Control GX Shampoo Reviews

Control GX Shampoo

Overall Rating

2.4

54 Customer Reviews

Summary

Control GX Shampoo by Just For Men uses a formulation that reacts with air and traps color in the hair shaft, gradually reducing your numbers of gray hairs.

Write a Review

Customer Reviews

2.4 Stars out of 54 Reviews
5 Star:24% 4 Star:7% 3 Star:5% 2 Star:9% 1 Star:53%
37% Recommend This Product
Start your review of Control GX Shampoo:
Sort Reviews By

Posted on Dec 5, 2021

New 118ml version is awful - orange hair

By Matthew A., United Kingdom, Verified Reviewer

Been using Control GX for around 4 years. After previously suffering allergic reactions to any hair color product I tried, finding Control GX was a godsend: no allergic reactions at all and gave my hair a perfectly natural color (and my hair is black).

Fast forward to September 2021. I brought a bottle and noticed the packaging was different and had gone from 147ml bottles to 118ml bottles. Didn't think anything of it, however, after 2 applications, I noticed my hair was orange/bronze and I was having a severe allergic reaction on my scalp, which has caused hair loss!

It can't be a coincidence as every review I've read about the new product says the same thing! Did JFM even test the product?! They had the best product on the market and they have completely destroyed it! I've now reverted to buying the old 147ml bottles with the original formula off eBay and it's working like a dream again.

JFM need to address this fast. If it's not broken, don't fix it!

Length of Use: 2+ years

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

No “pros” were specified in this review

Turns hair orange

Allergic reactions

Hair loss

Smaller bottles

Helpful Review? 1 Person Has Voted

Posted on Dec 4, 2021

Orange orange orange

By Tom B., London, United Kindom, Verified Reviewer

I can only describe the new color or my hair as orange/grey since the new formula came in to the market!

What was the problem with the old one that we all liked; does the consumer have a say? Am I missing something, should the orange be the new grey for older men and be cool about this? Does the company that makes Control GX read and take notes of the unhappiness that it causes to us consumers?

Length of Use: 2+ years

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

No “pros” were specified in this review

New smaller size

Too many different packaging for the same orange look

Cool orange look

Constant explanation about my new look

Funny looks from general public

Helpful Review? 1 Person Has Voted

Posted on Dec 3, 2021

Why?!

By David A., United Kingdom, Verified Reviewer

New formula, dreadful results.

I have used this for over 4 years and the new formula turns hair orange. Please don't use this product, unless you want to look like an Oompa Loompa.

Just For Men, please revert back to the original formula or lose all your clients.

Length of Use: 2+ years

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Was once a great product

Now dreadful

Helpful Review? 2 People Have Voted

Posted on Nov 25, 2021

New formula turns hair orange

By Ranbir K., Manchester, England, Verified Reviewer

I’ve been using this product for years and it was great. Why have they changed the formula? It’s terrible and it will turn your hair to an unnatural orange color! Sadly, I’m going to have to stop using it. I hope they change the formula back!

Length of Use: 2+ years

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

No “pros” were specified in this review

Orange hair

Helpful Review? 2 People Have Voted

Posted on Nov 24, 2021

New formula is awful

By Alfonse B., United Kingdom, Verified Reviewer

I have used Control GX for several years and liked it, but the new formula is terrible. It makes my hair go a strange orange color. It does not work anymore!

Length of Use: 2+ years

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

No “pros” were specified in this review

New formula

Helpful Review? 2 People Have Voted

Posted on Nov 23, 2021

Turning orange

By Francis P., London, England, Verified Reviewer

It used to work well, and I was quite happy about it, until recently. It leaves an unnatural orange color. They must have changed the formula.

Length of Use: 2+ years

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

No “pros” were specified in this review

Orange color

Helpful Review? 1 Person Has Voted

Posted on Oct 27, 2021

Orange color

By Michael B., Leixlip, Ireland, Verified Reviewer

Why oh why have you changed the formula? It was a great product but no way can I use it anymore. I can't leave my house now without my head completely covered.

Length of Use: 2+ years

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

The color

Easy to use

No mixing

Awful new color

Helpful Review? 5 People Have Voted

Posted on Oct 24, 2021

"New improved" formula turns hair orange

By Gerald T., Leeds, United Kingdom, Verified Reviewer

When Control GX first appeared on the market I was so pleased that at last, I could have natural-looking hair. I felt that it had saved me at the 11th hour from a life as the "Grey Man". For the past 4 years, I have been more than happy with the product but then recently the "new improved" version came onto the market and I was eager to try it to see how much better it could be, however, I have been noticing that my hair has started to turn orange where I have used the shampoo mainly around the back and sides as the top of my head is still mostly brown so doesn't need as many applications.

Very disappointed, have had to go back to eBay and try to identify, and purchase, the old stock and buy that, but the old stock won't last forever. Do the manufacturers not test their product before launching it? Obviously not in this case.

Length of Use: 2+ years

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

The old formula

The new improved formula turns your hair orange

Helpful Review? 5 People Have Voted

Posted on Oct 22, 2021

Effective but ultimately causes hair loss

By Paul P., Scotland, Verified Reviewer

Going bald suddenly since using this. Very unhappy and not worth it in the long run. Using caffeine shampoo now and hoping for the best. Will never use again.

Length of Use: 1–2 years

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Grey reduced

Hair loss

Greasy

Chemical feel

Posted on Oct 5, 2021

Altered product disaster

By Alan B., England, Verified Reviewer

The product has been changed and is now an awful orange effect. Please revert to the previous one or no more sales!

Also, the amount has been reduced, so in summary, a terrible new product and less of it!

Length of Use: 2+ years

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

What it used to be

Awful new product

Helpful Review? 10 People Have Voted

Posted on Oct 2, 2021

New formula is terrible

By Ben R., United Kingdom, Verified Reviewer

I have used this for almost 4 years now and the new stuff is making my hair orange. Don't buy it! I've had to shave my hair off, it's that bad.

Length of Use: 2+ years

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

It used to work

It is now making my hair orange

Helpful Review? 10 People Have Voted

Posted on Sep 15, 2021

New stuff is orange

By James W., Andersonville, TN, Verified Reviewer

The older formula has a purplish tint that works better for brown hair.

The new formula is terrible. Turns brown to orange. I used to like the older product. The new one with the extra goodies is terrible.

Length of Use: 1–2 years

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

No “pros” were specified in this review

Turning brown orange now

Helpful Review? 10 People Have Voted

Posted on Sep 11, 2021

Terrible

By Ray H., London, United Kingdom, Verified Reviewer

The old formula was much better. I will not buy this again.

It left an orange color. The old formula used to leave a nice dark color.

Why the heck did they change this? If it's not broken why fix it?

I want compensation.

Length of Use: 2+ years

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 12 People Have Voted

Posted on Aug 31, 2021

New formula doesn't work

By Elis K., London, England, Verified Reviewer

As most have stated here, the new formula turns grey into a D.Trump kind of orange.

Very disappointing, as is their customer service.

Length of Use: 2+ years

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 14 People Have Voted

Posted on Aug 11, 2021

Orange look

By Mahmut B., London, England, Verified Reviewer

I have been using the product for the last three years and I was happy with it.

But the new formula is just terrible, it made my hair orange.

Length of Use: 2+ years

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Easy to use

Color was good

Good value

Orange look

It dyes hands and nails

Helpful Review? 13 People Have Voted

Posted on Aug 10, 2021

New formula is bad

By David B. , Stroud, United Kingdom

Used to work - now hair goes orange. Please revert to the old formula or do a lot more research and trials. Can we get compensation?

Length of Use: 2+ years

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Old formula used to work

Silly color

Helpful Review? 16 People Have Voted

Posted on Jul 26, 2021

The new formula turns your grey hair orange.

By David C., Cambridge, United Kingdom, Verified Reviewer

Please be warned, I've been using this product for years now and have always felt it did exactly what it stated on the box, gradually turn grey hair back to my original color - dark brown. However, more recently since the new formula was released the same can not be said. Grey hair turns an orange/light brown color that looks ridiculous.

Please only regard reviews for this product since June this year, 2021, anything earlier will be completely misleading.

Length of Use: 2+ years

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

No “pros” were specified in this review

Orange/light brown where the grey was.

Helpful Review? 17 People Have Voted

Posted on Jul 25, 2021

New version is awful

By Mark C., Manchester, United Kingdom, Verified Reviewer

Don't usually write product reviews but am so disappointed with the new version that I am taking the trouble. I completely endorse other reviewers about the orangy brown color. The old version (which looked sort of purple when you rinsed it) left a much blacker more natural color. Please bring the old formula back or have the two as alternatives - old = natural, new = unnatural!

Length of Use: 2+ years

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Old version was great - gave a natural color

Easy to use

Slowly, discretely changed hair color

Makes your fingernails look dirty

Causes a bit of scalp irritation

Helpful Review? 14 People Have Voted

Posted on Jul 22, 2021

Orange hair

By Gary M. , England

Absolutely terrible product, never felt so embarrassed, I look like Ronald McDonald. It turned my hair bright orange, usually it is very dark brown, and everyone is commenting about what have I done.

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

No “pros” were specified in this review

Orange hair

Looks ridiculous

Helpful Review? 13 People Have Voted

Posted on Jul 6, 2021

New formula, zero stars

By Andrew S. , Manchester, United Kingdom

I've been a user of Control GX for over two years, and would have been happy to recommend it to anyone, that is until now. The new formula is terrible and I can honestly say that I would rather be grey than the orangey-brown color my hair is now turning. It looks awful and totally unnatural, the quicker I can get to the barber's for a number two the better. I'll accept the grey from now on, if the new Control GX is the only option.

Length of Use: 2+ years

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

The old version was fantastic

New UN-improved formula

Everything, will no longer be using GX

Helpful Review? 12 People Have Voted

Posted on Jun 17, 2021

New formula is bad

By Chris S., United Kingdom, Verified Reviewer

The previous version was great. More purple wash shampoo. They have recently brought out a ‘new’ formula, with terrible results ending up more orange/light brown.

Length of Use: 2+ years

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Old version

New version

Helpful Review? 14 People Have Voted

Posted on Jun 16, 2021

New formula

By John L., Leeds, United Kingdom, Verified Reviewer

I've been using Control GX for over 2 years with great results, however, this new "improved " formula has made my hair go orange! Tried contacting Just For Men but that's almost an impossibility.

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

No “pros” were specified in this review

Makes grey hair go orange

Helpful Review? 16 People Have Voted

Posted on Feb 18, 2021

Overpriced

By Charles B., Montreal, Canada, Verified Reviewer

I like this product, after using it for over a year I feel now the company got bought out by Just For Men they reduced the size from 177ml to 118ml for the same price or more in some cases, it was already an expensive shampoo and now it's just a rip-off.

Length of Use: 2+ years

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Great product

Easy to use

Look younger

Now overpriced since Just For Men bought it

Hair may turn greenish in sunlight

Hair never feels clean after rinse

Posted on Nov 20, 2020

Excellent product

By Sharon R., Calgary, Canada, Verified Reviewer

Not just for men. Women can use this too. I am over 80% grey and using this product 3 to 4 times a week leaves my hair darker, well-conditioned, and looking natural. Much easier to use than hair color and does a perfect job of reducing the grey to almost nothing. Leaves just enough grey to say ‘my color doesn’t come from a box’, it’s natural.

Length of Use: 3–6 months

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Easy to use

Perfect coverage with minimal effort

Effective

No “cons” were specified in this review

Helpful Review? 1 Person Has Voted

Posted on Nov 18, 2020

Noticeable hair loss

By Billy G., Minneapolis, MN, Verified Reviewer

I used this product for several months and I noticed dramatic hair loss on my head. This was further confirmed with hair in the drain. I stopped using this about 3 weeks ago and the difference is amazing. No hair in the drain and my hair looks fuller. I am going to go back to using Just For Men hair color every two months. I never had a problem using that product. I recommend to everyone that you do not use this product. It sinks.

Length of Use: 3–6 months

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

No “pros” were specified in this review

Hair loss

It is a dirty product that messes up the shower

Helpful Review? 6 People Have Voted

Posted on Oct 31, 2020

Causes hair loss

By Andre P., Washington, DC, Verified Reviewer

I bought Control GX Shampoo to reduce graying and ended up losing hair instead. The problem was slow to start and by the time I realized it was the shampoo I had gone through an entire bottle.

If you purchase this product and you notice more than normal hair loss in the shower or the sink area STOP using it. Do not fool yourself into thinking it natural hair loss.

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

No “pros” were specified in this review

Causes hair loss

Helpful Review? 3 People Have Voted

Posted on Jul 3, 2020

Dramatic hair loss

By J J., Australia, Verified Reviewer

Used this for a number of months only to find my hair started thinning out rapidly. It worked mildly to cover the greys, however, this became far less of a concern when my hands were covered in hair in the shower.

Length of Use: 3–6 months

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

No “pros” were specified in this review

Not overly effective

Drastic hair loss

Helpful Review? 5 People Have Voted
Showing 1-27 of 54

Our Promise to You

In order to safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.