Cologuard Test Reviews

Cologuard Test

Overall Rating

1.6

115 Customer Reviews

Summary

Created by Exact Science Corporation, the Cologuard Test screens for precancerous and cancerous cells in the colon lining, before they enter the bloodstream. Learn how customers are reviewing this product.

Write a Review

Customer Reviews

1.6 Stars out of 115 Reviews
5 Star:8% 4 Star:5% 3 Star:2% 2 Star:5% 1 Star:78%
17% Recommend This Service
Start your review of Cologuard Test:
Sort Reviews By

Posted on Nov 9, 2017

Was wrong, showed a false positive

By Tina, New York, Verified Reviewer

Thanks to a program in New York state, a cancer screening program covered my cost (my insurance would NOT cover both a Cologuard and a colonoscopy even if I got a positive test).

Anyway had the a REAL exam today (colonoscopy), and it was NEGATIVE. After 40 days of worry and stress, it was nothing.

Do not waste your time and insurance money on this test. Swallow your pride to do the REAL test, then you are sure, otherwise, stick to FIT test, which you can do at home. I am glad this nightmare is over and am so thankful for the gastroenterology team for their amazing support. This is what they do, they see with their eyes. Don't trust a stranger across the world looking at your poop under a microscope, who knows if they are hung over or poorly paid, and who knows what credentials they have.

Obviously, they were wrong with me and many others with FALSE POSITIVES.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 41 People Have Voted

Posted on Jun 18, 2018

False positive, a nerve-wracked six weeks!

By Myra K., California, Verified Reviewer

So, every year I take a fecal smear test along with my annual mammogram. It has always been negative. This year my physician prescribed the Cologuard test. I was a little shocked that they wanted the whole stool sample, kind of an icky process to be sure. I was shocked and stunned when it came back positive!

I live in a rural area, the nearest place to acquire a colonoscopy is Las Vegas 100 miles away. I called around, and the first appointment I could get for the consult was six weeks out. Six weeks! I don't know about you, but my head can do a lot of magical and terrifying things in six weeks time. I was checking my will, saying goodbye to my friends, crying and scared. It was pretty awful! The test said, "you have a biomarker for cancer!" Since it's a cancer test and it was coming back positive, it was not a leap to think I had cancer! All I could see was a colostomy bag in my future.

So I did the gruesome prep and the day of the colonoscopy came. It was completely normal! No polyps, no indication of cancer at all. False positive! My surgeon said that false positives are the NORM for Cologuard. So, I say buyer beware.

It was a horrible experience for $650 to boot. Look out, this test is bull!

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 40 People Have Voted

Posted on Apr 10, 2018

Cologuard is a bad test.

By Tom Martin, Boston, MA, Verified Reviewer

I took a Cologuard Test earlier this year and got my results back in March.

They said I tested positive for CRC, however, my doctor couldn't tell me if the positive came from DNA or blood in the stool. Colorguard only tells the Primary Care Physician if the result is positive or negative, nothing more. I was referred for a colonoscopy by my PCP, based on the positive result from Cologuard.

I stressed over the Cologuard test results for three weeks while I waited for my colonoscopy. After my colonoscopy procedure was finished, the surgeon gave me my results: everything was normal, and they did NOT find a single polyp! I also found out I was the surgeon's 9th patient who was normal after testing positive by Cologuard.

This test is a waste of time and money; don't do it. Just bite the bullet and get the colonoscopy. Cologuard is an expensive test, you don't know how they come up with their conclusions, and it's unreliable, in my opinion. Based on what I experienced and what I was told, all I can say is I'd hate to be the guy whose Cologuard came back negative. Blow off this garbage test and get the colonoscopy.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 39 People Have Voted

Posted on Sep 1, 2017

Terrible

By James Houston, Carlsbad, CA, Verified Reviewer

1. Received "positive" Cologuard. However, they don't tell you if it's for blood or cancer DNA.

2. Took fecal occult and got negative, so that left cancer DNA.

3. Had colonoscopy negative, not even a small polyp.

Don't waste your money - they can't tell you one way or another why you get an appositive result, and false positives are common enough that it's a waste of time.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 35 People Have Voted

Posted on Feb 15, 2018

For me Cologuard was a waste of time and money

By Michael Dunn, North Carolina, Verified Reviewer

I have Crohn's disease which means I have a high risk of colon cancer. My doctor has ordered a colonoscopy every second year. This past year I asked if there was another option as the most difficulty I have with Crohn's is after the exam. He recommended Cologuard.

When I got the kit, I seriously debated whether to take the test or not because there were so many disclaimers about false positives and false negatives. I called them, concerned if insurance would cover the cost, and, as I remember the conversation, they said they would work out a reduced payment if I had a problem with insurance. Later they told me I was mistaken. Regrettably, I sent the specimen in.

The results were positive, which meant I had to get the colonoscopy anyway. Also, my insurance company denied the claim for payment, stating "we believe this test is investigational and not medically necessary for you at this time." I even sent a form appeal letter provided by Exact Sciences, and insurance still denied the claim.

So I had to pay the $649 out of pocket.

I then had the colonoscopy which was negative, no issues. Considering the strong disclaimer on false positives and false negatives, I have concluded no matter what the results, I'd be forced to get a colonoscopy anyway, so why waste the time and money.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 33 People Have Voted

Posted on Apr 29, 2019

False positive

By Tom L., Vero Beach, FL, Verified Reviewer

I’m 73 and had this test because my doctor recommended. It came back positive. For three weeks I thought I had cancer, because Cologuard indicated the test is 94% accurate. Well, I had a colonoscopy performed and there were no polyps or cancer detected. Since I had this test I have read articles from various institutions and doctors indicating this test is 78% false positive.

DO NOT GET the Cologuard Test!

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 33 People Have Voted

Posted on Sep 28, 2017

False positive

By Christie Whitman, Daytona Beach, FL, Verified Reviewer

The test was easy but worthless. It gave a positive result and after many delays had to have a colonoscopy. I had a small non-cancerous polyp. Too much stress and cost for that false positive. No family history or risks for colon cancer. Just get a colonoscopy.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 32 People Have Voted

Posted on Jan 5, 2019

Test results positive...for what?

By Jonathan D., New Jersey, Verified Reviewer

Not good. I got test results back with a positive so I asked my doctor what am I positive for? She said the lab does not tell her, so I called the lab. They say they do not give the results, only a negative or a positive, so...do I have cancer DNA, blood in my stool or something else...assuming that the test has more than one specific test, the lab can tell which part of the test was positive. I am not happy with Cologuard!

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 32 People Have Voted

Posted on Nov 21, 2017

Results not trustworthy

By Layla, Virginia, Verified Reviewer

Just get the colonoscopy. I wasted time with this test. Even if you test negative, they recommend going anyhow for the colonoscopy. I am going for my colonoscopy early January 2018 due to a positive result. The test does not even specify if it is DNA cancer markers they found or blood. Nothing like the real thing.

This is a game changer for this in marketing to capitalize off of people’s fears to make money. I feel suckered and used. Just do a colonoscopy and be sure. This is a scam, believe me.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 30 People Have Voted

Posted on Jan 10, 2019

This test comes back with a lot of false positives and is not accurate

By Wendy D., Florida, Verified Reviewer

I would not recommend this to anyone. I did the screening and it came back positive right before Christmas, ruined my holidays, I thought I was going to die of colon cancer. Turns out it was a false positive and now my insurance company is charging me $3,000.00 because they are saying it's pre-existing. Now I'm reading they are all coming back with a false positive. Save yourself the money and just do the colonoscopy, it was a breeze. This test is not accurate at all.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 30 People Have Voted

Posted on Jun 19, 2019

Horrible

By Danile K., Saratoga, NY, Verified Reviewer

Had the test done, came back positive and had to have a colonoscopy.

They found nothing, not even a polyp. This test is junk! I will never have this again. Complete waste of time and insurance money. If I could give 0 stars I would.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 30 People Have Voted

Posted on Jan 2, 2018

Don't take this test!

By Carol Kau, Milwaukee, WI, Verified Reviewer

Don't waste your own money or your insurance benefits on this test! It's inaccurate, at best, and the company's whole practice is a sham!

People fall for this scam because they think that they'll get the same peace of mind as having a colonoscopy without having to go through with the colon prep and the colonoscopy itself. WRONG! The company takes over a week from the time they receive the test to run it and even longer to get the results of it to you, the patient. If the results are "negative," which could be wrong, you'll receive a letter in the mail stating so. If they're positive, which could also be wrong, you won't get the results, but rather, you'll get a phone call from your doctor's office telling you this and telling you to schedule a colonoscopy ASAP!

Long after you've had that colonoscopy and spent sleepless nights worrying, you'll get a form letter from the company telling you that your results were positive and that your doctor was informed of the results. You'll never get the actual graph of those results sent to you.

I have urged everyone I know not to subject themselves to this company's practices or to subject their insurance carrier to the high cost ($649.00) of this highly inaccurate, misleading test.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 29 People Have Voted

Posted on Jan 7, 2019

Hell and back

By Brian S., Hell, Verified Reviewer

Omg, please choose a different method. Once you tell your doctor ok to this kit, you get phone bombed from this company. I didn't answer right away and they shouldn't have been calling, it was Christmas and New Years, but they really don't care, they will blow your phone up. Until you answer, or until you poop and send it in, this company needs to relax and give people time to read and review and wait until after a holiday!

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 29 People Have Voted

Posted on Feb 25, 2019

SCAM!

By Tucson J., Arizona, Verified Reviewer

After having my PCP docs recommend a colonoscopy for so long (I am 62), I finally decided to do a Cologuard. It came back positive, of course (I read that a huge percentage, if not 100%, come back positive). I called Cologuard and asked them which of the two tests or both came back positive...they refused to answer. I said, hold on, IF you actually did the two separate tests, you must have the results available, so why the refusal to disclose? I offered to pay for mailing...but would think them emailing the SPECIFIC results that resulted in a "positive" would be easy...IF they were legit. Was it blood in the stool sample, or "bad DNA?" They claim to test eleven DNA "biomarkers," so I asked them to send me OR MY DOCTOR the specific results on those too. They again refused. I accused them of being a TOTAL SCAM, and still believe that to this day.

I followed up by purchasing a Fecal Immunochemical Test (FIT) for $20 from eBay, which tests for blood in the stool, quite accurate. Results: NEGATIVE. So the Cologuard test result must be from the very likely bogus "DNA" test, why else would the hucksters at Cologuard refuse to send me OR my doctor the specifics of the results?

Now I will do a colonoscopy, which is NOT risk-free. about one in 1000 has a serious problem, like perforation of the bowel. The people at Cologuard are unethical, dishonest and greedy, IMO.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 29 People Have Voted

Posted on Sep 12, 2019

Very negative

By Jenny R., Dalton, GA, Verified Reviewer

My doctor proposed that I take the Cologuard Test. Although I read through the brochure many times I went ahead and did the test. I got a "positive colon cancer" result. I have been in intense anxiety ever since. I went ahead and made my appointment with my specialist, he was great and reassured me as best he could. What this experience has done to myself and my family is beyond words. Both of us have experienced severe anxiety, increase in blood pressure and difficulty sleeping. I had my appointment with the surgeon this week (lived under the cloud of the positive diagnosis for a month and a half) where he found absolutely nothing! Praise God for this but I must ask why the Cologuard is even used? I discovered that there is a 41% false positive for this test. There is no telling how much insurance companies have paid for a largely inaccurate test. The pain and suffering, both mental, emotional and physical that patients go through should not happen. I have been so sick over this that I haven't been able to function in my normal manner. Not to mention the difficulty of telling my little grand-sons that Nana has something wrong with her tummy and must go to another doctor to find out if we can fix it. I told them in the most gentle way without alarming them but as it turns out it was a conversation that I should not have had to have. I would tell anyone who has been recommended to take a Cologuard Test to say a resounding NO!

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 29 People Have Voted

Posted on Dec 15, 2018

False positive!

By Lisa N., Illinois, Verified Reviewer

I opted for Cologuard as I have a high insurance deductible and was hoping to save money. The test came back POSITIVE. Like most people - I was scared and went for a colonoscopy. My colon was COMPLETELY CLEAR, not a single polyp!

Because of this UNRELIABLE "test," I will be paying off medical bills for two years - not to mention recovering from the stress of a cancer scare. I will NOT recommend Cologuard to anyone!

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 28 People Have Voted

Posted on Feb 1, 2019

Pushy and hungry. Do not do it.

By Frank T., Tampa, FL, Verified Reviewer

Three months ago, after questioning my doctor as to how this would yield valid results, I gave in and said go ahead order Cologuard by Exact Sciences knowing nothing about this product.

I got home did some research and the next morning called my doctor and told them to cancel, due to so many negative reviews.

Well every single day since then, I have received a call, which I have ignored. I also received the kit a while back which I threw away. This was a canceled order, but Cologuard by Exact Sciences is still pushing it. This outfit is very pushy and hungry for you to try their product which looks to be inexact, and questionable at best with no supporting documents when there is a positive result. I think the doctor and/or staff get a kickback on every order placed.

Do NOT order Cologuard by Exact Sciences unless you want to be harassed on a daily basis.

It has been now over a month, and I am still getting calls rolling straight to my voice box. They are extremely pushy and hungry to charge you for their Cologuard product.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 28 People Have Voted

Posted on Apr 3, 2019

OMG, if you want a thousand phone calls, sign up!

By Toni R., Saint Louis, MO, Verified Reviewer

My doctor suggested the Cologuard Test as an option vs. a colonoscopy, and I was on the fence. Then the phone calls started. Night, day, even SUNDAY. Calling, calling, calling. I read up on the test and a lot of insurance companies don't pay for Cologuard and you are stuck with the bill, the LAST THING I WANT! Plus, I don't appreciate getting bugged CONTINUOUSLY! They sent the kit without me even okaying it! TERRIBLE! Run run run RUN AWAY from these kinds of tactics!

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 28 People Have Voted

Posted on Jul 22, 2019

Harassment to a new level

By Cheryl H., Massachusetts, Verified Reviewer

The company is relentless in phone calls and letters. I have asked that they stop contacting me and yet they continue. After reading all of these reviews, I am not sure I will even bother with the test. I did do the cards which are offered by another company and the result was negative. The cards need to be done annually and Cologuard every 3 years. The three-year timeframe was the selling point for me. I am regretting my decision due to the relentlessness of the company. I can read and I can follow directions. Just stop the phone calls.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 28 People Have Voted

Posted on Oct 30, 2019

Cologuard misrepresents

By Phoebe E., Newark, DE, Verified Reviewer

One day ago I had a colonoscopy at a local medical center. Much to my great relief, the procedure showed that I was healthy. Colonoscopy was indicated, however, due to a positive Cologuard Test. Two previous colonoscopies in two earlier decades showed a healthy colon. I had no reason to believe anything had changed prior to using Cologuard.

Although I'd recently turned 75, my new medical provider - a nurse practitioner - thought I should have either a Cologuard Test or colonoscopy. I opted for Cologuard. After getting the results, my anxiety was off the charts.

In Cologuard's patient information, the frequency of false positives and false negatives is not clearly reported. Furthermore the patient information does not provide any indication that Cologuard might be less useful in senior populations. At the conclusion of my colonoscopy yesterday, my board-certified gastroenterologist informed me that false positives with Cologuard were 40% for people in my age range! I was beyond shocked and angry!

Exact Sciences is making lots of money at the financial and emotional expense of the public. They need to revisit the science behind their product and come clean in reporting as much to medical professionals and the public at large. And the FDA needs to issue guidelines and warnings to providers and consumers to insure unnecessary anxiety.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 28 People Have Voted

Posted on Jul 5, 2017

False positives or negatives

By Steven Walters, Florida, Verified Reviewer

My next door neighbor took the test, and it came back positive. He had the colonoscopy which indicated absolutely no problem, so it was a FALSE POSITIVE.

My wife and I took the test, and both came back positive! So three people within a hundred feet all took the test, and all came back positive. Really, what are the odds? Both of our doctors recommend we have a colonoscopy. Gee, what a way to drum up business.

I then read the instructions for the test again and found that false NEGATIVES are also possible, so in my opinion, the test is a $600 waste of Medicare money. The only thing it really does is scare you into having the colonoscopy, which makes the doctors richer, which is why they probably recommend the test.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 27 People Have Voted

Posted on Jun 26, 2018

Positive result without identification of source blood or DNA

By Frank K., Phoenix, AZ, Verified Reviewer

Stool DNA-biomarkers with hemoglobin immunoassay and not state which one is applicable in Patient Report to the doctors, so if you have a positive result, you may be unnecessarily subjected to a lot of additional testing and expense that was not necessary if they stated which marker was for your test. I called them and asked for the information and was told it is not available. I reported this to the FDA.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 27 People Have Voted

Posted on Apr 13, 2019

Do not take this Cologuard Test

By Elizabeth D., Cazenovia, NY, Verified Reviewer

I got screwed. The doctor said in my physical that since not been 10 years from the last colonoscopy then I had to take Colon jerk test because insurance covered it. Came back positive (which it will even if you have a hemorrhoid ) as it detects any blood (DNA). So I called BCBS and specifically asked on a tape-recorded line and was told that the follow-up colonoscopy would be a covered prescreening based on the fact that nothing was found. Nothing was found, I got billed $1695 because the "false positive DNA genetic lab test of Colon guard" was the prescreening benefit for colon cancer, so everything after is diagnostic even though there was nothing to diagnosis. STAY AWAY. And you will never get the results of what they tested or anything to show where their error was for a false positive.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 27 People Have Voted

Posted on May 1, 2019

False positive, take a breath.

By Trish C., Maine, Verified Reviewer

Like too many on this review site, I received a false positive result, "Abnormal" after having the Cologuard test done. My doctor then ordered an urgent colonoscopy performed two weeks later (7-day diet changes for prep etc.). Results, NORMAL, no POLYPS. Doctor shared, "I don't know just I feel about this test, we do get a lot of false positives, but also those with questionable polyps..." After receiving my Cologuard results till having exam my nerves were pushed to a point I never should have experienced. So I give this testing a ZERO. I'm incredibly grateful I missed this cancer diagnosis. At 60 years I do now advocate to go and have the colonoscopy at a Gastroenterology Center Specialist, not by your general M.D. Btw, my doctor has performed 35,000 in his career!

I had no family history of colon cancer. My previous baseline colonoscopy was done ten years earlier (age 50) by the same physician and I didn't have any polyps. My 85-year-old mother had to have one for what turned out to be gastric irritation due to her daily aspirin regime, but no polyps!

So I felt pretty good about turning down having another one at 60 and finally agreed to take the Cologuard test to appease my doctor.

Although this hasn't been a pleasant emotional experience I now recognize how important it is to have that 10-year screening as 60+ is when rogue cells of cancer can show their ugly selves. IF you still refuse to have a colonoscopy I'd have the stool testing for blood only. That's been around for years and can detect possible cancers.

So if you've just gotten back the results as positive, DON'T let your mind run away, chances are it's incorrect or just precancerous and you've caught it in time.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 27 People Have Voted

Posted on Jul 26, 2019

Is absolutely not worth the time

By Jill G., Saint Louis, MO, Verified Reviewer

As a former cancer survivor, when I got my positive Cologuard results I panicked. Got a colonoscopy five days later and they found no polyps or cancer. I asked the doctor how reliable the test was and he said the older you get the worse the results. The same thing happened to my friend a month ago. Might as well just bite the bullet and get a colonoscopy. You’ll end up with one anyway. My vote is don’t bother. It’s not reliable.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 27 People Have Voted

Posted on Jan 30, 2018

Horrible false positive

By Michael P Francis, Massachusetts, Verified Reviewer

I would not suggest this test. They are liars. I sent in a sample, and there was a small spot of diarrhea after have a huge bowel movement that irritated my hemorrhoid causing it to bleed. I received a letter from them saying they couldn't do the test because there are no feces, just a small spot of diarrhea. In turn, they kept sending me letters to take their test again over $650 per test. Ripoff. I ignored the letters. They then sent a letter to the doctor that I was positive high-risk. What the heck. These people are total con artists and by other complaints, there are a lot of false positives.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 26 People Have Voted

Posted on May 5, 2018

Cologuard uses bribery to get patients to return kit

By Gino Pinoza, Kansas City, MO, Verified Reviewer

I was very surprised to get a "negative" result when I have a bleeding hemorrhoid and their instructions clearly say don't use the kit if you have a bleeding hemorrhoid. My doctor apparently didn't know Exact Sciences excluded patients with this condition when he ordered the test. So I set the kit aside for weeks presuming I'd get a positive result, not for cancer but for blood in my stool and decided not to participate.

Exact Sciences robocalled me incessantly, and it wasn't until they offered me a $75 gift card in April to complete the test and return the kit in March, did I do so. It was easy and private but by the month of May, no gift card and bottom line, I don't trust my results.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 26 People Have Voted
Showing 1-27 of 115

Our Promise to You

In order to safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.