Read 45 Cyclone Rake Customer Reviews and Complaints (Page 3)

Write a Review
Average Customer Rating: 4.4
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 34 4 star: 4 3 star: 2 2 star: 3 1 star:  2
Bottom Line: 87% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 23-33 of 45
Sort reviews by:

  • 3 out 11 people found this review helpful

    Shatter shield first bend in shoot

    I purchased the Estate Model 9HP. It was suggested to buy extra tempered scatter shield and guess what? A few years of use and the scatter shield was not wide enough blew a hole through the plastic. Poorly constructed.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 8 out 10 people found this review helpful

    So far I love it

    • Long Island, NY,
    • May 12, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have a 1.5-acre piece of property. It is all lawn, and we do have many trees on the property. I have a John Deere ride-on tractor to mow the grass and suck up the leaves, and it works great, however, the bags fill quickly. I spend more time emptying them then I do mowing.

    I kept seeing commercials for the DR unit, but it didn't like that it swiveled like a trailer. I have an area I back into to dump my clippings and that would be a pain. So after a lot of research, I went for the Cyclone. It had much better reviews than all the others by the way.

    I ordered it in the winter of 2016 after having enough of dealing with the constant trips to dump. Even though my tractor is small (36" deck) I ordered the Z model. I wanted the biggest unit so I could go as long as possible without dumping and just in case I bought a bigger tractor in the future. I called Woodland and spoke to a very nice woman who answered all my questions. They also work with a company that provides no credit check financing.

    The unit arrived fast! I mean like three days after I ordered it. It does require a good amount of assembling, which I didn't mind at all. Everything is labeled and laid out really nice. The manual was really nice and detailed. And during assembly, I could see this was a really nice and good quality product. A lot of thought was put into it. Not some assembly line piece of junk!

    So I waited all winter and finally got to try it out on the grass. The grass was thick and high, and it had just rained. During my first run, I tried going as fast as the tractor could go and keep mowing, just as a test. The Cyclone rake handled it pretty well but did clog on one really high area. I was a little surprised because it is a small mower and the biggest Cyclone, but this was really tall wet grass that I went through faster than I should have. I slowed it down, and the rest went great! I was able to mow the entire property and only dump twice!

    When the hopper is empty it's a breeze to maneuver, but when it starts getting full, it takes the weight of the tractors front wheels and steering becomes compromised. Also, when backing up and then going forward, the wheels have a little difficulty swiveling into position with all the weight on them. There is definitely a learning curve to steering with this attached. I swung it into a few things while turning. Still better than worrying about jackknifing though. And as others have said, when it's full, it's heavy and hard to dump, but what do you expect? So if you have difficulty lifting, either dump it when it's less full or get the electric add-on.

    So overall, I'm very satisfied! Can't wait to use it this fall. Hopefully, it'll live up to my expectations!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 5 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Cyclone Rake Commander

    • New Hampshire,
    • May 11, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have had the Cyclone Rake Commander for three years. The reason for the purchase was my riding lawnmower's grass catcher chute would frequently clog. I have an acre of land and thought the Commander would be the best fit. I was right.

    The 6.5 hp engine and 8" vs. my old 6" diameter chute prevents clogs. My time to mow the lawn was cut in half. I wouldn't go more than half full with the collector because steering becomes an issue. It sucks up leaves and grass quite well and makes great compost. Vanguard Briggs and Stratton engine works great. I always get compliments on my lawn.

    It has a couple of flaws. The filter on the collector clogs when grass is moist. The filter blows some debris at your head when grass is dry. It's still a well-designed machine worth purchasing. No more clogging and leaf raking!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 9 out 10 people found this review helpful

    Superlative product

    • Macon, NC,
    • Feb 2, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I maintain a two-acre wooded lot on Lake Gaston in North Carolina, and I have had the Cyclone Rake Commander for about six years.

    I never had an issue and am always completely thrilled after each use. It is easy to start and easy to use. It takes some getting used to the fixed carriage, and you need to give it some room. To those who complain about it getting too full and becoming difficult to empty, don't fill it to the brim.

    I have had the need to order parts that will wear with normal usage (watch the rubber pads that protect the inside of the leaf bag), and the customer service is the best. Parts for the engine are easily ordered on Amazon or at your local Lowes or Home Depot.

    I do not write reviews unless I feel the product is over the top and this unit is that.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 6 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Great Product, had one for 10 years

    This is a great product. I have had one for 10 years with no issues. I finally had to order a new bag today, and it was amazing. You actually talk to a "real" person who knows what product I had and said the part would ship out on Tuesday.

    Great customer service! Unfortunately, you don't experience it much anymore. Great product and company to deal with.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 5 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Great vacuum except...

    • Pennsylvania,
    • Dec 3, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    The Cyclone Rake works quite well when vacuuming leaves on grass. It does have a bit of a problem when on a hard surface like a driveway because the tractor blade throws a lot of the leaves out the sides before the vacuum can suck them in. One item you need to watch out for is the tube from the mower to the vacuum clogging, especially if your vacuuming small pieces. Since I use my leaves as mulch I thought I'd drive over them first to grind them up a bit then go back over the smaller pieces with the vacuum. Well it worked fine until I discovered the tube was completely clogged. But I am happy with the purchase because it saves me a lot of time over my small leaf vacuum/blower.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 7 out 8 people found this review helpful

    Love the Cyclone

    • Basking Ridge, NJ,
    • Nov 9, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have an acre of property with some of the most beautiful trees - oaks, maples, hickories. With the beauty of the landscape comes an incredible amount of leaf work. The Cyclone Commander has been a great value to me. It's 400 gallon bagging system allows me to stay on top of my leaves and its mulching ability condenses the volume of bagging. I have bagged 150-39 gallon bags and I could not have done this without this product. I am the envy of the neighborhood.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 8 out 9 people found this review helpful

    VERY well pleased after many years

    • Ohio,
    • Nov 9, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    I just ran across this site; I have had my Cyclone Rake Commander for 12 years now. I LOVE it. I like to drive around and suck up the leaves. Initially, I had to learn to adjust the deck height and mower speed to get the best results, but now I clean up the yard, the driveway, all very easy. I am a 5'6" lady and I have no problem unloading my Commander. It tips up easily because the way the weight is situated, it almost seems counterbalanced. I am over 50 years old and have no problem; I tip it up, shake it and push on the sides until it starts coming out, then keep shaking it gently to loosen the load. It really packs a load in it. Usually, I pull forward a bit more while it is tipped up to get more room, then carefully rake the remaining load out.

    I am now looking to get the power unloader and roof top carrier. The whole thing has lasted very well, it has seen much use for my 1.25-acre property, I have never even replaced any of the 'wearable panels' that are replaceable. I use it on a zero-turn mower and fold it up and hang it up for winter storage. I did put a hoist up in the garage to lift it onto the wall hangers because it is way too heavy for me to lift up and hang by myself. I love the Velcro on this thing. It is very easy for me to unstrap and re-strap the Velcro and big buckles when I have gloves on in the cold, late fall nights that I spend picking up leaves, and it is still lasting very well.

    I am so thankful I spent the money on the Cyclone rig. I lost a bolt one time years ago, and I must say, the customer service was great. Now, I must go and order some new accessories for my rig.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 7 out 8 people found this review helpful

    Works as Advertised, Great Product

    • Idaho,
    • Oct 30, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    Used our XL model yesterday for the first time. Saved hours of work compared to using just mower bags on our 1-acre yard. Had a small glitch in assembling it, but was quickly solved by a factory tech over the phone. It easily picks up wet leaves as well as the dry. No problem for me to dump even with wet leaves and my wife can do it easily with the power lifter we bought as an add-on.

    However, the lifter doesn't raise the bag quite high enough so you have to manually pull some of the leaves out. Works great on our ZTR mower, but watch out for the increased turning radius.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 3 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Excellent Product

    • Maryland,
    • Oct 24, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    Have had a Classic model for a few years now. Does over 1 acre of leaves very well. More importantly, the support after the sale is outstanding and parts availability is never an issue.

    I have loaned this to neighbors as well since it is so easy to use. I highly recommend this product to anyone that loves trees but is tired of having to deal with leaves in the fall.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 10 out 18 people found this review helpful

    Not as easy as it sounds

    • Charlton, MA,
    • Sep 27, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    If you read their web site it is so easy to use. But wait until you need to empty it. It is a ball buster once it's packed and HEAVY to dump. And you will need to dig some of it out before it will dump, it is packed so tight. If you use your hands to loosen some of it and you happened to mow over some Poison Ivy guess what... 5 1/2hp motor and the chute still gets clogged. I wish I didn't waste the money. It picks up the grass but is a killer to empty. And everything is Velcro. Wrong material around dirt, dust and grass clippings.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

Showing 23-33 of 45

Write a Review for Cyclone Rake!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review