Credit Solution Program Review: Is It Worth It?

By HighYa Research Team
Updated on: Jan 13, 2014

Founded by Mike Roberts and based out of San Francisco, CA, The Credit Solution Program is a credit repair course that claims to give you an “action plan” for improving—and maintaining—your credit rating. According to company’s website, the difference between “good” and “great” credit can cost you hundreds or thousands of dollars over the course of your lifetime, and they want to help you take control of your financial future.

The Credit Solution Program is not listed with the Better Business Bureau, though the operating company—Smart Consumer Solutions, LLC—does hold an A- rating, based on one filed complaint. There are not a wide variety of online customer reviews about The Credit Solution Program, though the ones we did find often complained about using a “bait and switch” technique of luring you into paying for your credit report, and signing up for a monthly subscription for their service.

How the Credit Solution Program Works

According to the Credit Solution Program Website, their primary goal is to provide you with solid information and actionable advice about credit, debt, and personal finance-related topics, using informational and engaging books and other training products. The company claims that a great credit score can help you get great car and home loan rates, as well as fast credit card approvals. As such, there are three different options to help get you started.

When you first land on the Credit Solution Program website, you’ll see a link for a “5-Step Test.” If you decide to answer these few questions, you’ll then be sent an email that includes your Financial Health Score. When you receive and review this information, be sure to keep in mind that there is no accurate way a third party could provide such an in-depth analysis about your financial situation, using only the few basic questions from the “test.” So, take this information with a grain of salt.

Next, you can also obtain the Credit Solution Program’s Starter Kit completely free of charge (just enter your email address again further down the page). You’ll then be given access to six credit-related videos, such as:

  • Your Big Reason Why
  • 5 Rules of Great Credit
  • Know Your Consumer Rights
  • Better Credit the CSP Way
  • Goodwill Adjustments
  • Dealing with Debt Collectors

Each video will include resources and tips for expanding your knowledge on each topic, and you’ll also be automatically signed up for The Credit Solution email newsletter.

Finally, you can also choose to pay for the full Credit Improvement Solution program (more about this in the next section), which claims to provide you with 5 primary benefits:

  1. You’ll understand the importance of your credit, and how it can impact almost every part of your life.
  2. You’ll recognize the factors that can increase or decrease your score.
  3. You’ll have learned how to understand and classify each portion of your credit report.
  4. You’ll know how to create an action plan to regain control over your finances.
  5. You’ll implement a strategy to keep your credit score high.

The Credit Solution Program Pricing & Refund Policy

While the Basic program is free and will get you well on your way toward improving your credit, if you decide you’d like more information, their Credit Improvement Solution program costs $47, and includes:

  • The Credit Solution Program e-book – includes sections titled “Credit from Scratch” and “Divorce & Credit,” as well as a thorough FAQ.
  • The Success Journal – a 106-page manual that helps you create an effective game plan for improving your credit.

The Credit Improvement Solution program comes with a 90-day, 100% satisfaction guarantee. If you’re dissatisfied for any reason, simply email customer service at support@thecreditsolutionprogram.com to begin the process. If you run into any problems, their FAQ is fairly detailed.

Pros

  • Appears to be a decent way to learn the right steps to take in order to begin repairing your credit.
  • 90-day, 100% satisfaction guarantee.

Cons

  • Most of the information contained in The Credit Solution Program can be found elsewhere for free.
  • The program provides information only. In other words, it will be up to you to take action, and a great degree of your success hinges on your negotiating skills and persistence.

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!


Read 21 Credit Solution Program Customer Reviews and Complaints

Write a Review
Average Consumer Rating: 3.6
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 9 4 star: 5 3 star: 1 2 star: 2 1 star:  4
Bottom Line: 67% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 21
Sort reviews by:

  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Best credit repair program A+++++.

    • May 23, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have tried. Many different credit repair programs and advice over the past 30+ years and I can tell you this one rocks! Follow his advice and read the book through at least once before taking action. Okay, I didn’t. I sent in an unscheduled payment to my 1 credit card.

    Anywho, in the past 3 months, my credit score has gone from poor to fair and is only 27 points from "good." I also just was approved for my 2nd credit card, based on my credit record, no deposit required. I’ll not use it for many months to keep my credit to debt ratio down, which will boost my score big time, while continuing to pay down my first CC.

    I would not know how to do all of these things in this order without working the program. There’s more to learn on my way to 800+. Thanks Mike!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    I can't say enough good things about Mike Roberts and the Credit Solution Program.

    • King City, CA,
    • Apr 27, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    After receiving the information from Mike, it took me a while to get started. I sent 9 letters out and of course, they all came back as valid debts. I even received two subpoena's to appear in "collections court." Using Mike's info I went through the 92 pages, yes, 92 pages of documents looking for gaps in the chain of custody, missing documents, etc...Let me tell you, these collection agencies rely solely on intimidation. NOTHING in any of those documents said I was the owner of the debts. A lot of "forth with's", "hence forth's" and "I'm authorized to's." When my days in court came, one collector never showed up. DISMISSED! The second one pulled the judge's chain several times and got continuances. No showed once, lied about having a settlement from the court. They were sanctioned 3 times by the court. Her honor was not happy. It all started by me doing what Mike said, simply ask, show me proof that this debt is mine and that you are the rightful owner. My credit score was low 500's when I started. It is now 647 and I have 3 box store credit cards, several credit-builder credit cards, and 3 major credit cards. I'm in the process of having the last few negative items removed from my credit and I'm pretty sure my score will skyrocket over 720. I can't say enough good things about Mike Roberts and the Credit Solution Program.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 1 out 2 people found this review helpful

    I would definitely recommend this company to plenty!

    • Michigan,
    • Mar 21, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Basically, it's all up to you!

    This company gives you the tools to apply and succeed. The information that I gained, I've never knew existed (Business Credit, you actually need that? Lol). Seriously, you will not find any other results like The Credit Solution Program.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 2 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Very informative

    • Atlanta, GA,
    • Feb 28, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Credit Solution always has useful information. Especially the article on the order of paying your debt. I had it all wrong like many others, I’m sure. Keep delivering great information. Thank you so much.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 2 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Great product!

    • Michigan,
    • Feb 27, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I paid $47 for the Credit Solution Program and received all the promised eBooks online in my account. I learned valuable information concerning personal and business credit (didn't even know there was such thing as business credit).

    My only issue was not being able to reach someone to answer a few questions for me and I ended up asking for a refund, and I received my refund with no issue.

    As a whole, this program enlightened me about credit in general, and ALL the material was very helpful, in addition, I had never heard of the information provided somewhere else. I am thankful.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Rip-off company

    • Texas,
    • Jan 23, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Just read the other negative reviews and count me in as DITTO!

    This company has been taking $19.95 out of my bank account without my authorization for several months...and there is absolutely no correspondence from this company.

    STAY CLEAR, don't bother, waste of time and money!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Feb 12, 2019

      Company Response from Credit Solution Program

      Hi Pamela,

      I am terribly sorry to hear that your experience with us was not as you expected and to learn that you didn’t completely love our program. I do apologize for not responding sooner, but because this website is an independently run site completely unaffiliated with our company, I am only just now finding out about your review.

      I want to make sure you know that you are certainly protected by our money-back guarantee. I was able to find your account with us based on the information you provided here, and I am happy to let you know that all of your membership fees have been refunded to your card.

      That being said, I do want to clarify something for you about our billing. You were being billed for our monthly membership program that allows you access to additional training online and our facebook group where you can get help with your credit questions. This membership program is completely optional and it’s something that has to be selected by a customer during the checkout process. Your order did have this product selected, and we would never bill you without your authorization.

      Finally, II want to mention that I can’t find any record of you contacting our customer care team by phone or email. We try our best to make it exceptionally easy for customers to contact us in the event that they want to cancel their membership or ask for a refund. I apologize if somehow we fell short in communicating our support channels and our policies.

      Here are the ways we currently communicate support options:

      In the welcome email you received after purchase, we explain that we want you to be happy with your purchase and if for some reason you are not to please contact support@thecreditsolutionprogram.com to request a refund.

      In the upper right corner of our website, there is a link to our support page. There you will find our support email and phone number and a button to “contact us”. In the upper right corner of our website, we list a customer support number.

      At the bottom of our website, there is a link to our money back guarantee, a link to a contact us form, and our support email is listed.

      And finally, on your credit card statement, there is a link to a dedicated page on our website where we list support contact info to request a refund.

      Please feel free to contact me directly at mike@thecreditsolutonprogram.com if I can be of any further assistance. I’d be happy to help you personally with any questions you have about our program or your credit score.


  • 2 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Awesome credit education and how-to program to improve your credit!

    • Washington,
    • Jan 4, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have been using the Credit Solution Program for over 4 years. And also joined the 800 Club for about 6 months. The education, step-by-step how-to and follow through recommendations are tremendous. As a banker, I can confirm the educational information is spot on, the steps are great, the tools work, and the recommended external resources and partners are vetted and bring results if you follow the program. My credit score post-recession bankruptcy has increased by over 150 points following the steps and using the service providers - in other words, great results!

    Strongly recommend!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Feb 12, 2019

      Company Response from Credit Solution Program

      Hi Steve, thanks for your review and your recommendation. Congrats on your score increase so far, keep it up!

      Mike Roberts, Founder of the Credit Solution Program


  • 7 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Credit Solution Program

    • North Carolina,
    • Dec 19, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    The Credit Solution Program by Mike Roberts very helpful. My problem is that they take this monthly money out of your account that was not authorized by me. The other problem is when you leave a message for them to get in touch with you, no one ever gets back to you. If this review is the only way I can reach you, please cancel those monthly payments. And put my money back into my account. Don't ruin a good thing, thanks.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Jan 16, 2019

      Company Response from Credit Solution Program

      Hi Ernest,

      I'm glad to hear that you like our program. Sorry to hear that you've had trouble with your order, and that you were not able to contact us to get it straightened out. If you are being billed by our company it's because you made a purchase from us. We would never bill anyone without authorization. If you ordered by mistake, want to cancel your program, or want a refund, it's actually very easy to get in touch with us. You can reach our support team by emailing support@thecreditsolutionprogram.com or you can use any of the "contact us" links on our support site at support.thecreditsolutionprogram.com or you can call our customer support team at the phone number listed at the top right of our website 1-800-940-0346.


  • 29 out 30 people found this review helpful

    Scam

    • Tewksbury, MA,
    • Aug 13, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I wasted 30 minutes of my life listening to his pitch. Money back? I'll see. He tried to upgrade me for like $79, I didn't take the offer, then he cut the price in half. I forget all the details but there were more offers like over a hundred dollars that kept getting reduced every time I refused. I finally get the booklet, and he goes on for at least three-quarters of the book telling stories and facts everyone already knows, nothing is new. Then he tells you not to be late on payments and if you are, ask the creditor nicely to forgive you and remove the late payment. In other words, don't have late payments, and if you have to borrow money to make the payments, then pay your creditors. What about the people you borrow the money from, how are you going to pay them back? Oh, he does point out that if there are mistakes on your report, file a claim to have them removed. Why didn't I think of that? Oh, that's right, I didn't spend hundreds of hours of research like he did nor did I do all the networking he did. He is just like all those flip-this-house guys who tell you nothing until they get 20 grand out of you. Save your money, he can't help you unless it has to do with emptying out your wallet.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Feb 4, 2019

      Company Response from Credit Solution Program

      Hi Tom,

      I’m very sorry to hear that you feel like your time was wasted on our website and that you seemed to have doubts about getting your money back after being unhappy with your purchase.

      Even though you never contacted our customer support team to request a refund, I was able to locate your account and have processed a refund for you. I sent you an email to let you know this as well, and I hope this has been resolved to your satisfaction.

      I was surprised to learn in your response to that email that you were not able to find any information about how to obtain a refund or how to contact us about it. I apologize if somehow we fell short in communicating our support channels and our policies.

      Here are the ways we currently communicate support options to our customers:

      In the welcome email you received after purchase, we explain that we want you to be happy with your purchase and if for some reason you are not to please contact support@thecreditsolutionprogram.com to request a refund.

      In the upper right corner of our website, there is a link to our support page. There you will find our support email and phone number and a button to “contact us”. In the upper right corner of our website, we also list a customer support number.

      In the footer of our website, there is a link to our money back guarantee, a link to a contact us form, and our support email is listed.

      On your credit card statement, there is a link to a dedicated page on our website where we list support contact info to request a refund.

      Regarding the order process, we are sorry to hear that you felt pressured, and I have already reviewed this feedback with our marketing team. The checkout process is designed to provide options and recommendations for additional products based on what you have placed in your shopping cart as well as what other customers have purchased. With that said, you are not obligated to purchase any items at any point in time.

      Additionally, I want to assure you that each of our products stands effective on its own. There is never any case where you are required to add additional upgrades to get full value from whatever product you initially intended to order.

      I can tell by what you wrote here that you found no value in our product, but I have to wonder if you looked through the entire product and online members area? For one low price, your purchase included a lot more than just the book that was mailed to you. In the members area there are additional resources, training videos, dispute letters, etc.

      Maybe you were aware of the full product, and still didn't get any value. If so, congrats! That means you know an awfully lot about credit scoring, and that is great, but it’s not the case for most people. I know this because we’ve been in business for 8 years and we have helped over 2 million people raise their credit scores. I hear directly from hundreds of people on a weekly basis exactly what they know or don’t know about their credit.

      Our product is designed to match what the vast majority of people struggling with credit problems need. I can also share with you that the refund rate on our product is 5.4% which is well below average for online purchases.

      Of course, we understand that it’s never going to be possible to create a product that every single customer absolutely loves. And with that said, I truly am sorry that our program wasn’t the right fit for you and I hope that you’re able to find the help that you need even if it’s not with us!


  • 31 out 33 people found this review helpful

    "Bait and switch," common info available throughout for free.

    • Atlanta, GA,
    • Apr 11, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    Like a lot of traps on the internet, it gives you a shock headline and then goes after money talking about something else.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Feb 4, 2019

      Company Response from Credit Solution Program

      Hi Robert,

      I apologize for such a delayed response here, however, I’m only just now becoming aware of your post since this site is in no way linked to our website.

      I'm very sorry that you found your experience with our site to be "Bait and Switch". With that said, I can’t tell if you purchased a product from us or just utilized our free content before writing this review.

      I'm unable to find a purchase in our database from you based on the limited information available on this website. If you did, in fact, make a purchase from us and you're unhappy, I want to make sure that you get a full refund immediately. If you would be kind enough to email me directly at mike@thecreditsolutionprogram.com with the name and email that you purchased under I will take care of this for you right away.

      Next, from what you wrote here, it sounds like you were upset to learn that you had to spend money in order to get our full program?

      It might help if I explain a little bit about how our business works. We have 3 different “tiers” of content available on our website…

      The first is our blog and it’s both free and completely open, meaning you don’t need to enter an email address or any other info to access this content. The content on our blog is helpful on its own and it covers many different topics on credit, debt, etc. very well. Many people make great progress in improving their credit by using only the free content on our blog.

      The second is our email newsletter which is also free, however, you do need to register to receive this by entering your email on our site. Our newsletter often links to articles on our blog or to promotional offers that we have found are of the most interest to our subscribers. Again, many people use only the free email newsletter and the blog to learn about their credit. You will find some of these people commenting on this very website about how they have never purchased from us but love the content, etc.

      The third tier of content on our site is our full program. While this is offered at an extremely affordable price, it does require a payment to access. However, I want to be clear in that you are under no obligation to buy our program in order to use the rest of our website. The benefit of purchasing the program is that it’s something you can follow step by step straight through and it’s a lot more organized and useful than a bunch of blog articles. As you might expect, after registering for our email newsletter or reading articles on our blog many people choose to make a purchase from us and follow our full program. '

      If these explanations were way off base, I'd really appreciate more info on what specifically you feel is "Bait and Switch" about our business. If you're so inclined to share more with me, please email me directly at mike@thecreditoslutionprogram.com

      Sincerely,

      Mike Roberts, Founder of the Credit Solution Program


  • 24 out 29 people found this review helpful

    Great great product!

    • Seattle, WA,
    • Dec 12, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    Worth every penny! This product really helped educate me regarding my rights & credit issues. I recommend to all my friends and family.

    I even read some information to my 15-year-old daughter as she's learning about financial issues with hopes to avoid them at a young age!

    So many good points! Patience is a must but don't give up.

    Since starting with this program, I have had 4 things removed and my score has gone up 80 Points!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Feb 12, 2019

      Company Response from Credit Solution Program

      Hi Amber, we're so happy to hear that you've enjoyed our program and have found it educational and helpful in raising your score. Great job teaching your daughter about credit and other financial topics - it's knowledge that will serve her well throughout her life.

      Mike Roberts, Founder of the Credit Solution Program


Showing 1-11 of 21

Write a Review for Credit Solution Program!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review