About Cyclone Rake

Manufactured by Woodland Power Products, Inc. based out of West Haven, CT, the Cyclone Rake is a tow-behind lawn vacuum system that is claimed to easily attach to any riding mower (even zero-turn mowers) and transform it into a high-capacity, super-powerful outdoor cleanup machine. And by using premium, commercial-grade engines and patented impellers with up to 10X more lifting power than most riding mowers, the Cyclone Rake is claimed to help you save time and effort and to give you a healthier lawn with fewer chemicals.

With fall just around the corner and the daylight hours waning, you’re sure to have leaves and other debris sitting in your yard very soon. And if you’re used to raking or blowing your property, you understand what a time-consuming and backbreaking process it can be.

With this in mind, can the Cyclone Rake lawn vacuum and leaf mulcher really help you finish your fall yard chores in much less time than with traditional methods? And if so, is it worth the steep price? Let’s find out.

How the Cyclone Rake Claims to Work

Billing itself as the “most popular leaf and lawn vacuum in America,” the Cyclone Rake is a tow-behind lawn and leaf vacuum that claims to attach to virtually any riding mower with a right-side discharge in less than 4 minutes, without any tools, and to feature a huge load capacity that allows you to spend more time picking up debris—both wet and dry—and less time emptying the bin. In fact, the manufacturer claims that the Cyclone Rake can even be used effectively while it’s raining.

When compared to the competition, the Cyclone Rake features a unique JetPath vacuum system, which has a shorter overall length, larger tube diameter, and straight run from your mower to the mulcher, thereby improving power and reducing the chances of clogs. On top of this, the Cyclone Rake’s patented Miracle Impeller is strong yet flexible, allowing large objects to pass, and then to return to its original shape. Finally, the Cyclone Rake is claimed to never jackknife, whether you’re making tight turns or going in reverse, making cleaning up tight areas a breeze (see more about this in the Customer Reviews section).

Once you’re finished using your Cyclone Rake, the manufacturer claims that it can be easily detached (again, using no tools) and then folded flat for storage. In fact, at just 6 inches thick, the Cyclone Rake is light enough to be hung on the wall.

Cyclone Rake Models

According to the company’s website, the top 3 Cyclone Rake models feature the largest debris capacity available, and some models include the EasyFlow unloading system that works similar to a dump truck. However, all models come with premium Briggs & Stratton® Vanguard engines that may cost more, but are claimed to provide you with better dependability and longer life.

With this said, the right Cyclone Rake model for you will depend largely on what size property are you maintaining, how much debris will be collected, and what size mower you’ll be using. For a side-by-side comparison of different Cyclone Rake models, be sure to take a look at the comparison chart.

However, here is a brief overview of the 5 different Cyclone Rake models:

  • Classic – 7-inch diameter JetPath Vacuum System, a 5.5 HP Vanguard Engine w/8.5 foot-pounds of torque, and a 200 gallon capacity.
  • Commander – 8-inch diameter JetPath Vacuum System, a 6.5 HP Vanguard Engine w/9.1 foot-pounds of torque, and a 285 gallon capacity.
  • Commercial Pro – 8-inch diameter JetPath Vacuum System, a 6.5 HP Vanguard Engine w/9.1 foot-pounds of torque, and a 415 gallon capacity.
  • XL – 8-inch diameter JetPath Vacuum System, an 8 HP Vanguard Engine w/13.4 foot-pounds of torque, and a 415 gallon capacity.
  • Z-10 – 10-inch diameter JetPath Vacuum System, a 10 HP Vanguard Engine w/14.4 foot-pounds of torque, and a 415 gallon capacity.

According to the manufacturer, your Cyclone Rake will come with everything you need to begin using it, unless you don’t have a usable mower deck boot or have one of the small number of mowers that requires a custom hitch. Most customers agree than the Cyclone Rake’s assembly instructions are clear and all parts are well-labeled.

Cyclone Rake Pricing & Refund Policy

The Cyclone Rake is only sold directly through the factory, and is priced as follows:

  • Classic: $1,095
  • Commander: $1,345
  • Commercial Pro: $1,545
  • XL: $1,745
  • Z-10: $1,945

In addition to the primary machine, Cyclone Rake also has a large selection of replacement parts and accessories available, from upgraded wheels to roof rack carriers.

Shipping costs for your Cyclone Rake can vary depending on the area of the country in which you live, although due to its large size, it can be as high as a couple hundred dollars.

All Cyclone Rake models come with a 12-month risk free trial, including S&H both ways, a 3-year warranty for residential use, and 1-year warranty for commercial use.

If you have questions about Cyclone Rake or need to process a return, you’ll need to contact the factory trained service and sales team at 888-531-7253. Alternately, you can visit their showroom, order an information kit, or use their referral service to talk to someone near you who already owns a Cyclone Rake.

What Do Other Consumers Have to Say About the Cyclone Rake?

Overall, it appears that the Cyclone Rake has an overwhelmingly positive online customer reputation, with some even claiming that it’s the best yard investment they’ve ever made. Common compliments include that the Cyclone Rake is very effective at lifting almost any material from the lawn, including acorns, and that customer service is very helpful and responds quickly to any inquiries.

In fact, it was difficult finding any real Cyclone Rake complaints, other than minor fitment issues. However, some common concerns included that steering may suffer once you near load capacity, especially for zero-turn mowers (note: your zero-turn mower will no longer be zero-turn once attached). Additional concerns include that it arrives unassembled and may take you several hours to do so, and that the motor is powerful enough to suck up rocks, which could potentially damage the rear housing.

Bottom Line: Is Cyclone Rake Something that Can Make Yard Cleanup Easy?

Based on the number of positive reviews regarding the Cyclone Rake, it appears that you’d be hard-pressed to find a device that makes cleaning up leaves and other yard debris easier, all throughout the year. Admittedly, the Cyclone Rake does come with a high price, but it also has the potential to save you a lot of time and backbreaking work. And the larger your yard, the more helpful it might be.


Read 45 Cyclone Rake Customer Reviews and Complaints

Write a Review
Average Customer Rating: 4.4
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 34 4 star: 4 3 star: 2 2 star: 3 1 star:  2
Bottom Line: 87% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 45
Sort reviews by:

  • 18 out 27 people found this review helpful

    Buy another brand

    • Cedar Grove, NJ,
    • Oct 25, 2015

    Works ok, very dusty, lots of complaints from anyone close. Parts and shipping are a rip off. $80.00 to ship three small parts from CT to north NJ, about six pounds. Called to see why they all shipped separate over five days and they hung up before I could state my issue.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 3 out 11 people found this review helpful

    Shatter shield first bend in shoot

    I purchased the Estate Model 9HP. It was suggested to buy extra tempered scatter shield and guess what? A few years of use and the scatter shield was not wide enough blew a hole through the plastic. Poorly constructed.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 8 out 14 people found this review helpful

    Not for me

    • New York,
    • Nov 21, 2015

    It's not for me because I have too many leaves I guess. I bought the commercial one and it is not enough for my 3/4 acre, about 80 trees. Keeps getting clogged, aside from the fact my tractor has to be able to handle (keep up) with the leaves, and I have a good Ariens. In other words you are dealing with 2 machines and it is not as easy as it sounds. I am actually back to blowing, raking and bagging.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 10 out 18 people found this review helpful

    Not as easy as it sounds

    • Charlton, MA,
    • Sep 27, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    If you read their web site it is so easy to use. But wait until you need to empty it. It is a ball buster once it's packed and HEAVY to dump. And you will need to dig some of it out before it will dump, it is packed so tight. If you use your hands to loosen some of it and you happened to mow over some Poison Ivy guess what... 5 1/2hp motor and the chute still gets clogged. I wish I didn't waste the money. It picks up the grass but is a killer to empty. And everything is Velcro. Wrong material around dirt, dust and grass clippings.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 9 out 16 people found this review helpful

    My experience with Cyclone Rake

    • Mount Horeb, WI,
    • Jul 30, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I bought the XL model and found that every time I used it, 2 or 3 things would vibrate loose and would need to be tightened or would be lost.

    The staff were excellent and would send replacement parts promptly. There is a 1-year unconditional money back no questions asked guarantee.

    The machine works nice but is really big. I mow 6 acres and would lose something due to vibrating off every time. For me, the machine was not worth the trouble to do a 45-minute pre-flight every time I used it.

    I replaced it with a DR lawn vacuum and so far am satisfied. There is no comparison on the warranty as the Cyclone Rake warranty is so much better, but that might be because so much stuff falls off of it.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 15 out 19 people found this review helpful

    Durability of product questionable

    • Sparta, MI,
    • May 23, 2015

    I have used my Z-10 four times since I purchased it earlier this year. I tend to be a little rough on my equipment, and unfortunately, this product is not standing up to my use of it. When it works, it works fantastic. I love the way my lawn works when the product works as expected.

    I have it attached to a zero turn 60" deck. My mower can handle cutting the grass when its wet (a couple of hours after a rain). However, the Z-10 can't. There isn't enough suction to get the grass from the mower though the system to the bag. It's extremely frustrating to have stop all of the time to unclog it. With a 10" tube, you wouldn't think you would have to.

    I have had several experiences with their customer service. I give them an A plus for support. Customer support is important to me, and they are fantastic at sending me out parts that have been damaged by my use.

    You would think by the amount of money paid, it would hold up as well as my John Deere, but it doesn't. Dumping is a horrible process as well. You have to be a body builder (or have help) lifting the collector to dump grass. It's no where as easy as the videos make it out to be.

    Steering when it's half loaded is another issue. My zero turn struggles trying to get started after you make a turn.

    I just wanted to write a review so that anybody who is tough on their lawn care equipment would be aware. It is a little weak when it comes to toughness.

    Over all though, I generally like this product. I just wish it would of been built with strong steel (like my John Deere), so it could stand some kind of moderate punishment.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 3 out 9 people found this review helpful

    Not for yards with turns or corners

    • Pickett, WI,
    • Nov 4, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I purchased the Cyclone Rake because it knocked down. That part is great. However, if you have a yard with a fence with corners or other similar areas that require turns, DO NOT buy the Cyclone! It is like trying to turn a semi-tractor in your yard. The Cyclone drastically extends the length of your mower. Then two years later I purchased a new mower. So you need a new deck attachment. The one I bought with the Cyclone package was $79. If you need a new one, THE PRICE SKYROCKETS! $178. Total rip off, since it is made with recycled plastic. We use the same material on some of our parts, and it is dirt cheap. Overall the product works great, if you have an open yard with no turns and you never buy a new mower tractor.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 10 out 11 people found this review helpful

    Air vent screens

    • Missouri Valley, IA,
    • Jun 26, 2015

    I've owned Cyclone Rake 10 for four years. It's a well built machine except for one major design flaw. The grass and leaf air vent screens will both plug even if you reverse them. I stop every 15 minutes to use a welder's steel brush to clean either screen while in use. I purchased the wire insert and it made no difference. They call this a cyclone rake but don't use a cyclone air vent on top of the bag like the company uses. The cyclone vent was designed in the 1920's for grinding grain & separating it from the air. It's sad the company won't fix this design flaw I would recommend this CR-10 but I will tell you about the flaw.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 9 out 10 people found this review helpful

    The Leaf King!

    • Andover, MN,
    • Nov 9, 2015

    I bought the Cyclone Rake Pro last year and have used it twice. I have found the Rake has trouble picking up wet leaves. I have my deck set at 2 1/2" and I have the 10 inch hose. Of course part of my problem is I mow about an acre that has 80 very large oak trees on the property so when I finally can get around to clean up, I have a tremendous amount of leaves to vacuum up. Last year I had 37 full hopper loads, that's 15,170 gallons of mulched leaves. What used to take me 3 full days of intense physical labor to clean up the leaves is now reduced to about 6-7 hours of cleanup with some physical labor involved. Because I have so many trees I have found it somewhat of a challenge to maneuver around the trees so I found it useful to use my backpack blower to blow the leaves from around the trees and house first. I have not had any trouble with my John Deer X320 Lawnmower handling the turning or weight of the unit. I have some small inclines that I have to maneuver through and it handles it fine. I did however have to clear a path through last years rotting leave as I could not back the unit up through about six inches of old rotting mulch. Once I cleared it things worked fine.

    One of the things I think would greatly improve the design of the hopper is to come up with a way to efficiently pull the leaves out of the hopper so I don't need an additional acre of land to dump the leaves. The leaves get so compact that it is difficult to get them out of the hopper sometimes, especially if they are wet and you don't have someone to pull the lawn mower ahead slowly while you use a garden rake to pull the leaves out.

    The only other complaint that I have is adding and draining the oil on the engine. I find the way it is setup is ridiculous and difficult to do.

    Overall, it is a huge time saver for me and I would recommend it with an overall rating of 4 stars.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 5 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Great vacuum except...

    • Pennsylvania,
    • Dec 3, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    The Cyclone Rake works quite well when vacuuming leaves on grass. It does have a bit of a problem when on a hard surface like a driveway because the tractor blade throws a lot of the leaves out the sides before the vacuum can suck them in. One item you need to watch out for is the tube from the mower to the vacuum clogging, especially if your vacuuming small pieces. Since I use my leaves as mulch I thought I'd drive over them first to grind them up a bit then go back over the smaller pieces with the vacuum. Well it worked fine until I discovered the tube was completely clogged. But I am happy with the purchase because it saves me a lot of time over my small leaf vacuum/blower.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 7 out 8 people found this review helpful

    Arizona high country

    • Flagstaff, AZ,
    • Jan 7, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I was needing a heavy duty piece of equipment for cleaning up ponderosa pine needles. Up here in the high county I don't have a green grass lawn with pretty maple tree leaves falling. Ponderosa pine has 9-11 inch pine needles and pine cones the size of my hand. I needed something heavy duty to help clean this up and not some weekend Tonka toy. I checked all different brands of lawn vacuums and selected the Cyclone Z-10. I wanted all the extras options such as electric start, 10" hose, pick up and discharge hose. I didn't want to have to buy options later. I don't have a large place to clean up, only 5 acres, but very heavily wooded.

    In the past years, it was taking me and my wife 3-4 weeks of raking plus 8-10 6 yard dump trailer loads of debris to dispose of. My new Cyclone cut clean-up time to 2-3 days. This machine is a real beast. Naturally I have to pick-up brush that is finger size or larger, and baseball size rock.

    Use common sense with the machine or you can turn a great piece of equipment into scrap parts quite quickly. There is no machine that I am aware of that can clean-up rock or brush. If there was, I would own one. I use a mulcher blade on my mower and the Cyclone mulches everything up again as it goes into the trailer bag. Then I spread it out using cyclones loading hose. It then mulches things a little bit finer. The debris is fine enough, I use it as compost in my pasture. It has taken a lot of research with trial and error but, I grow red top clover and alfalfa using the mulch made from my Cyclone.

    You may have noticed I only gave Cyclone three stars. There are things that could stand some improvement. If the bag is too full, it is too heavy to pick up to dump. The tail swing is 12' and the bagger trailer hits trees trying to turn. The Cyclone is very dusty, make sure you are wearing a full face respirator. Cyclone advertises the Cyclone can be stowed under a bench or hung on a wall. This claim I believe is being stretched somewhat, but I've never tried hanging a 10 HP engine on a wall.

    Is there room for improvement, yes. Is the Cyclone well built, yes. Do I personally like or recommend the Cyclone, yes. Do I recommend the purchase of a Cyclone, yes, depending on the purpose and use.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

Showing 1-11 of 45

Write a Review for Cyclone Rake!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review