Credit Solution Program Review: Is It Worth It?

By HighYa Research Team
Updated on: Jan 13, 2014

Founded by Mike Roberts and based out of San Francisco, CA, The Credit Solution Program is a credit repair course that claims to give you an “action plan” for improving—and maintaining—your credit rating. According to company’s website, the difference between “good” and “great” credit can cost you hundreds or thousands of dollars over the course of your lifetime, and they want to help you take control of your financial future.

The Credit Solution Program is not listed with the Better Business Bureau, though the operating company—Smart Consumer Solutions, LLC—does hold an A- rating, based on one filed complaint. There are not a wide variety of online customer reviews about The Credit Solution Program, though the ones we did find often complained about using a “bait and switch” technique of luring you into paying for your credit report, and signing up for a monthly subscription for their service.

How the Credit Solution Program Works

According to the Credit Solution Program Website, their primary goal is to provide you with solid information and actionable advice about credit, debt, and personal finance-related topics, using informational and engaging books and other training products. The company claims that a great credit score can help you get great car and home loan rates, as well as fast credit card approvals. As such, there are three different options to help get you started.

When you first land on the Credit Solution Program website, you’ll see a link for a “5-Step Test.” If you decide to answer these few questions, you’ll then be sent an email that includes your Financial Health Score. When you receive and review this information, be sure to keep in mind that there is no accurate way a third party could provide such an in-depth analysis about your financial situation, using only the few basic questions from the “test.” So, take this information with a grain of salt.

Next, you can also obtain the Credit Solution Program’s Starter Kit completely free of charge (just enter your email address again further down the page). You’ll then be given access to six credit-related videos, such as:

  • Your Big Reason Why
  • 5 Rules of Great Credit
  • Know Your Consumer Rights
  • Better Credit the CSP Way
  • Goodwill Adjustments
  • Dealing with Debt Collectors

Each video will include resources and tips for expanding your knowledge on each topic, and you’ll also be automatically signed up for The Credit Solution email newsletter.

Finally, you can also choose to pay for the full Credit Improvement Solution program (more about this in the next section), which claims to provide you with 5 primary benefits:

  1. You’ll understand the importance of your credit, and how it can impact almost every part of your life.
  2. You’ll recognize the factors that can increase or decrease your score.
  3. You’ll have learned how to understand and classify each portion of your credit report.
  4. You’ll know how to create an action plan to regain control over your finances.
  5. You’ll implement a strategy to keep your credit score high.

The Credit Solution Program Pricing & Refund Policy

While the Basic program is free and will get you well on your way toward improving your credit, if you decide you’d like more information, their Credit Improvement Solution program costs $47, and includes:

  • The Credit Solution Program e-book – includes sections titled “Credit from Scratch” and “Divorce & Credit,” as well as a thorough FAQ.
  • The Success Journal – a 106-page manual that helps you create an effective game plan for improving your credit.

The Credit Improvement Solution program comes with a 90-day, 100% satisfaction guarantee. If you’re dissatisfied for any reason, simply email customer service at support@thecreditsolutionprogram.com to begin the process. If you run into any problems, their FAQ is fairly detailed.

Pros

  • Appears to be a decent way to learn the right steps to take in order to begin repairing your credit.
  • 90-day, 100% satisfaction guarantee.

Cons

  • Most of the information contained in The Credit Solution Program can be found elsewhere for free.
  • The program provides information only. In other words, it will be up to you to take action, and a great degree of your success hinges on your negotiating skills and persistence.

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!


Read 21 Credit Solution Program Customer Reviews and Complaints

Write a Review
Average Consumer Rating: 3.6
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 9 4 star: 5 3 star: 1 2 star: 2 1 star:  4
Bottom Line: 67% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 21
Sort reviews by:

  • 16 out 21 people found this review helpful

    Good.

    • Liberty, NC,
    • Oct 6, 2014

    It has helped me even though I never paid anything.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Feb 12, 2019

      Company Response from Credit Solution Program

      Hi Richard, thanks for your review and glad to hear that you have been helped by our free email newsletter and blog!


  • 23 out 27 people found this review helpful

    The Credit Solution Program

    • Los Angeles, CA,
    • Nov 10, 2014

    Mike Roberts has managed to take the daunting, confusing world of trying to repair my credit and distilled the information down into clear, manageable, actionable steps for people who don't repair credit for a living (which I don't). More important, he EXPLAINS the way the whole confusing legal mumbo jumbo works and how it can work to your benefit if you know how to take certain steps in a certain order using the Law to support your process of credit improvement. My credit was a MESS after going through a bad divorce then taking a personal credit hit when the economy turned and I lost my business. It's been a process to deal with fixing everything on my credit reports but his system has made it so much easier to do. I started with the free system, watched the videos which are to-the-point but delivered in a fun way. I learned more about different aspects of how my credit is or can be affected by things like filing bankrupt (which I thought about), buying a car, house, how balances on credit cards affect your scores, etc. I stayed proactive in repairing my credit using his methods and got great results. If you get the program and follow it, it does work. Just make the commitment to be proactive in fixing your reports and higher scores follow as you go along.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Feb 12, 2019

      Company Response from Credit Solution Program

      Hi Susan, thanks so much for your kind words. It sounds like you were dealing with quite a bit and I'm very happy to learn of your great results!

      Mike Roberts, Founder of the Credit Solution Program


  • 22 out 28 people found this review helpful

    Great information

    • PA,
    • Jan 13, 2015

    I was surprised the free data was excellent. He provide PDF files to help with letter writing. I have been working on issues for years, I have file legal work and such. Sites like this are great cause it allows me to do what I need to do and not rely on others or pay high fee's for services.

    I worked with a lawyer a few years ago and like normal, most the work was done by his assistant. Well the results were horrible and the lawyer caused more harm with his filing before all was worked out properly and the data they claim would be right was not.

    I will be working with this well layout program and get results as it was how I did most of the work in the beginning myself. Which was correct as I followed other web sites for help.

    Jim

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Feb 12, 2019

      Company Response from Credit Solution Program

      Hi James, thanks so much for your review. We have created our site and program exactly for this reason - we believe that most people can save a lot of money and be more effective when helping themselves.

      Mike Roberts, Founder of the Credit Solution Program


  • 28 out 40 people found this review helpful

    Coaching, Motivating and Inspirational

    • Olympia, WA,
    • Jul 29, 2015

    I am a 56 year old, who went through a divorce, my husband wrote the papers and as the obedient person I was, I just signed. I always as a wife, just let my husband tell me what to do, and never involved in my finances or theirs. They took it all and did it all. Because I married young and grew up in the age, that marriages were supposed to last and women didn't plan on this happening, not looking out for myself, requesting to go to school and get a degree, but always told no, because they were financially secure and I didn't need to be. Then left and here I am. I have made some huge mistakes and have also been taken advantage of by being too trusting of those that knew what they were doing and had the power. I was too naive.

    This brings me to my review. I have been trying to learn about credit, and trying to revive my score but have been truly ignorant. Mike's emails have been short, inspirational and encouraging and contain simple steps to help me learn skills I need to have. I have learned a lot and this has not cost me any thing. I believe that this young man is one of the great humanitarians to the American population, that because of circumstance to do not have the power that those with money do. I would highly recommend this website. I am working on it, and inspired that even if I won't be where I was, I will still be okay. Thank you.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Feb 12, 2019

      Company Response from Credit Solution Program

      Hi Margaret, thanks so much for your kind words. I'm happy to hear that you have enjoyed our emails and our free content. It's great that you are taking the steps necessary to build your awareness and your credit!

      Mike Roberts, Founder of the Credit Solution Program


  • 24 out 29 people found this review helpful

    Great great product!

    • Seattle, WA,
    • Dec 12, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    Worth every penny! This product really helped educate me regarding my rights & credit issues. I recommend to all my friends and family.

    I even read some information to my 15-year-old daughter as she's learning about financial issues with hopes to avoid them at a young age!

    So many good points! Patience is a must but don't give up.

    Since starting with this program, I have had 4 things removed and my score has gone up 80 Points!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Feb 12, 2019

      Company Response from Credit Solution Program

      Hi Amber, we're so happy to hear that you've enjoyed our program and have found it educational and helpful in raising your score. Great job teaching your daughter about credit and other financial topics - it's knowledge that will serve her well throughout her life.

      Mike Roberts, Founder of the Credit Solution Program


  • 2 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Awesome credit education and how-to program to improve your credit!

    • Washington,
    • Jan 4, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have been using the Credit Solution Program for over 4 years. And also joined the 800 Club for about 6 months. The education, step-by-step how-to and follow through recommendations are tremendous. As a banker, I can confirm the educational information is spot on, the steps are great, the tools work, and the recommended external resources and partners are vetted and bring results if you follow the program. My credit score post-recession bankruptcy has increased by over 150 points following the steps and using the service providers - in other words, great results!

    Strongly recommend!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Feb 12, 2019

      Company Response from Credit Solution Program

      Hi Steve, thanks for your review and your recommendation. Congrats on your score increase so far, keep it up!

      Mike Roberts, Founder of the Credit Solution Program


  • 3 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Very informative

    • Atlanta, GA,
    • Feb 28, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Credit Solution always has useful information. Especially the article on the order of paying your debt. I had it all wrong like many others, I’m sure. Keep delivering great information. Thank you so much.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    I can't say enough good things about Mike Roberts and the Credit Solution Program.

    • King City, CA,
    • Apr 27, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    After receiving the information from Mike, it took me a while to get started. I sent 9 letters out and of course, they all came back as valid debts. I even received two subpoena's to appear in "collections court." Using Mike's info I went through the 92 pages, yes, 92 pages of documents looking for gaps in the chain of custody, missing documents, etc...Let me tell you, these collection agencies rely solely on intimidation. NOTHING in any of those documents said I was the owner of the debts. A lot of "forth with's", "hence forth's" and "I'm authorized to's." When my days in court came, one collector never showed up. DISMISSED! The second one pulled the judge's chain several times and got continuances. No showed once, lied about having a settlement from the court. They were sanctioned 3 times by the court. Her honor was not happy. It all started by me doing what Mike said, simply ask, show me proof that this debt is mine and that you are the rightful owner. My credit score was low 500's when I started. It is now 647 and I have 3 box store credit cards, several credit-builder credit cards, and 3 major credit cards. I'm in the process of having the last few negative items removed from my credit and I'm pretty sure my score will skyrocket over 720. I can't say enough good things about Mike Roberts and the Credit Solution Program.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Best credit repair program A+++++.

    • May 23, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have tried. Many different credit repair programs and advice over the past 30+ years and I can tell you this one rocks! Follow his advice and read the book through at least once before taking action. Okay, I didn’t. I sent in an unscheduled payment to my 1 credit card.

    Anywho, in the past 3 months, my credit score has gone from poor to fair and is only 27 points from "good." I also just was approved for my 2nd credit card, based on my credit record, no deposit required. I’ll not use it for many months to keep my credit to debt ratio down, which will boost my score big time, while continuing to pay down my first CC.

    I would not know how to do all of these things in this order without working the program. There’s more to learn on my way to 800+. Thanks Mike!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 12 out 14 people found this review helpful

    Interesting Info

    • Northern California,
    • Nov 12, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    I sign up for the Credit Solution Program about 5 years ago. With all the best intentions of using this program. Debt and credit can be very overwhelming, especially when you don't have a handle on it.

    I have found the emails, not daily but just a couple times a week, are full of great information! They are short sometimes only take a few minutes to read. Easy action plans.

    The financial advice, credit repair, building up your score, what mistakes to look out for, are very helpful.

    I enjoy the emails. I started the whole "program", then my "credit" score got completely out of hand, no fault to them, it was with me and personal reasons. I wish I would have taken action and really understood and used the program.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Feb 12, 2019

      Company Response from Credit Solution Program

      Hi Anonymous, thanks so much for your review. I'm happy to hear that you like our emails. I want to mention that your purchase comes with lifetime access to our program, so if life got in the way and you got off track at some point you can always come back to it at any time. Thanks again for your recommendation!

      Mike Roberts, Founder of the Credit Solution Program


  • 16 out 18 people found this review helpful

    Very Informative & Helpful

    • California,
    • Nov 24, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    I recently went through a divorce which resulted in a bankruptcy and low credit scores. Fortunately, I was the spouse paying the bills so I knew where I stood financially.

    I don't recall how I happened across the Credit Solution Program, but I signed up for the free emails which had informative information about how credit scores work. I read the emails for a few months and finally decided to pay for the program. I wanted to repair the damage the bankruptcy had done to my scores and never have this problem again.

    I followed the directions in each email (it did take quite a bit of work on my part), printed the material and subscribed to a site to get my credit reports and scores (I didn't use the one the program mentioned). I went through each report thoroughly and fixed whatever I could. My scores improved, but not significantly. I guess my scores had already started to recover because I already had a car loan and a credit card (both post-bankruptcy) and had followed the free information in the emails.

    I started the program in March and by November my scores have improved 10, 12 and 40 points (they went from good, fair, fair to good, good and fair). I continue to learn through the emails and look forward to the day I will have good credit for when I need it.

    I actually recommended the program to my son, I want him to learn how credit works while he's young and before he needs good credit. I wish I had learned this in school when I was young. Yes, you could find the information for free in other places but it's all put together here in one place and I thought the price I paid was well worth it.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Feb 12, 2019

      Company Response from Credit Solution Program

      Hi TS, thank you for your review and I'm happy to hear that you found our program to be a good value for the money. Great job getting your son to learn about credit early on, he will thank you for that later!


Showing 1-11 of 21

Write a Review for Credit Solution Program!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review