About Cop Cam

By HighYa Staff
Published on: Sep 12, 2018

Cop Cam from Atomic Beam is a wireless security camera that’s less than one square inch in size, making it ideal to hide virtually anywhere and record footage whenever motion is detected.

The website explains that the device also records footage in HD resolution, uses a powerful built-in microphone to record audio as well, and captures up to a 140° field of vision—twice that of traditional cameras.

Recordings will automatically loop once the microSD card runs out of space. And when the time comes, you can quickly view and upload footage directly to your computer.

With such a competitive price—especially compared to many other dashboard, body, action, and night cams, will Cop Cam necessarily deliver an equal level of value? Stick with us for a few minutes, and we'll help provide valuable insight—starting with the price and the manufacturer.

How Much Does Cop Cam Cost?

One Cop Cam device is priced at $39.98 (two payments of $19.99), plus $9.99 S&H. During checkout, you can order a second mini-camera for an additional $19.99 fee.

The website advertises that all orders are automatically upgraded to the Elite model, which includes six infrared LEDs for recording potential threats at night. It also comes with a swivel clip that can turn it into a dashcam, as well as allows it to attach to clothing for use as a body cam. An 8GB micro-SD card is included with each one.

Regardless of the number you order, all Cop Cams come with a 30-day refund policy, less S&H charges, as well as any fees attached to the second device. To request one, you’ll need to call Bulbhead (a division of Telebrands) customer support at 855-668-1655.

What Do We Know About the Company Behind Cop Cam?

Fairfield-NJ-based Telebrands is the largest company in the As Seen on TV industry and has been in business for more than 35 years. During this time, they've released hundreds of popular products, including recent hits like Atomic Beam USA Flashlight, Red Copper Pan, Hurricane 360 Spin Mop, and Ped Egg Power.

As a company, Telebrands held a B+ rating with the Better Business Bureau, based on more than 25 customer reviews and nearly 300 closed complaints, as of 7/10/18. Most of these appeared related to less-than-stellar quality and customer support experiences, although a company representative responded with a resolution in most instances.

Are There Other Miniature Video Cameras Like Cop Cam?

Searching online at the time of writing for variations of terms like ‘miniature video camera,' ‘mini spycam,' and ‘hidden surveillance cameras' returned a significant number of options in the same market as Cop Cam.

Many boasted similar features, like a sub-one-inch square design, HD resolution, motion detection, micro-SD card functionality with automatic looping, a built-in microphone, and a 140° field of vision.

In fact, some (such as the LXMIMI Hidden Spy Camera available on Amazon, as but one example) seemed to be designed almost identically to Cop Cam, including six LEDs for night vision, stripes on the top and bottom, and the same button placement.

While this model was priced along the same lines at about $20, we came across other functionally identical ones for less than $15, with meaningfully lower S&H charges, along with no non-refundable fees for additional units ordered.

Does this necessarily mean that one of these lower-priced options will deliver better value than Cop Cam? How can you decide which way to go? Let's address these essential questions while wrapping everything up.

Bottom Line: What to Consider When Buying Cop cam

Looking through the Cop Cam website, we were unable to locate answers to some technical questions we had as consumers that we feel may be essential details that any individual needs to know to make an empowered decision about whether or not to buy a miniature spy camera. For example:

  • What’s the motion detection range?
  • After the motion sensor is triggered, for how long will it record video?
  • How long will the battery last? How long does it take to recharge?
  • What’s the camera’s resolution (720p or 1080p)?
  • What is the microphone’s resolution? From how far away will it pick up sounds?
  • Does the lens feature auto-focus capabilities?

We are told that once the included 8 GB microSD runs out of space, it will automatically loop back to the beginning and record over the oldest footage. How much time might this deliver?

While “results will vary based on file size, resolution, compression, bit rate, content, host device, pre-loaded files and other factors,” Sandisk (one popular microSD card manufacturer) reports that their 8 GB memory devices will hold up to 160 minutes (a little more than 2.5 hours) of video if recorded at 6 Mbps. However, this time drops to 40 minutes if recorded at 24 Mbps.

Again, without knowing Cop Cam's automatic recording time once motion is detected (for example, is it just a few seconds, or minutes?) or its resolution, there's no way to know precisely how much time this might deliver. But it's certainly something to keep in mind if you plan on placing the spycam in a frequently trafficked area.

Finally, although Cop Cam is wireless, remember that you’ll have to regularly plug it in to keep it charged (again, no details were available from support regarding battery length or recharging times). Also, the footage is not transmitted wirelessly and requires you to manually eject the microSD card and download any footage it contains directly to a secondary device.

In the end, although Telebrands stands behind Cop Cam—like most of their other products—with a 30-day refund policy, there are a whole lot of unknowns that might impede customers from making a fully informed decision.

And considering consumers stand to lose their initial $9.99 S&H, return charges to the company, as well as the BOGO fee ($19.99, if ordered), it's certainly not a risk-free transaction from a monetary perspective.

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!

30 Consumer Reviews for Cop Cam

Average Consumer Rating: 1.2
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 0 4 star: 1 3 star: 1 2 star: 1 1 star:  27
Bottom Line: 7% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 30
Sort reviews by:

  • Satisfied

    • Portsmouth, VA,
    • Mar 18, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Got this on a whim, tried it out after charging it for about 3 hours. It was not fully charged. Ran it all evening during an outing. Even forgot it was on the coat when I took the coat off. Got home tried to check it. Finally got the video and sound to play with the PotPlayer program. Not bad. How long will it last, don't know. Not expecting much. It's tiny and feels like it will break easily. Just dropped it, tried to put it on the table stand incorrectly. Going to let it run overnight. We will see!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 39 out 39 people found this review helpful

    CRAP

    • Sacramento, CA,
    • Feb 18, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    This device is garbage. I left it in my house when I knew people were coming over. It was all charged and ready to go. It only recorded a little bit of video when nobody was in the house. When people came in it didn't record ANYTHING! We danced in front of the stupid thing and it didn't record at all! What a waste of money!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 41 out 41 people found this review helpful

    Bad product

    To start with when you get ready to charge it, it gets so hot that it's scary, so you have to actually start the recording part. It started recording then stopped and I never got it to work again. They came back after 5 weeks to take the rest of the $19.95 and talked to a lady that put me on hold 7 times and no results. My experience with this product and trying to cancel was very bad, good luck for the next person.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 38 out 39 people found this review helpful

    What a total piece of junk

    • Minneapolis, MN,
    • Feb 16, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    This is nothing but a piece of junk. It stops recording when there are still people moving about and then records for 2-3 minutes when there is no motion whatsoever. It does not record anything at night but a black screen even though I was in there in the dark. Oh, and there is no (none, zero) sound at all. I think Lisa S must work for the company since she is the only one who gave it a positive rating. We bought this from Collections Etc. and it's going back tomorrow as soon as the snow stops and I can get to the post office.

    Save your money and DO NOT buy this worthless piece of junk!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 44 out 44 people found this review helpful

    Piece of junk

    • Albuquerque, NM,
    • Feb 13, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I got the product as a gift, charged according to instructions, but am unable to make it turn on. Seems to come with some sample avi files, but they won’t play on Windows or Mac. At the very least, the unit needs better indicators to let the user know what’s going on, if anything.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 41 out 42 people found this review helpful

    Cop Cam is garbage

    • Florida,
    • Feb 12, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Do not waste your money on this piece of junk. After using this garbage only a few times, the unit stopped charging. I called their customer service on February 4th, 2019 and they said if it was more than 30 days and the unit was out of warranty.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 39 out 40 people found this review helpful

    My experience with the Cop Cam

    • North Carolina,
    • Feb 11, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I had ordered the Cop Cam. I am very dissatisfied with this product, it does not work the way it is supposed to. It will not stay recording, it keeps shutting itself off. I had set the Cop Cam on several occasions and the only thing I have been able to get is audio. The range that it is supposed to record it does not reach. It does not record in the night vision. The only good thing I can say about this product is all I have heard and seen was voices. I am very dissatisfied and I will give you a very low rating. I don't know what I expect for you to do but I was expecting to at least have what they said it could do. It is very bad quality and it needs a lot of bug fixing on it. As you are recording it does have a timestamp on it, but it is wrong and in the instructions, there is no way of setting the correct day and time.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 59 out 60 people found this review helpful

    Piece of junk

    • Michigan,
    • Feb 3, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I bought my Cop Cam about a week ago, gave me a good picture for about 2 minutes then after that I got nothing but something flashing purple, and still, the camera doesn't work. They need to be put out and jailed for what they sell and charge. Take it from me, a SUCKER, do not buy.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 45 out 47 people found this review helpful

    Doesn't show video footage

    • Tucson, AZ,
    • Feb 2, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I purchased Cop Cam the other day and put it to use on my walk, then used it for a dash cam in my truck. When I got home, I pulled the memory card out and inserted the card into my tablet and all I got was sound and no video.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 65 out 69 people found this review helpful

    NOT a good product.

    • Kentucky,
    • Jan 22, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I got this Cop Cam from Bed Bath & Beyond in the first part of January. I used it 8 or 10 times and the press record button no longer works. The few times that it did work there was a purple light flashing on the recording, the battery lasts about 5 minutes, the date stamp on the video is incorrect, night recordings are terrible. Don't waste your money; it is not a good product. I would rate it a half star if I could. I would not recommend it to an enemy. I am very disappointed with it.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 81 out 81 people found this review helpful

    Don't buy any product from these people

    • Florida,
    • Jan 17, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    The makers of Cop Cam do not stand behind their product! They say they will only give you a 30-day warranty from the date of purchase. My wife purchased two of these at the end of November to give to me for Christmas. On January 13th I was going to use both cams and one of the new ones was defective. I called the people at BulbHead and they just said, sorry, it's over 30 days since the order was placed. The defect was within the inside of the camera where you plug in the charger. Apparently the USB port was not attached very well when it was made. A reputable company would have said, no problem, we will ship you another one. BUT NOT THESE PEOPLE.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 30

Write a Review for Cop Cam!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review