• 106 Customer Reviews
  • 17% Recommend This Service
1.6 out of 5
5 star: 9% 4 star: 4% 3 star: 2% 2 star: 4% 1 star: 78%

 Our Promise to You

To safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.

Sort reviews by:

  • Updated review

    Was wrong, showed a false positive

    • By Tina,
    • New York,
    • Nov 9, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    Thanks to a program in New York state, a cancer screening program covered my cost (my insurance would NOT cover both a Cologuard and a colonoscopy even if I got a positive test).

    Anyway had the a REAL exam today (colonoscopy), and it was NEGATIVE. After 40 days of worry and stress, it was nothing.

    Do not waste your time and insurance money on this test. Swallow your pride to do the REAL test, then you are sure, otherwise, stick to FIT test, which you can do at home. I am glad this nightmare is over and am so thankful for the gastroenterology team for their amazing support. This is what they do, they see with their eyes. Don't trust a stranger across the world looking at your poop under a microscope, who knows if they are hung over or poorly paid, and who knows what credentials they have.

    Obviously, they were wrong with me and many others with FALSE POSITIVES.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Previous review
    • Oct 7, 2017

    Deceitful

    If you test positive, you are forever scarred with a positive even if the follow up is negative.

    Bottom line, more cost. All about money and not about health. Now if I get a colonoscopy, it will cost most of my deductible, which is $10,000. So I am now waiting until January 2018 so I can put that toward my deductible.

    (read moreread less...)

  • Cologuard is a bad test.

    • By Tom Martin,
    • Boston, MA,
    • Apr 10, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I took a Cologuard Test earlier this year and got my results back in March.

    They said I tested positive for CRC, however, my doctor couldn't tell me if the positive came from DNA or blood in the stool. Colorguard only tells the Primary Care Physician if the result is positive or negative, nothing more. I was referred for a colonoscopy by my PCP, based on the positive result from Cologuard.

    I stressed over the Cologuard test results for three weeks while I waited for my colonoscopy. After my colonoscopy procedure was finished, the surgeon gave me my results: everything was normal, and they did NOT find a single polyp! I also found out I was the surgeon's 9th patient who was normal after testing positive by Cologuard.

    This test is a waste of time and money; don't do it. Just bite the bullet and get the colonoscopy. Cologuard is an expensive test, you don't know how they come up with their conclusions, and it's unreliable, in my opinion. Based on what I experienced and what I was told, all I can say is I'd hate to be the guy whose Cologuard came back negative. Blow off this garbage test and get the colonoscopy.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • False positive, a nerve-wracked six weeks!

    • By Myra K.,
    • California,
    • Jun 18, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    So, every year I take a fecal smear test along with my annual mammogram. It has always been negative. This year my physician prescribed the Cologuard test. I was a little shocked that they wanted the whole stool sample, kind of an icky process to be sure. I was shocked and stunned when it came back positive!

    I live in a rural area, the nearest place to acquire a colonoscopy is Las Vegas 100 miles away. I called around, and the first appointment I could get for the consult was six weeks out. Six weeks! I don't know about you, but my head can do a lot of magical and terrifying things in six weeks time. I was checking my will, saying goodbye to my friends, crying and scared. It was pretty awful! The test said, "you have a biomarker for cancer!" Since it's a cancer test and it was coming back positive, it was not a leap to think I had cancer! All I could see was a colostomy bag in my future.

    So I did the gruesome prep and the day of the colonoscopy came. It was completely normal! No polyps, no indication of cancer at all. False positive! My surgeon said that false positives are the NORM for Cologuard. So, I say buyer beware.

    It was a horrible experience for $650 to boot. Look out, this test is bull!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Terrible

    1. Received "positive" Cologuard. However, they don't tell you if it's for blood or cancer DNA.

    2. Took fecal occult and got negative, so that left cancer DNA.

    3. Had colonoscopy negative, not even a small polyp.

    Don't waste your money - they can't tell you one way or another why you get an appositive result, and false positives are common enough that it's a waste of time.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • For me Cologuard was a waste of time and money

    • By Michael Dunn,
    • North Carolina,
    • Feb 15, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have Crohn's disease which means I have a high risk of colon cancer. My doctor has ordered a colonoscopy every second year. This past year I asked if there was another option as the most difficulty I have with Crohn's is after the exam. He recommended Cologuard.

    When I got the kit, I seriously debated whether to take the test or not because there were so many disclaimers about false positives and false negatives. I called them, concerned if insurance would cover the cost, and, as I remember the conversation, they said they would work out a reduced payment if I had a problem with insurance. Later they told me I was mistaken. Regrettably, I sent the specimen in.

    The results were positive, which meant I had to get the colonoscopy anyway. Also, my insurance company denied the claim for payment, stating "we believe this test is investigational and not medically necessary for you at this time." I even sent a form appeal letter provided by Exact Sciences, and insurance still denied the claim.

    So I had to pay the $649 out of pocket.

    I then had the colonoscopy which was negative, no issues. Considering the strong disclaimer on false positives and false negatives, I have concluded no matter what the results, I'd be forced to get a colonoscopy anyway, so why waste the time and money.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • False positive

    The test was easy but worthless. It gave a positive result and after many delays had to have a colonoscopy. I had a small non-cancerous polyp. Too much stress and cost for that false positive. No family history or risks for colon cancer. Just get a colonoscopy.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Test results positive...for what?

    • By Jonathan D.,
    • New Jersey,
    • Jan 5, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Not good. I got test results back with a positive so I asked my doctor what am I positive for? She said the lab does not tell her, so I called the lab. They say they do not give the results, only a negative or a positive, so...do I have cancer DNA, blood in my stool or something else...assuming that the test has more than one specific test, the lab can tell which part of the test was positive. I am not happy with Cologuard!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Results not trustworthy

    • By Layla,
    • Virginia,
    • Nov 21, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    Just get the colonoscopy. I wasted time with this test. Even if you test negative, they recommend going anyhow for the colonoscopy. I am going for my colonoscopy early January 2018 due to a positive result. The test does not even specify if it is DNA cancer markers they found or blood. Nothing like the real thing.

    This is a game changer for this in marketing to capitalize off of people’s fears to make money. I feel suckered and used. Just do a colonoscopy and be sure. This is a scam, believe me.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Don't take this test!

    • By Carol Kau,
    • Milwaukee, WI,
    • Jan 2, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Don't waste your own money or your insurance benefits on this test! It's inaccurate, at best, and the company's whole practice is a sham!

    People fall for this scam because they think that they'll get the same peace of mind as having a colonoscopy without having to go through with the colon prep and the colonoscopy itself. WRONG! The company takes over a week from the time they receive the test to run it and even longer to get the results of it to you, the patient. If the results are "negative," which could be wrong, you'll receive a letter in the mail stating so. If they're positive, which could also be wrong, you won't get the results, but rather, you'll get a phone call from your doctor's office telling you this and telling you to schedule a colonoscopy ASAP!

    Long after you've had that colonoscopy and spent sleepless nights worrying, you'll get a form letter from the company telling you that your results were positive and that your doctor was informed of the results. You'll never get the actual graph of those results sent to you.

    I have urged everyone I know not to subject themselves to this company's practices or to subject their insurance carrier to the high cost ($649.00) of this highly inaccurate, misleading test.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Hell and back

    • By Brian S.,
    • Hell,
    • Jan 7, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Omg, please choose a different method. Once you tell your doctor ok to this kit, you get phone bombed from this company. I didn't answer right away and they shouldn't have been calling, it was Christmas and New Years, but they really don't care, they will blow your phone up. Until you answer, or until you poop and send it in, this company needs to relax and give people time to read and review and wait until after a holiday!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • This test comes back with a lot of false positives and is not accurate

    • By Wendy D.,
    • Florida,
    • Jan 10, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I would not recommend this to anyone. I did the screening and it came back positive right before Christmas, ruined my holidays, I thought I was going to die of colon cancer. Turns out it was a false positive and now my insurance company is charging me $3,000.00 because they are saying it's pre-existing. Now I'm reading they are all coming back with a false positive. Save yourself the money and just do the colonoscopy, it was a breeze. This test is not accurate at all.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Positive result without identification of source blood or DNA

    • By Frank K.,
    • Phoenix, AZ,
    • Jun 26, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Stool DNA-biomarkers with hemoglobin immunoassay and not state which one is applicable in Patient Report to the doctors, so if you have a positive result, you may be unnecessarily subjected to a lot of additional testing and expense that was not necessary if they stated which marker was for your test. I called them and asked for the information and was told it is not available. I reported this to the FDA.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • False positive!

    • By Lisa N.,
    • Illinois,
    • Dec 15, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I opted for Cologuard as I have a high insurance deductible and was hoping to save money. The test came back POSITIVE. Like most people - I was scared and went for a colonoscopy. My colon was COMPLETELY CLEAR, not a single polyp!

    Because of this UNRELIABLE "test," I will be paying off medical bills for two years - not to mention recovering from the stress of a cancer scare. I will NOT recommend Cologuard to anyone!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Pushy and hungry. Do not do it.

    • By Frank T.,
    • Tampa, FL,
    • Feb 1, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Three months ago, after questioning my doctor as to how this would yield valid results, I gave in and said go ahead order Cologuard by Exact Sciences knowing nothing about this product.

    I got home did some research and the next morning called my doctor and told them to cancel, due to so many negative reviews.

    Well every single day since then, I have received a call, which I have ignored. I also received the kit a while back which I threw away. This was a canceled order, but Cologuard by Exact Sciences is still pushing it. This outfit is very pushy and hungry for you to try their product which looks to be inexact, and questionable at best with no supporting documents when there is a positive result. I think the doctor and/or staff get a kickback on every order placed.

    Do NOT order Cologuard by Exact Sciences unless you want to be harassed on a daily basis.

    It has been now over a month, and I am still getting calls rolling straight to my voice box. They are extremely pushy and hungry to charge you for their Cologuard product.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • False positive

    • By Tom L.,
    • Vero Beach, FL,
    • Apr 29, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I’m 73 and had this test because my doctor recommended. It came back positive. For three weeks I thought I had cancer, because Cologuard indicated the test is 94% accurate. Well, I had a colonoscopy performed and there were no polyps or cancer detected. Since I had this test I have read articles from various institutions and doctors indicating this test is 78% false positive.

    DO NOT GET the Cologuard Test!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • False positives or negatives

    My next door neighbor took the test, and it came back positive. He had the colonoscopy which indicated absolutely no problem, so it was a FALSE POSITIVE.

    My wife and I took the test, and both came back positive! So three people within a hundred feet all took the test, and all came back positive. Really, what are the odds? Both of our doctors recommend we have a colonoscopy. Gee, what a way to drum up business.

    I then read the instructions for the test again and found that false NEGATIVES are also possible, so in my opinion, the test is a $600 waste of Medicare money. The only thing it really does is scare you into having the colonoscopy, which makes the doctors richer, which is why they probably recommend the test.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Horrible false positive

    I would not suggest this test. They are liars. I sent in a sample, and there was a small spot of diarrhea after have a huge bowel movement that irritated my hemorrhoid causing it to bleed. I received a letter from them saying they couldn't do the test because there are no feces, just a small spot of diarrhea. In turn, they kept sending me letters to take their test again over $650 per test. Ripoff. I ignored the letters. They then sent a letter to the doctor that I was positive high-risk. What the heck. These people are total con artists and by other complaints, there are a lot of false positives.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Cologuard uses bribery to get patients to return kit

    • By Gino Pinoza,
    • Kansas City, MO,
    • May 5, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I was very surprised to get a "negative" result when I have a bleeding hemorrhoid and their instructions clearly say don't use the kit if you have a bleeding hemorrhoid. My doctor apparently didn't know Exact Sciences excluded patients with this condition when he ordered the test. So I set the kit aside for weeks presuming I'd get a positive result, not for cancer but for blood in my stool and decided not to participate.

    Exact Sciences robocalled me incessantly, and it wasn't until they offered me a $75 gift card in April to complete the test and return the kit in March, did I do so. It was easy and private but by the month of May, no gift card and bottom line, I don't trust my results.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • SCAM!

    • By Tucson J.,
    • Arizona,
    • Feb 25, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    After having my PCP docs recommend a colonoscopy for so long (I am 62), I finally decided to do a Cologuard. It came back positive, of course (I read that a huge percentage, if not 100%, come back positive). I called Cologuard and asked them which of the two tests or both came back positive...they refused to answer. I said, hold on, IF you actually did the two separate tests, you must have the results available, so why the refusal to disclose? I offered to pay for mailing...but would think them emailing the SPECIFIC results that resulted in a "positive" would be easy...IF they were legit. Was it blood in the stool sample, or "bad DNA?" They claim to test eleven DNA "biomarkers," so I asked them to send me OR MY DOCTOR the specific results on those too. They again refused. I accused them of being a TOTAL SCAM, and still believe that to this day.

    I followed up by purchasing a Fecal Immunochemical Test (FIT) for $20 from eBay, which tests for blood in the stool, quite accurate. Results: NEGATIVE. So the Cologuard test result must be from the very likely bogus "DNA" test, why else would the hucksters at Cologuard refuse to send me OR my doctor the specifics of the results?

    Now I will do a colonoscopy, which is NOT risk-free. about one in 1000 has a serious problem, like perforation of the bowel. The people at Cologuard are unethical, dishonest and greedy, IMO.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Horrible

    • By Danile K.,
    • Saratoga, NY,
    • Jun 19, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Had the test done, came back positive and had to have a colonoscopy.

    They found nothing, not even a polyp. This test is junk! I will never have this again. Complete waste of time and insurance money. If I could give 0 stars I would.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Do not recommend.

    Be advised that Select Health and many other insurance providers consider Cologuard an "Experimental or investigational" test and will deny coverage.

    Select Health pestered me with several robo-calls that it was time for colon screening, so I went to my doctor and was prescribed Cologuard. It took three tries of pooping in their pot and rushing it to the UPS depot to get a viable sample, then the claim was denied.

    Moral of the story: if you choose Cologuard, get prior approval from your insurance carrier. The bill is $649 for a lab test procedure. Outrageous! I have now had to go through the hassle of filing an appeal to my insurance company. Who knows how that will turn out!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Harassment to a new level

    • By Cheryl H.,
    • Massachusetts,
    • Jul 22, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    The company is relentless in phone calls and letters. I have asked that they stop contacting me and yet they continue. After reading all of these reviews, I am not sure I will even bother with the test. I did do the cards which are offered by another company and the result was negative. The cards need to be done annually and Cologuard every 3 years. The three-year timeframe was the selling point for me. I am regretting my decision due to the relentlessness of the company. I can read and I can follow directions. Just stop the phone calls.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • I would not waste money on Cologuard!

    • By C Pérez,
    • North Carolina,
    • Jan 30, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    http://www.latimes.com/business/la-fi-lazarus-20140822-column.html

    You can read the article above about the in-exactness of Exact Sciences' Cologuard. In addition, mine was not covered by insurance after the doctor stated that it would be. Does anyone know if doctors receive incentives from Exact Sciences to recommend their test?

    I would be careful when your doctor recommends this test, so you are not stuck with a $649 bill like I was.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Is Cologuard a valid alternative to a colonoscopy?

    After 10 years of annual FOBT/FIT tests at age 60, my primary care physician recommended to use Cologuard for more detailed test results. Being generally healthy and without a family history of colorectal issues, I was surprised that the Cologuard test result came back positive for some kind of problems in the colon. A follow-up colonoscopy was ordered. The finding was three tiny polyps that were unremarkable. The pathology report confirmed there were neither abnormal nor precancerous cells present, making the test result a false positive. My health insurance was all too eager to pay for Cologuard as preventive care and covered it 100%. The colonoscopy now is a follow-up procedure and consequently requires a copay, it no longer qualifies as a preventive procedure!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Skip this test - get a colonoscopy

    • By Sarah Kennedy,
    • Ypsilanti, MI,
    • May 20, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Like many others here, my insurance paid $650 for the Cologuard testing. I received a call from the recommending physician about 10 days after mailing in the sample - positive for colon cancer. I scheduled an immediate colonoscopy at U of M, where they have some of the best gastroenterologists in the nation. After a thorough 3-day prep and a complete test, completely negative. My physician advised that Cologuard is known for false/positive results. Makes me wonder how many are shown as negative when they, in fact, have cancer. I will NEVER do this test again. Bite the bullet and get the real deal to know the entire story and sleep at night.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Sketchy

    • By Missy H.,
    • Fairfax, VA,
    • Jun 11, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    GYN vs. GP recommended this test. GYN pushed for three years (Why? Seems odd). I already had a FIT test done by GP who knew nothing about Cologuard. After three years of neg FIT test, Cologuard came back positive with no details. Like others, they could not say if it was DNA or blood in the stool.

    I called and Cologuard gave me some lame excuses like talk to your doctor (who sent me the results with zero details), they won't provide diagnosis, the FDA recommends they don't give specific details and finally it was just DNA testing. So why exactly is Cologuard better than other known tests out there and what specifically are they testing for? The whole reason I took this was for the details.

    Additionally, since taking this test, I am now getting all kinds of spam from companies like "Life Line Screening," and it makes me wonder what they are doing with my personal information. It could just be a coincidence but, Facebook anyone?

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Expensive and "scamm-ish"

    • By Abbi B.,
    • Arkansas,
    • Nov 16, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    As a prior submitter stated, I saw my PCP and he recommended the Cologuard test. He said I could do it at home and it's covered by insurance since it's a screening test. A couple of days later, I started getting phone calls explaining what I would receive in the mail. Once I received the package, I continued to get calls about when I would return it. It was easy to complete, so I sent it back in and several weeks later received a bill for $649.00. My insurance carrier stated they do not cover this test. I would have never done this had I known this. It will take me a while to pay this off. I should have checked with my insurance, but since my PCP told it was covered and the Cologuard staff kept calling me and knew my insurance plan, I assumed it was covered. My mistake.

    This company has the insurance information and the ability to get authorizations so as not to victimize folks when the insurance company denies the service.

    I am submitting a complaint to our State Attorney General.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


Showing 1-27 of 106

Write a Review for Cologuard Test!

Share your experience to help others discover great products!

Write a Review
Cologuard Test