About Copper Wear

Copper Wear is a line of “As Seen on TV” compression wear that claims to conform to every contour of your body, to support your joints, and to increase circulation. The company claims you’ll realize these benefits as soon as you slip their compression garments on, and that they are manufactured using eco-friendly processes.

CopperWear is manufactured by TriStar products, which holds an A+ Better Business Bureau, despite having more than 1,000 complaints over the past three years. Regarding CopperWear specifically, the product has been trademarked since early 2013, though we were only able to locate a few legitimate customers reviews during our research. This could be due to the fact that CopperWear appears to have been placed on the market and then removed from TriStar’s product lineup shortly thereafter, only to recently reappear once again. With this said, the most common complaint we encountered cited poor customer service from the company, but nothing specifically regarding the product.

How Copper Wear Works

Similar to Copper Wear and Tommie Copper, Copper Wear is a line of compression clothing that claims to offer comfort and great performance. Unlike these brands though, CopperWear claims to include 30% more copper embedded directly into the fabric, which is a trace mineral that helps keep you cool and dry, while also reducing exposure to microbial growth.

All Copper Wear products are manufactured using 36-gauge performance fabric that features incredibly fast wicking power to help quickly absorb and release moisture. This way, we’re told it won't interfere with your body's ability to regulate temperature.

See Also: 7 Things You Should Know About As Seen on TV Products Before Buying

Despite this, Copper Wear claims their lightweight fabric is soft to the touch, moves with you, and conforms to every contour of your body.

Copper Wear garments promise to “give you compression when you need it,” can be worn 24 hours a day—even while sleeping—and are particularly useful after an injury in order to “soothe muscle stiffness and improve blood circulation.” Garments are also claimed to support to the muscles and joints in the neck, shoulders, torso and back, to improve circulation, reduce the buildup of lactic acid, and deliver more oxygen to your heart.

CopperWear offers a fairly extensive catalog of compression wear, including shorts, t-shirts, sleeves, full and open-finger gloves, socks, and more. All CopperWear products are machine washable, and are available in sizes from small to 2X.

CopperWear Pricing & Refund Policy

Copper Wear garments currently range in price from $12.99 to $24.99, plus $3.99 S&H. You can also purchase any five items for $40.

Copper Wear compression garments come with a 60-day money back guarantee, less shipping and handling charges. You’ll need to call customer service at (973) 287-5190 to begin the process.

Bottom Line: Is Copper Wear a Scam?

At this point you’ve learned a lot about CopperWear, but what’s the bottom line: Are they a scam? Overall, we have no reason to believe that CopperWear is a scam, but there are some factors you should consider prior to purchasing.

First, even though compression wear has been used medically for quite some time, they’ve recently become a big fad in the consumer sports market. But do they actually work? According to this article, there are very few studies available (outside of manufacturer’s own “clinical testing”) for compression wear. However, according to one study conducted in 2007, “no performance enhancement” was shown, but most participants experienced a “reduction in delayed onset muscle soreness.” Another that same year showed that “no statistical difference was observed during exercise with compression socks,” while “there was a statistical difference in recovery of blood lactate concentrations after the test was completed while wearing the compression socks.” Finally, a third independent study in 2009 concluded “there was no statistical effect on performance.”

So what does this mean? Ultimately, based on the existing data, it appears compression wear does help with post-workout recovery and increased circulation. With this said, it does not appear to provide any immediate performance advantage.

Second, CopperWear is an “As Seen on TV” product, which typically carry lower customer satisfaction ratings than their mainstream counterparts. Also, keep in mind that the product is manufactured by TriStar, which has a reputation for relatively poor customer service.

Finally, like nearly any other medical device, CopperWear garments will not provide the same benefits to everyone who uses them. If you have any questions, we strongly recommend discussing it with your physician prior to use.

See Also: The Science of Compression Wear: Is it Hype or Hope?

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!

110 Consumer Reviews for Copper Wear

Average Consumer Rating: 2.6
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 34 4 star: 9 3 star: 7 2 star: 4 1 star:  56
Bottom Line: 45% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 110
Sort reviews by:

  • 20 out 22 people found this review helpful

    Knee Sleeve

    • White Plains, NY,
    • Jun 30, 2015

    I did not even get to try the product. The Copper Wear website promised delivery in 3-4 weeks. During that period I called twice to check on the status of my order. Both times I was told that the product was back-ordered and that delivery would be expedited. On my second call, I was even promised delivery a day after the 4-week period promised on the website. Since I did not receive the order on the date promised, I called a third time and was told to my order remains back-ordered and to wait another 2 weeks -- that's 6 weeks after the order date. Exasperated, I canceled my order. At 3-4 weeks, the delivery time promised on the website is one of the longest out there, if not, the longest. Even by that standard, the company still could not deliver on time and would have me wait another two weeks with no assurance of definite delivery on the 6th week. My suggestion: Before ordering from the company, shop around for suppliers that can guarantee fast and timely delivery of the product, since the copper-based technology will be the same anyway for all competing products.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 18 out 19 people found this review helpful

    Terrible service

    • Connecticut,
    • May 27, 2014

    I ordered a copper wear sleeve on April 24 which a delivery date of 2-3 weeks. It has been over 1 month and still no sleeve - order status says "in progress". When I called 2 weeks ago I was told the item is on back order and will ship on May 25 (which is a Sunday so I was skeptical ) Now May 27 still no sleeve, so I called and was told that item is on back order and will ship in 2 weeks. We will see. All the company needed to do is tell the truth - when you search on customer status it should say back order with a date and when it would be shipped.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 22 out 24 people found this review helpful

    Copper Wear knee sleeve

    • Illinois,
    • Jul 1, 2015

    As similar to other reviewers, going thru great knee pain And on April 25 I ordered the product. Unlike some others I did get customer service which I'm sure were foreigners located in other countries. I found their English difficult to understand and they insisted the product was on backorder. I am now on week six of waiting and just received notice that my order shipped the other day.

    I went to USPS to track order and of course , no record of the receipt. However this is common with the Post office so , still waiting! Cant say I recommend product since they are poor communicators and the shipping is slower than molasses in January. We will see. Still holding out hope I receive the knee sleeves.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jun 15, 2014

      Ramon,

      No record of receipt is not common with the Post Office. It just depends on what type of delivery service was purchased and when so a blanket statement like this is just speculation.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 20 out 20 people found this review helpful

    Too many undelivered promises.

    • Iowa,
    • Jul 2, 2015

    I ordered the elbow sleeves to try it for myself on 5/19/14.

    On 6/5/14 I called to inquire about delivery: "back order, 2 weeks for delivery".

    On 6/18/14 I called to inquire about delivery: "back order, delivered by 6/28/14 via UPS".

    On 7/2/14 I called to inquire about delivery: "back order, 2 weeks for delivery".

    I won't wait any longer so I'm taking my business elsewhere.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 17 out 18 people found this review helpful

    Copper wear beware

    • Pennsylvania,
    • Jul 3, 2014

    Product took forever to receive, ordered 1 knee and 1 elbow sleeve, after 2 months I wound up with 2 knee braces. Tried one on an aching knee, did not work as well as said on TV. As a matter of fact I wound up with a burn mark on my upper leg from the band. I now have twice as much pain. Horrible product.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 5 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Never received!

    • Vermont,
    • Jul 21, 2014

    Told 3 times the order is on back order, yet they show the infomercials dozens of times a day. Finally canceled the order after 10 weeks with no product.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 12 out 12 people found this review helpful

    Rip off. Buy Tommy Copper.

    • New Jersey,
    • Jul 4, 2015

    The email states "Buy 1 and Get The 2nd Free-just pay P&H." Try ordering a size large. Take the offer and your cost with "P&H" is amazingly $78.95. What a scam. That's with tax, to be fair, as a NJ resident. Don't waste your time or money. Buy the Tommy Copper version if you're going to give these things a shot.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 11 out 12 people found this review helpful

    Totally discouraged.

    • Whiting, NJ,
    • Jul 4, 2015

    July 31, 6:15 PM, called and was given an automated recording. Half-way through, I realized I couldn't complete order. Hung up, went to live chat. I wanted to speak to a live person. At 6:30 (15 minutes later) I was told it takes four hours to process this so I would have to call back at 9 AM the next day to cancel this order. I did that and was told it had already been shipped this morning and there was nothing I could do but send it back or refuse to accept it. I was told that the full price would be refunded but I have a feeling that shipping and handling will be kept and if that happens I will be contacting the better business bureau. I can't be the only person they did this to. They completed my order with a size I didn't even get to complete. They never gave me a complete price shipping date or anything to say this order was complete. However, they took this amount out of my bank account and charged me more than I would have been willing to pay had I known what they were going to pull. I would never tell anybody I was satisfied with this kind of treatment. And if I don't get a full refund, I will be contacting a Lawyer.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 6 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Still waiting

    • Mid-Michigan,
    • Aug 5, 2014

    While I would love to write a review of the product I have still not received my order placed on April 28, 2014. Phone calls have not resulted in any satisfaction and have consisted of promises of expediting my order.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 10 out 11 people found this review helpful

    Unhappy customer

    • California,
    • Aug 5, 2014

    I saw this advertised on TV and then checked it out online. Obviously I did not read the reviews. I placed my order in the evening Pacific standard time. The next morning while shopping I found the same product for $9.99 I called immediately and asked to cancel my order or receive an adjustment to meet the price I had seen. It had not even been a total of 12 hours. They told me my order had already been shipped and I could not cancel. I did not receive a shipping email till a few days later saying the product had been shipped. To cancel the order I needed to pay a $15 shipping charge on top and the $15 shipping charge I already paid. The people on the phone rude and very uncooperative! You could tell that they definitely had dealt with many unsatisfied customers. I feel totally taken.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Aug 12, 2014

      Manny,

      Debbie,

      Which product did you purchase and what store did you find it for $9.99. I live in South Bay Area, CA . I would appreciate a response, thanks.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 11 out 11 people found this review helpful

    Order Delays

    • Michigan,
    • Aug 6, 2014

    Terrible! I ordered the elbow sleeve a month ago and never received it. I contacted customer service constantly and was told 7 to 10 days on back order. Terrible Service!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 110

Write a Review for Copper Wear!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review