Read 104 Cologuard Test Customer Reviews and Complaints (Page 2)

Write a Review
Average Customer Rating: 1.6
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 9 4 star: 5 3 star: 3 2 star: 5 1 star:  82
Bottom Line: 16% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 12-22 of 104
Sort reviews by:

  • Scam

    • By Anna B.,
    • Pennsylvania,
    • Oct 31, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    My husband and I received a voicemail on our cell phones about a Cologuard Test being in the mail. One of us then received notification of an estimated delivery date from UPS. Neither of us had requested this test or discussed it with our health care provider. Like, total news to us!

    We contacted Exact Sciences via a Web chat and talked with "Nick". When Nick discovered that I'm a person, not a health care provider, he (?) shut the chat down.

    This feels very much like a scam. How did these people get our names, phone numbers, e-mail addresses? My name on my medical records is unique. Did my PCP order this? Did Medicare? Does my PCP get a benefit form completed tests? Does the proctologist get a benefit when a patient comes in for a full colonoscopy after a 'positive' result, even if that result was a false positive?

    I suspect this is a major scam on the patient and insurance companies with a tangible benefit to physicians or providers in general.

    Don't do it.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Cologuard misrepresents

    • By Phoebe E.,
    • Newark, DE,
    • Oct 30, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    One day ago I had a colonoscopy at a local medical center. Much to my great relief, the procedure showed that I was healthy. Colonoscopy was indicated, however, due to a positive Cologuard Test. Two previous colonoscopies in two earlier decades showed a healthy colon. I had no reason to believe anything had changed prior to using Cologuard.

    Although I'd recently turned 75, my new medical provider - a nurse practitioner - thought I should have either a Cologuard Test or colonoscopy. I opted for Cologuard. After getting the results, my anxiety was off the charts.

    In Cologuard's patient information, the frequency of false positives and false negatives is not clearly reported. Furthermore the patient information does not provide any indication that Cologuard might be less useful in senior populations. At the conclusion of my colonoscopy yesterday, my board-certified gastroenterologist informed me that false positives with Cologuard were 40% for people in my age range! I was beyond shocked and angry!

    Exact Sciences is making lots of money at the financial and emotional expense of the public. They need to revisit the science behind their product and come clean in reporting as much to medical professionals and the public at large. And the FDA needs to issue guidelines and warnings to providers and consumers to insure unnecessary anxiety.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Updated review

    Update

    • By Trish S.,
    • Lansing, MI,
    • Oct 24, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Be aware - If your Cologuard comes back positive (and it may be a false positive) you will now need a "diagnostic" colonoscopy, instead of a routine screening colonoscopy and your insurance may no longer cover it in full. Just get the colonoscopy, it's not that bad.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Previous review
    • Oct 23, 2019

    Counts as your 1 colonoscopy per year on insurance

    My insurance considers a Cologuard Test a colonoscopy and NO ONE will tell you this! When my husband's Cologuard Test came back positive he of course needed a colonoscopy. Surprise! The insurance would not cover the colonoscopy because he already had one this year - the Cologuard Test! One of the few things insurance will cover before the giant deductibles and cologuard manged to screw it up. Don't waste and time and money with this test, just get a colonoscopy.

    (read moreread less...)

  • Another false positive

    • By Joby A.,
    • Colorado,
    • Oct 17, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I had a colonoscopy at 50, which came back normal. I took the Cologuard Test about six months before the recommended 10-year re-exam. It came back as abnormal and my doctor immediately ordered a colonoscopy. After two weeks of stressing out, I woke up after the procedure and the staff said everything was perfect - no samples were taken during the procedure. For me, not such a big deal as I was due for the exam but for others do additional testing if you get a positive result.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Consider your options

    • By Frank S.,
    • South Carolina,
    • Oct 1, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I normally have a once a year "smear" test but have recently been out of the US for 2 years. This year a new doctor signed me up for Cologuard and I proceeded. I did not read any reviews prior to the test. Results came back positive with resulting anxiety on my part. The doctor immediately recommended a colonoscopy. I asked if I could take the traditional 3-day FIT smear test. The doctor ordered one up from Labcorp that I had to pick up and return. It was a tube-type test which maybe could have been one day but I had asked for 3 days and unlike the other "smear" test, 3 results came back versus the traditional one result? Whatever, they were all within normal limits. Thus I would investigate all of my options and somewhat initially relax if you do Cologuard and have a positive result.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Much better than a colonoscopy for me

    • By Lois D.,
    • Louisiana,
    • Sep 30, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I hated my first colonoscopy taken about 15 years ago and vowed to never have another since I was well over 70 years and had no history of colon cancer anywhere in my family. When my doctor suggested the Colonguard, I accepted because it was non-evasive. The procedure was simple and easy to follow and I received the good news of a negative result within a week so I am very happy and would highly recommend it.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Worst customer service ever

    • By Earl T.,
    • Florida,
    • Sep 27, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I wish I never contacted them. Save your money. A total scam IMO. And the worst customer service ever. Tried to get my results and put through total hell. Such idiots answering the phones and so unhelpful. I would never recommend using them. Save your money.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Do not be fooled by Cologuard's "cutesie" advertisements!

    • By Karen T.,
    • Sarasota, FL,
    • Sep 22, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Was excited to find a non-invasive way to check for colon cancer but would never, never do this again or recommend to anyone. It is a scam, totally a way for Exact Sciences and the doctors to make more money at the patient's expense. Take note of the reviews. Notice that the majority of the reviews come back with a positive. They then go through more expensive, invasive testing and extreme stress for them and their families only to find that it was a false positive. In my case also, I changed Primary Physicians after the test was ordered but before I performed the test. The doctors who ordered it canceled the test and I was told the new doctor would have to place a new order which would cost me $649.00 as my insurance company would only pay for one test every three years. All that needed to be done was to change who the results were sent to. I gave them all the information, my new doctor offered to call, etc., but they refused to do it.

    DO NOT GET TAKEN BY THOSE "CUTESIE" ADVERTISEMENTS ON TV!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Not worth the anxiety

    • By David M P.,
    • Morehead City, NC,
    • Sep 20, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I am 75 years old, have had 3 sigmoidoscopies, and 2 colonoscopies since age 44, all with negative results. In between colonoscopies, I have used the BioIQ Fit test with negative results. This year my GP recommended Cologuard with, guess what, a positive reading. So I had another colonoscopy yesterday with, guess what, a negative reading. My evaluation, a waste of time and money.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Very negative

    • By Jenny R.,
    • Dalton, GA,
    • Sep 12, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    My doctor proposed that I take the Cologuard Test. Although I read through the brochure many times I went ahead and did the test. I got a "positive colon cancer" result. I have been in intense anxiety ever since. I went ahead and made my appointment with my specialist, he was great and reassured me as best he could. What this experience has done to myself and my family is beyond words. Both of us have experienced severe anxiety, increase in blood pressure and difficulty sleeping. I had my appointment with the surgeon this week (lived under the cloud of the positive diagnosis for a month and a half) where he found absolutely nothing! Praise God for this but I must ask why the Cologuard is even used? I discovered that there is a 41% false positive for this test. There is no telling how much insurance companies have paid for a largely inaccurate test. The pain and suffering, both mental, emotional and physical that patients go through should not happen. I have been so sick over this that I haven't been able to function in my normal manner. Not to mention the difficulty of telling my little grand-sons that Nana has something wrong with her tummy and must go to another doctor to find out if we can fix it. I told them in the most gentle way without alarming them but as it turns out it was a conversation that I should not have had to have. I would tell anyone who has been recommended to take a Cologuard Test to say a resounding NO!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Not recommended

    • By Anne H.,
    • Louisville,
    • Sep 6, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I thought I’d skip the nasty prep of a colonoscopy, and do the Cologuard route. My test came back 96% positive. Waited for 3 weeks on pins and needles to get a colonoscopy done. The colonoscopy found 2 polyps...no cancer. Never again for Cologuard. Do the colonoscopy. If I would have done the colonoscopy in the first place, the wait and worry game wouldn’t have happened. They would have found the polyps, removed them, and done!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


Showing 12-22 of 104

Write a Review for Cologuard Test!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review
Cologuard Test