About Cop Cam

By HighYa Staff
Published on: Sep 12, 2018

Cop Cam from Atomic Beam is a wireless security camera that’s less than one square inch in size, making it ideal to hide virtually anywhere and record footage whenever motion is detected.

The website explains that the device also records footage in HD resolution, uses a powerful built-in microphone to record audio as well, and captures up to a 140° field of vision—twice that of traditional cameras.

Recordings will automatically loop once the microSD card runs out of space. And when the time comes, you can quickly view and upload footage directly to your computer.

With such a competitive price—especially compared to many other dashboard, body, action, and night cams, will Cop Cam necessarily deliver an equal level of value? Stick with us for a few minutes, and we'll help provide valuable insight—starting with the price and the manufacturer.

How Much Does Cop Cam Cost?

One Cop Cam device is priced at $39.98 (two payments of $19.99), plus $9.99 S&H. During checkout, you can order a second mini-camera for an additional $19.99 fee.

The website advertises that all orders are automatically upgraded to the Elite model, which includes six infrared LEDs for recording potential threats at night. It also comes with a swivel clip that can turn it into a dashcam, as well as allows it to attach to clothing for use as a body cam. An 8GB micro-SD card is included with each one.

Regardless of the number you order, all Cop Cams come with a 30-day refund policy, less S&H charges, as well as any fees attached to the second device. To request one, you’ll need to call Bulbhead (a division of Telebrands) customer support at 855-668-1655.

What Do We Know About the Company Behind Cop Cam?

Fairfield-NJ-based Telebrands is the largest company in the As Seen on TV industry and has been in business for more than 35 years. During this time, they've released hundreds of popular products, including recent hits like Atomic Beam USA Flashlight, Red Copper Pan, Hurricane 360 Spin Mop, and Ped Egg Power.

As a company, Telebrands held a B+ rating with the Better Business Bureau, based on more than 25 customer reviews and nearly 300 closed complaints, as of 7/10/18. Most of these appeared related to less-than-stellar quality and customer support experiences, although a company representative responded with a resolution in most instances.

Are There Other Miniature Video Cameras Like Cop Cam?

Searching online at the time of writing for variations of terms like ‘miniature video camera,' ‘mini spycam,' and ‘hidden surveillance cameras' returned a significant number of options in the same market as Cop Cam.

Many boasted similar features, like a sub-one-inch square design, HD resolution, motion detection, micro-SD card functionality with automatic looping, a built-in microphone, and a 140° field of vision.

In fact, some (such as the LXMIMI Hidden Spy Camera available on Amazon, as but one example) seemed to be designed almost identically to Cop Cam, including six LEDs for night vision, stripes on the top and bottom, and the same button placement.

While this model was priced along the same lines at about $20, we came across other functionally identical ones for less than $15, with meaningfully lower S&H charges, along with no non-refundable fees for additional units ordered.

Does this necessarily mean that one of these lower-priced options will deliver better value than Cop Cam? How can you decide which way to go? Let's address these essential questions while wrapping everything up.

Bottom Line: What to Consider When Buying Cop cam

Looking through the Cop Cam website, we were unable to locate answers to some technical questions we had as consumers that we feel may be essential details that any individual needs to know to make an empowered decision about whether or not to buy a miniature spy camera. For example:

  • What’s the motion detection range?
  • After the motion sensor is triggered, for how long will it record video?
  • How long will the battery last? How long does it take to recharge?
  • What’s the camera’s resolution (720p or 1080p)?
  • What is the microphone’s resolution? From how far away will it pick up sounds?
  • Does the lens feature auto-focus capabilities?

We are told that once the included 8 GB microSD runs out of space, it will automatically loop back to the beginning and record over the oldest footage. How much time might this deliver?

While “results will vary based on file size, resolution, compression, bit rate, content, host device, pre-loaded files and other factors,” Sandisk (one popular microSD card manufacturer) reports that their 8 GB memory devices will hold up to 160 minutes (a little more than 2.5 hours) of video if recorded at 6 Mbps. However, this time drops to 40 minutes if recorded at 24 Mbps.

Again, without knowing Cop Cam's automatic recording time once motion is detected (for example, is it just a few seconds, or minutes?) or its resolution, there's no way to know precisely how much time this might deliver. But it's certainly something to keep in mind if you plan on placing the spycam in a frequently trafficked area.

Finally, although Cop Cam is wireless, remember that you’ll have to regularly plug it in to keep it charged (again, no details were available from support regarding battery length or recharging times). Also, the footage is not transmitted wirelessly and requires you to manually eject the microSD card and download any footage it contains directly to a secondary device.

In the end, although Telebrands stands behind Cop Cam—like most of their other products—with a 30-day refund policy, there are a whole lot of unknowns that might impede customers from making a fully informed decision.

And considering consumers stand to lose their initial $9.99 S&H, return charges to the company, as well as the BOGO fee ($19.99, if ordered), it's certainly not a risk-free transaction from a monetary perspective.

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!


Read 36 Cop Cam Customer Reviews and Complaints

Write a Review
Average Consumer Rating: 1.2
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 0 4 star: 1 3 star: 1 2 star: 1 1 star:  33
Bottom Line: 6% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 36
Sort reviews by:

  • Bought it today

    • Queensland, Australia,
    • May 16, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Got this crap today from the TV shop in Cairns. Super hot when charging. Could be dangerous. No lights whatsoever to indicate to me charged or ready to go. I'll be ringing them very shortly for a refund.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 12 out 12 people found this review helpful

    You get only $19.99 refunded so I lose S&H twice of $17.79

    • Muscle Shoals, AL,
    • Apr 23, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I saw the Cop Cam advertised on TV and really liked what I saw in the advertisement, so without reading the reviews, which I usually always do on any ordered internet merchandise, I ordered the Cop Cam 8 GB MicroSD straight from Bulbhead.com, not Amazon.

    My email receipt from Bulbhead also read "my satisfaction was 100% guaranteed." I received the Cop Cam 13 days later. A notice with my order read that I had been upgraded to a Deluxe Cop Cam, meaning with a 32 GB microSD instead of an 8 GB for the same price of $19.99 now and $19.00 in 30 days.

    I read the included instructions, plus watched two tube unboxing review videos on how to use the Cop Cam. The photo color was purple on those YouTube reviews and the video was poor quality.

    I tried out my Cop Cam taking photos and videos in various settings inside and outside with lights on and off. When I put the MicroSD disc in my laptop to view, the photos were purple hazed looking. Same for the videos. Nothing was clear and sharp like I saw in the advertisement.

    Then, I read on one of the many negative Cop Cam review’s that this microSD didn’t work on Windows 10 which is what my HP laptop is. This should have been made clear on the website.

    An extra notice in my package told all the rules regarding the returning an item. Only the cost of the item, i.e. Cop Cam, excluding S&H would be refunded.

    My credit card was charged $19.99 + $9.99 S&H + $3.50 = $35.48. Today, it cost me $7.90 Priority Mail with tracking to return the package. Their S&H $9.99 and my cost of $7.80 to return cost me a total of $17.79 for nothing.

    I order online a lot and never has it cost me anything to return an item like this. I’m very disappointed.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 12 out 12 people found this review helpful

    Cop Cam

    • Seymour, TN,
    • Apr 19, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I should have known better. But I had to know. Cop Cam is a waste of money. Mine, right out of the box has not worked at all. The window claims that a video was recorded until I try to review. Nothing but a black screen. Don't waste your money on this thing.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 15 out 15 people found this review helpful

    One star given but no star item. 100% JUNK.

    • Maine,
    • Apr 4, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I got this at Walmart, got it home and charged it. It works when it wants. Battery life, if lucky, is 30 minutes. Gets so hot charging feels like it might catch fire. A class action lawsuit should be coming in the near future ss this camera is junk. The same camera can be bought on Wish for less than $5, exactly the same, just without the Cop Cam stripe. I will update when the class action starts. Don't buy if you haven't, stay away, waste your money on a $5 one off Wish.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 32 out 33 people found this review helpful

    Crap

    • Texas,
    • Mar 21, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Piece of junk, do not waste your money. I bought two and neither one will work in my laptop or my desktop. I looked for a customer service number but there is none. I wish I had read the reviews before buying this crap. If you read the reviews and still buy it, you must have money to burn. I am still trying to find a customer service number. These people should be sued by a class action suit. I may look into it soon.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 37 out 39 people found this review helpful

    Crap

    • Wisconsin,
    • Mar 20, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    1st it gets super hot while charging.

    2nd, it doesn't stay charged but 20 minutes or so.

    3rd, they sent the wrong one.

    4th, they never sent the cord I ordered and paid for.

    5th, very cheaply made.

    6th, can't understand the people in customer service and they do not understand you.

    7th, I want to return this crap, I have two (one still in box), arrrgghhhh.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 6 out 11 people found this review helpful

    Satisfied

    • Portsmouth, VA,
    • Mar 18, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Got this on a whim, tried it out after charging it for about 3 hours. It was not fully charged. Ran it all evening during an outing. Even forgot it was on the coat when I took the coat off. Got home tried to check it. Finally got the video and sound to play with the PotPlayer program. Not bad. How long will it last, don't know. Not expecting much. It's tiny and feels like it will break easily. Just dropped it, tried to put it on the table stand incorrectly. Going to let it run overnight. We will see!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 63 out 64 people found this review helpful

    CRAP

    • Sacramento, CA,
    • Feb 18, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    This device is garbage. I left it in my house when I knew people were coming over. It was all charged and ready to go. It only recorded a little bit of video when nobody was in the house. When people came in it didn't record ANYTHING! We danced in front of the stupid thing and it didn't record at all! What a waste of money!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 61 out 61 people found this review helpful

    Bad product

    To start with when you get ready to charge it, it gets so hot that it's scary, so you have to actually start the recording part. It started recording then stopped and I never got it to work again. They came back after 5 weeks to take the rest of the $19.95 and talked to a lady that put me on hold 7 times and no results. My experience with this product and trying to cancel was very bad, good luck for the next person.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 54 out 55 people found this review helpful

    What a total piece of junk

    • Minneapolis, MN,
    • Feb 16, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    This is nothing but a piece of junk. It stops recording when there are still people moving about and then records for 2-3 minutes when there is no motion whatsoever. It does not record anything at night but a black screen even though I was in there in the dark. Oh, and there is no (none, zero) sound at all. I think Lisa S must work for the company since she is the only one who gave it a positive rating. We bought this from Collections Etc. and it's going back tomorrow as soon as the snow stops and I can get to the post office.

    Save your money and DO NOT buy this worthless piece of junk!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 57 out 57 people found this review helpful

    Piece of junk

    • Albuquerque, NM,
    • Feb 13, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I got the product as a gift, charged according to instructions, but am unable to make it turn on. Seems to come with some sample avi files, but they won’t play on Windows or Mac. At the very least, the unit needs better indicators to let the user know what’s going on, if anything.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

Showing 1-11 of 36

Write a Review for Cop Cam!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review