NOT covered by insurance, and the bill will knock you to the floor!

Their customer service reps will not budge, will not work with you and repeat over and over, "Our pamphlet emphasizes in huge bold dark letters to check with insurance prior to ordering the test." That right there, folks, appears to indicate they KNOW good and well that this isn't covered, why else the "bold, huge letters" unless it's verbiage for CSR later when the bill arrives!

Do yourself a favor and opt for the traditional colon cancer screening! Your pocketbook will thank you!

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 17 People Have Voted

Posted on Sep 1, 2017

Terrible

By James Houston, Carlsbad, CA, Verified Reviewer

1. Received "positive" Cologuard. However, they don't tell you if it's for blood or cancer DNA.

2. Took fecal occult and got negative, so that left cancer DNA.

3. Had colonoscopy negative, not even a small polyp.

Don't waste your money - they can't tell you one way or another why you get an appositive result, and false positives are common enough that it's a waste of time.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 35 People Have Voted

Posted on Sep 20, 2017

Doctor misinformed on process

By Susan Hull, Ohio, Verified Reviewer

I would rather endure a colonoscopy than to use Cologuard again. I found customer service of little help when trying to explain that my doctor's office was misinformed of the billing process with insurance. I was not told of the hundred dollar reduced-fee for paying cash until after the fact which was of no help to me. Very dismayed by the whole thing and I really didn't feel that anyone listened except for the very first young man who helped me with a possible appeal. Everyone just wanted to be right and tell me I was wrong.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 18 People Have Voted

Posted on Sep 28, 2017

False positive

By Christie Whitman, Daytona Beach, FL, Verified Reviewer

The test was easy but worthless. It gave a positive result and after many delays had to have a colonoscopy. I had a small non-cancerous polyp. Too much stress and cost for that false positive. No family history or risks for colon cancer. Just get a colonoscopy.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 32 People Have Voted

Posted on Nov 3, 2017

Convenient, expensive

By Quentin Burr, Boise, ID, Verified Reviewer

Pleased with the convenience, but not happy about what I felt was pushy sale tactics from Exact Sciences Corporation regarding the time I received test until the time it was sent back (it was middle of holiday season, and postal interruptions might compromise the test).

I don't know that my provider was aware of the cost incurred by me. My insurance does not cover “genetic testing" as coded by Exact Sciences, and there was not any warning in test paperwork of such coding that could result in denial of coverage by insurance companies. After multiple conversations with health care provider, insurance company, and Exact Sciences, the result was "too bad so sad, pay your $650.00 bill." Had I known this prior to testing a colonoscopy, I would have decided on the cheaper, although more intrusive, way to go.

Tell your healthcare provider to get prior authorization before using this test!

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 16 People Have Voted

Posted on Nov 9, 2017

Was wrong, showed a false positive

By Tina, New York, Verified Reviewer

Thanks to a program in New York state, a cancer screening program covered my cost (my insurance would NOT cover both a Cologuard and a colonoscopy even if I got a positive test).

Anyway had the a REAL exam today (colonoscopy), and it was NEGATIVE. After 40 days of worry and stress, it was nothing.

Do not waste your time and insurance money on this test. Swallow your pride to do the REAL test, then you are sure, otherwise, stick to FIT test, which you can do at home. I am glad this nightmare is over and am so thankful for the gastroenterology team for their amazing support. This is what they do, they see with their eyes. Don't trust a stranger across the world looking at your poop under a microscope, who knows if they are hung over or poorly paid, and who knows what credentials they have.

Obviously, they were wrong with me and many others with FALSE POSITIVES.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 41 People Have Voted

Posted on Nov 21, 2017

Results not trustworthy

By Layla, Virginia, Verified Reviewer

Just get the colonoscopy. I wasted time with this test. Even if you test negative, they recommend going anyhow for the colonoscopy. I am going for my colonoscopy early January 2018 due to a positive result. The test does not even specify if it is DNA cancer markers they found or blood. Nothing like the real thing.

This is a game changer for this in marketing to capitalize off of people’s fears to make money. I feel suckered and used. Just do a colonoscopy and be sure. This is a scam, believe me.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 30 People Have Voted

Posted on Jan 2, 2018

Don't take this test!

By Carol Kau, Milwaukee, WI, Verified Reviewer

Don't waste your own money or your insurance benefits on this test! It's inaccurate, at best, and the company's whole practice is a sham!

People fall for this scam because they think that they'll get the same peace of mind as having a colonoscopy without having to go through with the colon prep and the colonoscopy itself. WRONG! The company takes over a week from the time they receive the test to run it and even longer to get the results of it to you, the patient. If the results are "negative," which could be wrong, you'll receive a letter in the mail stating so. If they're positive, which could also be wrong, you won't get the results, but rather, you'll get a phone call from your doctor's office telling you this and telling you to schedule a colonoscopy ASAP!

Long after you've had that colonoscopy and spent sleepless nights worrying, you'll get a form letter from the company telling you that your results were positive and that your doctor was informed of the results. You'll never get the actual graph of those results sent to you.

I have urged everyone I know not to subject themselves to this company's practices or to subject their insurance carrier to the high cost ($649.00) of this highly inaccurate, misleading test.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 29 People Have Voted

Posted on Jan 30, 2018

I would not waste money on Cologuard!

By C Pérez, North Carolina, Verified Reviewer

http://www.latimes.com/business/la-fi-lazarus-20140822-column.html

You can read the article above about the in-exactness of Exact Sciences' Cologuard. In addition, mine was not covered by insurance after the doctor stated that it would be. Does anyone know if doctors receive incentives from Exact Sciences to recommend their test?

I would be careful when your doctor recommends this test, so you are not stuck with a $649 bill like I was.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 24 People Have Voted

Posted on Jan 30, 2018

Horrible false positive

By Michael P Francis, Massachusetts, Verified Reviewer

I would not suggest this test. They are liars. I sent in a sample, and there was a small spot of diarrhea after have a huge bowel movement that irritated my hemorrhoid causing it to bleed. I received a letter from them saying they couldn't do the test because there are no feces, just a small spot of diarrhea. In turn, they kept sending me letters to take their test again over $650 per test. Ripoff. I ignored the letters. They then sent a letter to the doctor that I was positive high-risk. What the heck. These people are total con artists and by other complaints, there are a lot of false positives.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 26 People Have Voted

Posted on Feb 13, 2018

Do not recommend.

By Bernard Peters, Vernal, UT, Verified Reviewer

Be advised that Select Health and many other insurance providers consider Cologuard an "Experimental or investigational" test and will deny coverage.

Select Health pestered me with several robo-calls that it was time for colon screening, so I went to my doctor and was prescribed Cologuard. It took three tries of pooping in their pot and rushing it to the UPS depot to get a viable sample, then the claim was denied.

Moral of the story: if you choose Cologuard, get prior approval from your insurance carrier. The bill is $649 for a lab test procedure. Outrageous! I have now had to go through the hassle of filing an appeal to my insurance company. Who knows how that will turn out!

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 25 People Have Voted

Posted on Feb 15, 2018

For me Cologuard was a waste of time and money

By Michael Dunn, North Carolina, Verified Reviewer

I have Crohn's disease which means I have a high risk of colon cancer. My doctor has ordered a colonoscopy every second year. This past year I asked if there was another option as the most difficulty I have with Crohn's is after the exam. He recommended Cologuard.

When I got the kit, I seriously debated whether to take the test or not because there were so many disclaimers about false positives and false negatives. I called them, concerned if insurance would cover the cost, and, as I remember the conversation, they said they would work out a reduced payment if I had a problem with insurance. Later they told me I was mistaken. Regrettably, I sent the specimen in.

The results were positive, which meant I had to get the colonoscopy anyway. Also, my insurance company denied the claim for payment, stating "we believe this test is investigational and not medically necessary for you at this time." I even sent a form appeal letter provided by Exact Sciences, and insurance still denied the claim.

So I had to pay the $649 out of pocket.

I then had the colonoscopy which was negative, no issues. Considering the strong disclaimer on false positives and false negatives, I have concluded no matter what the results, I'd be forced to get a colonoscopy anyway, so why waste the time and money.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 33 People Have Voted

Posted on Apr 10, 2018

Cologuard is a bad test.

By Tom Martin, Boston, MA, Verified Reviewer

I took a Cologuard Test earlier this year and got my results back in March.

They said I tested positive for CRC, however, my doctor couldn't tell me if the positive came from DNA or blood in the stool. Colorguard only tells the Primary Care Physician if the result is positive or negative, nothing more. I was referred for a colonoscopy by my PCP, based on the positive result from Cologuard.

I stressed over the Cologuard test results for three weeks while I waited for my colonoscopy. After my colonoscopy procedure was finished, the surgeon gave me my results: everything was normal, and they did NOT find a single polyp! I also found out I was the surgeon's 9th patient who was normal after testing positive by Cologuard.

This test is a waste of time and money; don't do it. Just bite the bullet and get the colonoscopy. Cologuard is an expensive test, you don't know how they come up with their conclusions, and it's unreliable, in my opinion. Based on what I experienced and what I was told, all I can say is I'd hate to be the guy whose Cologuard came back negative. Blow off this garbage test and get the colonoscopy.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 39 People Have Voted

Posted on May 17, 2018

Is Cologuard a valid alternative to a colonoscopy?

By Stephan Keppler, Dunedin, FL, Verified Reviewer

After 10 years of annual FOBT/FIT tests at age 60, my primary care physician recommended to use Cologuard for more detailed test results. Being generally healthy and without a family history of colorectal issues, I was surprised that the Cologuard test result came back positive for some kind of problems in the colon. A follow-up colonoscopy was ordered. The finding was three tiny polyps that were unremarkable. The pathology report confirmed there were neither abnormal nor precancerous cells present, making the test result a false positive. My health insurance was all too eager to pay for Cologuard as preventive care and covered it 100%. The colonoscopy now is a follow-up procedure and consequently requires a copay, it no longer qualifies as a preventive procedure!

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 24 People Have Voted

Posted on May 20, 2018

Skip this test - get a colonoscopy

By Sarah Kennedy, Ypsilanti, MI, Verified Reviewer

Like many others here, my insurance paid $650 for the Cologuard testing. I received a call from the recommending physician about 10 days after mailing in the sample - positive for colon cancer. I scheduled an immediate colonoscopy at U of M, where they have some of the best gastroenterologists in the nation. After a thorough 3-day prep and a complete test, completely negative. My physician advised that Cologuard is known for false/positive results. Makes me wonder how many are shown as negative when they, in fact, have cancer. I will NEVER do this test again. Bite the bullet and get the real deal to know the entire story and sleep at night.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 24 People Have Voted

Posted on Jun 11, 2018

Sketchy

By Missy H., Fairfax, VA, Verified Reviewer

GYN vs. GP recommended this test. GYN pushed for three years (Why? Seems odd). I already had a FIT test done by GP who knew nothing about Cologuard. After three years of neg FIT test, Cologuard came back positive with no details. Like others, they could not say if it was DNA or blood in the stool.

I called and Cologuard gave me some lame excuses like talk to your doctor (who sent me the results with zero details), they won't provide diagnosis, the FDA recommends they don't give specific details and finally it was just DNA testing. So why exactly is Cologuard better than other known tests out there and what specifically are they testing for? The whole reason I took this was for the details.

Additionally, since taking this test, I am now getting all kinds of spam from companies like "Life Line Screening," and it makes me wonder what they are doing with my personal information. It could just be a coincidence but, Facebook anyone?

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 24 People Have Voted

Posted on Jun 18, 2018

False positive, a nerve-wracked six weeks!

By Myra K., California, Verified Reviewer

So, every year I take a fecal smear test along with my annual mammogram. It has always been negative. This year my physician prescribed the Cologuard test. I was a little shocked that they wanted the whole stool sample, kind of an icky process to be sure. I was shocked and stunned when it came back positive!

I live in a rural area, the nearest place to acquire a colonoscopy is Las Vegas 100 miles away. I called around, and the first appointment I could get for the consult was six weeks out. Six weeks! I don't know about you, but my head can do a lot of magical and terrifying things in six weeks time. I was checking my will, saying goodbye to my friends, crying and scared. It was pretty awful! The test said, "you have a biomarker for cancer!" Since it's a cancer test and it was coming back positive, it was not a leap to think I had cancer! All I could see was a colostomy bag in my future.

So I did the gruesome prep and the day of the colonoscopy came. It was completely normal! No polyps, no indication of cancer at all. False positive! My surgeon said that false positives are the NORM for Cologuard. So, I say buyer beware.

It was a horrible experience for $650 to boot. Look out, this test is bull!

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 40 People Have Voted

Posted on Jun 22, 2018

Cologuard and BCBS

By Marie K., Lincoln, NE, Verified Reviewer

BCBS does not cover Cologuard and Cologuard is aware of this. You will end up paying $650.00 out of your pocket! Cologuard will tell you they have ways to get Blue Cross to pay, but they don't! Blue Cross is known for not paying claims, and Cologuard still accepts and processes the sample knowing that all Blue Cross customers are footing the bill. Don't do it if you can't afford the $650.00.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 16 People Have Voted

Posted on Jun 26, 2018

Positive result without identification of source blood or DNA

By Frank K., Phoenix, AZ, Verified Reviewer

Stool DNA-biomarkers with hemoglobin immunoassay and not state which one is applicable in Patient Report to the doctors, so if you have a positive result, you may be unnecessarily subjected to a lot of additional testing and expense that was not necessary if they stated which marker was for your test. I called them and asked for the information and was told it is not available. I reported this to the FDA.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 27 People Have Voted

Posted on Jul 18, 2018

BCBS denied claim - out of network

By Michael E., Georgia, Verified Reviewer

BCBS denied my claim saying Cologuard is not in the network. Had I known this, I would have gotten a covered colonoscopy. Cologuard has a preformatted letter to dispute, but BCBS still denies, out of network. Cologuard advertises that it is covered by most major insurers. BCBS isn't a major insurer? False or at the very least, very questionable advertising.

First, a Cologuard rep says that they advised me to check with the insurer before doing the test. I did not receive any such advice. Since they claim to be recording all of their calls, I asked to hear the recording of them telling me that. No response.

The second rep says that they left several messages and I didn't respond. The only messages I got were robocalls asking why I hadn't sent back the test yet and pressing me to do so.

I offered to pay whatever negotiated price they have with "most major insurers" but this isn't acceptable to them, they want me to pay an exorbitant full retail price of $649.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 16 People Have Voted
Showing 1-27 of 115

Our Promise to You

In order to safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.