Start your review of Cratejoy:
  • 19 Customer Reviews
  • 11% Recommend This Company
1.4 out of 5
5 star: 10% 4 star: 0% 3 star: 0% 2 star: 0% 1 star: 89%

 Our Promise to You

To safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.

Sort reviews by:

  • Charged twice, canceled, haven't received anything, no response.

    I ordered two boxes from Cratejoy. One came quickly with no problem, but the other (for $39.82) never came. I sent an inquiry to which I only received an auto response saying they were looking into the issue and that someone would get back to me soon.

    After two inquiries and no response, I sent a third inquiry/request to cancel my subscription, only receiving the auto-response.

    On December 31st, 2017, I received an email from Cratejoy telling me that my subscription would renew the following day (on January 1st, 2018). I sent yet another inquiry/request ticket demanding that they cancel my subscription before it renews and telling them that I never even received the first order for which they charged me.

    The following day, on January 1st, 2018, I received an email from Cratejoy telling me that my subscription had renewed and I was charged another $43.32 this time. I wrote them another inquiry/request ticket, telling them I wanted to be reimbursed for the two charges and that they there is proof that they have received all of my inquiry/request tickets, as there is a ticket number generated along with their auto-responses each time I have sent them.

    To this day, I have not heard from anyone, have not been reimbursed, and have not received any merchandise. They only sent me saying that my account was canceled, after charging me a total of $83.14, for nothing.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Scam

    Cratejoy will let people pay for boxes that they never get, and they will do nothing about it. I was scammed out of two months of their sports box, and they said it was my problem.

    Now I joined another and it's two months late and again nothing. I am a sucker. Avoid at all costs!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Oct 6, 2017

      Company Response from Cratejoy

      Hi Troy,

      I apologize that you aren't getting the resolution you need. Can you send me a message with your contact information, and I will see what I can do?

      Ashley Conway

      ashley@cratejoy.com

      VP Customer Experience


  • Buyer beware!

    Okay, these horrible reviews are actually based on Cratejoy's old pricing; their new pricing is now a whopping $139 per month. This is what you pay to get to use their "website builder" and a built-in referral program. If you don't want your own website, you can only list your box in the Cratejoy Marketplace for $39.99 and have no other means of building your own brand or website.

    On top of this, if using their marketplace, they own your customer payment information. You can't get that info at all, you'd have to email customers one by one to resubscribe if ever you decide to have your own website. Then on top of the $139 or $39, they charge you their fees per transaction, which includes shipping, so they take their cut even from the shipping your customer pays for. On top of this, they take another 10%, which they say is their referral fee for listing you in the marketplace, which you are paying for already.

    Even as an existing customer, you are still robbed with their ridiculous fees, which includes shipping. Their website designer is horrible and antiquated and limited. Their add-on apps are horrible and limited. They have no Zapier support and no easy way of running an e-commerce site tied into your subscription business.

    It's important to note that I am both an old customer and a new customer. I have three subscription business; two are older and the new one is under a new LLC etc. After all the crap happening at Cratejoy, I have moved my businesses but kept the Cratejoy accounts open to service my old customers. New ones are all going through my new system with Shopify apps.

    I am slowly getting my old customers transferred to the new system so that I can effectively dump Cratejoy for good.

    Their process to innovate is also terribly slow. It takes them almost a year to implement 1-2 changes. They only recently added the ability to add an email address for a gift recipient!

    Older merchants are getting tired of the high fees, lack of communication and horrible customer service, even on their Facebook page where the customer representative is outright rude to anyone who questions Cratejoy policies or lack of communication on changes in policies.

    If they don't change their practices, they are going to lose a lot more than my thousands of subscribers.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • They charge fees grouped in with shipping

    • By Jennifer,
    • Clermont, FL,
    • Mar 22, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I would not have any issues with Cratejoy had they not added shipping into what they percentage-wise take. For example, if my crate is $25.99 and the person's shipping is $15.00 then they are taking a percentage off of $40.00. This to me is absolutely ridiculous because I do not get any money for shipping so why the hell should they?

    They are $39.99 starting per month, and they charge an average of 10-15% per transaction (which includes the price of shipping). Had they not screwed me concerning shipping added into the total percentage taken I would make more.

    In addition to this, quite a lot of spam is allowed in: can I have a free box? I am a blogger, blah blah blah. You would think that these fees would go to stop some of the spam I receive each and every day (it comes through like a customer inquiry). I hate Cratejoy and can't wait to kick them to the curb!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Great platform

    • By Shane,
    • Portland, OR,
    • Mar 31, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    Easy to use platform, cool team, really responsive staff. Do wish they had bulk changes for customer profiles (like bulk cancel or bulk re-bill date change).

    On the above, they do charge a recurring 10% fee that you acquire through their marketplace. I have margin to give them for getting me customers, so I think it's okay.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Don't Do It!

    • By Alex,
    • Dallas, TX ,
    • Jan 14, 2016

    Don't do it. Stay away. Unless this is an approval revenue stream for you and you have an existing business with existing profits, this will not be a legitimate source of income for those wanting to make this their primary business for the reasons that the comments list below. They steal all of your profit by charging 10% for a costumer they claim to have brought to you. Every month! There were numerous customers that my team and I talked with through Facebook or email prior to them signing up and once they did, Cratejoy said they brought them to us. Plus what they don't tell you is that you will be paying Cratejoy their monthly rate, and processing fee, AND you will be paying Stripes processing fees. Plus their shipping costs are on average .30-.75 cents higher per shipment than printing on stamps.com as a business. Bottom line, if you're not currently in business, this will not propel you to your financial dreams, rather they will let you try to grow your subscription business while they take all your money.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Extra 10% charges on profit on top of their regular fees.

    • By Lindsey J.,
    • San Diego, CA,
    • Dec 11, 2015

    When I first used Cratejoy I was under the impression that they only charge $39.99 monthly fee, and "$0.54 per sale (our fees are 1.25% + $0.10 per transaction). Assuming you are using Stripe you will pay $1.34 per transaction in Credit Card Fees (based on 2.9% + $0.30 per transaction)."

    There is a large hidden fee that I was not aware until I received my first subscriber. Cratejoy also charge 10% to all your profits for listing your store in their marketplace.

    I don't understand why they are charging 10%, when it should be a flat fee. Because they are charging a percentage, Cratejoy are crooks. The sellers loose a lot of profit using crate's platform.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Business Owner Beware

    • By Candice,
    • California,
    • Nov 28, 2015

    The marketplace has a 7 day cookie which takes your entire profit. Plus, they control your customer database. If you try to leave, all your subscriptions are canceled and you have to request all your subscribers make them switch manually. They DO NOT TELL YOU when a subscription is placed and it is not ran through your credit card company, it goes through their hopper and they issue money to you. THEY hold your customer's subscriptions. The accounting reports are weak.

    I'm thankful I am only running a pilot subscription for business plan research and I have a short list of customers otherwise taxes and allocations would be a nightmare since Cratejoy can't provide a report that shows what you received less, fees, less their cut, less tax & shipping. Honestly, I feel like Cratejoy owners are crooks. When I am done with my project, I will close my store and NEVER use Cratejoy!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


Showing 12-19 of 19

Write a Review for Cratejoy!

Share your experience to help others discover great products!

Write a Review
Cratejoy