About DashCam Pro

By Derek Lakin
HighYa Staff
Updated on: May 23, 2017

Called a “personal security camera for your car” by the manufacturer, DashCam Pro allows you to record audio and full HD video while driving, so you can be confident behind the wheel.

All you need to do is set up your DashCam Pro in 3 simple steps:

  1. Place DashCam Pro’s pivot mount on your windshield and snap the suction cup into place.
  2. Pull down the wide-angle, instant view video screen.
  3. Drive with confidence knowing you can record up to 14 hours of video.

Using the built-in SD card slot, DashCam Pro can record up to 14 hours of 120º wide-angle video, and can be programmed to start upon ignition (using the included car charger). Or if your car’s parked, when it detects motion.

Other handy DashCam Pro features include image stabilization, auto adjust from light to dark, time/date stamp, picture mode, and endless loop recording. It even features six built-in infrared LED lights that allow it to record video at night!

And once it’s time to review your video, you can do so immediately using DashCam Pro’s built-in screen, or you can download the video to a computer or flash drive, where it can be saved or shared.

Compared to other dashboard cameras that can cost hundreds, DashCam Pro certainly seems tempting. But will it work as well as the competition? Is it a good value?

We had a unique opportunity to test out DashCam Pro, so we’ll provide our firsthand insights in a moment. First, let’s look at price.

How Much Does DashCam Pro Cost?

One DashCam Pro will set you back $39.99 plus $6.95 S&H. You’ll be able to purchase a second at checkout and receive free shipping.

All DashCam Pros come with a 30-day refund policy, less S&H charges.

If you’d like to request a refund, you’ll need to contact Inventel’s customer service department at 973-531-4421.

Compared to the competition, what will DashCam Pro’s low price get you?

DashCam Pro vs. the Competition

If you search for dashboard cameras online and sort the results by price, you’ll quickly find that there are dozens of low-priced options, many of which feature the same basic design as DashCam Pro. This includes wide-angle lenses (120º+), rotating LCD screens, night vision, anti-shake technology (aka image stabilization), auto on and off—not to mention HD resolution, which is an important factor.

Pro tip: If price is your number one factor when selecting a dashboard camera, be sure to consider DashCam Pro’s non-refundable S&H charges. This could mean that local options might provide more value, even if their base price is slightly higher than DashCam Pro’s.

Just what is high definition resolution, though?

What Does “High Definition” Mean?

You’ve probably heard the term “high definition” a thousand times, but in the case of DashCam Pro, what does this really mean? After all, the manufacturer just claims it has “full HD,” without providing a whole lot of details.

According to WhatIs, “full HD” is defined as:

“Full HDTV, also referred to as ultra-HD, true HDTV, and 1080p, is a television (TV) display technology that surpasses the video quality and sharpness of the original high-definition television (HDTV) technology, providing an image resolution of 1920 by 1080 pixels.”

Although we originally believed this is what you could reasonably expect from DashCam Pro, we were surprised by how it performed when we had a chance to test it in the real world (more about this soon!).

But think about this: Regardless of the quality of video you’re recording, if you can’t store it anywhere, it’s basically useless. How does DashCam Pro save your video?

DashCam Pro’s Video Storage Capacity

DashCam Pro doesn’t come with a built-in hard drive, so you’ll need a separate SD card, which is inserted it into a slot on the side of your DashCam Pro.

The manufacturer claims that DashCam Pro supports SD cards up to 32GB, but how much recording time does this actually give you? Is it really 14 hours?

According to DashboardCameraReviews, there’s an actual formula you can use to calculate how much video your SD card can hold. But even the simple version requires that you know your camera’s bit rate, which is something we’re not told for DashCam Pro, whether on their website or in the included instructions.

Bit rate or not, what’s it like to use DashCam Pro? Does it live up to promises made in the commercial? We’ll reveal everything next!

Our Hands-On Testing with DashCam Pro

Based on our original review, DashCam Pro’s manufacturer kindly reached out and offered to send us a couple complimentary units, so that we could test them out and see how they performed for ourselves.

Initial Impressions

When I first held DashCam Pro, I noticed it felt light, and my immediate thought was, “I wonder how much regular use this will withstand?” I also noticed that the screen had a couple (what appeared to be) air bubbles underneath it, as well as a lot of light scratching on the surface. This didn’t seem to affect the view or the performance, but I thought it was noteworthy.

DashCam Pro Bubbles & ScratchesIt was difficult to photograph, but my DashCam Pro screen had air bubbles (upper left-hand corner) and a lot of light scratches.

On the other hand, I appreciated that DashCam Pro came with everything I needed to get started, including an SD card, USB cable, car charger, instruction manual, battery, and even clips to reduce cable clutter in the car.

DashCam Pro All PartsYou won’t have to purchase any additional equipment to use DashCam Pro—or will you?

Getting DashCam Pro Up & Running

After inserting the battery, you’ll have to plug DashCam Pro into a power source using the car charger or USB cable. In order to begin recording, you’ll also need to insert the included SD card.

Important note: DashCam Pro wouldn’t recognize the SD card included with my test unit. It also almost wouldn’t come out when I attempted to remove it (I had to enlist the help of my trusty needle nose pliers). Luckily, I had a spare SD card laying around, which DashCam recognized and worked perfectly fine.

Speaking of SD cards, the ‘doors’ covering the card slot and USB port felt rather flimsy, and I could foresee them breaking with only the smallest effort, so be sure to handle with care.

DashCam Pro DoorThese ‘doors’ on DashCam Pro would break off without much effort.

I found setting up my DashCam Pro test unit was fairly straightforward, although the menu might be considered a little clunky. I was surprised to find that DashCam had some very useful features not advertised in the commercial, such as the ability to choose three different resolutions (1080p, 720p, and VGA), voice recording, still photos, the option to turn motion detection on and off, choose light frequencies, and more.

Recording Video with DashCam Pro

When recording, most important information was easily viewable on the screen, such as battery level, brightness level (daytime or nighttime), current resolution, and time/date stamp. Playing back any video was as easy as pressing the Mode button a couple times, as was deleting any unwanted footage.

DashCam Pro ScreenDashCam Pro’s screen wasn’t cluttered, but still provided all the important information I needed.

Important note: Regardless of what I tried over the course of 20 minutes, I couldn’t get DashCam Pro’s suction cup to stick to my windshield. As a result, all of the video you’ll see here was shot using my hand to stabilize the camera between my dashboard and the windshield.

Does DashCam Pro Provide Good Video Quality?

When viewed directly in DashCam Pro, the videos didn’t look too bad. However, once I had the opportunity to download them into my computer, their quality didn’t appear as great. In fact, I found that DashCam’s lowest quality setting (VGA) actually produced the best-looking results.

For me, one letdown is that you can’t export video directly from DashCam Pro, which means you’ll need to manually remove the SD card (and risk breaking that door) and insert it into your computer or an SD card reader in order to extract the video.

Regardless of my personal opinion, based on my personal experience with DashCam Pro, the quality definitely won’t have you shooting Hollywood blockbusters anytime soon. Instead, I’d liken the quality to an old VHS camcorder from the 1990s; enough detail to provide a fairly clear picture of what occurred during an accident, but not enough (for example) to read someone’s license plate of someone in front of you. Also, the audio seemed excessively loud.

Another thingI experienced was that the video is rather shaky. As we discussed above, this is because—despite my best attempts—I couldn’t get DashCam Pro’s suction cup to stick. Given the fact that it was supported from three directions though (my hand, the dashboard, and the windshield), I would have expected less shaking. Especially since the company claims the video camera features image stabilization.

Taking all of this together, would we recommend that you give DashCam Pro a try?

Bottom Line: Is DashCam Pro Right For You?

Overall, we’re thankful to Inventel (DashCam Pro’s manufacturer) for sending us a complimentary test unit. After all, this allowed us to test it firsthand, provide you with more informed insight, clear up any misconceptions, and give you our experience-based opinion. So, what do with think about DashCam Pro?

As we concluded in our original review, if price is your main deciding factor, it’s probably going to be tough to beat DashCam Pro. At this price though, you’re not going to find any frills, and it’s not exactly going to be elegant.

In addition, we’d recommend keeping your expectations realistic. While everyone might have their own perspective on what constitutes high-definition video, based on our experience, we’re not sure that DashCam Pro’s output will be much better quality than what you’d get from camcorders a couple decades ago. But at about $47 (including S&H), we think this is about the most you could ask for.

What about DashCam Pro’s 1.2-star average rating here on HighYa? Reading through, most appear to reference long shipping times and poor customer service, versus complaints about the product itself. Hopefully this is something that will be rectified soon so we can get a clearer picture of how it performs for other customers.

Speaking of which, tell us all about your experience with DashCam Pro by leaving a review below!

Editor's Full Disclosure: Two DashCam Pro units were sent to HighYa free of charge by Inventel Products, LLC for the sole purpose of testing and writing this fair review based on HighYa Staff Members' personal testing and experience of the units. No money was exchanged in return for this review and there is no material relationship between HighYa and InvenTel. This review reflects the honest experience and opinion.


Read 53 DashCam Pro Customer Reviews and Complaints

Write a Review
Average Customer Rating: 1.8
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 2 4 star: 7 3 star: 5 2 star: 1 1 star:  38
Bottom Line: 23% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 53
Sort reviews by:

  • 1 out 2 people found this review helpful

    I like mine

    • Las Vegas, Nevada,
    • Jan 22, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I like my DashCam Pro.

    I got it at Walgreens for $19.99 and once I read the directions thoroughly and put the SD card in, the camera works good so far. You get what you pay for, and I really don't want to spend over $100 for a super good one. Tor the price, this one works well enough. The motion detection actually works really well, and really I got it as a theft deterrent more than anything.

    Mine worked great right out of the box, but like anything from China, it's a 50/50 shot.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Sep 25, 2017

      Company Response from InvenTel, LLC

      Dear Customer,

      We appreciate your feedback, we would request you to please visit our website on www.inventel.tv for more products. For any future questions, you can call us at 323-375-1042 or email us at customerservice@inventel.tv.


  • 2 out 4 people found this review helpful

    DashCam Pro is one of my favorite gadgets

    The DashCam Pro is definitely one of my favorite gadgets. We had one on our windshield of the semi-truck for over a year. It recorded its driving through a tornado in Texas, and it recorded us when the cops pulled us over and said we were driving too close to the vehicle in front of us. But thanks to the DashCam Pro, we could prove that we weren't following too close to the vehicle in front of us.

    It's just a really good thing to have because you can prove your side of the story and you can see what the driver sees as he's going down the road. It's just a really good gadget to have. You can't go wrong with it, and the price is going down on them (40 bucks); you can't beat that.

    I give you two thumbs up for DashCam Pro.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Sep 25, 2017

      Company Response from InvenTel, LLC

      Dear Customer,

      We appreciate your feedback, we would request you to please visit our website on www.inventel.tv for more products. For any future questions, you can call us on 323-375-1042 or email us at customerservice@inventel.tv.


  • 10 out 22 people found this review helpful

    Pretty happy so far

    • Tampa,
    • Jan 11, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    First, I would like to say I did not like the company trying to trick me into agreeing to some kind of paid service, and hung up on them twice while waiting for my camera. Having said that, I drive a lot, I have had a couple of situations in the past that I would like to have on record. This camera does give me what I was looking for, long lighter cable, easy set up. Setting specifics from menu could be easier, but all in all, I love the daytime video, it breaks them down in (1 minute) files. I connected the camera to my laptop USB port and reviewed files. The larger the file, it seemed like, the more it "saw." My 32gig card held over two days of recordings, it is not on the highest resolution, using the standard resolution now for daytime. May try a higher one for night driving, as it is not great resolution. Having said that, it sees what you can see through the window. For the money, it is a good product so far. A few days so far, but it is everything they said, except may be the night time auto adjust. The infrared lights don't seem to do anything.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Sep 25, 2017

      Company Response from InvenTel, LLC

      Dear Customer,

      We appreciate your feedback, we would request you to please visit our website at www.inventel.tv for more products. For any future questions, you can call us at 323-375-1042 or email us at customerservice@inventel.tv.


  • 25 out 31 people found this review helpful

    No problems, works good

    • Phoenix, AZ,
    • Apr 14, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    I purchased a Dash Cam Pro from Walmart and it works as advertised. I have had this for a month now and no problems with the camera itself. Yes, I would recommend this to a friend, if they were purchasing a Dash Cam.

    However, I would say purchase it from a local Walmart, Target, Office Max, Office Depot, or a store that sells As seen on TV products. That way if you have a problem you can take it back to the store, no questions asked, for a refund.

    In fact it says in the paper directions that come with the Dash Cam to call the customer service number before you take it back to the store. So it means if you do have a problem with the Dash Cam, you have to call the number to try to get it resolved. If not, just take it back to the store and get a refund.

    Seems like the major problem with this camera is not the camera itself, but customer service at the factory.

    So, if you buy it at a store, no worries if it does not work and customer service does not answer in a timely manner, you just take it back to the store and get a refund. Cut and dry. Or like my attorney friend says "Next case your Honor".

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Sep 25, 2017

      Company Response from InvenTel, LLC

      Dear Customer,

      We appreciate your feedback, we would request you to please visit our website on www.inventel.tv for more products. For any future questions, you can call us at 323-375-1042 or email us at customerservice@inventel.tv.


  • 5 out 16 people found this review helpful

    Trying to Receive my Dash Cam

    • Hamilton, New Zealand,
    • Jul 8, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    June 21st 2016 I purchased 2 DashCam Pros but still not received them. It's been 10 days now. A tracking number given to me by your company is "RS534160098NL" but search did not match any documents. I paid USD $79.98 or NZD $117.99 for 2 black cameras. Please help, as it is very frustrating waiting for them. Thanking you for your assistance.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Jul 8, 2016

      Company Response from InvenTel, LLC

      Hello, can you please advise on how you placed your order and with whom? Unfortunately at this time we are limited to shipping to the continental United States. We apologize for the inconvenience.


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Great Present!

    • New Orleans, LA,
    • Jan 11, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I am a 10-year professional truck driver. I have been wanting a dash camera for my tractor for quite some time and had not gotten around to buying one for various reasons.

    Well to my surprise and pleasure my sister gave me a DashCam Pro for Christmas! I spent a little time with the device and instruction pamphlet, installed it in my truck and after a short time down the road have come to really appreciate and love this item. Set up and operation is fairly simple after reading the instruction booklet and feeling the device out.

    I would recommend the device to anyone wanting an additional layer of insurance!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Sep 25, 2017

      Company Response from InvenTel, LLC

      Dear Customer,

      We appreciate your feedback, we would request you to please visit our website on www.inventel.tv for more products. For any future questions, you can call us at 323-375-1042 or email us at customerservice@inventel.tv.


  • 1 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Happy with my first, not so with my second

    • Alberta, Canada,
    • Feb 7, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I bought one, and it was a great item, I love it. I have had it for about six months with not problems. I even have a few good video's up on YouTube.

    I then bought a second for my rear window, and it just will not stick to the glass. I clean the glass, I clean the suction cup, I drive off, and after my first corner, it's on the floor recording it rolling around in the car. Next time I tried other suggestions on various boards to get it to stick (dry window, wet suction cup, different non-stick parts of the window) with the same result.

    So far, it's on the floor of my car in the back unplugged. Any suggestions?

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Sep 25, 2017

      Company Response from InvenTel, LLC

      Dear Customer,

      We apologize for the inconvenience caused, in this case, we can suggest you call our customer service at 323-375-1042 or email us customerservice@inventel.tv so that we can help you resolve the issue.


  • 2 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Good considering the price I paid!

    As a guy, I tried to set it up without using the instructions, and it was surprisingly easy to do. The suction mounting worked great, you just have to make sure that you push down on the suction release/engage tab to really secure the cam. Depending on the mode, it will determine your recording time. There is a screen "time out" feature that shuts the display off after a predetermined amount of time. Good to have if you have the habit of wanting to keep looking at the screen while driving, which can be distracting. The unit keeps recording in the mean time.

    It was really useful to download and view my videos straight from the camera so that I did not have to take out the SD card, which is helpful if you don't have an adapter for your card. I paid $21.95 for this camera that I picked up from Walgreen's. I thought it was a bit "plastic" that it seemed more like a toy when I first saw it. I decided to give it a try, and am glad I did.

    The only problem I have had so far is that the micro SD card adapter provided did not allow my card to be recognized by the camera. I had a spare adapter and it worked fine. Also, I used a full-size card with no problems as well.

    Aloha and God bless!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Sep 25, 2017

      Company Response from InvenTel, LLC

      Dear Customer,

      We appreciate your business, we would request you to please visit our website on www.inventel.tv for more products. For any future questions, you can call us on 323-375-1042 or email us at customerservice@inventel.tv.


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    My DashCam Pro is still working ok after 3 years and still going

    • Indiana,
    • Sep 27, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    The only problem I had with it is the audio stopped working, most likely because of a low bass sound system I had in my previous car. In fact, I changed only two memory cards since then (this last time advanced to a Lexar32 GB card), and I'm still happy with my product. Sometimes it may need some adjustments. The main thing is to handle with care as they say. As all cameras should be, for the most part, I'm very satisfied.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Sep 28, 2017

      Company Response from InvenTel, LLC

      Dear Customer,

      Please press the "menu" button twice you will get the option of system rest. For audio, press "mode" button twice and then press the "menu" button, you will get the volume option, where you can set the volume level.


  • 16 out 17 people found this review helpful

    Don't order from their website.

    • King of Prussia, PA,
    • Apr 2, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have read almost all of these posts, and have to agree that ordering it was a big JOKE. I was concerned I would get scammed, so I tracked it the best I could on my bank account, as well as online. I received a confirmation number, but when I tried to track it, their website said it didn't exist. After several phone calls and promises they would "escalate" it, I finally canceled the order. Funny thing was, my bank said the transaction disappeared from my account (it was stuck in "pending" mode, according to the bank).

    So I went to the outlet store in the Limerick Outlet Mall and bought two. So far, the actual product seems to work okay. If this changes for any reason, you can be assured I will be back here to complain about it even more. I will say "recommend to a friend" but ONLY when purchasing from the outlet store.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Sep 25, 2017

      Company Response from InvenTel, LLC

      Dear Customer,

      We apologize for the inconvenience. We would have been more than happy to help you, please get in touch with us for any future issues at 323-375-1042 or customerservice@inventel.tv.


  • 7 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Bad SD card

    When I ordered my Dash Cam Pro on Evine, I expected it to be complete and ready to work. I ordered a 32 GB SD card, but what I received was a blank, non-descriptive SD card, no label, no size or GB. Also missing the chip adapter and only a very short 7 inch USB charger cable, too short to connect to the computer. After inserting the SD card, it showed NO CARD, no surprise here. I called Customer Service and they promised to send me a new SD card, which I received and hopefully, I won't have any more problems. In order to recommend this product, I will have to see how it actually works.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Oct 7, 2016

      Company Response from InvenTel, LLC

      Hello, We apologize for the inconvenience if after you receive your replacement SD card from Evine you are still having issues please call our customer service. We will be more than happy to make this right for you. Our customer service number is 323-375-1042 agents are ready to take calls Monday through Friday 8:30 am to 5:30 pm EST.


Showing 1-11 of 53

Write a Review for DashCam Pro!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review