Read 45 Cyclone Rake Customer Reviews and Complaints (Page 2)

Write a Review
Average Customer Rating: 4.4
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 34 4 star: 4 3 star: 2 2 star: 3 1 star:  2
Bottom Line: 87% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 12-22 of 45
Sort reviews by:

  • 1 out 2 people found this review helpful

    So far so good!

    • Wisconsin,
    • Oct 21, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I purchased the Commercial Pro this year. Assembly went well but took longer than expected. Switching back and forth from grass deflector to Cyclone Rake will be more cumbersome than I expected, but otherwise, it was pretty straightforward. I used it for the first time yesterday and it works like a champ! It picks up heavy wet leaves without a problem. Maneuvering it around was a bit of a learning process, but overall it follows my Ztrak around really well. Unloading it takes a little practice, but I can say it will definitely be a huge time saver for me.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 3 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Outstanding machinery

    • Ontario, Canada,
    • Sep 26, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Although Summer never seems long enough, as Fall approaches with beautiful colors, a consolation is to again put my CR Commander through its paces. As others have mentioned, I too really enjoy using this piece of equipment. I've had it for 12 years, and mated to my vintage 37-year-old John Deere 317 lawn tractor, they save me time and effort on my 2.5-acre treed property. I recall the learning curve initially on maneuvering around the trees, and it brings back some chuckles when reading the common experiences in this regard others have initially.

    Assembly pointed out how solid this unit is, the instruction manual was superb as was the comprehensive toolkit that had everything one needed. Extra buckles, chrome cotter pins provided as spare parts (but never needed-no hardware has failed). I also use the unit to vacuum up mowed grass once dried out for a neater job, besides the obvious leaf function.

    This week I will replace the collector bag that has split along the side rail at the zipper which has stripped/broken. The zippered spare leaf screen (originally supplied-never used) unfortunately is not used anymore on the redesigned collector bag-this isn't a complaint, just a comment on the durability of this unit.

    Telephone support with this company is knowledgeable, helpful, polite and efficient.

    I recommend the Cyclone Rake without reservation. Along with my old tractor, it's the best piece of machinery I've purchased.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 9 out 16 people found this review helpful

    My experience with Cyclone Rake

    • Mount Horeb, WI,
    • Jul 30, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I bought the XL model and found that every time I used it, 2 or 3 things would vibrate loose and would need to be tightened or would be lost.

    The staff were excellent and would send replacement parts promptly. There is a 1-year unconditional money back no questions asked guarantee.

    The machine works nice but is really big. I mow 6 acres and would lose something due to vibrating off every time. For me, the machine was not worth the trouble to do a 45-minute pre-flight every time I used it.

    I replaced it with a DR lawn vacuum and so far am satisfied. There is no comparison on the warranty as the Cyclone Rake warranty is so much better, but that might be because so much stuff falls off of it.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 3 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Great product

    • Valrico, FL,
    • Apr 20, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    This is a great machine, and a greater company to work with.

    I had an issue of my own fault, and customer service took care of it immediately, they didn’t have to, it’s nice knowing that they want to take care of you after the purchase.

    I highly recommend this product and company wholeheartedly. I will be a repeat customer.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 3 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Great product

    • Edmond, OK,
    • Dec 6, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have owned the Cyclone Rake for quite a few years, and I know without a shadow of a doubt that this product lives up to the description on the website. I have usually 2-3 episodes of leaf pickup, and if it wasn't for my Cyclone, I could not do it. I usually have 5-6 full vacuum bags each time, if not more. I would buy it again if given the opportunity. It still starts without problems, and I have not had to replace parts with exception to the ones I have damaged by bad driving.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 4 out 5 people found this review helpful

    The best yard company and product I have ever had

    • Goochland, VA,
    • Dec 4, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I bought my Commander 7 years ago. The best investment for lawn care I ever had. I had not used the product since moving to another location after 4 years. Now I have 2 acres of lawn surrounded by trees. I started it up in ONE PULL. Thanks to Briggs & Stratton (Ethanol, or not). Had it been a Honda motor, my experience has been that a carburetor job would have been required to get it started thanks to nightmare Ethanol.

    Everything that came with the machine from the tools supplied by the manufacturer to the storage bag and the various parts were top rate. True, the storage bag when full gets mighty giddy, especially when you do not follow directions with regard to using the product on hills, but you get away with plenty if you use the machine on hills first when it is empty.

    I highly recommend the Cyclone Rake and the company. In addition, if you like to garden, the chopped leaves are a ready supply of compost or mulch.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 4 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Exceeds expectations even after 3 years of use!

    • Mount Airy, MD,
    • Nov 29, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I bought the Commander model to handle a one-acre lot with some clustered trees, multiple flower beds, and grass. The lot is fairly level. Two accessories that I found indispensable are the jack and the vacuum pickup. I use a hybrid approach to collect leaves on my lot, a small rake to get leaves out from under my deck which is low to the ground, and a gas blower to move leaves into a furrow in places where they are high and surrounded by trees. I use the vacuum collector for the bigger piles, as my lawnmower tends to bulldoze them otherwise. Not a problem. I also use the vacuum pickup in flower beds. It is a real time saver. Then I remove the vacuum pickup hose and use the CR as you see on the ads, cruising across the lawn, loving life.

    Huge capacity in the wagon. You'll need to empty it before it is filled to capacity because leaves and debris are really hurled into the collector, and it can become a bit challenging to unload, not a real problem to me, however, and I am 67 and in fair shape.

    It takes some practice to get used to making turns, as the collector does not articulate like a trailer might. I confess I have knocked down my mailbox a couple of times in my haste. But that's just me trying to see how close I can come. Now I just blow leaves away from the mailbox to resist temptation and take wider turns.

    It has been completely reliable, starts on one or maybe two pulls. I have had to replace a couple of small pieces of hardware due to my abuse, total cost was about $15. It's fun and makes picking up leaves almost fun! It cut my time by about 60% with much less effort. I also use it occasionally in the summer to collect grass to support my composting activities (and this machine is a godsend to composters!).

    Very knowledgeable support staff, quality durable equipment, and fun to use. What's not to like?

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 3 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Very, very satisfied

    • Tallmadge, OH,
    • Nov 28, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have had mine for approximately 5 years. I take care of my 1.5 acres at my home and 2.0 acres at my rental property. I used to spend countless hours on leaf removal (blower, tarp, dragging) until I got smart. I am 72 years old and using this is a breeze, and fun. Thank you for a quality product.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 4 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Great product

    • Sidney, ME,
    • Nov 14, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have nothing but good things to say about the XL model I purchased. Assembly went well. Startup and operating also very good. Attached to my 1023e John Deere, cleaning up the leaves on my lawns was a breeze. Due to high winds we've had recently, pine cones were very heavily mixed in with the leaves. I would guess at least 95% of the cones were picked up on the first pass. If the unit continues to operate as well as it has this season, you can count me as a very satisfied owner.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 1 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Outstanding product

    • Sullivan City, NY,
    • Nov 3, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    Cyclone Rake is an amazingly high-quality product which you can buy with confidence. The quality control and attention to detail are evident throughout; heavy gauge and good fitting. Even the spiral bound assembly manual is written in good English with clear high-quality illustrations.

    I bought the Classic model to keep costs down and because I have many nooks and crannies to maneuver around and also uneven ground. I clean a total of about 1/2 acre that is surrounded 360 degrees by forest. I collect and dump about 25-30 cubic yards of mulched leaves per season (the collection bag holds about one cubic yards).

    The Vanguard engine is the best small engine I own. The overall performance of the unit is outstanding using standard mower blades. The no-jackknife feature is a pleasure if you've ever struggled with a typical hitch. It picks up everything including pine cones and acorns. Occasionally, when the leaves are extremely wet, the unit will clog. Simply detach the collection hose from the mower deck adapter, clean the blockage and use the hose to vacuum up the clump you just cleaned out.

    I bought the Standard single wheels but wonder if the rig would back up better with the doubles when dealing with ruts etc. My only complaint is with the unloading. The Classic is the only model where the rear opening of the bag is not wider than the front, which makes you have to physically rake out a bunch of leaves to get the rest to fall out. The company sells an upgrade kit for about $150, which includes the next larger bag which I may get.

    Overall a pleasure to use and by far the most efficient way to collect and mulch leaves.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 4 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Cyclone Rake Classic

    I matched this against a well-known competitor. I have had other equipment from the competitor and was happy. They were cheaper and had the top spot going in. Price difference overall was about $200.

    Order process:

    "Going out of the country for two weeks and cannot take delivery. Can you ship on 10/9? I want to order now, so I don't miss the sale."

    Competitor: "No. Just use the internet from overseas."

    Cyclone Rake: "Yes. No problem."

    What deck adapter do I need?

    Competitor: Gave my tractor model number. Not sure. Sent deck Photo from the parts list and got the info.

    Cyclone Rake: Gave tractor model number. "That's a tough one to cut. Will ship pre-cut for your tractor."

    Don't have all the storage in the world. Cyclone Rake folds flat. The competitor doesn't.

    Competitor ships in one big box. Bigger than my 4x8 trailer. With Home Delivery, you have to get it off the truck. Cyclone Rake comes in smaller multiple boxes. Home delivery by Fed Ex.

    I decided to go with Cyclone Rake based on the above.

    The order was placed on 9/21, arrived home on 10/8 and received an email it had shipped on 10/9.

    I left the garage open and went in for lunch. I wondered when it would show. I went back and looked at the garage, and the eight packages were stacked in the garage. The driver came and went like a ninja.

    So far the right choice.

    I put it together without issue. The pre-cut adapter fit perfect. Didn't really need time for assembly. I am 70 years old and worried about lifting the motor on. It turned out not to be a problem. Nice not to have bother the kids.

    Found one 2x4 piece of velcro missing off the collector bag. I called in expecting to be shipped a piece of velcro. I was sent an entire collector bag. No charge.

    Getting happier with my choice.

    I took it out for the first time and had a learning curve on handling the rig. I got comfortable with it and had no problems. Worked as advertised. Like it.

    It backs up really nice due to the unique hitch setup. Need to back it 30 feet to in the garage. No problem at all.

    Made a "roof rack" for it to haul accessories. Use a small floor jack from Harbor Freight ($29) to hold it so I can uncouple the tractor. No lifting. Won't fold it away until the leaf season is over.

    Very happy. Feel I made the right choice. Some things are worth paying extra for.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

Showing 12-22 of 45

Write a Review for Cyclone Rake!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review