About Cyclone Rake

Manufactured by Woodland Power Products, Inc. based out of West Haven, CT, the Cyclone Rake is a tow-behind lawn vacuum system that is claimed to easily attach to any riding mower (even zero-turn mowers) and transform it into a high-capacity, super-powerful outdoor cleanup machine. And by using premium, commercial-grade engines and patented impellers with up to 10X more lifting power than most riding mowers, the Cyclone Rake is claimed to help you save time and effort and to give you a healthier lawn with fewer chemicals.

With fall just around the corner and the daylight hours waning, you’re sure to have leaves and other debris sitting in your yard very soon. And if you’re used to raking or blowing your property, you understand what a time-consuming and backbreaking process it can be.

With this in mind, can the Cyclone Rake lawn vacuum and leaf mulcher really help you finish your fall yard chores in much less time than with traditional methods? And if so, is it worth the steep price? Let’s find out.

How the Cyclone Rake Claims to Work

Billing itself as the “most popular leaf and lawn vacuum in America,” the Cyclone Rake is a tow-behind lawn and leaf vacuum that claims to attach to virtually any riding mower with a right-side discharge in less than 4 minutes, without any tools, and to feature a huge load capacity that allows you to spend more time picking up debris—both wet and dry—and less time emptying the bin. In fact, the manufacturer claims that the Cyclone Rake can even be used effectively while it’s raining.

When compared to the competition, the Cyclone Rake features a unique JetPath vacuum system, which has a shorter overall length, larger tube diameter, and straight run from your mower to the mulcher, thereby improving power and reducing the chances of clogs. On top of this, the Cyclone Rake’s patented Miracle Impeller is strong yet flexible, allowing large objects to pass, and then to return to its original shape. Finally, the Cyclone Rake is claimed to never jackknife, whether you’re making tight turns or going in reverse, making cleaning up tight areas a breeze (see more about this in the Customer Reviews section).

Once you’re finished using your Cyclone Rake, the manufacturer claims that it can be easily detached (again, using no tools) and then folded flat for storage. In fact, at just 6 inches thick, the Cyclone Rake is light enough to be hung on the wall.

Cyclone Rake Models

According to the company’s website, the top 3 Cyclone Rake models feature the largest debris capacity available, and some models include the EasyFlow unloading system that works similar to a dump truck. However, all models come with premium Briggs & Stratton® Vanguard engines that may cost more, but are claimed to provide you with better dependability and longer life.

With this said, the right Cyclone Rake model for you will depend largely on what size property are you maintaining, how much debris will be collected, and what size mower you’ll be using. For a side-by-side comparison of different Cyclone Rake models, be sure to take a look at the comparison chart.

However, here is a brief overview of the 5 different Cyclone Rake models:

  • Classic – 7-inch diameter JetPath Vacuum System, a 5.5 HP Vanguard Engine w/8.5 foot-pounds of torque, and a 200 gallon capacity.
  • Commander – 8-inch diameter JetPath Vacuum System, a 6.5 HP Vanguard Engine w/9.1 foot-pounds of torque, and a 285 gallon capacity.
  • Commercial Pro – 8-inch diameter JetPath Vacuum System, a 6.5 HP Vanguard Engine w/9.1 foot-pounds of torque, and a 415 gallon capacity.
  • XL – 8-inch diameter JetPath Vacuum System, an 8 HP Vanguard Engine w/13.4 foot-pounds of torque, and a 415 gallon capacity.
  • Z-10 – 10-inch diameter JetPath Vacuum System, a 10 HP Vanguard Engine w/14.4 foot-pounds of torque, and a 415 gallon capacity.

According to the manufacturer, your Cyclone Rake will come with everything you need to begin using it, unless you don’t have a usable mower deck boot or have one of the small number of mowers that requires a custom hitch. Most customers agree than the Cyclone Rake’s assembly instructions are clear and all parts are well-labeled.

Cyclone Rake Pricing & Refund Policy

The Cyclone Rake is only sold directly through the factory, and is priced as follows:

  • Classic: $1,095
  • Commander: $1,345
  • Commercial Pro: $1,545
  • XL: $1,745
  • Z-10: $1,945

In addition to the primary machine, Cyclone Rake also has a large selection of replacement parts and accessories available, from upgraded wheels to roof rack carriers.

Shipping costs for your Cyclone Rake can vary depending on the area of the country in which you live, although due to its large size, it can be as high as a couple hundred dollars.

All Cyclone Rake models come with a 12-month risk free trial, including S&H both ways, a 3-year warranty for residential use, and 1-year warranty for commercial use.

If you have questions about Cyclone Rake or need to process a return, you’ll need to contact the factory trained service and sales team at 888-531-7253. Alternately, you can visit their showroom, order an information kit, or use their referral service to talk to someone near you who already owns a Cyclone Rake.

What Do Other Consumers Have to Say About the Cyclone Rake?

Overall, it appears that the Cyclone Rake has an overwhelmingly positive online customer reputation, with some even claiming that it’s the best yard investment they’ve ever made. Common compliments include that the Cyclone Rake is very effective at lifting almost any material from the lawn, including acorns, and that customer service is very helpful and responds quickly to any inquiries.

In fact, it was difficult finding any real Cyclone Rake complaints, other than minor fitment issues. However, some common concerns included that steering may suffer once you near load capacity, especially for zero-turn mowers (note: your zero-turn mower will no longer be zero-turn once attached). Additional concerns include that it arrives unassembled and may take you several hours to do so, and that the motor is powerful enough to suck up rocks, which could potentially damage the rear housing.

Bottom Line: Is Cyclone Rake Something that Can Make Yard Cleanup Easy?

Based on the number of positive reviews regarding the Cyclone Rake, it appears that you’d be hard-pressed to find a device that makes cleaning up leaves and other yard debris easier, all throughout the year. Admittedly, the Cyclone Rake does come with a high price, but it also has the potential to save you a lot of time and backbreaking work. And the larger your yard, the more helpful it might be.

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!

37 Consumer Reviews for Cyclone Rake

Average Consumer Rating: 4.4
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 27 4 star: 3 3 star: 2 2 star: 3 1 star:  2
Bottom Line: 84% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 37
Sort reviews by:

  • Awesome product

    • Wallingford, CT,
    • Nov 7, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    My wife purchased me a Cyclone Rake classic back in approximately 2003. I use this to do my Wallingford home and my vacation home in New Hampshire. I normally use it in early spring to clean up my yard and a few times in the fall to do the leaves for both properties. I have NEVER had any problems.

    The best part is when it’s not being used I fold it up, hang it on my wall, and roll the engine under my workbench. Best present I ever got, worth every cent!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Not for yards with turns or corners

    • Pickett, WI,
    • Nov 4, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I purchased the Cyclone Rake because it knocked down. That part is great. However, if you have a yard with a fence with corners or other similar areas that require turns, DO NOT buy the Cyclone! It is like trying to turn a semi-tractor in your yard. The Cyclone drastically extends the length of your mower. Then two years later I purchased a new mower. So you need a new deck attachment. The one I bought with the Cyclone package was $79. If you need a new one, THE PRICE SKYROCKETS! $178. Total rip off, since it is made with recycled plastic. We use the same material on some of our parts, and it is dirt cheap. Overall the product works great, if you have an open yard with no turns and you never buy a new mower tractor.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Best vacuum I’ve ever purchased!

    • Toledo, IA,
    • Oct 27, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    We’ve owned our Cyclone Rake for over 10 years. We purchased the XL and my husband thought I was completely crazy to make this purchase. We had 5 acres with too many trees to count. I, of course, told him that it was about time I bought him a vacuum!

    We’ve had minimal issues with this machine and turn heads all the time when we pull it out. We sold our acreage and bought a house in town. We have a large lot with a lot of trees and knew we’d use our vacuum here too. Last year we pulled it out and neighbors were begging my husband to take care of their yards too! Last year we did all of our leaves and the neighbors'. The deal was he’d take the clippings to the yard waste place! This year we just drove the mower with the Cyclone Rake down the road with me behind in the Chevy with the hazards on.

    My husband is now looking into the purchase of the Cyclone Nut Rake to help with all of the walnuts. If it works as well as the Cyclone Rake, we’re going to be loving it! If you have leaves and hate to take them every year, then get this machine. You won’t regret it, and your neighbors will become very friendly! You could even make some money on the side to pay for it! My friends always say that we should advertise and we could get paid!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • So far so good!

    • Wisconsin,
    • Oct 21, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I purchased the Commercial Pro this year. Assembly went well but took longer than expected. Switching back and forth from grass deflector to Cyclone Rake will be more cumbersome than I expected, but otherwise, it was pretty straightforward. I used it for the first time yesterday and it works like a champ! It picks up heavy wet leaves without a problem. Maneuvering it around was a bit of a learning process, but overall it follows my Ztrak around really well. Unloading it takes a little practice, but I can say it will definitely be a huge time saver for me.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Outstanding machinery

    • Ontario, Canada,
    • Sep 26, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Although Summer never seems long enough, as Fall approaches with beautiful colors, a consolation is to again put my CR Commander through its paces. As others have mentioned, I too really enjoy using this piece of equipment. I've had it for 12 years, and mated to my vintage 37-year-old John Deere 317 lawn tractor, they save me time and effort on my 2.5-acre treed property. I recall the learning curve initially on maneuvering around the trees, and it brings back some chuckles when reading the common experiences in this regard others have initially.

    Assembly pointed out how solid this unit is, the instruction manual was superb as was the comprehensive toolkit that had everything one needed. Extra buckles, chrome cotter pins provided as spare parts (but never needed-no hardware has failed). I also use the unit to vacuum up mowed grass once dried out for a neater job, besides the obvious leaf function.

    This week I will replace the collector bag that has split along the side rail at the zipper which has stripped/broken. The zippered spare leaf screen (originally supplied-never used) unfortunately is not used anymore on the redesigned collector bag-this isn't a complaint, just a comment on the durability of this unit.

    Telephone support with this company is knowledgeable, helpful, polite and efficient.

    I recommend the Cyclone Rake without reservation. Along with my old tractor, it's the best piece of machinery I've purchased.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 6 people found this review helpful

    My experience with Cyclone Rake

    • Mount Horeb, WI,
    • Jul 30, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I bought the XL model and found that every time I used it, 2 or 3 things would vibrate loose and would need to be tightened or would be lost.

    The staff were excellent and would send replacement parts promptly. There is a 1-year unconditional money back no questions asked guarantee.

    The machine works nice but is really big. I mow 6 acres and would lose something due to vibrating off every time. For me, the machine was not worth the trouble to do a 45-minute pre-flight every time I used it.

    I replaced it with a DR lawn vacuum and so far am satisfied. There is no comparison on the warranty as the Cyclone Rake warranty is so much better, but that might be because so much stuff falls off of it.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Great product

    • Valrico, FL,
    • Apr 20, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    This is a great machine, and a greater company to work with.

    I had an issue of my own fault, and customer service took care of it immediately, they didn’t have to, it’s nice knowing that they want to take care of you after the purchase.

    I highly recommend this product and company wholeheartedly. I will be a repeat customer.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Great product

    • Edmond, OK,
    • Dec 6, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have owned the Cyclone Rake for quite a few years, and I know without a shadow of a doubt that this product lives up to the description on the website. I have usually 2-3 episodes of leaf pickup, and if it wasn't for my Cyclone, I could not do it. I usually have 5-6 full vacuum bags each time, if not more. I would buy it again if given the opportunity. It still starts without problems, and I have not had to replace parts with exception to the ones I have damaged by bad driving.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    The best yard company and product I have ever had

    • Goochland, VA,
    • Dec 4, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I bought my Commander 7 years ago. The best investment for lawn care I ever had. I had not used the product since moving to another location after 4 years. Now I have 2 acres of lawn surrounded by trees. I started it up in ONE PULL. Thanks to Briggs & Stratton (Ethanol, or not). Had it been a Honda motor, my experience has been that a carburetor job would have been required to get it started thanks to nightmare Ethanol.

    Everything that came with the machine from the tools supplied by the manufacturer to the storage bag and the various parts were top rate. True, the storage bag when full gets mighty giddy, especially when you do not follow directions with regard to using the product on hills, but you get away with plenty if you use the machine on hills first when it is empty.

    I highly recommend the Cyclone Rake and the company. In addition, if you like to garden, the chopped leaves are a ready supply of compost or mulch.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Exceeds expectations even after 3 years of use!

    • Mount Airy, MD,
    • Nov 29, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I bought the Commander model to handle a one-acre lot with some clustered trees, multiple flower beds, and grass. The lot is fairly level. Two accessories that I found indispensable are the jack and the vacuum pickup. I use a hybrid approach to collect leaves on my lot, a small rake to get leaves out from under my deck which is low to the ground, and a gas blower to move leaves into a furrow in places where they are high and surrounded by trees. I use the vacuum collector for the bigger piles, as my lawnmower tends to bulldoze them otherwise. Not a problem. I also use the vacuum pickup in flower beds. It is a real time saver. Then I remove the vacuum pickup hose and use the CR as you see on the ads, cruising across the lawn, loving life.

    Huge capacity in the wagon. You'll need to empty it before it is filled to capacity because leaves and debris are really hurled into the collector, and it can become a bit challenging to unload, not a real problem to me, however, and I am 67 and in fair shape.

    It takes some practice to get used to making turns, as the collector does not articulate like a trailer might. I confess I have knocked down my mailbox a couple of times in my haste. But that's just me trying to see how close I can come. Now I just blow leaves away from the mailbox to resist temptation and take wider turns.

    It has been completely reliable, starts on one or maybe two pulls. I have had to replace a couple of small pieces of hardware due to my abuse, total cost was about $15. It's fun and makes picking up leaves almost fun! It cut my time by about 60% with much less effort. I also use it occasionally in the summer to collect grass to support my composting activities (and this machine is a godsend to composters!).

    Very knowledgeable support staff, quality durable equipment, and fun to use. What's not to like?

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Very, very satisfied

    • Tallmadge, OH,
    • Nov 28, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have had mine for approximately 5 years. I take care of my 1.5 acres at my home and 2.0 acres at my rental property. I used to spend countless hours on leaf removal (blower, tarp, dragging) until I got smart. I am 72 years old and using this is a breeze, and fun. Thank you for a quality product.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 37

Write a Review for Cyclone Rake!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review