About Copper Fit

Whether you’re a professional athlete, a weekend warrior, or just enjoy gardening in your spare time, Copper Fit is a brand of knee and elbow compression sleeves claimed to help support painful, stiff, and sore muscles, and to prevent the buildup of bacteria.

In order to accomplish this, the compression provided by Copper Fit is claimed to stabilize and support muscles, improve muscle circulation and oxygenation, prevent muscle strain and fatigue, and to help reduce muscle recovery time. In addition, Copper Fit is claimed to be lightweight and comfortable, to wick sweat and prevent chafing, and to feature anti-static and anti-piling (prevents it from bunching) properties.

When compared to other compression sleeves though, Copper Fit’s namesake is in its copper-infused fabric, which is claimed to help prevent the buildup of bacteria that can lead to the appearance of stains and odors, and that can accelerate fabric deterioration. While these copper ions only make up about 4% of Copper Fit’s total materials, the company makes it seem like it’s the greatest thing since sliced bread.

But is this really the case? In other words, can you really expect Copper Fit to works as advertised, and is it worth your hard-earned money? Consider the following:

What’s Different About Copper Fit?

As we mentioned above, the primary selling point for Copper Fit is that these sleeves contain copper-infused fabric, which is claimed to help prevent the buildup of bacteria, as well as the stains, odors, and deterioration this can cause. We’ll talk more about the effectiveness of this copper-infused fabric in a moment.

For now though, keep in mind that once you clear all the marketing hype away, there doesn’t seem to be any significant difference between Copper Fit sleeves and a generic neoprene sleeve you’d find at your local pharmacy or sporting goods store.

Can Copper Fit’s Compression Provide Any Benefits?

As we detailed in our The Science of Compression Wear article, prescription-only compression garments have been used in medicine for many decades, due to their ability to “prevent the occurrence of, and guard against further progression of venous disorders,” prevent the formation of blood clots, improve blood flow, reduce inflammation, and more.

However, when compared to consumer-grade compression wear (like Copper Fit), medical-grade compression garments “use stronger elastics to create significant pressure.” In other words, the amount of compression—and therefore the level of benefits you’ll receive—is much higher with compression wear used in the medical community.

Are There Any Health Benefits Related to the Copper in Copper Fit?

Here’s where you have to tread lightly. This is because the Copper Fit website uses some fuzzy language when it comes to copper’s benefits, claiming it “is known to possess antimicrobial properties and enhancement benefits.” Exactly what these “enhancement benefits” are isn’t made clear. But what about copper’s anti-microbial properties?

In short, the copper-infused fabric featured in Copper Fit may help reduce bacteria buildup, which can help prevent odor and stains. After all, you’ll probably be fairly active in your Copper Fit sleeve, so it’s perfectly reasonable that it will get dirty and sweaty.

Keep in mind though, that Copper Fit claims that their copper-infused fabric has been “tested to remain effective for numerous washes.” In other words, after a long enough period of time has passed, all (or most) of the copper will no longer be present.

See also: Can Copperwear Provide You With Pain Relief?

Are Customers Having Good Experiences with Copper Fit?

Based on 100 HighYa reader reviews for Copper Fit (as of 2/13/15), Copper Fit has an average rating of 2 stars, with common complaints citing:

  • Poor quality products that don’t provide adequate compression.
  • Poor customer service (difficulty processing refunds, numerous upsells during calls).
  • High S&H charges (more about this next).
  • Extremely long shipping times, often lasting 2+ months.

Copper Fit’s manufacturer, Idea Village based out of Wayne, NJ, holds an A rating with the Better Business Bureau, despite holding more than 130 closed complaints. Most of these mirror the complaints noted above.

Copper Fit Pricing & Refund Policy

2 Copper Fit knee or elbow sleeves are priced at $19.99 plus $15.98 S&H, and are available in size S-XXL.

Note: Keep in mind that when you’re asked how many “Buy One Get One Knee (or Elbow) Sleeves” you’d like during checkout, this references the number of pairs, or sets, that you’d like. In other words, don’t be fooled into thinking that you can order 1 elbow sleeve and 1 knee sleeve. If you do something like this, you’ll actually end up paying twice ($35.97 X 2).

Copper Fit comes with a 30-day refund policy, less S&H charges. This means that if you decide to return your sleeves, you’ll immediately lose nearly $16 in S&H charges, in addition to whatever it will cost to ship them back to the manufacturer. In reality, you might end up losing more in S&H charges than you’ll receive as a refund, which is a tactic many ASOTV products use.

With this said, in order to process a refund you’ll need to contact customer service at 855-818-8300.

Will Copper Fit Provide Improved Mobility & Reduced Pain?

Chopping to the point: If you suffer from minor mobility problems or joint pain, the mild compression provided by Copper Fit sleeves may help provide some relief. However, other than perhaps providing some microbial protection, the copper contained in Copper Fit provides no health benefits whatsoever.

This means that, from a performance perspective, it’s likely that Copper Fit will provide the same level of support as any generic neoprene sleeve from your local pharmacy. In fact, Copper Fit is available at a variety of retailers, so if you’re dead-set on trying it out, this can help you save a ton of hassle if you need to return it, as well as losing a big chunk of change in non-refundable S&H charges.

Related: Common Sports Injuries: Your Guide to How They Happen & Best Ways to Prevent Them

What to Learn How to Shop Smarter for TV Products?

Join over 3 million HighYa readers who receive weekly how-to guides, tips & reviews and get a FREE COPY of our 145 Scam Hacks e-book. Enter your email below to get started!

220 Consumer Reviews for Copper Fit

Average Consumer Rating: 2.3
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 48 4 star: 19 3 star: 6 2 star: 15 1 star:  132
Bottom Line: 33% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 220
Sort reviews by:

  • Caused blisters

    • Vacaville, CA,
    • Oct 10, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I purchased the knee brace from the store where I work. The first few times I used it (maybe 3) everything was fine and I noticed that my soreness was gone. The last time I used it, I didn't notice anything wrong until I got home and got undressed to take a shower. Where the upper band wrapped around the lower part of my thigh, there was a welt that wrapped around my entire leg and numerous blisters in the area. I'm not sure what caused this, but I will not be using this product again.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Copper Fit socks

    I bought the L/XLG size, but there is no bleep "bleeping" way I could get these socks on. I could barely stretch them open enough to get my thumbs out of then. Ten dollars down the drain. I purchased them at Walgreens for $9.98 a pair. The package doesn't have any contact info, i.e. a website or customer service number. Looks like they know it is a bogus product, shame on you.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Took my pain away in 15 minutes

    • Colorado,
    • Aug 28, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    These things are legit! I have myofascial pain syndrome, and I have been dealing with a concussion since May, which has kept me on the couch. Normally my feet throb all the time due to the fascia. 15 minutes after inserting these, my pain seriously started to go away, so I decided to go for a walk. Amazed! My feet are not throbbing. There's almost no pain in my feet nor my calves, which are so tight my trainer uses a PVC pipe to roll them. I've been dealing with this for three years and to suddenly have the pain subside in 15 minutes is nothing short of a miracle as far as I'm concerned. Copper Fit all the way!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Scam alert!

    • Vero Beach, Florida,
    • Aug 10, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    Check your bank statement if you purchase from this company. My husband purchased a back brace. Every month since the purchase, they have been taking $24.95 out of our account with the statement reading "WC Value Plus" and "Home Play." Check your bank statements. This is a big scam!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Products don't last, made very cheap

    I've purchased a few back braces and knee sleeves from Copper Fit. Nothing seems to last. The velcro on the back braces literally lasts a month or two tops. And I called customer service and the lady asked her supervisor if she can reimburse me or sent me another brace, and the supervisor said no. There are cheaper products out there that actually last.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 7 out 12 people found this review helpful

    Stay Away

    A few hours after applying the copper belt to my bare back I began getting a burning feeling in my chest that felt like I was having a heart attack.

    I removed the belt and within two hours was back to normal.

    I must be very allergic to something in the belt.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jul 22, 2017

      John

      Maybe if you bought the proper size, you wouldn't have that issue. My son and I have used them for two years and have not experienced any issues. Don't expect miracles, but for moderate pain and support, they definitely help.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 8 out 13 people found this review helpful

    Knee compression causes injury

    • South San Francisco, CA,
    • May 23, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I bought a pair of Copper Fit Knee Compression Sleeves and wore them in both knees for about six hours. They felt good BUT, as soon as I took them off, I've noticed a severe ring of red irritation on both my thighs above the knee, which were caused by the rubber strip lining on the inside of the sleeve designed to hold the sleeve in place. The following morning, blisters on the irritation showed up.

    Dick's at Serramonte Shopping Center in Daly City, CA was an absolute jerk about my complaint even when faced with the evidence.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • May 28, 2017

      jerry tekell

      Copper really does help with joint pain and arthritis. I have used copper for almost a lifetime for joint and back pain. However, Copper Fit has almost no copper in it, and certainly not enough to do anyone good. It's a great shame and money grabber you will have to admit. Copper bracelets work miracles for you, but you have to wear them all the time.

      JT

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 5 people found this review helpful

    High quality and comfort

    • Santa Barbara, CA,
    • May 9, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have been using these socks for years. They are super comfortable, and they don't slip down into your shoe. I play tennis in them several times per week. They are like new after a few years of wear. I did buy about 12 pairs so I would never run out of them. My feet never hurt after playing or exercising, and I attribute it all to these wonderful socks.

    I would highly recommend them to anyone with any type of foot issue.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 4 people found this review helpful

    The sleeves work

    I bought one set of elbow sleeves for my wife. They relieved her pain and allowed her to sleep better.

    The first set helped so much we re-ordered the elbow sleeves and ordered the knee and ankle sleeves also.

    Definitely a good product.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 6 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Love this product

    I have had fibromyalgia for ten years, sitting and going to bed at night was a nightmare. I would cry out in pain at night, and it would take me some time to get out of bed. My brother gave me a pair of the footies, and I wore them to that night. I was able to sleep all night without pain. I went out and bought the long pair and some more of the footies, but I gave them away because they helped me so much.

    Now if only you could make it in a pantyhose and shapewear. I would definitely buy them. I am so grateful to have these. It has been over a week since I first tried them and I don't have any pain. Please consider my suggestion. Thank you, I am able to sleep at night.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 7 out 10 people found this review helpful

    Deceptive company

    They have a confusing website that will not indicate the extra pair promised. So, when you update your item to indicate two items, it automatically completes your order for two pairs. This is without clicking a submit button.

    Also, you call customer service, and they tell you that you have to wait for three hours to four days for processing to reflect in their system, only to receive debit the next few hours and being told that your order has been shipped. Now your shipping and handling in not refundable and you will have to pay some money to ship it back too.

    Everything was designed to make sure they get money out of you.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 220

Write a Review for Copper Fit!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review