About Cop Cam

By HighYa Staff
Published on: Sep 12, 2018

Cop Cam from Atomic Beam is a wireless security camera that’s less than one square inch in size, making it ideal to hide virtually anywhere and record footage whenever motion is detected.

The website explains that the device also records footage in HD resolution, uses a powerful built-in microphone to record audio as well, and captures up to a 140° field of vision—twice that of traditional cameras.

Recordings will automatically loop once the microSD card runs out of space. And when the time comes, you can quickly view and upload footage directly to your computer.

With such a competitive price—especially compared to many other dashboard, body, action, and night cams, will Cop Cam necessarily deliver an equal level of value? Stick with us for a few minutes, and we'll help provide valuable insight—starting with the price and the manufacturer.

How Much Does Cop Cam Cost?

One Cop Cam device is priced at $19.99, plus $9.99 S&H. During checkout, you can order a second mini-camera for an additional $19.99 fee.

The website advertises that all orders are automatically upgraded to the Elite model, which includes six infrared LEDs for recording potential threats at night. It also comes with a swivel clip that can turn it into a dashcam, as well as allows it to attach to clothing for use as a body cam. An 8GB micro-SD card is included with each one.

Regardless of the number you order, all Cop Cams come with a 30-day refund policy, less S&H charges, as well as any fees attached to the second device. To request one, you’ll need to call Bulbhead (a division of Telebrands) customer support at 855-668-1655.

What Do We Know About the Company Behind Cop Cam?

Fairfield-NJ-based Telebrands is the largest company in the As Seen on TV industry and has been in business for more than 35 years. During this time, they've released hundreds of popular products, including recent hits like Atomic Beam USA Flashlight, Red Copper Pan, Hurricane 360 Spin Mop, and Ped Egg Power.

As a company, Telebrands held a B+ rating with the Better Business Bureau, based on more than 25 customer reviews and nearly 300 closed complaints, as of 7/10/18. Most of these appeared related to less-than-stellar quality and customer support experiences, although a company representative responded with a resolution in most instances.

Are There Other Miniature Video Cameras Like Cop Cam?

Searching online at the time of writing for variations of terms like ‘miniature video camera,' ‘mini spycam,' and ‘hidden surveillance cameras' returned a significant number of options in the same market as Cop Cam.

Many boasted similar features, like a sub-one-inch square design, HD resolution, motion detection, micro-SD card functionality with automatic looping, a built-in microphone, and a 140° field of vision.

In fact, some (such as the LXMIMI Hidden Spy Camera available on Amazon, as but one example) seemed to be designed almost identically to Cop Cam, including six LEDs for night vision, stripes on the top and bottom, and the same button placement.

While this model was priced along the same lines at about $20, we came across other functionally identical ones for less than $15, with meaningfully lower S&H charges, along with no non-refundable fees for additional units ordered.

Does this necessarily mean that one of these lower-priced options will deliver better value than Cop Cam? How can you decide which way to go? Let's address these essential questions while wrapping everything up.

Bottom Line: What to Consider When Buying Cop cam

Looking through the Cop Cam website, we were unable to locate answers to some technical questions we had as consumers that we feel may be essential details that any individual needs to know to make an empowered decision about whether or not to buy a miniature spy camera. For example:

  • What’s the motion detection range?
  • After the motion sensor is triggered, for how long will it record video?
  • How long will the battery last? How long does it take to recharge?
  • What’s the camera’s resolution (720p or 1080p)?
  • What is the microphone’s resolution? From how far away will it pick up sounds?
  • Does the lens feature auto-focus capabilities?

We are told that once the included 8 GB microSD runs out of space, it will automatically loop back to the beginning and record over the oldest footage. How much time might this deliver?

While “results will vary based on file size, resolution, compression, bit rate, content, host device, pre-loaded files and other factors,” Sandisk (one popular microSD card manufacturer) reports that their 8 GB memory devices will hold up to 160 minutes (a little more than 2.5 hours) of video if recorded at 6 Mbps. However, this time drops to 40 minutes if recorded at 24 Mbps.

Again, without knowing Cop Cam's automatic recording time once motion is detected (for example, is it just a few seconds, or minutes?) or its resolution, there's no way to know precisely how much time this might deliver. But it's certainly something to keep in mind if you plan on placing the spycam in a frequently trafficked area.

Finally, although Cop Cam is wireless, remember that you’ll have to regularly plug it in to keep it charged (again, no details were available from support regarding battery length or recharging times). Also, the footage is not transmitted wirelessly and requires you to manually eject the microSD card and download any footage it contains directly to a secondary device.

In the end, although Telebrands stands behind Cop Cam—like most of their other products—with a 30-day refund policy, there are a whole lot of unknowns that might impede customers from making a fully informed decision.

And considering consumers stand to lose their initial $9.99 S&H, return charges to the company, as well as the BOGO fee ($19.99, if ordered), it's certainly not a risk-free transaction from a monetary perspective.

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!

21 Consumer Reviews for Cop Cam

Average Consumer Rating: 1.2
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 0 4 star: 1 3 star: 0 2 star: 1 1 star:  19
Bottom Line: 5% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 21
Sort reviews by:

  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    NOT a good product.

    • Kentucky,
    • Jan 22, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I got this Cop Cam from Bed Bath & Beyond in the first part of January. I used it 8 or 10 times and the press record button no longer works. The few times that it did work there was a purple light flashing on the recording, the battery lasts about 5 minutes, the date stamp on the video is incorrect, night recordings are terrible. Don't waste your money; it is not a good product. I would rate it a half star if I could. I would not recommend it to an enemy. I am very disappointed with it.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 11 out 11 people found this review helpful

    Don't buy any product from these people

    • Florida,
    • Jan 17, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    The makers of Cop Cam do not stand behind their product! They say they will only give you a 30-day warranty from the date of purchase. My wife purchased two of these at the end of November to give to me for Christmas. On January 13th I was going to use both cams and one of the new ones was defective. I called the people at BulbHead and they just said, sorry, it's over 30 days since the order was placed. The defect was within the inside of the camera where you plug in the charger. Apparently the USB port was not attached very well when it was made. A reputable company would have said, no problem, we will ship you another one. BUT NOT THESE PEOPLE.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 21 out 21 people found this review helpful

    How to order and how not to order

    • Massachusetts,
    • Jan 11, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    After watching the Cop Cam infomercial, I decided to give it a try. I first went online to place my order, but quickly got confused. Don't order from their main site: https://www.buycopcam.com/?mid=9988357. It does not allow for ala-carte' orders. So I did not check out online. Next I called the online order phone number 800-516-6956. That was a mistake too. It is completely automated. I thought I it allow me access to a live customer service rep at some time, but it didn't. I continued with my phone order, thinking that at the end, it would summarize my order (in detail). It didn't. After completing my phone order, I later found a website that allows more customized orders: http://www.getcopcam.com/contactus.jsp. I wish I would have placed my order that way.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 27 out 27 people found this review helpful

    JUNK!

    • Ohio,
    • Jan 11, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I agree completely with Kristina J from Little Rock.

    1. It records when there is no motion.

    2. It has a purple flash every other second when recording.

    3. The video is garbage. Can't make out anything clearly.

    4. Can't make out ANYTHING when it records at night.

    5. The battery doesn't last very long at all.

    6. It has the wrong date stamp on the video and there's no way to correct it.

    I bought this at Bed, Bath & Beyond because I'm trying to catch the jerk that keeps bringing his BIG dog to leave his HUGE deposits on my lawn. What a waste of time and money. I guess I should have known and bought a REAL camera system the first time. I'm taking this piece of crap back and going out to buy a real surveillance system. It won't be cheap, but I guess you get what you pay for.

    I wouldn't recommend this to my worst enemy.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 23 out 24 people found this review helpful

    Total scam! They charged me twice!

    • Tampa, FL,
    • Jan 10, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    First off. The cams are not any good. It’s nothing like what is shown on the commercial (in regards to quality and ease). All these reviews are correct. Especially, the battery charge and the auto sensors.

    I spent $99 for two deluxe Cop Cams. They charged me back on December 9th. And I just got charged again today. When you try calling them, good luck speaking to someone who speaks English. You’re going to get a call center in India. Secondly, they are extremely rude and will transfer you several times. Finally, they refused to refund the second charge. Saying "the charge in December was never processed. It was an error on their end and just charged the account now. For the inconvenience, they’ll credit me $10 for the confusion." Well, good luck sending them back. They make it impossible to do so. So needless to say I’ve already disputed the charge with PayPal and will cancel my PayPal account if they refuse to assist. And I’m going to further dispute it with my credit card company regardless and order a replacement card if I have to.

    Do yourself a favor and don’t even buy anything from this company. Complete joke of a company.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 25 out 26 people found this review helpful

    Mine won't hold a charge

    • Ohio,
    • Jan 7, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I bought my Cop Cam for Christmas, used it a couple of times at work, great, but after that, it won't work. It doesn't hold it charge, it won't even stay on when you need it to, and I've only had it like 2 or 3 weeks. I can't get ahold of anyone to exchange it because I bought mine at a store and they won't exchange it. There's no way I can go to the website, and they won't take it back. Good luck with yours.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 15 out 21 people found this review helpful

    What I expected

    • Michigan,
    • Jan 5, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    We purchased from Bed Bath & Beyond for $19.99. We didn’t expect a lot because of the cheap price. Left it to charge and forgot about it. Little did I know I had turned it on. We enjoyed watching the videos this morning though it was often pointed at the ceiling. The sound was good and the video surprisingly good. Better than anticipated. We needed an SD adapter to view on the computer. You can’t just plug it in. You also have to open the videos using Windows Media Player. To change the date and time you have to open the timerest.txt file, change it, and save. I like it a lot and plan to use it to check on the person who comes in to check my dogs during the day because there have been some questions about their care.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 17 out 18 people found this review helpful

    Poor quality pictures and no video

    • San Tan Valley, AZ,
    • Jan 5, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    This product is not worth buying. The photos are not clear and at times just a blur, and as for the video, there is none. When I contacted the company for a return label, I was told to just mail the product back to the return address on the box at my cost.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 25 out 25 people found this review helpful

    Cop Cam disappointment

    • Nashville, TN,
    • Jan 3, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Very disappointed with the performance of the Cop Cam - it does not hold a charge, the motion sensor does not work, and the quality of the video is sub-par.

    I got the camera to see wildlife getting into our covered screen porch and see what the animals were. When I got my Cop Cams, I immediately made sure that they were charged and placed them out to see what was going on at night. They both shut off within 3-4 minutes and then were not activated again all night.

    What a disappointment and I will pursue sending them back to get whatever money I can since they are just trash otherwise.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 72 out 72 people found this review helpful

    Shoulda' known better

    • Burtonsville, MD,
    • Dec 28, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    During the initial order phone call I became frustrated due to the misleading nature of the infomercial. It was advertised as a $19.95 item. Then it became a $32.00 item with the second camera at $19.99. Then they wanted to upsell a larger memory card and a bunch of other unwanted crap. So I didn't even complete the order. That, of course, did not avoid a $50.00 charge on my credit card. The product really, really is a useless piece of crap and I'd loudly proclaim to anyone considering this product or this company to run for the hill. Extreme rip off!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jan 1, 2019

      Keri W.

      Order that crap online, never use the telephone option.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 82 out 82 people found this review helpful

    Junk

    • Madera, CA,
    • Dec 20, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    It's a total piece of junk. Please, folks, do not waste your money. I ordered two deluxe models, which cost me $102. I don't know why so much. I have not been able to get either one to work. The directions are awful, doesn't tell you how to troubleshoot anything. Don't waste your money.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 21

Write a Review for Cop Cam!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review