Credit Solution Program Review: Is It Worth It?

By HighYa Research Team
Updated on: Jan 13, 2014

Founded by Mike Roberts and based out of San Francisco, CA, The Credit Solution Program is a credit repair course that claims to give you an “action plan” for improving—and maintaining—your credit rating. According to company’s website, the difference between “good” and “great” credit can cost you hundreds or thousands of dollars over the course of your lifetime, and they want to help you take control of your financial future.

The Credit Solution Program is not listed with the Better Business Bureau, though the operating company—Smart Consumer Solutions, LLC—does hold an A- rating, based on one filed complaint. There are not a wide variety of online customer reviews about The Credit Solution Program, though the ones we did find often complained about using a “bait and switch” technique of luring you into paying for your credit report, and signing up for a monthly subscription for their service.

How the Credit Solution Program Works

According to the Credit Solution Program Website, their primary goal is to provide you with solid information and actionable advice about credit, debt, and personal finance-related topics, using informational and engaging books and other training products. The company claims that a great credit score can help you get great car and home loan rates, as well as fast credit card approvals. As such, there are three different options to help get you started.

When you first land on the Credit Solution Program website, you’ll see a link for a “5-Step Test.” If you decide to answer these few questions, you’ll then be sent an email that includes your Financial Health Score. When you receive and review this information, be sure to keep in mind that there is no accurate way a third party could provide such an in-depth analysis about your financial situation, using only the few basic questions from the “test.” So, take this information with a grain of salt.

Next, you can also obtain the Credit Solution Program’s Starter Kit completely free of charge (just enter your email address again further down the page). You’ll then be given access to six credit-related videos, such as:

  • Your Big Reason Why
  • 5 Rules of Great Credit
  • Know Your Consumer Rights
  • Better Credit the CSP Way
  • Goodwill Adjustments
  • Dealing with Debt Collectors

Each video will include resources and tips for expanding your knowledge on each topic, and you’ll also be automatically signed up for The Credit Solution email newsletter.

Finally, you can also choose to pay for the full Credit Improvement Solution program (more about this in the next section), which claims to provide you with 5 primary benefits:

  1. You’ll understand the importance of your credit, and how it can impact almost every part of your life.
  2. You’ll recognize the factors that can increase or decrease your score.
  3. You’ll have learned how to understand and classify each portion of your credit report.
  4. You’ll know how to create an action plan to regain control over your finances.
  5. You’ll implement a strategy to keep your credit score high.

The Credit Solution Program Pricing & Refund Policy

While the Basic program is free and will get you well on your way toward improving your credit, if you decide you’d like more information, their Credit Improvement Solution program costs $47, and includes:

  • The Credit Solution Program e-book – includes sections titled “Credit from Scratch” and “Divorce & Credit,” as well as a thorough FAQ.
  • The Success Journal – a 106-page manual that helps you create an effective game plan for improving your credit.

The Credit Improvement Solution program comes with a 90-day, 100% satisfaction guarantee. If you’re dissatisfied for any reason, simply email customer service at support@thecreditsolutionprogram.com to begin the process. If you run into any problems, their FAQ is fairly detailed.

Pros

  • Appears to be a decent way to learn the right steps to take in order to begin repairing your credit.
  • 90-day, 100% satisfaction guarantee.

Cons

  • Most of the information contained in The Credit Solution Program can be found elsewhere for free.
  • The program provides information only. In other words, it will be up to you to take action, and a great degree of your success hinges on your negotiating skills and persistence.

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!


Read 21 Credit Solution Program Customer Reviews and Complaints

Write a Review
Average Consumer Rating: 3.6
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 9 4 star: 5 3 star: 1 2 star: 2 1 star:  4
Bottom Line: 67% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 21
Sort reviews by:

  • 58 out 60 people found this review helpful

    Unfulfilled promise on step 1 and crummy customer service.

    • AZ,
    • Dec 29, 2015
    • Verified Reviewer

    This guy, Mike Roberts lures you in with a promise of "all three credit scores for $1". I signed up and got my Trans Union score, but they wanted me to upgrade (more money) in order to get the others. I declined, but apparently, there's fine print to the effect that you're actually subscribing to an automatic subscription which will cost roughly $18 a month. I discovered this on the day my mortgage payment was declined for insufficient funds because of this unauthorized draft. I was furious, and Trans Union cancelled my subscription and returned my money.

    When Credit Solutions Program's "Customer Experience Manager" Jared Cohen e-mailed me to introduce himself, he didn't bother to inquire about my experience. He was trying to pitch me the Credit Solution Program. I replied to him personally, expressed my frustration and I suggested they be more up front about what folks were getting for $1. That would be a good start.

    I got this smug reply:

    Hi Mike,

    I am sorry to hear that you feel this way. Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We greatly appreciate it!

    Best Regards,

    Jeannine

    Can customers, in fact, get all three scores for $1 as promised? If so, I would have expected the Customer Experience Manager to show me how instead of saying "Sorry, Thanks, We appreciate it, Best Regards!"

    How much more will this Mike Roberts guy promise? I decided not to find out. I'm glad I had this experience before I committed another penny to the Credit Solution Program. Most of his follow up e-mails just repeated stuff I've heard before.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Feb 4, 2019

      Company Response from Credit Solution Program

      Hi Mike,

      I’m sorry to learn that you were unhappy with your experience on our website and with our customer support. I apologize for such a delayed response here, however I’m only just now becoming aware of your post since this site is not in any way linked to our website.

      Unfortunately since so much time has passed, I’m not able to review your support conversation to see what you wrote and the agents response. However, based on what you wrote here I’ll try to provide some additional info that may help address your concerns.

      Regarding the promise of “all 3 scores for $1”, I want to apologize if this appeared on our website incorrectly. I don’t know where you found this on our website, but from what you wrote this was linking to Transunion’s website. In the past Transunion did have an offer of all 3 scores for $1, so I would imagine that is what the link was originally linked to. However, because Transunion is a separate company with a separate website, we can’t control what happens after you click a link and leave our website.

      This means that Transunion can change what we link to without us knowing. Because of this, most likely what happened is that Transunion changed the offer on the page that we linked to from our website. Unfortunately, the best we can do in a situation like that is remedy the situation after the fact when we learn of the problem from someone kind enough to let us know such as yourself. I have checked with my team and can confirm that there are currently no links on our website stating “all 3 scores for $1” and this was corrected long ago after your email to let us know of the problem.

      I’m sorry that the response from our support team (Jeannine), did not meet your expectations. I fully agree that it could have been better and she should have tried to more directly address whatever you wrote. I do want to mention that in her response, she did acknowledge that you were unhappy and thanked you for sharing your feedback. So while her response wasn’t worded in the best possible way, I don’t interpret her response as smug. If anything she probably didn’t know how to respond, because it may have seemed to her like your complaint was about Transunion.

      Additionally, I want to mention that we now have a feedback system in place to monitor for cases like yours where you didn’t get the response that you wanted.

      Here’s how it works…

      For every support email we send out, at the end of the email is the question “How would you rate the support you received?” and there are only 3 options for the answer

      1. Great

      2. Okay

      3. Not Good.

      We then look at the responses coming back on a weekly basis to look for areas where improvement is needed. I will share with you that we overwhelmingly receive “Great” responses (82%), some “Okay” (14%), and a few “Not Good” (4%).

      Now I realize that if you get a reply that falls into that 4%, then it’s still a terrible experience for you, so I’m not sharing this to in any way take away from your experience. However, I did want to mention it to provide a broader picture of our customer support experience on the whole and to emphasise that this is something that we track, care deeply about, and work hard to improve.

      Finally, I do want to thank you for your original email to our support team, and for your review here because it has highlighted some opportunities for improvement in keeping links on our website up to date and in offering a better customer support experience.

      Please feel free to contact me directly at mike@thecreditsolutonprogram.com if I can be of any further assistance.


  • 52 out 58 people found this review helpful

    Good information on your credit

    • Winder, ga,
    • Mar 26, 2014

    Did not buy the program, but very helpful information on your credit and how to improve it.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Feb 4, 2019

      Company Response from Credit Solution Program

      Hi Nathan,

      Thanks so much for sharing your feedback. I apologize for such a delayed response here, however, I’m only just now becoming aware of your post since this site is not in any way linked to our website.

      I'm happy to hear that you found our free information helpful in improving your credit. Considering this, I'm a bit disappointed to see that you rated us only 3 stars and that you would not recommend our site to a friend. If you would like to let us know what we could have done better and more deserving of 5 stars, we certainly would appreciate it!

      Please feel free to contact me directly at mike@thecreditsolutonprogram.com

      Sincerely,

      Mike Roberts, Founder of the Credit Solution Program


  • 43 out 46 people found this review helpful

    Nothing New

    • Jul 1, 2015

    I am "on the road to recovery" with my credit. My husband received an email about this program. We decided to buy it as it promised new ideas to help improve your credit scores. Upon reading the information, I found nothing new. EVERYTHING they recommended I've done and are widely available elsewhere. If you've taken no steps related to your credit, give it a try. Otherwise, it's probably nothing you don't already know.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Feb 12, 2019

      Company Response from Credit Solution Program

      Hi Elizabeth,

      I am very sorry to hear that you didn’t completely love our program. I do apologize for not responding sooner, but because this website is an independently run site completely unaffiliated with our company, I am only just now finding out about your review.

      From what you have posted here, it’s not clear whether you contacted our customer service team to request a refund on your purchase. Additionally, since there isn’t enough information in this review to look up your account, I’m unable to locate your purchase and I have no way of contacting you directly.

      If you would be kind enough to contact me by email at mike@thecreditsolutionprogram.com I will make sure you receive a complete refund. I don’t want you paying for anything if you aren’t 100% happy with your purchase.

      Our product is designed to match what the vast majority of people struggling with credit problems need. I also want to mention that since you wrote this review it has been updated multiple times over the years and is now more comprehensive than ever. However, we understand that it’s never going to be possible to create a product that every single customer absolutely loves. That’s exactly why we offer a 100% money back guarantee.

      With that said, I truly am sorry that our program wasn’t the right fit for you and glad to hear that you are "on the road to recovery" without our help!


  • 31 out 33 people found this review helpful

    "Bait and switch," common info available throughout for free.

    • Atlanta, GA,
    • Apr 11, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    Like a lot of traps on the internet, it gives you a shock headline and then goes after money talking about something else.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Feb 4, 2019

      Company Response from Credit Solution Program

      Hi Robert,

      I apologize for such a delayed response here, however, I’m only just now becoming aware of your post since this site is in no way linked to our website.

      I'm very sorry that you found your experience with our site to be "Bait and Switch". With that said, I can’t tell if you purchased a product from us or just utilized our free content before writing this review.

      I'm unable to find a purchase in our database from you based on the limited information available on this website. If you did, in fact, make a purchase from us and you're unhappy, I want to make sure that you get a full refund immediately. If you would be kind enough to email me directly at mike@thecreditsolutionprogram.com with the name and email that you purchased under I will take care of this for you right away.

      Next, from what you wrote here, it sounds like you were upset to learn that you had to spend money in order to get our full program?

      It might help if I explain a little bit about how our business works. We have 3 different “tiers” of content available on our website…

      The first is our blog and it’s both free and completely open, meaning you don’t need to enter an email address or any other info to access this content. The content on our blog is helpful on its own and it covers many different topics on credit, debt, etc. very well. Many people make great progress in improving their credit by using only the free content on our blog.

      The second is our email newsletter which is also free, however, you do need to register to receive this by entering your email on our site. Our newsletter often links to articles on our blog or to promotional offers that we have found are of the most interest to our subscribers. Again, many people use only the free email newsletter and the blog to learn about their credit. You will find some of these people commenting on this very website about how they have never purchased from us but love the content, etc.

      The third tier of content on our site is our full program. While this is offered at an extremely affordable price, it does require a payment to access. However, I want to be clear in that you are under no obligation to buy our program in order to use the rest of our website. The benefit of purchasing the program is that it’s something you can follow step by step straight through and it’s a lot more organized and useful than a bunch of blog articles. As you might expect, after registering for our email newsletter or reading articles on our blog many people choose to make a purchase from us and follow our full program. '

      If these explanations were way off base, I'd really appreciate more info on what specifically you feel is "Bait and Switch" about our business. If you're so inclined to share more with me, please email me directly at mike@thecreditoslutionprogram.com

      Sincerely,

      Mike Roberts, Founder of the Credit Solution Program


  • 29 out 30 people found this review helpful

    Scam

    • Tewksbury, MA,
    • Aug 13, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I wasted 30 minutes of my life listening to his pitch. Money back? I'll see. He tried to upgrade me for like $79, I didn't take the offer, then he cut the price in half. I forget all the details but there were more offers like over a hundred dollars that kept getting reduced every time I refused. I finally get the booklet, and he goes on for at least three-quarters of the book telling stories and facts everyone already knows, nothing is new. Then he tells you not to be late on payments and if you are, ask the creditor nicely to forgive you and remove the late payment. In other words, don't have late payments, and if you have to borrow money to make the payments, then pay your creditors. What about the people you borrow the money from, how are you going to pay them back? Oh, he does point out that if there are mistakes on your report, file a claim to have them removed. Why didn't I think of that? Oh, that's right, I didn't spend hundreds of hours of research like he did nor did I do all the networking he did. He is just like all those flip-this-house guys who tell you nothing until they get 20 grand out of you. Save your money, he can't help you unless it has to do with emptying out your wallet.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Feb 4, 2019

      Company Response from Credit Solution Program

      Hi Tom,

      I’m very sorry to hear that you feel like your time was wasted on our website and that you seemed to have doubts about getting your money back after being unhappy with your purchase.

      Even though you never contacted our customer support team to request a refund, I was able to locate your account and have processed a refund for you. I sent you an email to let you know this as well, and I hope this has been resolved to your satisfaction.

      I was surprised to learn in your response to that email that you were not able to find any information about how to obtain a refund or how to contact us about it. I apologize if somehow we fell short in communicating our support channels and our policies.

      Here are the ways we currently communicate support options to our customers:

      In the welcome email you received after purchase, we explain that we want you to be happy with your purchase and if for some reason you are not to please contact support@thecreditsolutionprogram.com to request a refund.

      In the upper right corner of our website, there is a link to our support page. There you will find our support email and phone number and a button to “contact us”. In the upper right corner of our website, we also list a customer support number.

      In the footer of our website, there is a link to our money back guarantee, a link to a contact us form, and our support email is listed.

      On your credit card statement, there is a link to a dedicated page on our website where we list support contact info to request a refund.

      Regarding the order process, we are sorry to hear that you felt pressured, and I have already reviewed this feedback with our marketing team. The checkout process is designed to provide options and recommendations for additional products based on what you have placed in your shopping cart as well as what other customers have purchased. With that said, you are not obligated to purchase any items at any point in time.

      Additionally, I want to assure you that each of our products stands effective on its own. There is never any case where you are required to add additional upgrades to get full value from whatever product you initially intended to order.

      I can tell by what you wrote here that you found no value in our product, but I have to wonder if you looked through the entire product and online members area? For one low price, your purchase included a lot more than just the book that was mailed to you. In the members area there are additional resources, training videos, dispute letters, etc.

      Maybe you were aware of the full product, and still didn't get any value. If so, congrats! That means you know an awfully lot about credit scoring, and that is great, but it’s not the case for most people. I know this because we’ve been in business for 8 years and we have helped over 2 million people raise their credit scores. I hear directly from hundreds of people on a weekly basis exactly what they know or don’t know about their credit.

      Our product is designed to match what the vast majority of people struggling with credit problems need. I can also share with you that the refund rate on our product is 5.4% which is well below average for online purchases.

      Of course, we understand that it’s never going to be possible to create a product that every single customer absolutely loves. And with that said, I truly am sorry that our program wasn’t the right fit for you and I hope that you’re able to find the help that you need even if it’s not with us!


  • 28 out 40 people found this review helpful

    Coaching, Motivating and Inspirational

    • Olympia, WA,
    • Jul 29, 2015

    I am a 56 year old, who went through a divorce, my husband wrote the papers and as the obedient person I was, I just signed. I always as a wife, just let my husband tell me what to do, and never involved in my finances or theirs. They took it all and did it all. Because I married young and grew up in the age, that marriages were supposed to last and women didn't plan on this happening, not looking out for myself, requesting to go to school and get a degree, but always told no, because they were financially secure and I didn't need to be. Then left and here I am. I have made some huge mistakes and have also been taken advantage of by being too trusting of those that knew what they were doing and had the power. I was too naive.

    This brings me to my review. I have been trying to learn about credit, and trying to revive my score but have been truly ignorant. Mike's emails have been short, inspirational and encouraging and contain simple steps to help me learn skills I need to have. I have learned a lot and this has not cost me any thing. I believe that this young man is one of the great humanitarians to the American population, that because of circumstance to do not have the power that those with money do. I would highly recommend this website. I am working on it, and inspired that even if I won't be where I was, I will still be okay. Thank you.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Feb 12, 2019

      Company Response from Credit Solution Program

      Hi Margaret, thanks so much for your kind words. I'm happy to hear that you have enjoyed our emails and our free content. It's great that you are taking the steps necessary to build your awareness and your credit!

      Mike Roberts, Founder of the Credit Solution Program


  • 24 out 29 people found this review helpful

    Great great product!

    • Seattle, WA,
    • Dec 12, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    Worth every penny! This product really helped educate me regarding my rights & credit issues. I recommend to all my friends and family.

    I even read some information to my 15-year-old daughter as she's learning about financial issues with hopes to avoid them at a young age!

    So many good points! Patience is a must but don't give up.

    Since starting with this program, I have had 4 things removed and my score has gone up 80 Points!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Feb 12, 2019

      Company Response from Credit Solution Program

      Hi Amber, we're so happy to hear that you've enjoyed our program and have found it educational and helpful in raising your score. Great job teaching your daughter about credit and other financial topics - it's knowledge that will serve her well throughout her life.

      Mike Roberts, Founder of the Credit Solution Program


  • 23 out 27 people found this review helpful

    The Credit Solution Program

    • Los Angeles, CA,
    • Nov 10, 2014

    Mike Roberts has managed to take the daunting, confusing world of trying to repair my credit and distilled the information down into clear, manageable, actionable steps for people who don't repair credit for a living (which I don't). More important, he EXPLAINS the way the whole confusing legal mumbo jumbo works and how it can work to your benefit if you know how to take certain steps in a certain order using the Law to support your process of credit improvement. My credit was a MESS after going through a bad divorce then taking a personal credit hit when the economy turned and I lost my business. It's been a process to deal with fixing everything on my credit reports but his system has made it so much easier to do. I started with the free system, watched the videos which are to-the-point but delivered in a fun way. I learned more about different aspects of how my credit is or can be affected by things like filing bankrupt (which I thought about), buying a car, house, how balances on credit cards affect your scores, etc. I stayed proactive in repairing my credit using his methods and got great results. If you get the program and follow it, it does work. Just make the commitment to be proactive in fixing your reports and higher scores follow as you go along.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Feb 12, 2019

      Company Response from Credit Solution Program

      Hi Susan, thanks so much for your kind words. It sounds like you were dealing with quite a bit and I'm very happy to learn of your great results!

      Mike Roberts, Founder of the Credit Solution Program


  • 22 out 28 people found this review helpful

    Great information

    • PA,
    • Jan 13, 2015

    I was surprised the free data was excellent. He provide PDF files to help with letter writing. I have been working on issues for years, I have file legal work and such. Sites like this are great cause it allows me to do what I need to do and not rely on others or pay high fee's for services.

    I worked with a lawyer a few years ago and like normal, most the work was done by his assistant. Well the results were horrible and the lawyer caused more harm with his filing before all was worked out properly and the data they claim would be right was not.

    I will be working with this well layout program and get results as it was how I did most of the work in the beginning myself. Which was correct as I followed other web sites for help.

    Jim

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Feb 12, 2019

      Company Response from Credit Solution Program

      Hi James, thanks so much for your review. We have created our site and program exactly for this reason - we believe that most people can save a lot of money and be more effective when helping themselves.

      Mike Roberts, Founder of the Credit Solution Program


  • 20 out 23 people found this review helpful

    Overall Experience

    • GA,
    • Nov 29, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    Been with them for a couple or three years. Don't remember what the promises were or what I paid. I do remember receiving some hard copy books I ordered. My intent was to be better at helping my clients with their credit scores and repairing damaged credit, ultimately saving them money in interest that they could reallocate to their financial plan. The books I received were an eye opener for me and provided me with the basics to help my clients. It also helped me with my own credit score. I get the emails and at least scan through them to see if I need to read more thoroughly. Often they provide valuable information. Sometimes it is a repeat or reminder of something I saw previously. In all cases it has helped my business. I have shared knowledge I have retained with my clients and other financial advisors with whom I work. Not all of our clients need help in this area, but when they do and I can help with their credit score and save them money in the long run, they are more likely to refer me to friends and family.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Feb 12, 2019

      Company Response from Credit Solution Program

      Hi Lance, it's great to hear that you've used what you learned through our program to help others understand their finances better. At the Credit Solution Program we view good credit as an asset, a guaranteed way to save more money, and an important part of an overall financial plan.

      Mike Roberts, Founder of the Credit Solution Program


  • 16 out 21 people found this review helpful

    Good.

    • Liberty, NC,
    • Oct 6, 2014

    It has helped me even though I never paid anything.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Feb 12, 2019

      Company Response from Credit Solution Program

      Hi Richard, thanks for your review and glad to hear that you have been helped by our free email newsletter and blog!


Showing 1-11 of 21

Write a Review for Credit Solution Program!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review