About Cop Cam

By HighYa Staff
Published on: Sep 12, 2018

Cop Cam from Atomic Beam is a wireless security camera that’s less than one square inch in size, making it ideal to hide virtually anywhere and record footage whenever motion is detected.

The website explains that the device also records footage in HD resolution, uses a powerful built-in microphone to record audio as well, and captures up to a 140° field of vision—twice that of traditional cameras.

Recordings will automatically loop once the microSD card runs out of space. And when the time comes, you can quickly view and upload footage directly to your computer.

With such a competitive price—especially compared to many other dashboard, body, action, and night cams, will Cop Cam necessarily deliver an equal level of value? Stick with us for a few minutes, and we'll help provide valuable insight—starting with the price and the manufacturer.

How Much Does Cop Cam Cost?

One Cop Cam device is priced at $39.98 (two payments of $19.99), plus $9.99 S&H. During checkout, you can order a second mini-camera for an additional $19.99 fee.

The website advertises that all orders are automatically upgraded to the Elite model, which includes six infrared LEDs for recording potential threats at night. It also comes with a swivel clip that can turn it into a dashcam, as well as allows it to attach to clothing for use as a body cam. An 8GB micro-SD card is included with each one.

Regardless of the number you order, all Cop Cams come with a 30-day refund policy, less S&H charges, as well as any fees attached to the second device. To request one, you’ll need to call Bulbhead (a division of Telebrands) customer support at 855-668-1655.

What Do We Know About the Company Behind Cop Cam?

Fairfield-NJ-based Telebrands is the largest company in the As Seen on TV industry and has been in business for more than 35 years. During this time, they've released hundreds of popular products, including recent hits like Atomic Beam USA Flashlight, Red Copper Pan, Hurricane 360 Spin Mop, and Ped Egg Power.

As a company, Telebrands held a B+ rating with the Better Business Bureau, based on more than 25 customer reviews and nearly 300 closed complaints, as of 7/10/18. Most of these appeared related to less-than-stellar quality and customer support experiences, although a company representative responded with a resolution in most instances.

Are There Other Miniature Video Cameras Like Cop Cam?

Searching online at the time of writing for variations of terms like ‘miniature video camera,' ‘mini spycam,' and ‘hidden surveillance cameras' returned a significant number of options in the same market as Cop Cam.

Many boasted similar features, like a sub-one-inch square design, HD resolution, motion detection, micro-SD card functionality with automatic looping, a built-in microphone, and a 140° field of vision.

In fact, some (such as the LXMIMI Hidden Spy Camera available on Amazon, as but one example) seemed to be designed almost identically to Cop Cam, including six LEDs for night vision, stripes on the top and bottom, and the same button placement.

While this model was priced along the same lines at about $20, we came across other functionally identical ones for less than $15, with meaningfully lower S&H charges, along with no non-refundable fees for additional units ordered.

Does this necessarily mean that one of these lower-priced options will deliver better value than Cop Cam? How can you decide which way to go? Let's address these essential questions while wrapping everything up.

Bottom Line: What to Consider When Buying Cop cam

Looking through the Cop Cam website, we were unable to locate answers to some technical questions we had as consumers that we feel may be essential details that any individual needs to know to make an empowered decision about whether or not to buy a miniature spy camera. For example:

  • What’s the motion detection range?
  • After the motion sensor is triggered, for how long will it record video?
  • How long will the battery last? How long does it take to recharge?
  • What’s the camera’s resolution (720p or 1080p)?
  • What is the microphone’s resolution? From how far away will it pick up sounds?
  • Does the lens feature auto-focus capabilities?

We are told that once the included 8 GB microSD runs out of space, it will automatically loop back to the beginning and record over the oldest footage. How much time might this deliver?

While “results will vary based on file size, resolution, compression, bit rate, content, host device, pre-loaded files and other factors,” Sandisk (one popular microSD card manufacturer) reports that their 8 GB memory devices will hold up to 160 minutes (a little more than 2.5 hours) of video if recorded at 6 Mbps. However, this time drops to 40 minutes if recorded at 24 Mbps.

Again, without knowing Cop Cam's automatic recording time once motion is detected (for example, is it just a few seconds, or minutes?) or its resolution, there's no way to know precisely how much time this might deliver. But it's certainly something to keep in mind if you plan on placing the spycam in a frequently trafficked area.

Finally, although Cop Cam is wireless, remember that you’ll have to regularly plug it in to keep it charged (again, no details were available from support regarding battery length or recharging times). Also, the footage is not transmitted wirelessly and requires you to manually eject the microSD card and download any footage it contains directly to a secondary device.

In the end, although Telebrands stands behind Cop Cam—like most of their other products—with a 30-day refund policy, there are a whole lot of unknowns that might impede customers from making a fully informed decision.

And considering consumers stand to lose their initial $9.99 S&H, return charges to the company, as well as the BOGO fee ($19.99, if ordered), it's certainly not a risk-free transaction from a monetary perspective.

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!


Read 34 Cop Cam Customer Reviews and Complaints

Write a Review
Average Consumer Rating: 1.2
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 0 4 star: 1 3 star: 1 2 star: 1 1 star:  31
Bottom Line: 6% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 34
Sort reviews by:

  • 327 out 347 people found this review helpful

    BOGO offer?

    • Oklahoma,
    • Oct 20, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I ordered the Cop Cam and went for the BOGO option, and as it says on this site, I thought I was getting 2 cameras so then I selected 2 more of that same order. That's 6 cameras, right? Wrong. The website now shows what you get on their deluxe special offer is just a 32 GB memory card.

    The Cop Cam deal is this (just talked to customer service): 1 Cop Cam, 8GB card, is 2 payments of $19.99, plus $9.99 s&h. If you order the deluxe (32GB SD card), it is 2 payments of $27.48 plus no s&h (so they say). If you want the 2 Cop Cam deal it is $34.97 with no additional s&h. I got 3 Cop Cams with 3 32GB cards. The single cam cost $54.96 plus $9:99 s&h, the other 2 Cop Cams were $109.92, which is $54:96 each with no s&h. Not a very good deal. I think the ad online has changed since I ordered because I was under the impression, as was this HighYa site, that it was $19.99 for 1 and basically $40.00 for 2.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Nov 27, 2018

      Bill B.

      Thank you so much! Thanks to you, I will make sure that I never buy one of these pieces of garbage, and I will make sure to tell anyone and everyone that I know not to spend money on this junk. This is the kind of crap that Trump-loving-trailer-trash will buy when they're sitting there roasting their Beanie Weenies and eating their mac and cheese out of the box, drinking horrible quality cheap beer. Meanwhile, these knuckle draggers are questioning nothing about their pathetic leader. Cop Cam belongs with cops, flushed down the drain! LOL.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 263 out 268 people found this review helpful

    Complete CRAP

    • Tampa, FL,
    • Nov 8, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I ordered two of the Cop Cams, and I'm here to tell you they are complete crap, not even to the level of a novelty item.

    They're supposed to see/work in the dark; they do not.

    The battery has a very short working time, so unless it's used in the first 1/2 hour of operation, it will run out of battery and stop.

    The video was a fair quality if taken in bright light.

    I had doubts from the beginning when I googled the address given and saw that it belonged to a church in New Jersey, the order also had no contact to cancel and took over a month to ship.

    DO NOT waste your money on the Cop Cam.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Nov 17, 2018

      Clint T.

      I agree with you in all aspects.. Mine worked for a very short time, not even a day. I won't hold a charge and now it won't turn on, and according to the pamphlet, the memory card is not installed. It's crap.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 227 out 232 people found this review helpful

    Don't waste your money on Cop Cam

    • Philadelphia, PA,
    • Nov 8, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I was taken in on Cop Cam, I bought two. The battery life is less than thirty minutes; it uses the battery up because it doesn't shut off like it's supposed to, it doesn't take good night time videos. I used one for a babies room and other for pets at night. I followed directions on how to get it up and working and still nothing good at all. I couldn't have done better with my cell phone. I'm going to try it with a charging cord connected to it and see.

    This cannot be what cops wear; they would have to keep it charging the whole time wearing it.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 173 out 175 people found this review helpful

    Do not waste your money!

    • Little Rock, AR,
    • Nov 19, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    This camera is a complete rip-off. There are so many discrepancies in the As Seen On TV advertisement compared to the actual product and how it works. The directions need to be more precise, and for some reason, mine keeps flashing purple lights while in record mode, so I can't really see anything. It's not HD video, won't record very long, and it is time stamped for a totally wrong date. It loops over other coverage if you don't check SD Card frequently. The camera isn't secured if it's outside recording, someone could easily come and take the camera. The box says waterproof, indoor and outdoor. But then I read it's not waterproof. I think this company needs to reinvent a better Cop Cam or stop selling this piece of crap to people. You're ripping folks off with this junk.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 148 out 148 people found this review helpful

    Don't waste your money

    • Fayetteville, AR,
    • Nov 25, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I got one at Bed Bath and Beyond and spent $40 figuring it was all good that there are no S&H. Anyway, got it home, set it up and after turning it on got ready and left my place. Not sure how far the "motion sensor" is but when I got back and fiddled around in front of it just to see how it worked, I plugged it into my computer to retrieve the video. Well, it recorded when I first had it on shut off shortly after I left my house, and that was it. It never sensed me moving around in front of it when I came back, not 15 minutes later. So what good is it if the motion sensor doesn't work? I can't find anywhere that has more info about other settings or sensor range. What a piece of CRAP!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 135 out 136 people found this review helpful

    Infomercial lies

    • Virginia,
    • Dec 7, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I saw this on a TV infomercial and it said buy one get one free. When you order it, that is not the case. They said I was wrong, it says buy one and get a second one for a cheaper price. Either way, I bought 5 and it ended up costing me $258. Then after three weeks, I called them because I didn't get them and was mad about commercial anyway and they said they would give me a $25 credit. It would take 7 to 10 days, and they were supposed to email me a confirmation number, which they never gave me the credit or sent an email.

    After 32 days I called them again and they said they would ship it out ASAP. At this point, I am not really trusting this company. The time to get it is ridiculous. Then they said it takes 4 to 6 weeks to get them. I never heard of such a thing. I told them to cancel the order, they said I would get a refund in 5 to 7 days. But, again, I don't trust them. I never got a $25 credit and was supposed to trust them to give me back my $258. I disputed it on my credit card. So, I know it will be credited back. Sounds by reviews that I am glad I did cancel the order. I know their customer service is bad. I can't imagine if you had to return it because it is junk.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 120 out 121 people found this review helpful

    Garbage

    • Kentucky,
    • Dec 3, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I live in an apartment complex in the back, had a couple of things stolen out of my yard, so I wanted some kind of small inconspicuous security camera to put on my windowsill to catch the thieves. I went to Walmart an bought one. It did not pick up pictures because it shut off, and when I used it at night, the tenants that passed by my window were hard to see and looked liked zombies or something. It did not run very long either. A total piece of garbage! Don't waste your money on this product folks! On a scale of 1-10, I give it a negative 10.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 110 out 113 people found this review helpful

    The commercial vs. what you actually get

    • California,
    • Dec 16, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    The commercial says, "Call now for your second upgrade."

    Now let me begin with what I received.

    Today I got 1 camera, 1 box. So I called the customer service and the man told me that UPGRADE TO ELITE = 2.

    1 Camera REGULAR upgraded to ELITE = a better camera in 1, which makes it, 2!

    $19.99 regular

    $19.99 elite

    Combined in 1 = $34.98

    1 shipping charge $9.99

    Total - $54.72.

    "You got what you ordered from us, am I clear now that I can talk!?" (Yes he said that in his Indian voice, which was a problem since he could barely understand my English as well.)

    I went, "What?"

    I preceded.

    The commercial says 2 cameras.

    He responds, "LIKE I JUST TOLD YOU!"

    But then I said, "WAIT! Let me talk now, I’m not finished. The IMAGE SHOWS 2 cameras, 2 cords, 2 clips. At $19.99 times 2 payments, and 1 shipping Charge...and I got 1 box with 1 camera, I cord (etc. etc.), and nowhere does it state, ELITE!"

    Then the man continued, "Ok, I see the problem, for $19.99 I will send you the additional camera, no shipping charge."

    That is what they mean by "additional charge."

    Then I asked, "so it’s not just an additional shipping charge to get the 2nd camera?"

    He responds, "NO, the commercial doesn’t say that you get the additional camera at the price of a shipping charge, it means $19.99."

    So the commercial leads you to believe that for 2 payments of $19.99 and 1 shipping charge that you get 2 cameras. Like the commercial says you get, including the photo imagery and all, it’s what it looks like, it’s what they say, even in the end.

    When you call to order, NOW, for this double order of cameras and it’s accessories, nowhere do they say anything different...and it’s automative, no human.

    Then I end up with this order, which was wrong and what the man tried to end the conversation and charges with...2 cameras equal 1 "elite" upgraded regular camera, as if it’s modified per order.

    The deal breaker was me stating, 2 cords, 2 clips, etc. accessories for 2 cameras and not just.

    The commercial is deceitful.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 106 out 107 people found this review helpful

    Cop Cam junk

    • Darlington, MD,
    • Dec 15, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I bought the Cop Cam. Wasted my hard earned money.

    The picture is bury. Pixelated bad.

    This is a total piece of junk. I wish I could get my money back.

    If I could some way tell anyone that’s looking at this not to waste the money, I would.

    I bought a lot of other Bulbhead products with no issues. This really sucks. Keep your money. Or give it as a gift to someone you don’t like.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 101 out 103 people found this review helpful

    Quality

    • Texas,
    • Dec 9, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have had, and still have, many many cameras and this one has topped the list for the worst. The picture is very frizzy daytime or night time and night vision sucks really really bad, you can not see anything unless there's some kind of light, and the time doesn't last as long as they state.

    The time and date is not adjustable that I could find, so when you record, you can't use the current time and date. And it is a shame, because it would have been great.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jan 9, 2019

      Tanya M.

      I wish I would have seen all of these comment before purchasing this. I was charged $32.00 the first month and the next month they took $19.99, which makes it more than what they said to me also. We should be able to return the item. I have tried watching the video I recorded and can't seem to find how to play it. I have tried Media Play and that is not working, so it makes me wonder what have I purchased.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 98 out 99 people found this review helpful

    Junk

    • Madera, CA,
    • Dec 20, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    It's a total piece of junk. Please, folks, do not waste your money. I ordered two deluxe models, which cost me $102. I don't know why so much. I have not been able to get either one to work. The directions are awful, doesn't tell you how to troubleshoot anything. Don't waste your money.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 34

Write a Review for Cop Cam!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review