About Copper Wear

Copper Wear is a line of “As Seen on TV” compression wear that claims to conform to every contour of your body, to support your joints, and to increase circulation. The company claims you’ll realize these benefits as soon as you slip their compression garments on, and that they are manufactured using eco-friendly processes.

CopperWear is manufactured by TriStar products, which holds an A+ Better Business Bureau, despite having more than 1,000 complaints over the past three years. Regarding CopperWear specifically, the product has been trademarked since early 2013, though we were only able to locate a few legitimate customers reviews during our research. This could be due to the fact that CopperWear appears to have been placed on the market and then removed from TriStar’s product lineup shortly thereafter, only to recently reappear once again. With this said, the most common complaint we encountered cited poor customer service from the company, but nothing specifically regarding the product.

How Copper Wear Works

Similar to Copper Wear and Tommie Copper, Copper Wear is a line of compression clothing that claims to offer comfort and great performance. Unlike these brands though, CopperWear claims to include 30% more copper embedded directly into the fabric, which is a trace mineral that helps keep you cool and dry, while also reducing exposure to microbial growth.

All Copper Wear products are manufactured using 36-gauge performance fabric that features incredibly fast wicking power to help quickly absorb and release moisture. This way, we’re told it won't interfere with your body's ability to regulate temperature.

See Also: 7 Things You Should Know About As Seen on TV Products Before Buying

Despite this, Copper Wear claims their lightweight fabric is soft to the touch, moves with you, and conforms to every contour of your body.

Copper Wear garments promise to “give you compression when you need it,” can be worn 24 hours a day—even while sleeping—and are particularly useful after an injury in order to “soothe muscle stiffness and improve blood circulation.” Garments are also claimed to support to the muscles and joints in the neck, shoulders, torso and back, to improve circulation, reduce the buildup of lactic acid, and deliver more oxygen to your heart.

CopperWear offers a fairly extensive catalog of compression wear, including shorts, t-shirts, sleeves, full and open-finger gloves, socks, and more. All CopperWear products are machine washable, and are available in sizes from small to 2X.

CopperWear Pricing & Refund Policy

Copper Wear garments currently range in price from $12.99 to $24.99, plus $3.99 S&H. You can also purchase any five items for $40.

Copper Wear compression garments come with a 60-day money back guarantee, less shipping and handling charges. You’ll need to call customer service at (973) 287-5190 to begin the process.

Bottom Line: Is Copper Wear a Scam?

At this point you’ve learned a lot about CopperWear, but what’s the bottom line: Are they a scam? Overall, we have no reason to believe that CopperWear is a scam, but there are some factors you should consider prior to purchasing.

First, even though compression wear has been used medically for quite some time, they’ve recently become a big fad in the consumer sports market. But do they actually work? According to this article, there are very few studies available (outside of manufacturer’s own “clinical testing”) for compression wear. However, according to one study conducted in 2007, “no performance enhancement” was shown, but most participants experienced a “reduction in delayed onset muscle soreness.” Another that same year showed that “no statistical difference was observed during exercise with compression socks,” while “there was a statistical difference in recovery of blood lactate concentrations after the test was completed while wearing the compression socks.” Finally, a third independent study in 2009 concluded “there was no statistical effect on performance.”

So what does this mean? Ultimately, based on the existing data, it appears compression wear does help with post-workout recovery and increased circulation. With this said, it does not appear to provide any immediate performance advantage.

Second, CopperWear is an “As Seen on TV” product, which typically carry lower customer satisfaction ratings than their mainstream counterparts. Also, keep in mind that the product is manufactured by TriStar, which has a reputation for relatively poor customer service.

Finally, like nearly any other medical device, CopperWear garments will not provide the same benefits to everyone who uses them. If you have any questions, we strongly recommend discussing it with your physician prior to use.

See Also: The Science of Compression Wear: Is it Hype or Hope?

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!

109 Consumer Reviews for Copper Wear

Average Consumer Rating: 2.6
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 34 4 star: 9 3 star: 6 2 star: 4 1 star:  56
Bottom Line: 45% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 109
Sort reviews by:

  • 27 out 32 people found this review helpful

    Relief for bad knees

    • Salinas, California,
    • Jun 15, 2015

    While I was channel surfing a commercial for Copper Wear caught my eye. I have pain in both my knees and was desperate to find relief. I wanted to purchase the item but the bad reviews about the customer service held me back. To my surprise I found the item in the "As Seen on TV" section in Walmart. I bought the knee sleeve and tried it on as soon as I got home. I was pleasantly surprised with the results I felt relief within a few minutes. I'm going to get a second sleeve for my other knee and take a long walk. Thank you Copper Wear.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 22 out 24 people found this review helpful

    Copper Wear knee sleeve

    • Illinois,
    • Jul 1, 2015

    As similar to other reviewers, going thru great knee pain And on April 25 I ordered the product. Unlike some others I did get customer service which I'm sure were foreigners located in other countries. I found their English difficult to understand and they insisted the product was on backorder. I am now on week six of waiting and just received notice that my order shipped the other day.

    I went to USPS to track order and of course , no record of the receipt. However this is common with the Post office so , still waiting! Cant say I recommend product since they are poor communicators and the shipping is slower than molasses in January. We will see. Still holding out hope I receive the knee sleeves.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jun 15, 2014

      Ramon,

      No record of receipt is not common with the Post Office. It just depends on what type of delivery service was purchased and when so a blanket statement like this is just speculation.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 19 out 26 people found this review helpful

    Knee sleeve

    • Hohenwald, TN,
    • Jun 28, 2015

    Helped relieve most pain, in knee that two prescribed steroid packs did not. Received order in 5 days. Had to return because I ordered wrong size, called customer service, they said they would send the XL size out so I could see which one fit best. Received exchange in 5 days. They even paid for return shipping of first order. Great customer service.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • May 27, 2014

      Tony,

      I did not even get to try the product. Website promised delivery in 3-4 weeks. During that period, I called twice to check the status of the delivery. Both times, I was told the product was back-ordered and that they would expedite. I was also told on my second call to expect delivery in on a certain date which was a day after one full month from the order date. So I called again a day after the promised delivery only to be told to wait another two weeks, or six weeks from the order date. Exasperated, I canceled my order because the company cannot deliver on promised delivery dates and keeps stalling. My suggestion: check out the other suppliers of copper-laced sleeves for faster and firmer deliveries. With Copper Wear, there is just no guarantee of when you will get your delivery if at all. Their website misrepresents delivery time which as it is already one of the longest out there, and even by the standard, they cannot deliver on time.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 19 out 21 people found this review helpful

    Knee Sleeve Order Confusion and Deception

    • Dobbins Ca.,
    • May 20, 2014

    I saw the ad on television and decided to try the product. What I wanted was a knee sleeve, buy one and get one free. All I had to do was pay an additional shipping and handling on the second sleeve. Easy enough right? When I called the order number I realized very soon that I was not going to get a live person, and couldn't request one. Instead I got this convoluted, automated, and deceptive marketing menu that leads you down the path of ordering items you don't want. After they get your credit card number they run a gauntlet of additional products at you in an intentionally confusing manner. After about twenty five minutes on the phone you have no idea what you have ordered. There is no review summary. Additionally, there is no verbal statement of final cost. 

    The next morning I called customer service and, as expected, found that I had somehow ordered an extra knee sleeve. I was able to have them cancel that extra sleeve. Even during this conversation the customer service agent kept trying to sell me other products and qualify me for gift certificates.

    I can only imagine how many other people get tricked into unnecessary purchases and don't follow up on their orders. I will never order through an automated purchase again.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Dec 21, 2014

      Anonymous,

      Wearing the elbow sleeve right now! Bought it last night while I was Christmas shopping! Bought it because my arm was hurting and thought I would give it a try. For me it is differently making a great difference. Today I have continued wearing it and I have had very little discomfort! I for one thinks it is a great buy! Love it, and it is comfortable ok. You can forget you have it on.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 20 out 22 people found this review helpful

    Knee Sleeve

    • White Plains, NY,
    • Jun 30, 2015

    I did not even get to try the product. The Copper Wear website promised delivery in 3-4 weeks. During that period I called twice to check on the status of my order. Both times I was told that the product was back-ordered and that delivery would be expedited. On my second call, I was even promised delivery a day after the 4-week period promised on the website. Since I did not receive the order on the date promised, I called a third time and was told to my order remains back-ordered and to wait another 2 weeks -- that's 6 weeks after the order date. Exasperated, I canceled my order. At 3-4 weeks, the delivery time promised on the website is one of the longest out there, if not, the longest. Even by that standard, the company still could not deliver on time and would have me wait another two weeks with no assurance of definite delivery on the 6th week. My suggestion: Before ordering from the company, shop around for suppliers that can guarantee fast and timely delivery of the product, since the copper-based technology will be the same anyway for all competing products.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 20 out 20 people found this review helpful

    Too many undelivered promises.

    • Iowa,
    • Jul 2, 2015

    I ordered the elbow sleeves to try it for myself on 5/19/14.

    On 6/5/14 I called to inquire about delivery: "back order, 2 weeks for delivery".

    On 6/18/14 I called to inquire about delivery: "back order, delivered by 6/28/14 via UPS".

    On 7/2/14 I called to inquire about delivery: "back order, 2 weeks for delivery".

    I won't wait any longer so I'm taking my business elsewhere.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 20 out 20 people found this review helpful

    Over charged order that was canceled and sent three months later anyway

    • Largo, FL,
    • Jul 6, 2015

    Not good business people because they caused me a lot of problems with my bank an account. Buy one get one free and one extra turned into 100 and some change. I canceled my order in May and they turned around three months later and sent the overcharged package anyway. Something is not right with this company, so buyer beware.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 19 out 22 people found this review helpful

    Horrible Customer Service

    • Palm Springs, CA,
    • Jul 8, 2015

    Received an internet offer by e-mail to purchase Copper Wear Products at $ 9.95 each including free shipping. I am a happy Tommie Copper user and decided to try Copper Wear as the price is very significantly lower.

    Tried numerous times to purchase two knee sleeves, using credit card or PayPal. I wanted product delivered to one address and had a different billing address. Tried and tried but was never able to complete the transaction. So, I called the numbers I could find- 973-287-5190 and 866-710-7796.

    Spoke to people at these numbers and same story. They knew nothing regarding there internet offer but had the knee sleeves at $19.95 plus, as I recall over $7 each for shipping and handling.

    I will never attempt to do any business with Copper Wear nor anything associated with Tri-Star.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Dec 3, 2014

      David Grich - Boston, Ma,

      I have an arthritic knee that just tightens up when I sit or drive. I bought this knee sleeve at Bed Bath and Beyond for $10. Trust me, it's works unbelievably well for me, I have been telling all my friends at the health club to try it, they have and found it to work as well. I only wear it during the day and when I play tennis. Next day when I get out of bed, the knee still feels great, not a scam at all.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 18 out 19 people found this review helpful

    Terrible service

    • Connecticut,
    • May 27, 2014

    I ordered a copper wear sleeve on April 24 which a delivery date of 2-3 weeks. It has been over 1 month and still no sleeve - order status says "in progress". When I called 2 weeks ago I was told the item is on back order and will ship on May 25 (which is a Sunday so I was skeptical ) Now May 27 still no sleeve, so I called and was told that item is on back order and will ship in 2 weeks. We will see. All the company needed to do is tell the truth - when you search on customer status it should say back order with a date and when it would be shipped.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 18 out 20 people found this review helpful

    Still waiting

    • New York, NY,
    • Jul 6, 2015

    I'm still waiting from when I ordered on April 21st. I was told that I'd get it in July, then in Aug, then in Sept. And was now told, it'll be there in 10 days. The same 10 days I was told back in July, August. You get the picture. This is a farce. Do not order this product from this company.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 17 out 20 people found this review helpful

    Does not work. This product sucks.

    • Phoenix, AZ,
    • Dec 22, 2014

    I ordered the elbow & knee sleeves. One set for me & one set for my husband. They did not fit either of us; the sleeves would slide off and we had the correct sizes. Do not waste your money. If you do want to try the product, buy it at retailers such as Target, Wal-Mart, etc. I ordered directly from "As Seen on TV" & they gladly let me return the product, but shipping & handling fees are non-refundable, thus I got stuck with paying them close to $30.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jan 11, 2015

      J,

      Sounds like you didn't have the right size.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 109

Write a Review for Copper Wear!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review