• 106 Customer Reviews
  • 17% Recommend This Service
1.6 out of 5
5 star: 9% 4 star: 4% 3 star: 2% 2 star: 4% 1 star: 78%

 Our Promise to You

To safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.

Sort reviews by:

  • Test results positive...for what?

    • By Jonathan D.,
    • New Jersey,
    • Jan 5, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Not good. I got test results back with a positive so I asked my doctor what am I positive for? She said the lab does not tell her, so I called the lab. They say they do not give the results, only a negative or a positive, so...do I have cancer DNA, blood in my stool or something else...assuming that the test has more than one specific test, the lab can tell which part of the test was positive. I am not happy with Cologuard!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Rip off

    • By Mitch F.,
    • Knoxville, TN,
    • Dec 29, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    My wife did this test in good faith that it would be covered on her yearly physical insurance plan, and she got a bill for $649.00 that we cannot afford to pay for. As I read and further investigate this product, it appears to be a legalized scam that others fall into as well.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Total scam. AVOID!

    • By Ron G.,
    • Arkansas,
    • Dec 16, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    The doctor assured me that insurance covers this test. I also checked with Exact Sciences Cologuard website, which assures everyone that the ACA has mandated that all insurance plans must cover this procedure. So I said okay, what do I have to lose. Evidently, I have $649 to lose. Soon after, I am now getting endless bills from Exact Sciences for the test. I complained to my doctor. "Sorry, I thought it was covered." I complained to Cologuard and to Blue Cross Blue Shield. I filed an appeal. "Sorry, BCBS does not cover this test because it is not scientifically proven, and we don't pay for genetic testing."

    So, the doctors that are pushing this are probably getting some referral fee for these, and Exact Sciences assures you it is covered, just to get you to take this test, knowing you will be stuck with the bill once it is done. Also, the doctor's office confided that one of the problems with the test is the many false positives that come back. And then you get to take a full colonoscopy that is actually THREE TIMES as long as usual, so they can absolutely rule out a real cancer issue.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • False positive!

    • By Lisa N.,
    • Illinois,
    • Dec 15, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I opted for Cologuard as I have a high insurance deductible and was hoping to save money. The test came back POSITIVE. Like most people - I was scared and went for a colonoscopy. My colon was COMPLETELY CLEAR, not a single polyp!

    Because of this UNRELIABLE "test," I will be paying off medical bills for two years - not to mention recovering from the stress of a cancer scare. I will NOT recommend Cologuard to anyone!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Expensive and "scamm-ish"

    • By Abbi B.,
    • Arkansas,
    • Nov 16, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    As a prior submitter stated, I saw my PCP and he recommended the Cologuard test. He said I could do it at home and it's covered by insurance since it's a screening test. A couple of days later, I started getting phone calls explaining what I would receive in the mail. Once I received the package, I continued to get calls about when I would return it. It was easy to complete, so I sent it back in and several weeks later received a bill for $649.00. My insurance carrier stated they do not cover this test. I would have never done this had I known this. It will take me a while to pay this off. I should have checked with my insurance, but since my PCP told it was covered and the Cologuard staff kept calling me and knew my insurance plan, I assumed it was covered. My mistake.

    This company has the insurance information and the ability to get authorizations so as not to victimize folks when the insurance company denies the service.

    I am submitting a complaint to our State Attorney General.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Cologuard did me a favor!

    • By Elizabeth S.,
    • Boston, MA,
    • Nov 15, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I was always avoiding a colonoscopy, so my MD mailed me Cologuard. The test was easy! I was quite shocked when it came back positive. After all, no family history for colon cancer and I had no plans of ever having a colonoscopy! However, much to my doctor's delight, I had to have one now. Well, I did, and while I didn't have cancer, I did have polyps that can turn into cancer. I had 5 polyps and they got them all. I was lucky, and honestly, I believe Cologuard saved me from a future with colon cancer in it. So with that being said, take a Cologuard test, it could save your life!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Negative without explanation is not comforting.

    • By Phyllis R.,
    • Michigan,
    • Oct 30, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Too much chance for error. No explanation if the negative report. Just OK, isn't much use. I would like an explanation if why the report is negative. I wasn't sure I should send in the specific stool because as I was packaging it, it fell apart and I wondered if it could be used. I am still wondering. Just as much concerned after as before.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • False positive

    • By Becky B.,
    • Utah,
    • Oct 26, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Taking the test and sending it in was very easy. However, I received a positive result. This then made it necessary for me to have a colonoscopy. I was in turmoil for several weeks, believing I had colon cancer. It was a nerve-wracking time. After my colonoscopy, I was told no cancer. No issues. The test wasn’t reliable.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Cologuard

    • By Pamela P.,
    • New York,
    • Oct 17, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I received the box in the mail last year. I went through the process and then mailed in a special mailing. I went to the doctor today, a yearly physical, and they never received the results. I am not sure if my insurance was billed. But all that for nothing. What a waste.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Cologuard is a gimmick

    • By Brenda M.,
    • Rio Rancho, NM,
    • Oct 13, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I paid $600 for this test and results were positive, so had to have a colonoscopy anyway (free screening). Results negative/normal.

    So months of worrying that I had cancer and paying $600 for that.

    It is an easy test to do, but really bogus.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Very expensive test

    • By Sharon T.,
    • Washington,
    • Oct 8, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    My primary care doctor told me that now that I am 50, I need to be tested for colon cancer. She suggested the Cologuard test. She said I could do it at home and it's covered by insurance since it's a screening test. A couple of days later, I started getting phone calls explaining what I would receive in the mail. Once I received the package, I continued to get calls about when I would return it. It was easy to complete, so I sent it back in and a few weeks later received a bill for $580.00. Aetna does not cover this test. I would have never done this had I known this. It will take me a long time to pay this off. I should have checked with my insurance, but since my PCP told it was covered and the Cologuard staff kept calling me and knew my insurance plan, I assumed it was covered. My mistake. Don't be pressured into doing this. A lot to pay for convenience.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Okay, depending on aim

    • By David M.,
    • Massachusetts,
    • Oct 4, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    My GI doc suggested this as an okay sub for c-scope (have other surgeries pending and wanted to reduce sedation). PCP prescribes and Medicare pays, I was told. Instructions are clear but wordy, and not dummy enough, thought this dummy. Labels are difficult to remove, and I cannot imagine someone elderly using this easily. Worst of all, though, and maybe I am the only person on earth who does not know perfectly where his bottom is located, but if you site the receptacle as drawn in the instructions, you might well go not toward its center. Which makes for a terrible mess and cleanup and scrubbing, all while you're trying to efficiently follow the directions pronto for resealing and doing the extra swab. Eesh. Be sure the container is toward the back of the seat, not the middle as drawn. At least for me. What a bunch of (insert your word here).

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • They are a scam

    • By Clif S.,
    • Nampa, ID,
    • Sep 14, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Nothing they told me was accurate. First, you give them over $800. But, guess what? You still have to have the colonoscopy.

    My doctor laughed at my stupidity.

    They have a product for profit only. Just get the colonoscopy and forget these fakes.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • False positive but you should do it anyway

    • By Bill R.,
    • Los Angeles, CA,
    • Sep 8, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I'm a 63-year-old male. My father had colon cancer (and survived). I took the Cologuard test (not that hard to do) and received a "positive" result. I went for a colonoscopy and the result was that I had a small polyp, it was not cancerous and I was all clear. I was told to return in three years for another colonoscopy. So the Cologuard "positive" was not accurate. My doctor said they may have detected the polyp as a "positive." A stressful process, but it's best to go through the whole process.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Quick and easy

    • By Jackie Q.,
    • Livonia, NY,
    • Sep 5, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    My experience with Cologuard was a positive one, especially because the results were NEGATIVE. I was SO relieved to not have to get a colonoscopy. The research shows that there can be significant issues with having the procedure when a person is 75 or older. My husband had a very bad experience when he had his first colonoscopy several years ago, and it took him a year or more to recover from it. So, I am very happy with my results, and I would definitely recommend the test to anyone who wants to avoid the unpleasantness of having to have an invasive procedure.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Terrible experience

    • By Jane R.,
    • Nutley, NJ,
    • Aug 29, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Firstly, I can't imagine anyone who is elderly performing this task. I am an 82-year-old female who can read, write and understand and I found it very difficult to use this item. It is NOTHING like they show on the television ads. Secondly, the zipper portion of the plastic bag came off, and it was impossible to put back on. I will never do this again. They have got to come up with an easier testing method.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Don't waste your money and INSURANCE may not pay. BCBS NO.

    • By Sue D.,
    • Texas,
    • Aug 11, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I did Cologuard November 2017, it came back NEGATIVE.

    I did a colonoscopy in April 2018, and I had 13 polyps and now have to do another colonoscopy in one year. Basically, if I had BELIEVED the NEGATIVE test result, the polyps could still be growing into CANCER. DO NOT take the test. A waste of money! BCBS will not pay the claim, so I got a WASTED test and still have to pay over $600. What a WASTE! There should be a NEGATIVE on stars.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Does a family history of colon cancer affect test results?

    • By Ramonda S.,
    • Maryland,
    • Aug 1, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have a family history of colon cancer through my grandfather. A doctor told me that it's basically a DNA test. Well, my DNA should show that colon cancer is present in my genes due to family history. Needless to say, my test results were positive. No explanations, only positive results which automatically means "get a colonoscopy." I don't disagree, nothing can substitute for a colonoscopy. What is bothering me is there is no information regarding my question about getting positive results because of family history. A live chat popped up on one website so I asked her my question. Before she would say one word. she asked if I was a professional, I said "no," and then responds by telling me that she is not allowed to discuss the test with me, only with medical professionals. She advised that I go to the patient page to ask my question, which only quotes the test company saying high-risk people need the colonoscopy.

    I asked if she could at least point me to where I could get an answer to my question. She only repeated the same scripted answer. What, it's illegal to speak to me about anything at all, including the weather, because I'm not a doctor? The company that makes the test does not explain what I'm asking. I am considered high-risk because of the family history and therefore, should skip the test and get the colonoscopy. I don't do as I'm told just because someone told me. I do it based on knowledge, and we must advocate for ourselves when you are on the money-making allopathic medicine train. And the knowledge I'm looking for is not accessible to a patient. If you can't back your test or results with proper answers to the patient, then you are not working for the patient, you're working for some other agenda. I was tested with Cologuard by Exact Sciences.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • BCBS denied claim - out of network

    • By Michael E.,
    • Georgia,
    • Jul 18, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    BCBS denied my claim saying Cologuard is not in the network. Had I known this, I would have gotten a covered colonoscopy. Cologuard has a preformatted letter to dispute, but BCBS still denies, out of network. Cologuard advertises that it is covered by most major insurers. BCBS isn't a major insurer? False or at the very least, very questionable advertising.

    First, a Cologuard rep says that they advised me to check with the insurer before doing the test. I did not receive any such advice. Since they claim to be recording all of their calls, I asked to hear the recording of them telling me that. No response.

    The second rep says that they left several messages and I didn't respond. The only messages I got were robocalls asking why I hadn't sent back the test yet and pressing me to do so.

    I offered to pay whatever negotiated price they have with "most major insurers" but this isn't acceptable to them, they want me to pay an exorbitant full retail price of $649.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Taken about a year ago.

    • By David S.,
    • High Bridge, NJ,
    • Jul 14, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I'm 74 and was never tested for colon cancer and would never have been if not for Cologuard. It's noninvasive and a wonderful alternative for those who have been putting this off. I highly recommend it, and it gave me great peace of mind.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Positive result without identification of source blood or DNA

    • By Frank K.,
    • Phoenix, AZ,
    • Jun 26, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Stool DNA-biomarkers with hemoglobin immunoassay and not state which one is applicable in Patient Report to the doctors, so if you have a positive result, you may be unnecessarily subjected to a lot of additional testing and expense that was not necessary if they stated which marker was for your test. I called them and asked for the information and was told it is not available. I reported this to the FDA.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Cologuard and BCBS

    • By Marie K.,
    • Lincoln, NE,
    • Jun 22, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    BCBS does not cover Cologuard and Cologuard is aware of this. You will end up paying $650.00 out of your pocket! Cologuard will tell you they have ways to get Blue Cross to pay, but they don't! Blue Cross is known for not paying claims, and Cologuard still accepts and processes the sample knowing that all Blue Cross customers are footing the bill. Don't do it if you can't afford the $650.00.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • False positive, a nerve-wracked six weeks!

    • By Myra K.,
    • California,
    • Jun 18, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    So, every year I take a fecal smear test along with my annual mammogram. It has always been negative. This year my physician prescribed the Cologuard test. I was a little shocked that they wanted the whole stool sample, kind of an icky process to be sure. I was shocked and stunned when it came back positive!

    I live in a rural area, the nearest place to acquire a colonoscopy is Las Vegas 100 miles away. I called around, and the first appointment I could get for the consult was six weeks out. Six weeks! I don't know about you, but my head can do a lot of magical and terrifying things in six weeks time. I was checking my will, saying goodbye to my friends, crying and scared. It was pretty awful! The test said, "you have a biomarker for cancer!" Since it's a cancer test and it was coming back positive, it was not a leap to think I had cancer! All I could see was a colostomy bag in my future.

    So I did the gruesome prep and the day of the colonoscopy came. It was completely normal! No polyps, no indication of cancer at all. False positive! My surgeon said that false positives are the NORM for Cologuard. So, I say buyer beware.

    It was a horrible experience for $650 to boot. Look out, this test is bull!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Sketchy

    • By Missy H.,
    • Fairfax, VA,
    • Jun 11, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    GYN vs. GP recommended this test. GYN pushed for three years (Why? Seems odd). I already had a FIT test done by GP who knew nothing about Cologuard. After three years of neg FIT test, Cologuard came back positive with no details. Like others, they could not say if it was DNA or blood in the stool.

    I called and Cologuard gave me some lame excuses like talk to your doctor (who sent me the results with zero details), they won't provide diagnosis, the FDA recommends they don't give specific details and finally it was just DNA testing. So why exactly is Cologuard better than other known tests out there and what specifically are they testing for? The whole reason I took this was for the details.

    Additionally, since taking this test, I am now getting all kinds of spam from companies like "Life Line Screening," and it makes me wonder what they are doing with my personal information. It could just be a coincidence but, Facebook anyone?

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Skip this test - get a colonoscopy

    • By Sarah Kennedy,
    • Ypsilanti, MI,
    • May 20, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Like many others here, my insurance paid $650 for the Cologuard testing. I received a call from the recommending physician about 10 days after mailing in the sample - positive for colon cancer. I scheduled an immediate colonoscopy at U of M, where they have some of the best gastroenterologists in the nation. After a thorough 3-day prep and a complete test, completely negative. My physician advised that Cologuard is known for false/positive results. Makes me wonder how many are shown as negative when they, in fact, have cancer. I will NEVER do this test again. Bite the bullet and get the real deal to know the entire story and sleep at night.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Is Cologuard a valid alternative to a colonoscopy?

    After 10 years of annual FOBT/FIT tests at age 60, my primary care physician recommended to use Cologuard for more detailed test results. Being generally healthy and without a family history of colorectal issues, I was surprised that the Cologuard test result came back positive for some kind of problems in the colon. A follow-up colonoscopy was ordered. The finding was three tiny polyps that were unremarkable. The pathology report confirmed there were neither abnormal nor precancerous cells present, making the test result a false positive. My health insurance was all too eager to pay for Cologuard as preventive care and covered it 100%. The colonoscopy now is a follow-up procedure and consequently requires a copay, it no longer qualifies as a preventive procedure!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Cologuard uses bribery to get patients to return kit

    • By Gino Pinoza,
    • Kansas City, MO,
    • May 5, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I was very surprised to get a "negative" result when I have a bleeding hemorrhoid and their instructions clearly say don't use the kit if you have a bleeding hemorrhoid. My doctor apparently didn't know Exact Sciences excluded patients with this condition when he ordered the test. So I set the kit aside for weeks presuming I'd get a positive result, not for cancer but for blood in my stool and decided not to participate.

    Exact Sciences robocalled me incessantly, and it wasn't until they offered me a $75 gift card in April to complete the test and return the kit in March, did I do so. It was easy and private but by the month of May, no gift card and bottom line, I don't trust my results.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


Showing 55-81 of 106

Write a Review for Cologuard Test!

Share your experience to help others discover great products!

Write a Review
Cologuard Test