• 106 Customer Reviews
  • 17% Recommend This Service
1.6 out of 5
5 star: 9% 4 star: 4% 3 star: 2% 2 star: 4% 1 star: 78%

 Our Promise to You

To safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.

Sort reviews by:

  • Is absolutely not worth the time

    • By Jill G.,
    • Saint Louis, MO,
    • Jul 26, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    As a former cancer survivor, when I got my positive Cologuard results I panicked. Got a colonoscopy five days later and they found no polyps or cancer. I asked the doctor how reliable the test was and he said the older you get the worse the results. The same thing happened to my friend a month ago. Might as well just bite the bullet and get a colonoscopy. You’ll end up with one anyway. My vote is don’t bother. It’s not reliable.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Harassment to a new level

    • By Cheryl H.,
    • Massachusetts,
    • Jul 22, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    The company is relentless in phone calls and letters. I have asked that they stop contacting me and yet they continue. After reading all of these reviews, I am not sure I will even bother with the test. I did do the cards which are offered by another company and the result was negative. The cards need to be done annually and Cologuard every 3 years. The three-year timeframe was the selling point for me. I am regretting my decision due to the relentlessness of the company. I can read and I can follow directions. Just stop the phone calls.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Horrible

    • By Danile K.,
    • Saratoga, NY,
    • Jun 19, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Had the test done, came back positive and had to have a colonoscopy.

    They found nothing, not even a polyp. This test is junk! I will never have this again. Complete waste of time and insurance money. If I could give 0 stars I would.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • For me - excellent

    • By Gary W.,
    • Indiana,
    • Jun 7, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Honestly I don't see how this can only get a 1.6 rating and some calling it a scam. I get having mixed results but calling it a scam is totally irresponsible. I would say the right decision to use Cologuard is based on several factors determined by your doctor, family history and your diet. For me, I am 64 and believe it or not never had a colonoscopy, my family was horrified (3 nurses) by this fact but I just couldn't pull the trigger on the big C prep and probe test. Bottom line, no prep, read a few easy to understand instructions, when nature calls have a BM in a container, send it off via UPS drop off location and 2 weeks later (today) get your results. Piece of cake! Fortunately for me, the test was negative! So I am thrilled and highly recommend this option!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Joy Joy

    • By Dorothy I.,
    • Montgue, CA,
    • May 29, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    The test is awkward. Hard to sit and go with the way this sits on your toilet. And everyone is right - TOO many phone calls. If I have a question I will call you. GEES. Of course today I get the results - positive. I also agree that they should inform the doctor of what part was positive. Fecal blood or DNA. Now Doctor wants a colonoscopy, sorry I can't afford it. And the Dr's office told my husband!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • False positive, take a breath.

    • By Trish C.,
    • Maine,
    • May 1, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Like too many on this review site, I received a false positive result, "Abnormal" after having the Cologuard test done. My doctor then ordered an urgent colonoscopy performed two weeks later (7-day diet changes for prep etc.). Results, NORMAL, no POLYPS. Doctor shared, "I don't know just I feel about this test, we do get a lot of false positives, but also those with questionable polyps..." After receiving my Cologuard results till having exam my nerves were pushed to a point I never should have experienced. So I give this testing a ZERO. I'm incredibly grateful I missed this cancer diagnosis. At 60 years I do now advocate to go and have the colonoscopy at a Gastroenterology Center Specialist, not by your general M.D. Btw, my doctor has performed 35,000 in his career!

    I had no family history of colon cancer. My previous baseline colonoscopy was done ten years earlier (age 50) by the same physician and I didn't have any polyps. My 85-year-old mother had to have one for what turned out to be gastric irritation due to her daily aspirin regime, but no polyps!

    So I felt pretty good about turning down having another one at 60 and finally agreed to take the Cologuard test to appease my doctor.

    Although this hasn't been a pleasant emotional experience I now recognize how important it is to have that 10-year screening as 60+ is when rogue cells of cancer can show their ugly selves. IF you still refuse to have a colonoscopy I'd have the stool testing for blood only. That's been around for years and can detect possible cancers.

    So if you've just gotten back the results as positive, DON'T let your mind run away, chances are it's incorrect or just precancerous and you've caught it in time.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Don’t waste your money

    • By Stacey M.,
    • Florida,
    • May 1, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    If you have hemorrhoids your test will come back positive. Then you have to get a colonoscopy to make sure it’s not cancer. Then you have to pay for your colonoscopy because now it’s diagnostic instead of a screening. I only wish I was told all this before I did the Cologuard Test. The Cologuard Test is about $650.00. Colonoscopy is about $4,000.00, which would you rather pay for?

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Don't bother

    • By Barbara B.,
    • New Jersey,
    • Apr 30, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    The minute my provider ordered the test I got phone bombed! Relentless phone calls about the product. The test kit arrived, self-explanatory really. I got everything back in the box and found the box won't fit in the UPS boxes located throughout our towns. It's about 1 inch too big. I was not going to drive to a UPS store. Cologuard should have planned for this eventuality. Now, me and my box came home and I proceeded to deal with the UPS telephonic computer to set up a pick up at my home. No, the website was not helpful. 30 minutes later, I had my pick up scheduled. I wish I had read the reviews before I got involved with this product. I can hardly wait for the next chapter.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • False positive

    • By Tom L.,
    • Vero Beach, FL,
    • Apr 29, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I’m 73 and had this test because my doctor recommended. It came back positive. For three weeks I thought I had cancer, because Cologuard indicated the test is 94% accurate. Well, I had a colonoscopy performed and there were no polyps or cancer detected. Since I had this test I have read articles from various institutions and doctors indicating this test is 78% false positive.

    DO NOT GET the Cologuard Test!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Very disappointing service

    • By Dave G.,
    • Spring Lake, MI,
    • Apr 27, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    My wife took her Cologuard Test, and had it back to Cologuard in Madison, Wisconsin less than 24 hours after taking the test. She was called the day after delivery with the message that the test had been processed too late on their end to be valid, they acknowledged it had been received the next morning but due to "luck of the draw" it had not been processed! REALLY! Heard "luck of the draw" several times.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Sorry I did this test

    • By Kathy K.,
    • Edison, NJ,
    • Apr 19, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    My doctor ordered the test because I have never had a colonoscopy and has been after me for 20 years to have one. They kept calling me and sending letters even after I had done the test and gotten the results. One letter offered me $ 50.00 if I would do the test and since I had already done it, I called them and said asked why I was not offered the $50.00 before? They said no problem and they sent me the $50.00. The results were positive. After agonizing 7 months over the results, I finally had the colonoscopy and I am left with serious side effects from it.

    I never should have done it. I don't know how the FDA can approve such a test without any detail of the results. A true scam.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Do not take this Cologuard Test

    • By Elizabeth D.,
    • Cazenovia, NY,
    • Apr 13, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I got screwed. The doctor said in my physical that since not been 10 years from the last colonoscopy then I had to take Colon jerk test because insurance covered it. Came back positive (which it will even if you have a hemorrhoid ) as it detects any blood (DNA). So I called BCBS and specifically asked on a tape-recorded line and was told that the follow-up colonoscopy would be a covered prescreening based on the fact that nothing was found. Nothing was found, I got billed $1695 because the "false positive DNA genetic lab test of Colon guard" was the prescreening benefit for colon cancer, so everything after is diagnostic even though there was nothing to diagnosis. STAY AWAY. And you will never get the results of what they tested or anything to show where their error was for a false positive.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • OMG, if you want a thousand phone calls, sign up!

    • By Toni R.,
    • Saint Louis, MO,
    • Apr 3, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    My doctor suggested the Cologuard Test as an option vs. a colonoscopy, and I was on the fence. Then the phone calls started. Night, day, even SUNDAY. Calling, calling, calling. I read up on the test and a lot of insurance companies don't pay for Cologuard and you are stuck with the bill, the LAST THING I WANT! Plus, I don't appreciate getting bugged CONTINUOUSLY! They sent the kit without me even okaying it! TERRIBLE! Run run run RUN AWAY from these kinds of tactics!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • I'm glad I did it

    • By Pam L.,
    • Kansas,
    • Mar 30, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I'm 67 and fully intended never to have a colonoscopy. When I told and told my PCP that, he talked me into at least doing the Cologuard test. It was easy to do and the instructions were thorough. The test came back abnormal; necessitating a follow-up colonoscopy. Just my luck. I had to wait 30 days for that, which was pretty stressful. I ended up having 4 polyps removed, one of which was precancerous. The gastro said it would likely have been full blown cancer within a year or two. I suppose just going for the colonoscopy in the first place would have been the best thing to do, but...

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • "Too Much"

    • By Jay C.,
    • Houston, TX,
    • Mar 22, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I followed the instructions, did the sample, mailed it in. Within a couple of days, my doctor's office called and said Cologuard could not give a positive or negative reading. I asked why? She said Cologuard said the sample was "too much."

    Come on! Nowhere did I see in the instructions anything about the size of the sample.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Don't do the test

    • By William R.,
    • Georgia,
    • Mar 17, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    My doctor talked me into getting this test sent to my house. Once I got the box, I opened the box and pulled everything out. Once I read the brochure, I said no way to this test. They want you to go to the bathroom in a cup, then scape your poop to get a sample, then put this fluid over it, and box and send it in. I think it is gross, nasty, and a waste of time to do this test. I called the next day to cancel this test, and to send the box back, I was told to just throw it away or keep it if I want to. I am 52 years old, and I think I will take my chances of getting cancer. I refuse to do this test.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • I've completed both a colonoscopy and Cologuard

    • By Randy V.,
    • Tempe, AZ,
    • Mar 16, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I've completed both a colonoscopy and Cologuard. I found Cologuard to be a simple and easy test to complete in the privacy of my home. I won't miss the 2 stage prep over the course of several hours. I won't miss waiting in the colonoscopy factory hoping the G.I. isn't running too late. I won't miss the Propofol twitching my heart. I won't miss getting into a gown and bearing my lower half to half the staff. I won't miss having to take time off work in addition to my wife having to be present and missing work as well. But most importantly to me is I can do this in another 3 years and not worry that a busy doctor missed something growing and it won't be discovered for another 10 years.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • SCAMMERS

    • By Helen L.,
    • Pennsylvania,
    • Mar 14, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    First of all, the day I received the test the incessant phone calls began from Exact Sciences. Calls came in twice a day, 3 or 4 times a week, annoying me usually at work. I only agreed to this test because my doctor kept annoying me about a colonoscopy. (I have seen first hand some real tragic complications patients have experienced as a result of a colonoscopy, therefore, have avoided this test.) Of course, now my doctor wants me to have a colonoscopy because the test results have come back as positive.

    I have checked and insurance will not pay for both. No colonoscopy for me! I can't afford it.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • No respect or consideration for patients. RUN from this outfit!

    • By David S.,
    • Fort Worth, TX,
    • Mar 10, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    During a recent physical, I VERY mistakenly agreed to a Cologuard exam. Had I known what was coming I would have MUCH RATHER HAD THE COLONOSCOPY! I was told by my doctor I would be receiving a test kit in the mail from them and all I would need to do. Although I NEVER gave these yay-hoos my cell phone number, my doctor apparently did. There was NO NEED AT ALL for these people to call me almost immediately I began getting persistent calls from their ROBODIALER! All hours of the day and night. No consideration for whether they were calling at a bad time. No indication what they wanted. Immediately wanting ME to punch in responses on my keypad to prove who I was when THEY CALLED ME! No indication how long the call would last. Hanging up in frustration and anger the machine would call me back. Of course, a machine wouldn’t know the inconvenience, frustration, and anger they would cause and OBVIOUSLY they don’t care!

    I finally called them to tell them to stop harassing me with a robo dialer, and you guessed it, to get to a real person I first had to navigate through their automated system. I was assured they would call me no more, but the calls continued! The second time I called to tell them to stop I threatened to sue them if that darn machine called me again! AND I WILL! Now, on to leave my doctor a scathing review for sending me to and giving my number to these sleaze-balls!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • False positive

    • By Paula S.,
    • Jackson, OH,
    • Mar 4, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I tried to take the easy way out and have the Cologuard Test instead of a colonoscopy and it was a big mistake. My test came back positive on December 20th and I had to wait until today, February 25th, worrying about having cancer and raising my blood pressure, all to find out it was completely negative. Also after my insurance paid for the Cologuard, it wouldn’t pay for the colonoscopy. If you are needing a colonoscopy, don’t try to take the easy way out. It’s not worth the stress and cost.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • SCAM!

    • By Tucson J.,
    • Arizona,
    • Feb 25, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    After having my PCP docs recommend a colonoscopy for so long (I am 62), I finally decided to do a Cologuard. It came back positive, of course (I read that a huge percentage, if not 100%, come back positive). I called Cologuard and asked them which of the two tests or both came back positive...they refused to answer. I said, hold on, IF you actually did the two separate tests, you must have the results available, so why the refusal to disclose? I offered to pay for mailing...but would think them emailing the SPECIFIC results that resulted in a "positive" would be easy...IF they were legit. Was it blood in the stool sample, or "bad DNA?" They claim to test eleven DNA "biomarkers," so I asked them to send me OR MY DOCTOR the specific results on those too. They again refused. I accused them of being a TOTAL SCAM, and still believe that to this day.

    I followed up by purchasing a Fecal Immunochemical Test (FIT) for $20 from eBay, which tests for blood in the stool, quite accurate. Results: NEGATIVE. So the Cologuard test result must be from the very likely bogus "DNA" test, why else would the hucksters at Cologuard refuse to send me OR my doctor the specifics of the results?

    Now I will do a colonoscopy, which is NOT risk-free. about one in 1000 has a serious problem, like perforation of the bowel. The people at Cologuard are unethical, dishonest and greedy, IMO.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Easy to use but an insurance warning

    • By Bruce C.,
    • Minnesota,
    • Feb 2, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    The test was very easy to use. I tested positive so went for a colonoscopy. You should be aware Cologuard is "screening," which my insurance covers 100%, but colonoscopy was now "diagnostic," so not treated as preventive and I had a sizable bill for the procedure with a deductible, etc. You might be better off just getting the colonoscopy which will be coded as "screening" if it is your first time and avoid the cost if your Cologuard comes back positive.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Torn on this test

    • By Linda H.,
    • East Rockaway, NY,
    • Feb 2, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    My husband has a defibrillator implanted and hasn’t had a colonoscopy in 16 years because it warrants the colonoscopy to be done in a hospital so they can turn his device off in the event of polyps, it could set off his defibrillator. So, his PCP recommended Cologuard. It came back positive. He went for the colonoscopy at the hospital, the doctor informed that there were many polyps (over 10), he stopped counting. So on the one hand, we’re glad Cologuard spotted this, but on the other hand, the anxiety caused over this was horrible, the waiting makes me nuts. So I thank Cologuard for finding something, but inevitably, a colonoscopy was still necessary. My advice is to just go get the colonoscopy. This Cologuard Test causes way too much worry, unless it comes back negative.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Pushy and hungry. Do not do it.

    • By Frank T.,
    • Tampa, FL,
    • Feb 1, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Three months ago, after questioning my doctor as to how this would yield valid results, I gave in and said go ahead order Cologuard by Exact Sciences knowing nothing about this product.

    I got home did some research and the next morning called my doctor and told them to cancel, due to so many negative reviews.

    Well every single day since then, I have received a call, which I have ignored. I also received the kit a while back which I threw away. This was a canceled order, but Cologuard by Exact Sciences is still pushing it. This outfit is very pushy and hungry for you to try their product which looks to be inexact, and questionable at best with no supporting documents when there is a positive result. I think the doctor and/or staff get a kickback on every order placed.

    Do NOT order Cologuard by Exact Sciences unless you want to be harassed on a daily basis.

    It has been now over a month, and I am still getting calls rolling straight to my voice box. They are extremely pushy and hungry to charge you for their Cologuard product.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • This test comes back with a lot of false positives and is not accurate

    • By Wendy D.,
    • Florida,
    • Jan 10, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I would not recommend this to anyone. I did the screening and it came back positive right before Christmas, ruined my holidays, I thought I was going to die of colon cancer. Turns out it was a false positive and now my insurance company is charging me $3,000.00 because they are saying it's pre-existing. Now I'm reading they are all coming back with a false positive. Save yourself the money and just do the colonoscopy, it was a breeze. This test is not accurate at all.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Insurance does not cover it

    • By David M.,
    • New York City, NY,
    • Jan 10, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    This company is a total scam. It says on their website the test is covered by insurance - well, I'm here to tell you it DOES NOT. In fact, if your doctor orders it, Cologuard will expect you to pay for the test upfront. It's a total scam. I don't know how this company stays in business. AVOID them at all costs.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Hell and back

    • By Brian S.,
    • Hell,
    • Jan 7, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Omg, please choose a different method. Once you tell your doctor ok to this kit, you get phone bombed from this company. I didn't answer right away and they shouldn't have been calling, it was Christmas and New Years, but they really don't care, they will blow your phone up. Until you answer, or until you poop and send it in, this company needs to relax and give people time to read and review and wait until after a holiday!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


Showing 28-54 of 106

Write a Review for Cologuard Test!

Share your experience to help others discover great products!

Write a Review
Cologuard Test