Start your review of Cratejoy:
  • 19 Customer Reviews
  • 11% Recommend This Company
1.4 out of 5
5 star: 10% 4 star: 0% 3 star: 0% 2 star: 0% 1 star: 89%

 Our Promise to You

To safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.

Sort reviews by:

  • Horrible sales experience

    • By Sarai C.,
    • New York, NY,
    • Jan 21, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Lots of fees. Customer support is a joke. Allows bad reviews unfounded. Doesn't verify if items are received by the customer prior to issuing refunds. Confusing billing for buyers. Automatic billing errors. Nightmare! A customer can receive merchandise and claim they didn't to be issued refunds and keep your products. Never again.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Buyer beware!

    • By Triona W.,
    • Oregon,
    • Feb 2, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I purchased five subscription boxes on 12/15/18 as Christmas gifts for my daughter.

    Three were delivered with no problem. The remaining two (Unicorn Dream, and Inspire Me Korea) were not delivered, and have now been double charged. After contacting both the seller and Cratejoy - one Unicorn Dream box was sent out, a month late (4 charges, 1 box).

    The duplicate charges have essentially been ignored. I have been attempting to resolve this via the sellers, and Cratejoy for well over a week, with only one response, and no resolution. I have repeatedly emailed and will transcribe copies below. No response, and at this point, I will have to seek resolution through my bank.

    Potential subscribers - AVOID AT ALL COST. There are other options. You run a high likelihood of "scam," and it will be a time consuming, and fruitless task to attempt to recover your boxes or funds. Buyer beware.

    Transcribed emails:

    #1: "Hello, I purchased subscriptions to both "Inspire me Korea" and "Unicorn Dream" boxes on the 12/15/18, and was charged 12/15/18. I was again charged on 1/2/19 for both boxes. Neither have arrived. I tried to contact both sellers. The Unicorn Dream box did respond with a vague "you missed the cutoff for December, the January box will be arriving soon." But, failed to explain why there are TWO charges, and only one promised box. They have not responded to a request for clarification.

    The "Inspire me Korea" box has not responded. There are two charges, but no box. No explanation.

    My daughter was gifted boxes for Christmas, this is what she wanted. I'm frustrated that I've been charged multiple times for what if starting to feel like a scam by these sellers. (The other boxes ordered have arrived with no problem.)

    I'm now in a position of trying to track packages down, and explanations for double charges - without a receipt of good in any form. Or, cancelling subscriptions to boxes that will never arrive, and eating the multiple charges. Then explaining to my child why she won't be receiving these gifts, & then paying for new ones. (Even though I've already paid for each box 2x now.) Neither are acceptable options.

    Please help to facilitate an equitable solution - without my resorting to cancellation, and charge backs with the help of my credit card company.

    Thank you,

    Triona"

    #2: "Hello, thank you for your response.

    The January Unicorn box has arrived, and Inspire me Korea has indeed reached out, inclusive of shipping information - but, as I previously noted there have been four(4) charges total, with only promises of two(2) boxes.

    Neither Unicorn Dream, nor Inspire me Korea have addressed the double charges (a charge on December 14th, and January 2nd) even with the arrival of both boxes, there are still two(2) charges unaccounted for.

    (December charge(x2) = 0 boxes, January charge(x2) = 2 boxes. 2+2 should equal 4, but it seems to be that 2+2=2 in this case.)

    Korea did offer to cancel the subscription, with no additional shipments. This means again, two(2) charges, and only promises of one yet to be received (1) box.

    This is becoming quite frustrating, and as a customer - I really shouldn't have to chase down errant charges, and missing boxes. I don't mean to be a grump, but I'm an insanely busy single mom, & spending my miniscule amount of spare time doing this definitely sours the experience.

    Thank you,

    Triona"

    #3: "Hello, I was charged for two months (two different subscriptions) with only one box sent/promised each. This seems to have happened, as I ordered several weeks before Christmas, and was charged for December - but no boxes were sent out. Then charged again in January.

    After contacting the sellers, and going through Cratejoy customer service - the January boxes have finally been sent, with only one (of the two boxes sent) received.

    I have asked repeatedly (multiple times to sellers, and Cratejoy customer service) as to the status of the additional charges (will I be charged in February? Will I receive additional boxes? Will I be reimbursed? Will I need to file a claim with my credit card company?)

    As I have reached out multiple times, with no clear resolution, or reliable response to communication - this is the last attempt that I will make prior to pursuing a charge back through my credit card company.

    This situation has gone on too long, and reflects poorly on Cratejoy. Please help me resolve this in an amicable manner, and allow me to be a quiet, happy customer. I hate being put in the position of playing the "bad guy," and forced to waste my time repeatedly chasing this down.

    I'm at a loss as to the appropriate channels to pursue, and would very much like to avoid the need to submit applicable reviews, and complaints to the BBB due to a lack of action/communication.

    Thank you,

    Triona"

    #4: "To whom it may concern.

    This is my official last communication (sans response from Cratejoy) prior to proceeding with alternate avenues of resolution.

    I have repeatedly tried to resolve this within your organization to no avail, and with minimal response. This is the only form or communication available to customers, and you have not responded in an adequate manner. All documentation of communication has been saved for future needs

    I will wait until 1/28/19 COB PST for possible resolution via Cratejoy. I sincerely hope that this is possible, as no customer should have to resort to seeking outside resolution assistance.

    I am disappointed, frustrated, and at this point hoping to prevent other customers from going through this. Future customers should be wholly aware of the state of service within your organization - that double, inaccurate, and misleading charges DO occur, and WILL NOT be resolved. That the customer will be solely responsible, and forced to seek to recover funds through their personal financial institutions.

    (Let's be honest here - this is absolutely ridiculous, I'm flabbergasted that this is still going on, and that Cratejoy has not responded adequately to extremely valid concerns, and issues in a timely manner. Simply put - "wow.")

    I look forward to resolving this WITH YOU, as opposed to pursuing other avenues.

    Thank you,

    Triona W"

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Bad business

    • By Vicki D.,
    • Holmen, WI,
    • Feb 17, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    We had ordered a 3-month subscription to Rox Boxes through Cratejoy. We received one box. One. Kept waiting, then contacted them about not receiving any more for two months. We received an email back, from what I believe is an automatic reply to pacify customers. Logged onto Cratejoy’s website, only to find Roc Boxes is no longer selling through them. They still haven’t told us that little piece of information. Run around is all we got. We called our credit card company and they have reimbursed us. I will never do business with them or Rox Boxes again.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Absolutely horrible for sellers, zero stars!

    • By Macy D.,
    • Seattle, WA,
    • Mar 17, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    You have NO control over your clients, your money or your business. Any semblance of this is just that...a mirage, a facade, or feigned.

    Worst experience with any platform, ever. I can't see any platform ever topping this, either. I'm not trying to be mean. This is utterly ridiculous to the point of being borderline insane. I, personally, have never felt so trapped in my life and I have been in situations of domestic violence.

    There is literally zero protection for sellers. ZERO. To say I'm flabbergasted at the lack of support would be a DRASTIC understatement.

    The frustration with this is beyond anything I've ever experienced and I have been in sales my whole life (over 20 years), owned my own sales offices with over 100 incredibly different and quirky employees, over 250,000 customers and have been selling online specifically for over 6 years on multiple platforms. Never, EVER, has there ever been an absolutely PTSD inducing experience such as the one we've had with Cratejoy. The support system and system as a whole is absolutely reprehensible. There honestly is not a word in the English language to describe it.

    Other issues:

    1. Customer service reps are not educated on policies, or they are just instructed to bend them as they please. They are also essentially their own "manager" as there is no-one to monitor performance or any "checks and balances" system. If a rep does not "like" you, be prepared for your business to suffer. There is absolutely no professionalism or accountability taken on Cratejoy's part. Period.

    2. Customers seem to be encouraged to leave negative feedback.

    3. Subscription School is a Cratejoy owned Facebook page that is supposed to be for helping out sellers but bans sellers and deletes comments/threads who mention anything bad about Cratejoy or its employees. There is literally a pinned post on the top warning sellers not to mention problems or anything bad or you will be banned. (The fact that it even had to mentioned at all signals a problem in itself and should tell you something.)

    4. If you try to get support and mention something Cratejoy views as "bad" and you will be punished for it. Whether it be with contacting subscribers, lack of support, no response reviews or all of the above.

    5. Absolutely NO responsibility taken for errors on Cratejoys part, better to just blame it on the sellers (NOT a good business model, nor is that sustainable).

    6. Sellers are essentially "trapped" on Cratejoy platform if they offer multiple months subscriptions.

    7. Fees are outrageous, and when you don't offer customer support (the SELLER is their customer btw, I think they are totally unaware of this though) then things can go a little sour. The fees on top of the monthly are so high that once you break it all down with the cost of the box you are losing money even on a $50 subscription. The longer you stay with Cratejoy the more truthful this will become for you as you start slowly hemorrhaging money.

    8. Cratejoy is only supposed to force refund in extreme circumstances, yet they will actually refund any time they want, without notice or reason, and then will blame it on the seller, once again because they take zero responsibility for anything they do.

    9. Cratejoy takes recognition and profit for sales they did not generate. This is, in my opinion, theft! You put in the work to generate the lead, they take the credit. It costs you 10% of the sale on TOP of their fees. They even take fees on shipping. Fees on top of fees on top of fees on top of fees. It is not hard to see where a click to a site came from, they are fully aware these are not their leads.

    10. Does not "offer" phone support. (This is for a REASON. Open your eyes!)

    11. Almost impossible to move platforms and retain YOUR subscribers. Without moving to another platform, re-branding and starting all over, there is really no escape.

    12. Review system is incredibly flawed.

    13. Support also only responds to what they feel like. It if is bad, don't expect a response at all, EVER. (Not kidding, not even a little bit)

    14. Customers can charge back MONTHS after receiving all of their packages.

    15. Zero follow through on promises.

    I should have read Cratejoy's own reviews other sellers have already left regarding this before ever signing up for this.

    We have held back on even reviewing the company for fear the box will be "punished" for the review.

    Maybe if the review system wasn't so flawed and allowed subscribers to leave multiple reviews in a row (which is against their own policy) that take days if not weeks to get a response on to get them removed and before the box was even marked shipped or was scheduled to ship this would be about 1/4 as terrible. The review window opens immediately, also non-verified purchases can leave multiple reviews (i.e., a subscriber can tell all their friends to leave reviews too and nothing will be done). This is more like an escalating day long back and forth between you and the customer than it is a review system at all. All you get is "we're working on a solution to the problem." Great. Thanks. In the meantime, all the hours we've put in (not to mention the money) will just continue to swirl down the toilet.

    Remember this: YOU are putting in the work, you are purchasing the product, you are packaging it, maintaining customer care, you are essentially running your own business and all the time spent on this is YOURS and yours alone. Cratejoy is only the medium. You are paying them for a "service" every month and a certain level of care is to be expected because of this. Cratejoy is well below the bar in all aspects and should not be considered under any circumstance when looking for a subscription platform.

    You also have to write in and wait days to post a response to a review, too. In the meantime customers are reading these, just thinking nobody cares to respond. Then come the charge-backs from others who get scared, then come the reviews referencing the first reviews that shouldn't have been allowed there in the first place. On what planet does that seem functional? What a joke. We've really tried everything possible to make it work and really held back on leaving this review for quite some time because we wanted to give the benefit of the doubt even though all the flags were there, but ultimately decided due to actions and repeated problems that others DO need to be warned.

    All in all, I give this 0 stars. Zero. Because of lack of support and the way the marketplace is set up, I do not see this ever improving. Dastardly. Contemptible. Vile. Underhanded. Despicable. Cowardly. These are all words I would use to describe Cratejoy.

    All in all, if you are considering it, DON'T. If I can help anyone see what I didn't beforehand, then this review will have not been in vain.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • They are a scam and over charged my card

    • By Katie N.,
    • California,
    • Apr 22, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    They have misleading options and charge your card multiple times. I would never buy anything through this website, they are a complete sham.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • INCREDIBLY LAME

    • By Tammy I.,
    • Boise, ID,
    • Jun 4, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I've had two subscriptions with them, both subscriptions arrived at the beginning of the following month, meaning, if I order a mailbox I'm sure to get it in June, the June box comes in July, it's a lot of money and you have to wait a long time. I don't like that, I feel like it's a rip-off somehow. It's not worth the money for the items ever.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Seller refusing to send rest of my paid yearly subscription

    • By Elizabeth N.,
    • New Mexico,
    • Jun 22, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I purchased a monthly seed subscription and paid for a year upfront. I decided to cancel the renewal, which would be in December. The seller has only sent five months of seeds and emailed saying that they "were confused because I canceled, do I want to renew." It is not rocket science. I paid a for a subscription for a full year and only received five months out of twelve months. Send me my items or refund me. Not confusing. Frustrated, and I do not recommend Cratejoy or Urban Organic Gardener Seeds through here.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • I lost $80.00 on Cratejoy

    • By Mathew K.,
    • New Jersey,
    • Oct 12, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I paid $78.95 for 2 subscription boxes from Rawbox that arrive every 2 months. I sent an enquiring after not receiving the first. It took 3 tries to get an answer that Rawbox was being bought and sorry for the delay. After waiting a long time I enquired again. Again it took 3 requests and was told everything would be finalized by 09/01/2019. A third enquiring told me they were still going through the finances. The new owners of Rawbox did not have my payment and suggested I dispute it with the bank. At this point, I asked Cratejoy to please intervene. A nice gentleman said he would try to contact the seller but would also put through a manual refund. The Cratejoy support person never reported he was able to contact Rawbox and he could not refund me because it was past a 120-day cutoff for refunds. This after everyone dragged their heals answering me. This gentleman also suggested I dispute it with the bank. The bank has a 60-day cutoff. I can understand the bank's policy and why should the bank be in the middle of what I consider theft if not fraud. It's been several weeks and no word from anyone. I have lost $80.00 dealing through Cratejoy. The last insult to me is Rawbox is still on Cratejoy.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


Showing 12-19 of 19

Write a Review for Cratejoy!

Share your experience to help others discover great products!

Write a Review
Cratejoy