About Cyclone Rake

Manufactured by Woodland Power Products, Inc. based out of West Haven, CT, the Cyclone Rake is a tow-behind lawn vacuum system that is claimed to easily attach to any riding mower (even zero-turn mowers) and transform it into a high-capacity, super-powerful outdoor cleanup machine. And by using premium, commercial-grade engines and patented impellers with up to 10X more lifting power than most riding mowers, the Cyclone Rake is claimed to help you save time and effort and to give you a healthier lawn with fewer chemicals.

With fall just around the corner and the daylight hours waning, you’re sure to have leaves and other debris sitting in your yard very soon. And if you’re used to raking or blowing your property, you understand what a time-consuming and backbreaking process it can be.

With this in mind, can the Cyclone Rake lawn vacuum and leaf mulcher really help you finish your fall yard chores in much less time than with traditional methods? And if so, is it worth the steep price? Let’s find out.

How the Cyclone Rake Claims to Work

Billing itself as the “most popular leaf and lawn vacuum in America,” the Cyclone Rake is a tow-behind lawn and leaf vacuum that claims to attach to virtually any riding mower with a right-side discharge in less than 4 minutes, without any tools, and to feature a huge load capacity that allows you to spend more time picking up debris—both wet and dry—and less time emptying the bin. In fact, the manufacturer claims that the Cyclone Rake can even be used effectively while it’s raining.

When compared to the competition, the Cyclone Rake features a unique JetPath vacuum system, which has a shorter overall length, larger tube diameter, and straight run from your mower to the mulcher, thereby improving power and reducing the chances of clogs. On top of this, the Cyclone Rake’s patented Miracle Impeller is strong yet flexible, allowing large objects to pass, and then to return to its original shape. Finally, the Cyclone Rake is claimed to never jackknife, whether you’re making tight turns or going in reverse, making cleaning up tight areas a breeze (see more about this in the Customer Reviews section).

Once you’re finished using your Cyclone Rake, the manufacturer claims that it can be easily detached (again, using no tools) and then folded flat for storage. In fact, at just 6 inches thick, the Cyclone Rake is light enough to be hung on the wall.

Cyclone Rake Models

According to the company’s website, the top 3 Cyclone Rake models feature the largest debris capacity available, and some models include the EasyFlow unloading system that works similar to a dump truck. However, all models come with premium Briggs & Stratton® Vanguard engines that may cost more, but are claimed to provide you with better dependability and longer life.

With this said, the right Cyclone Rake model for you will depend largely on what size property are you maintaining, how much debris will be collected, and what size mower you’ll be using. For a side-by-side comparison of different Cyclone Rake models, be sure to take a look at the comparison chart.

However, here is a brief overview of the 5 different Cyclone Rake models:

  • Classic – 7-inch diameter JetPath Vacuum System, a 5.5 HP Vanguard Engine w/8.5 foot-pounds of torque, and a 200 gallon capacity.
  • Commander – 8-inch diameter JetPath Vacuum System, a 6.5 HP Vanguard Engine w/9.1 foot-pounds of torque, and a 285 gallon capacity.
  • Commercial Pro – 8-inch diameter JetPath Vacuum System, a 6.5 HP Vanguard Engine w/9.1 foot-pounds of torque, and a 415 gallon capacity.
  • XL – 8-inch diameter JetPath Vacuum System, an 8 HP Vanguard Engine w/13.4 foot-pounds of torque, and a 415 gallon capacity.
  • Z-10 – 10-inch diameter JetPath Vacuum System, a 10 HP Vanguard Engine w/14.4 foot-pounds of torque, and a 415 gallon capacity.

According to the manufacturer, your Cyclone Rake will come with everything you need to begin using it, unless you don’t have a usable mower deck boot or have one of the small number of mowers that requires a custom hitch. Most customers agree than the Cyclone Rake’s assembly instructions are clear and all parts are well-labeled.

Cyclone Rake Pricing & Refund Policy

The Cyclone Rake is only sold directly through the factory, and is priced as follows:

  • Classic: $1,095
  • Commander: $1,345
  • Commercial Pro: $1,545
  • XL: $1,745
  • Z-10: $1,945

In addition to the primary machine, Cyclone Rake also has a large selection of replacement parts and accessories available, from upgraded wheels to roof rack carriers.

Shipping costs for your Cyclone Rake can vary depending on the area of the country in which you live, although due to its large size, it can be as high as a couple hundred dollars.

All Cyclone Rake models come with a 12-month risk free trial, including S&H both ways, a 3-year warranty for residential use, and 1-year warranty for commercial use.

If you have questions about Cyclone Rake or need to process a return, you’ll need to contact the factory trained service and sales team at 888-531-7253. Alternately, you can visit their showroom, order an information kit, or use their referral service to talk to someone near you who already owns a Cyclone Rake.

What Do Other Consumers Have to Say About the Cyclone Rake?

Overall, it appears that the Cyclone Rake has an overwhelmingly positive online customer reputation, with some even claiming that it’s the best yard investment they’ve ever made. Common compliments include that the Cyclone Rake is very effective at lifting almost any material from the lawn, including acorns, and that customer service is very helpful and responds quickly to any inquiries.

In fact, it was difficult finding any real Cyclone Rake complaints, other than minor fitment issues. However, some common concerns included that steering may suffer once you near load capacity, especially for zero-turn mowers (note: your zero-turn mower will no longer be zero-turn once attached). Additional concerns include that it arrives unassembled and may take you several hours to do so, and that the motor is powerful enough to suck up rocks, which could potentially damage the rear housing.

Bottom Line: Is Cyclone Rake Something that Can Make Yard Cleanup Easy?

Based on the number of positive reviews regarding the Cyclone Rake, it appears that you’d be hard-pressed to find a device that makes cleaning up leaves and other yard debris easier, all throughout the year. Admittedly, the Cyclone Rake does come with a high price, but it also has the potential to save you a lot of time and backbreaking work. And the larger your yard, the more helpful it might be.


Read 45 Cyclone Rake Customer Reviews and Complaints

Write a Review
Average Customer Rating: 4.4
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 34 4 star: 4 3 star: 2 2 star: 3 1 star:  2
Bottom Line: 87% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 45
Sort reviews by:

  • 18 out 27 people found this review helpful

    Buy another brand

    • Cedar Grove, NJ,
    • Oct 25, 2015

    Works ok, very dusty, lots of complaints from anyone close. Parts and shipping are a rip off. $80.00 to ship three small parts from CT to north NJ, about six pounds. Called to see why they all shipped separate over five days and they hung up before I could state my issue.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 15 out 19 people found this review helpful

    Durability of product questionable

    • Sparta, MI,
    • May 23, 2015

    I have used my Z-10 four times since I purchased it earlier this year. I tend to be a little rough on my equipment, and unfortunately, this product is not standing up to my use of it. When it works, it works fantastic. I love the way my lawn works when the product works as expected.

    I have it attached to a zero turn 60" deck. My mower can handle cutting the grass when its wet (a couple of hours after a rain). However, the Z-10 can't. There isn't enough suction to get the grass from the mower though the system to the bag. It's extremely frustrating to have stop all of the time to unclog it. With a 10" tube, you wouldn't think you would have to.

    I have had several experiences with their customer service. I give them an A plus for support. Customer support is important to me, and they are fantastic at sending me out parts that have been damaged by my use.

    You would think by the amount of money paid, it would hold up as well as my John Deere, but it doesn't. Dumping is a horrible process as well. You have to be a body builder (or have help) lifting the collector to dump grass. It's no where as easy as the videos make it out to be.

    Steering when it's half loaded is another issue. My zero turn struggles trying to get started after you make a turn.

    I just wanted to write a review so that anybody who is tough on their lawn care equipment would be aware. It is a little weak when it comes to toughness.

    Over all though, I generally like this product. I just wish it would of been built with strong steel (like my John Deere), so it could stand some kind of moderate punishment.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 13 out 14 people found this review helpful

    Outstanding Product

    • Easton, CT,
    • Mar 13, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    I can’t ever remember writing to a company praising their product, but I just had to the Cyclone Rake. I resisted buying their leaf vac for several years because of the cost. Every year in the past, I cleaned up the leaves on our 3 acre property with my 3 sons. We have a ton of leaves on this property, and it took us 4-6 hours each time, at least 3 times each season, using 2 push blowers, a pack blower rakes and tarps. That’s 4 people 3-4 times a year. The problem is that they are older now, and since they are working full time, it is harder to get them together to get the job done. So I decided I would try the Cyclone Rake since they give the money back guarantee.

    I am 65 years old (with a poor back) and I did the property BY MYSELF in 3 hours the first time I did the leaves this year, and about 1 to 1 ½ hours each of the 2nd and 3rd time. There were just as many leaves as always, and as a matter of fact, they were a little wet the first time I did them. Not only did I do the job by myself, but the result was better than ever because the Cyclone Rake picked up the leaves and I dumped them a little distance into the woods, rather than blowing them to the edge of the property and leaving a wall of leaves along the borders.

    Also, because it was so easy to do, I did the cleanup a couple of extra times right into December, when in the past I would just leave those last droppings of leaves on the lawn and hope they would blow away by spring. Although I would surely rather be sitting on the couch watching a good movie, using the Cyclone Rake is actually fun because it is easy, and the results are fantastic. A side benefit is having more than enough chopped leaf mulch to use on the gardens.

    I also have a very large hickory nut tree in the front yard that drops tons of nuts and nut shells every year. I dropped the mower blades down to the lowest level and the Cyclone Rake did a great job picking them up. I had to run over them a couple of times, but the finished products was great. Just a note, I had to empty the bag before it was half full because the nut shells were so heavy.

    Thank you very much for making such a well made, effective, fantastic product.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 12 out 13 people found this review helpful

    Classic Cyclone Rake

    • Bevier, MO,
    • Oct 10, 2015

    I have used my Classic Rake several times since I purchased it. It is a very efficient way to clean my lawn of grass clippings. I mow about eight acres total. At 83 it saves me a lot of work. I have discovered the best way to empty the bag is to drive in circles, fast! Raising the bag when full is not too difficult. I now clean out some of the clippings by hand before I tilt the bag. I pull the rake with a Cub Cadet tractor. No problem.

    All in all, this is a well designed and well made machine that does an excellent job of cleaning up grass clippings and leaves. Is it perfect? No, only GOD is perfect!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 12 out 13 people found this review helpful

    Needs to pivot

    • Maryland ,
    • Nov 11, 2015

    I love my Cyclone Rake but one thing Woodland Products need to do is make an option to pivot it like a tow behind trailer. That's what I did to mine, converted it to pivot and I purchased a longer hose to make turns. The solid hitch they use puts a lot of stress on the tractor when the collector is fully loaded while trying to turn. I think the selling point of the Cyclone Rake is that it doesn't jack knife in reverse. But I still love my Cyclone Rake.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 10 out 11 people found this review helpful

    Air vent screens

    • Missouri Valley, IA,
    • Jun 26, 2015

    I've owned Cyclone Rake 10 for four years. It's a well built machine except for one major design flaw. The grass and leaf air vent screens will both plug even if you reverse them. I stop every 15 minutes to use a welder's steel brush to clean either screen while in use. I purchased the wire insert and it made no difference. They call this a cyclone rake but don't use a cyclone air vent on top of the bag like the company uses. The cyclone vent was designed in the 1920's for grinding grain & separating it from the air. It's sad the company won't fix this design flaw I would recommend this CR-10 but I will tell you about the flaw.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 10 out 11 people found this review helpful

    Outstanding Product

    • Greenwood, MO ,
    • Jan 31, 2016

    I have five wooded acres, which I have struggled to de-leaf each fall with my Scag Tiger Cub Zero Turn and Scag Bagger System. The Cyclone Rake is one outstanding product. It has quality parts (powder painted or chromed) that fit together, is easy to set up and to unhook at a moment's notice (I have the Z-10 model). It picks up leaves easily, and if it's not too wet (obviously wet leaves are a problem with any system) it will easily chop them into almost powder. It pulls easily, dumps easily (be sure to fill it up so that there is weight in the back as well), and carries quite a load. It also turns easily (I do put weights in the front, as with the Scag Bagger), so much so that one has to be careful not to whap a tree with it. Buy the jack, it's easy hookup and unhooking. Great storage set-up. I picked up 50 loads this fall. There are no wear and tear issues, as this is a well built, over engineered product. Well worth the cost.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 10 out 18 people found this review helpful

    Not as easy as it sounds

    • Charlton, MA,
    • Sep 27, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    If you read their web site it is so easy to use. But wait until you need to empty it. It is a ball buster once it's packed and HEAVY to dump. And you will need to dig some of it out before it will dump, it is packed so tight. If you use your hands to loosen some of it and you happened to mow over some Poison Ivy guess what... 5 1/2hp motor and the chute still gets clogged. I wish I didn't waste the money. It picks up the grass but is a killer to empty. And everything is Velcro. Wrong material around dirt, dust and grass clippings.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 9 out 10 people found this review helpful

    The Leaf King!

    • Andover, MN,
    • Nov 9, 2015

    I bought the Cyclone Rake Pro last year and have used it twice. I have found the Rake has trouble picking up wet leaves. I have my deck set at 2 1/2" and I have the 10 inch hose. Of course part of my problem is I mow about an acre that has 80 very large oak trees on the property so when I finally can get around to clean up, I have a tremendous amount of leaves to vacuum up. Last year I had 37 full hopper loads, that's 15,170 gallons of mulched leaves. What used to take me 3 full days of intense physical labor to clean up the leaves is now reduced to about 6-7 hours of cleanup with some physical labor involved. Because I have so many trees I have found it somewhat of a challenge to maneuver around the trees so I found it useful to use my backpack blower to blow the leaves from around the trees and house first. I have not had any trouble with my John Deer X320 Lawnmower handling the turning or weight of the unit. I have some small inclines that I have to maneuver through and it handles it fine. I did however have to clear a path through last years rotting leave as I could not back the unit up through about six inches of old rotting mulch. Once I cleared it things worked fine.

    One of the things I think would greatly improve the design of the hopper is to come up with a way to efficiently pull the leaves out of the hopper so I don't need an additional acre of land to dump the leaves. The leaves get so compact that it is difficult to get them out of the hopper sometimes, especially if they are wet and you don't have someone to pull the lawn mower ahead slowly while you use a garden rake to pull the leaves out.

    The only other complaint that I have is adding and draining the oil on the engine. I find the way it is setup is ridiculous and difficult to do.

    Overall, it is a huge time saver for me and I would recommend it with an overall rating of 4 stars.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 9 out 10 people found this review helpful

    Absolutely not a scam

    • Merrimack,NH,
    • Dec 8, 2015

    I was heading online to buy an accessory for my unit and happened on this review site. In the Google search I saw a blurb asking if this was a "scam or legit" so I clicked the link and decided to write an article.

    I bought one last fall. It is a bona fide solid piece of equipment and not a scam. Hooks up to your mower and vacuums ad pulps leaves into tiny pieces. I have a large enough yard where it would take me 40-50 of those lawn paper bags to fill up, about a 1/3 acre with lots of tree cover. Raking would take days, this unit lets me do it in an afternoon. Seriously works.

    I am getting the vacuum accessory next, so I can easily do the edges of the fence without raking first.

    Love this unit. Totally great for me and my yard.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 9 out 10 people found this review helpful

    Superlative product

    • Macon, NC,
    • Feb 2, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I maintain a two-acre wooded lot on Lake Gaston in North Carolina, and I have had the Cyclone Rake Commander for about six years.

    I never had an issue and am always completely thrilled after each use. It is easy to start and easy to use. It takes some getting used to the fixed carriage, and you need to give it some room. To those who complain about it getting too full and becoming difficult to empty, don't fill it to the brim.

    I have had the need to order parts that will wear with normal usage (watch the rubber pads that protect the inside of the leaf bag), and the customer service is the best. Parts for the engine are easily ordered on Amazon or at your local Lowes or Home Depot.

    I do not write reviews unless I feel the product is over the top and this unit is that.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

Showing 1-11 of 45

Write a Review for Cyclone Rake!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review